“Whoever acknowledges me before others, I will acknowledge before my Father in heaven” (Mt 10:32)

Twelfth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Jeremiah 20:10-13

Jeremiah said: "I hear the whisperings of many: 'Terror on every side! Denounce! let us denounce him!' All those who were my friends are on the watch for any misstep of mine. 'Perhaps he will be trapped; then we can prevail, and take our vengeance on him.' But the LORD is with me, like a mighty champion: my persecutors will stumble, they will not triumph. In their failure they will be put to utter shame, to lasting, unforgettable confusion. O LORD of hosts, you who test the just, who probe mind and heart, let me witness the vengeance you take on them, for to you I have entrusted my cause. Sing to the LORD, praise the LORD, for he has rescued the life of the poor from the power of the wicked!"

Romans 5:12-15

Brothers and sisters: Through one man sin entered the world, and through sin, death, and thus death came to all men, inasmuch as all sinned— for up to the time of the law, sin was in the world, though sin is not accounted when there is no law. But death reigned from Adam to Moses, even over those who did not sin after the pattern of the trespass of Adam, who is the type of the one who was to come. But the gift is not like the transgression. For if by the transgression of the one the many died, how much more did the grace of God and the gracious gift of the one man Jesus Christ overflow for the many.

Matthew 10:26-33

Jesus said to the Twelve: "Fear no one. Nothing is concealed that will not be revealed, nor secret that will not be known. What I say to you in the darkness, speak in the light; what you hear whispered, proclaim on the housetops. And do not be afraid of those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul; rather, be afraid of the one who can destroy both soul and body in Gehenna. Are not two sparrows sold for a small coin? Yet not one of them falls to the ground without your Father's knowledge. Even all the hairs of your head are counted. So do not be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows. Everyone who acknowledges me before others I will acknowledge before my heavenly Father. But whoever denies me before others, I will deny before my heavenly Father."

In this Sunday’s Gospel reading, we hear Jesus’ reassuring and comforting words to the twelve apostles as He sends them on their evangelical mission, “… do not be afraid”, “every hair of your head has been counted” (Mt 10:31, 30). They need reassurance because the mission to which they are sent is not an easy one. “[They] will be brought to trial before rulers and kings because of [Jesus], and so [they] may witness to them and the pagans” (Mt 10:18). But they do not have to worry about what to say for “it is not [they] who will speak” but “the Spirit of [their] Father in [them]” (Mt 10:20).

The apostles have been Jesus’ followers for quite a while, they have seen first-hand how Jesus preaches the Word of God and proclaims the good news “The kingdom of heaven is near” (Mt 10:7), as he heals the sick, brings the dead back to life, cleanses the lepers and drives out demons (Ref Mt 10:8). Now Jesus wants them to put into practice what they have learned while warning them of the danger that they will face. He is sending them out like “sheep among wolves”; there are those “who can destroy both soul and body in hell” but “whoever stands firm to the end will be saved” (Mt 10:16, 28, 22).

What is the relevance of Jesus’ teaching to us? We may not necessarily take on an evangelization role in our church community, yet we all have an inherent role to preach and teach the Word of God to our family, workplace, circle of friends, and community either directly or through our words and deeds as a person of good Catholic faith. Jesus sums up in the last two verses of this Sunday’s gospel reading how we will be judged eventually: “Whoever acknowledges me before others, I will acknowledge before my Father in heaven. Whoever rejects me before others I will deny before my Father in heaven” (Mt 10:32-33). This is Jesus’ staunch reminder to us that to acknowledge Him in this world is also a matter of life or death – eternal glory versus eternal condemnation.

Lately, it is quite disturbing and heart-breaking to come across videos on the internet that attack our Christian faith, the Church and even the Holy Father. They have an extremely high viewership. They are probably made by cunning imposters who want to destroy our soul. We are indeed among wolves as Jesus predicted so we must strive to be “clever as snakes” to see through the surface of what they are spreading (Mt 10:16). We must be critical lest we fall into the trap that what they allege or pretend to preach is true. For us to acknowledge Jesus in this somewhat divisive world, where the line between right or wrong and true or false is often sadly blurred, let us be fearless and look up to Jesus who is fortifying us with the same reassuring and comforting words he has for his apostles, “… do not be afraid” (Mt 10:31). Jesus promises his apostles that when they give witness, the Spirit of the Father in them will speak; surely the Holy Spirit, the Spirit of Truth will enable us to acknowledge Jesus properly as well (Ref Mt 10:20).

Posted: June 21, 2020

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

Eighteenth Sunday In Ordinary Time
How to turn our littleness into greatness?
"Incline your ear, and come to me; listen, so that you may live"(Is 55:3) Continue Reading >
Eighteenth Sunday In Ordinary Time
Would You Bring Only the Old or the New?
What does Jesus teach about the Kingdom of God? What is the significance of rejecting the ideologies of both left and right, the idolatry of both the new and the… Continue Reading >
Eighteenth Sunday In Ordinary Time
How to Ask for the Best Gifts
"At Gibeon the Lord appeared to Solomon in a dream by night; and God said, 'Ask what I should give you'" (1 Kg 3:5).—This is what God is saying to… Continue Reading >

「凡在人前承認我的,我在我天上的父前也必承認他」(瑪 10:32)

