Losing the Fear of Speaking the Truth

Twelfth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Jeremiah 20:10-13

Jeremiah said: "I hear the whisperings of many: 'Terror on every side! Denounce! let us denounce him!' All those who were my friends are on the watch for any misstep of mine. 'Perhaps he will be trapped; then we can prevail, and take our vengeance on him.' But the LORD is with me, like a mighty champion: my persecutors will stumble, they will not triumph. In their failure they will be put to utter shame, to lasting, unforgettable confusion. O LORD of hosts, you who test the just, who probe mind and heart, let me witness the vengeance you take on them, for to you I have entrusted my cause. Sing to the LORD, praise the LORD, for he has rescued the life of the poor from the power of the wicked!"

Romans 5:12-15

Brothers and sisters: Through one man sin entered the world, and through sin, death, and thus death came to all men, inasmuch as all sinned— for up to the time of the law, sin was in the world, though sin is not accounted when there is no law. But death reigned from Adam to Moses, even over those who did not sin after the pattern of the trespass of Adam, who is the type of the one who was to come. But the gift is not like the transgression. For if by the transgression of the one the many died, how much more did the grace of God and the gracious gift of the one man Jesus Christ overflow for the many.

Matthew 10:26-33

Jesus said to the Twelve: "Fear no one. Nothing is concealed that will not be revealed, nor secret that will not be known. What I say to you in the darkness, speak in the light; what you hear whispered, proclaim on the housetops. And do not be afraid of those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul; rather, be afraid of the one who can destroy both soul and body in Gehenna. Are not two sparrows sold for a small coin? Yet not one of them falls to the ground without your Father's knowledge. Even all the hairs of your head are counted. So do not be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows. Everyone who acknowledges me before others I will acknowledge before my heavenly Father. But whoever denies me before others, I will deny before my heavenly Father."

Let’s talk about speaking the truth, and, at the end, do it in relation to the scandals in the Church. In the future, I hope to apply this to racism and transgenderism, and everything else where there’s debate.

[Listen to Fr. Justin’s homily here.]
http://thejustmeasure.ca/wp-content/uploads/2020/06/Homily-June-21-2020.mp3

[Watch Fr. Justin’s homily delivery here.]
https://youtu.be/NBgeFW3w39Q

We’ve talked about self-censorship a few times now, how I personally hold back certain truths which I think you may not be able to accept. I wonder today: Will some of you get angry, leave, and never come back? Will I say what is true but still be misunderstood? Talking to many of you, I know you’re hesitant about sharing certain truths. You may lose relationships, people may insult you, and people are getting more aggressive in attacking each other online.

Jesus’ words in the Gospel today are very encouraging, because He wants and demands us to speak the truth, and gives us four reasons not to be afraid to do so.

1) He says, “What I say to you in the dark, tell in the light; and what you hear whispered, proclaim from the housetops” (Mt 10:27). The context of these words is Jesus’ sending out the Twelve Apostles on a mission and preparing them. He’s telling them that everything they have received from Him in private must be shared. “The Gospel is meant to be the public property of all people and not the personal possession of only a few” (Daniel Mueggenborg, Come Follow Me, 206). All of His personal love, teaching, and formation are gifts and not just for themselves, but for everyone.

In the same way, we’ve received God Himself, Jesus Christ, and we’re meant to share Him with others. We’re supposed to ‘proclaim from the housetops’ these truths and insights. And what’s proclaimed from the housetops will fall on open ears and deaf ears. But if we don’t tell people about Jesus, no one will and they’ll never have a chance to accept Him.

2) Jesus adds: “Do not fear those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul; rather fear him who can destroy both soul and body in hell” (Mt 10:29-31). What does it mean to kill the soul? It means to turn it to evil. The human soul is immortal (CCC 366, 1022), so it doesn’t die in the sense that it stops existing. It dies when it turns to evil. A person is truly alive when they’re doing what is morally good, but is dead when they choose what is morally evil. Jesus says not to ‘fear those who kill the body,’ which can be anyone. But, ultimately, there is only one person who can kill your soul: you. So, He’s telling the Twelve: If you don’t fulfill your mission and speak the truth, you will lose your soul, your very self.

