Who then was He really? Even nature obeyed Him!!

Twelfth Sunday in Ordinary Time

JOB 38:1, 8-11

The Lord addressed Job out of the storm and said: Who shut within doors the sea, when it burst forth from the womb; when I made the clouds its garment and thick darkness its swaddling bands? When I set limits for it and fastened the bar of its door, and said: Thus far shall you come but no farther, and here shall your proud waves be stilled!

2 CORINTHIANS 5:14-17

Brothers and sisters: The love of Christ impels us, once we have come to the conviction that one died for all; therefore, all have died. He indeed died for all, so that those who live might no longer live for themselves but for him who for their sake died and was raised. Consequently, from now on we regard no one according to the flesh; even if we once knew Christ according to the flesh, yet now we know him so no longer. So whoever is in Christ is a new creation: the old things have passed away; behold, new things have come.

MARK 4:35-41

On that day, as evening drew on, Jesus said to his disciples: “Let us cross to the other side.” Leaving the crowd, they took Jesus with them in the boat just as he was. And other boats were with him. A violent squall came up and waves were breaking over the boat, so that it was already filling up. Jesus was in the stern, asleep on a cushion. They woke him and said to him, “Teacher, do you not care that we are perishing?” He woke up, rebuked the wind, and said to the sea, “Quiet! Be still!” The wind ceased and there was great calm. Then he asked them, “Why are you terrified? Do you not yet have faith?” They were filled with great awe and said to one another, “Who then is this whom even wind and sea obey?”

What seems to be just another Jesus’ miracle, the “calming of the storm” episode was recounted in all the Synoptic Gospels, bearing its own significance to both Jesus’ disciples and us.

In the First Reading from the Book of Job, God revealed Himself powerful and omnipotent, defeating and controlling all other forces. In the Gospel reading, Jesus displayed this mighty power – the power over all the elements of nature. He was certainly unlike other miracle workers. Truly, “who then is this whom even wind and sea obey?”

To the disciples, it was not only the subduing authority of Jesus that “filled them with great awe”, but also the manner and the immediacy of His word of command. His sovereignty recalled the story of Genesis – God spoke and creation happened. God’s dominion over cosmic powers was acknowledged by ancient Israel (Ps 89:9, 107:25-30, Prv 30:4). If Jesus had the ability to control nature by mere words, who then was He really? A question not only posed by the disciples but by us too. A question that invites a response, a response of faith — that He is God.

Our Lord never promised us a rose garden (cf Jn 16:33) but what was true of the God of Israel is also true of Jesus who is the living God. If the God of Israel took control of all things and protected His people, so does Jesus. He was in the midst of the disciples then; He is in the midst of us now. Our lives may be like the boat, tossed up and down in the raging sea and battered by the howling wind. But if Jesus can calm the storm with one word, He surely can calm the “storms” of our lives. His only request is that we have faith in Him. Let us not hear Him repeating to us the words He said to His disciples: “Why are you terrified? Do you not yet have faith?”

Posted: June 21, 2015

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

A Road Trip to God’s Holy Mountain
Knowing that the trials in life are our Father’s blessings in disguise, let not our apprehension, doubts, and fear prevent us from entering through the “narrow gate”. Continue Reading >
“Do you think that I have come to bring peace on earth?” (Lk 12:51)
When we grow weary of the challenges we face in this world, we must look to Jesus who has looked beyond the Cross to the crown of glory that God… Continue Reading >
Faith Is Trusting That God Will Keep His Promises
We don’t know how and we don’t know when, but Jesus will return as he promised. When he does, we’d better be ready! Continue Reading >

這人到底是誰﹖連大自然都聽從祂!

常年期第十二主日

約伯傳 38:1,8-11

"上主由旋風中,向約伯發言,說:「當海水洶湧如出母胎時,是誰用門,將海關閉?是我用雲彩,作海的衣裳,用濃霧,作海的襁褓。是我給海劃定了界限,設立了門和閂,並下令說:『你到此為止,不得越過;你的狂潮到此為止。』」"

格林多後書 5:14-17

弟兄姊妹們:因為基督的愛,催迫著我們,故此,我們斷定:既然一個人替眾人死了,那麼眾人就都死了;他替眾人死,是為使活著的人,不再為自己生活,而是為替他們死而復活了的那位生活。所以,我們從今以後,不再按人的看法,認識誰了;縱使我們曾按人的看法,認識過基督,但現在,不再這樣認識他了。所以,誰如果在基督內,他就是一個新受造物,舊的已成過去,看,都成了新的。

馬爾谷福音 4:35-41

有一天傍晚,耶穌對門徒說:「我們渡海,到對岸去吧!」門徒於是離開群眾,載耶穌走了;與耶穌一起的,還有其他小船。忽然狂風大作,波浪打進船裡,以致船已積滿了水。耶穌卻在船尾,依枕而睡。門徒叫醒耶穌,給他說:「師父!我們要死了,你不管嗎?」耶穌醒來,叱喝了風,並向海說:「不要作聲,平靜吧!」風就停止了,於是風平浪靜。耶穌對門徒說:「你們為什麼這樣膽怯?你們怎麼還沒有信德呢?」門徒非常驚懼,彼此說:「這人到底是誰?連風和海也聽從他。」

表面上看來「平息風浪」似乎只是耶穌所行的其中一個神蹟,但當所有對觀福音都有敘述的時候,這神蹟對耶穌的門徒和我們來說便具有特殊意義。

在讀經一的《約伯傳》中,天主顯露了祂自己的強勢和全能,能戰勝和控制所有其他的力量。在今天的福音中,耶穌便顯示了這強而有力的力量,比自然界所有的力量更為強大。祂肯定不像其他的施行奇蹟者,真的會令人問:「這人到底是誰﹖連風和海都聽從祂!」。

對門徒來說,能夠令「他們非常懼怕」 的,不僅是耶穌的無上權威,更是祂發施號令時的態度和祂的指令會被立刻執行。祂無上的權威令我們想起創世紀的故事 — 天主說了, 一切便創造成了。古以色列人很能理解天主統治宇宙的力量(聖詠集89:9,107:25-30,箴言30:4)。如果耶穌能夠僅僅用言語便可控制大自然,那麼祂究竟是誰?這個問題不僅是祂的門徒想問,我們也想知道答案。其實這個問題要請我們作出回應,一個信德的回應 — 祂就是神。

我們的主從來沒有承諾我們一切都會美好(參考若望福音16:33),以色列的天主是神,耶穌是永生的天主, 也是神。 如果以色列的天主能操控所有事物和保護祂的子民,耶穌當然也可以。祂曾在門徒當中,現在祂就在我們當中。我們的生命可能會像那一隻小船,在驚濤駭浪和咆哮的疾風中掙扎。如果耶穌能用一句話便平息了風浪,祂也一定能平息我們生命中的「風浪」。祂祇有一個要求,就是我們的信心。我們不要讓祂對我們重複祂對門徒所說的話:「你們為什麼這樣害怕﹖怎麼還沒有信心呢﹖」

Posted: June 21, 2015

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

乙年(馬爾谷) 常年期第十二主日:耶穌是誰? 吳智勳神父

耶穌一出命,風浪就停止了。耶穌埋怨門徒沒有信心,他們的反應是非常害怕,因為他們遇上一個連風浪都要聽祂話的人。祂究竟是誰?

繼續閱讀 >
主日教理 天主教香港教區
教理中心及教理委員會
教理主題:天主的大能
繼續閱讀 >