常年期第十二主日

耶肋米亞先知書 20:10-13

耶肋米亞說:我聽到了許多人私相耳語:「驚慌四起!你們揭發,我們就必對他提出控訴。」甚至我的一切友好,都在偵察我的破綻:「也許他會中計,那我們必能制勝他,向他報復。」但是,與我同在的上主,好像一位孔武有力的戰士,為此,迫害我的人,只有失敗,決不能制勝;由於謀事不成,必蒙受極大的恥辱,永不可磨滅的羞辱。萬軍的上主啊!你考驗義人,洞察人的肝膽肺腑;我既然向你訴說了我的案情,願你使我見到:你對他們的報復。你們應歌頌上主,讚揚上主,因為他從惡人手中,救出了窮苦人的性命。

羅馬書 5:12-15

弟兄姊妹們:就如罪惡藉著一人,進入了世界,死亡藉著罪惡,也進入了世界;這樣,死亡就殃及了眾人,因為眾人都犯了罪。沒有法律之前,罪惡已經在世界上,雖然因為沒有法律,罪惡本應不算為罪惡。但從亞當起,直到梅瑟,死亡卻作了王,連那些沒有像亞當一樣,違法犯罪的人,也屬它權下;這亞當原是那未來亞當的預像。但恩寵決不是過犯所能相比的,因為,如果因一人的過犯,大眾都死了,那麼,天主的恩寵,及那因耶穌基督一人的恩寵,所施與的恩惠,更要豐富地洋溢到大眾身上。

瑪竇福音 10:26-33

那時候,耶穌對宗徒說:「你們不要害怕他們,因為沒有遮掩的事,將來不被揭露的;也沒有隱藏的事,將來不被知道的。我在暗中給你們所說的,你們要在光天化日之下,報告出來;你們由耳語所聽到的,要在屋頂上,張揚出去。「你們不要害怕那殺害肉身,而不能殺害靈魂的;但更要害怕,能使靈魂和肉身,都陷於地獄的那位。「兩隻麻雀,不是賣一個銅錢嗎?但沒有你們天父的許可,牠們中,連一隻也不會掉在地上。就是你們的頭髮,天父也都一一數過。所以,你們不要害怕;你們比許多麻雀,還貴重呢!「凡在人面前,承認我的,我在我天上的父面前,也必承認他;但誰如果在人面前,否認我,我在我天上的父面前,也必否認他。」

我們於本週福音讀經中,聽到耶穌在派遣十二宗徒去傳播福音之前,這樣鼓勵和安慰他們,「你們不要害怕 」, 「就是你們的頭髮,也都一一數過了」 ( 瑪10:31,30)。此時,宗徒們的確需要鼓勵,因為耶穌給他們的任務並不輕鬆容易。「【他】們要為【耶穌】的緣故,被帶到總督和君王前,並對【世人】們和外邦人作證」(瑪 10:18)。但是,宗徒們卻不用擔心要說什麼,因為 「說話的不是【他】們」而是 「【他】們父的聖神在【他】們內說話」(瑪 10:20)。

宗徒們追隨耶穌已經有好一段日子了。他們親眼看見耶穌如何傳授天主聖言、宣講福音「天國臨近了」(瑪 10:7),並治好病人、復活死人、潔淨痲瘋病者和驅魔 (參 瑪 10:8)。現在,耶穌讓他們把所學的一切付諸實行之際,亦不忘警醒他們會面對的危險。祂派遺他們,好像「羊進入狼群中」;有「能使靈魂和肉身陷於地獄中的」人,而「唯獨堅持到底的,才可得救」(瑪 10 :16,28,22)。

耶穌的教導與我們有什麼關係呢?我們未必在自己的教會團體擔任福傳工作,但我們每人都有這與生俱來的任務,就是直接地或藉着自己作為一個好教徒的言行,把天主聖言傳揚和教導給自己的家人、同事、朋友和社區。耶穌在本主日福音讀經最後的兩節,總結了我們將來會如何被審判:「凡在人前承認我的,我在我天上的父前也必承認他;但誰若在人前否認我,我在我天上的父前也必否認他 」(瑪 10:32-33)。耶穌堅定地提醒我們,在世上承認祂,也是一個生死攸關的問題 — 永恆的光榮或永罰。

最近在互聯網上,經常都看到一些視頻攻擊我們的基督宗教信仰、教會甚至是教宗,實在令人不安和痛心。 這些視頻都有極高的收視率。可能是一些狡猾的假冒者為摧毁我們的靈魂而製作的。如耶穌所預測,我們真是在狼群中,所以必須「機警如同蛇」,看透表面,要知道他們散播的是什麼 (瑪 10:16)。我們一定要有批判性,否則我們會跌進陷阱,以為他們所指控的或假裝傳的道理是真的。在這四分五裂、對與錯、真與假的界線變得模糊不清的世界承認耶穌,我們要無懼,仰望耶穌,祂正在以同樣的鼓勵和安慰宗徒的話「不要害怕」來強化我們 (瑪 10:31)。耶穌答應祂的宗徒們,當他們作見證時,在他們內說話的是他們父的聖神;當然,天主聖神,真理之神,也會讓我們可以正確地承認耶穌的(參 瑪 10:20)。

Posted: June 21, 2020

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 常年期第十二主日:不要害怕 吳智勳神父

本周福音寫作背後的環境,大概是門徒傳道時遇上種種困難。他們內在地感到不足,不知怎樣有效地傳福音;他們多半沒有受過正統教育,遇到知識分子便有困難。外在方面,福音傳播受到阻撓甚或迫害。耶穌鼓勵門徒,三次提到「不要害怕」。「不要害怕」有幾個意思:

繼續閱讀 >
失去講真話的恐懼 Fr. Jusin Huang

讓我們談一談「說實話」 這個話題,最後結合談及教會的醜聞。在未來,我希望將這一點應用於種族主義和變性人,以及其他任何有爭議的領域。

繼續閱讀 >