You know that expression, ‘To sell your soul’? It means to do something bad in exchange for a benefit, to be liked and accepted by the crowd. We sell our souls in a partial way whenever we lie or don’t speak a truth that needs to be said.

Consider this: Actions form habits, and habits form character. A person who repeatedly tells the truth builds up the habit/virtue of honesty, and becomes an honest person. Their repeated actions form their character, their identity. But a person who repeatedly lies builds up the opposite characteristic, the vice of lying, and, if done repeatedly, to varying degrees, that person will become a liar; lying will be part of who he or she is. (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2017/11/12/were-born-good-but-not-virtuous/) We become what we do! This idea works with every moral choice we make. People who take one small but brave step to speak the truth perform a courageous act, and, if they do it again, and again, will eventually grow in courage and become courageous. But, if we go along with the crowd when we know it’s wrong, stay silent when our conscience is saying, “This isn’t right,” then we commit a cowardly act, and, over time, we become cowards.

Jordan Peterson, the Canadian psychologist, speaks a lot about telling the truth and this has resonated worldwide. In response to the question, what’s the best way to protect yourself from doing horrific things as happened in Communist countries, where people went along with the crowd, he said, “The way you fight them is you don’t lie… about anything ever… The entire [Soviet Union] was pervaded by lies. One-third of the people were government informers. You could never say anything that you believe to be true. And… it doesn’t start by people directly lying, it starts by people muffling themselves because there are certain things you can no longer say. You demolish your character… through sins of omission and you get weak. And as soon as you’re weak, people can manipulate you like mad”. (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5n8zn-R10qM)

He says you can even observe if you’re telling the truth physiologically: You can feel it in your solar plexus. When we lie, we feel ourselves coming apart. But, when we tell the truth, we feel ourselves coming together and being strengthened!

3) Jesus says, “Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? Yet not one of them will fall to the ground apart from your Father. And even the hairs of your head are all counted. So do not be afraid; you are of more value than many sparrows” (Mt 10:29-31). A sparrow was the cheapest meat one could buy, and a penny was 1/16 of a daily wage (Mueggenborg, 207), so, if God cares about such insignificant things, how much more will He care for us who are trying to speak the truth.

All my worries, and yours, about speaking the truth and what might happen fail to account for the fact that God’s in control of our situations. He will bring good out of difficulty. In fact, when we follow Jesus and speak the truth, good will come of it (Cf. Rom 8:28)! This is encouraging!

4) The following words of Jesus are challenging: “Everyone therefore who acknowledges me before others, I also will acknowledge before my Father in heaven; but whoever denies me before others, I also will deny before my Father in heaven” (Mt 10:32-33). Jesus says that He is the truth (Jn 14:6), so when we acknowledge the truth, we acknowledge Him. But when we deny truths that must be spoken, He will deny us. Why? Because He won’t force us to be with Him. I’ve always found this very motivating. I’m afraid of some of your reactions. But I should be more afraid of His reaction, not because He’ll hurt me, but because I don’t want to separate myself from Him.

So let’s apply telling the truth to scandals in the Church. I chose this issue because, before we critique the sins of the world, we must critique our own (Cf. Mt 7:3-5). We must clean up our own mess before helping others clean up theirs.

But I’ll prepare you: What we do here in speaking the truth will probably be very palatable to all of us. My question for you is, when we come to speaking the truth about issues that challenge your world view, will you be able to do it? Speaking the truth with regard to scandals in the Church is considered socially acceptable, but societally, we don’t have the same freedom to ask questions with regard to racism, transgenderism, etc. We are under pressure to be politically correct rather than speak the truth.

One problem in the Church is that there is still an instinctual but very harmful reaction among many bishops, priests, and lay Catholics to protect the Church’s reputation whenever there’s a scandal, or to downplay it. Not only does it kill our credibility, because people wonder why we are ready to critique moral failings of the world, but slow to critique our own moral failings, but it kills our soul. For the reason that if we in the hierarchy can’t admit our own faults, we become weak, and lose all moral courage to speak out against sins in our world. And, if we lie, we become a shell. We’re nothing. Here are some examples:

The trustworthy reporter, John Allen, wrote that, on May 1, six Vatican employees, including three clerics, were fired because they were all “suspects in a land deal in London in which the Vatican’s Secretariat of State used $225 million from the annual Peter’s Pence collection to buy part of a former Harrod’s warehouse,” and then the deal went bad. Allen notes that “the reasons for the firings need to be explained… [And] if parish priests around the world are supposed to stand in front of their congregations and appeal for support for Peter’s Pence [on Oct. 4], they too are owed an explanation of what happened”. (https://cruxnow.com/news-analysis/2020/05/sooner-or-later-pope-francis-will-have-to-face-the-malaise-of-reform/) Listen also to “Sex, Money, Power: The Challenge of Church Reform”. “Most Catholics believed Peter’s Pence was designed to support papal charities, and they may be less inclined to give if they think their money will instead end up in speculative land deals”. (https://angelusnews.com/voices/vaticans-financial-mess-illustrates-ambivalence-of-being-a-poor-church/)

Another example: The Canadian priest Fr. Raymond De Souza wrote a factual column entitled, “We Used to Believe Bishops Told the Truth. What Happened?” Among different cases, he mentions that Cardinal Wuerl of Washington said in 2018 that he knew nothing of ex-Cardinal McCarrick’s sexual abuse of people. But 14 years before, Wuerl had already heard formal complaints against McCarrick and informed the Apostolic Nuncio. Wuerl explained this discrepancy as a lapse in memory, but no one believes him nor should they.

We should not be afraid of calling these cover-ups cover-ups, and calling these people to account. It’s the right thing to ask for answers online, sign petitions, and talk about it, because once it’s more public, then there’s a healthy pressure to improve. Healing will come when we acknowledge the truth and atone for the wrong. We will regain our soul.

When it comes, for example, to the truth regarding the Church’s involvement in Canadian residential schools, we need to acknowledge that a tremendous amount of evil was committed by priests, brothers, and sisters. Not only was there physical and sexual abuse, but the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada called residential schools a central element in cultural genocide, doing their part to wipe out people’s institutions, language, culture, and religion. (http://www.trc.ca/assets/pdf/Honouring_the_Truth_Reconciling_for_the_Future_July_23,_2015.pdf) Admitting the truth will set us free.

As Catholics, this shouldn’t shake our faith in Jesus or in the Church. There have always been Judases who betray Jesus. Our faith isn’t based on them, but on Jesus, and the Catholic Church is still Jesus’ family. Please watch the film In the Spirit of Reconciliation, and you’ll see people who were abused at residential schools still have faith in Jesus and the Church.

And to admit this isn’t to say everyone in the Vatican is mishandling money, or that every bishop is lying, or that every missionary at residential schools was evil. It is to say that we must take the log out of our own eye first before taking the splinter out of our neighbour’s eye.

Simply by admitting our communal fear of speaking out and talking about the virtue of telling the truth, we’re already stronger morally and spiritually. Jesus gives us four reasons not to be afraid: 1) We cannot keep Jesus and the truth to ourselves; He must be shared; 2) If we don’t speak the truth, then we’ll lose our soul; 3) God will bring good out of evil when we challenge what’s politically correct; 4) If we deny Jesus, He will deny us. Because of these four reasons, we’re overcoming our fear of speaking the truth.

Source: The JustMeasure:Losing the Fear of Speaking the Truth (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2020/06/21/losing-the-fear-of-speaking-the-truth/)

Posted: June 21, 2020

Fr. Jusin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

Eighteenth Sunday In Ordinary Time
How to turn our littleness into greatness?
"Incline your ear, and come to me; listen, so that you may live"(Is 55:3) Continue Reading >
Eighteenth Sunday In Ordinary Time
Would You Bring Only the Old or the New?
What does Jesus teach about the Kingdom of God? What is the significance of rejecting the ideologies of both left and right, the idolatry of both the new and the… Continue Reading >
Eighteenth Sunday In Ordinary Time
How to Ask for the Best Gifts
"At Gibeon the Lord appeared to Solomon in a dream by night; and God said, 'Ask what I should give you'" (1 Kg 3:5).—This is what God is saying to… Continue Reading >

失去講真話的恐懼

常年期第十二主日

耶肋米亞先知書 20:10-13

耶肋米亞說:我聽到了許多人私相耳語:「驚慌四起!你們揭發,我們就必對他提出控訴。」甚至我的一切友好,都在偵察我的破綻:「也許他會中計,那我們必能制勝他,向他報復。」但是,與我同在的上主,好像一位孔武有力的戰士,為此,迫害我的人,只有失敗,決不能制勝;由於謀事不成,必蒙受極大的恥辱,永不可磨滅的羞辱。萬軍的上主啊!你考驗義人,洞察人的肝膽肺腑;我既然向你訴說了我的案情,願你使我見到:你對他們的報復。你們應歌頌上主,讚揚上主,因為他從惡人手中,救出了窮苦人的性命。

羅馬書 5:12-15

弟兄姊妹們:就如罪惡藉著一人,進入了世界,死亡藉著罪惡,也進入了世界;這樣,死亡就殃及了眾人,因為眾人都犯了罪。沒有法律之前,罪惡已經在世界上,雖然因為沒有法律,罪惡本應不算為罪惡。但從亞當起,直到梅瑟,死亡卻作了王,連那些沒有像亞當一樣,違法犯罪的人,也屬它權下;這亞當原是那未來亞當的預像。但恩寵決不是過犯所能相比的,因為,如果因一人的過犯,大眾都死了,那麼,天主的恩寵,及那因耶穌基督一人的恩寵,所施與的恩惠,更要豐富地洋溢到大眾身上。

瑪竇福音 10:26-33

那時候,耶穌對宗徒說:「你們不要害怕他們,因為沒有遮掩的事,將來不被揭露的;也沒有隱藏的事,將來不被知道的。我在暗中給你們所說的,你們要在光天化日之下,報告出來;你們由耳語所聽到的,要在屋頂上,張揚出去。「你們不要害怕那殺害肉身,而不能殺害靈魂的;但更要害怕,能使靈魂和肉身,都陷於地獄的那位。「兩隻麻雀,不是賣一個銅錢嗎?但沒有你們天父的許可,牠們中,連一隻也不會掉在地上。就是你們的頭髮,天父也都一一數過。所以,你們不要害怕;你們比許多麻雀,還貴重呢!「凡在人面前,承認我的,我在我天上的父面前,也必承認他;但誰如果在人面前,否認我,我在我天上的父面前,也必否認他。」

(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿為準。)

讓我們談一談「說實話」 這個話題,最後結合談及教會的醜聞。在未來,我希望將這一點應用於種族主義和變性人,以及其他任何有爭議的領域。

講道錄音 (英語):
http://thejustmeasure.ca/wp-content/uploads/2020/06/Homily-June-21-2020.mp3

[黃神父主日講道視頻 (英語)]
https://youtu.be/NBgeFW3w39Q

我們已經談過幾次關於自我審查,談過我個人是如何保留一些我認為你們可能無法接受的事實。我想知道至今:你們中的一些人還會因此而生氣,離開,然後再也不回來嗎?我還會因為講真話而被誤解嗎?與你們中的許多人交談時,我知道你們對於分享某些真相時仍猶豫不決。你可能會因為講真話而得罪人,人們可能會因此侮辱你,人們在網上互相攻擊的行為已變得更加咄咄逼人。

耶穌今天在福音中的話非常鼓舞人心,因為祂希望並且要求我們說真話,同時給了我們四個不害怕說真話的理由。

1)祂說:「我在暗中給你們所說的,你們要在光天化日之下報告出來,你們由耳中所聽到的,要在屋頂上張揚出來。」(瑪10:27) 這些話的上下文是耶穌派十二門徒去傳教,並為他們做好準備。祂告訴他們,他們私下從祂那裡接收到的所有東西都必須分享。 「福音應該是所有人的公共財產,而不是少數人的個人財產。 (Daniel Mueggenborg, Come Follow Me, 206) 祂所有的所愛、教導和靈修塑造都是恩賜,這不單是為門徒們的,也是給每個人的。

以同樣的方式,我們接受了天主,耶穌基督,我們應該與他人分享祂。我們應該「在屋頂上張揚出來」這些真理和真知灼見。在屋頂上張揚出來的話,有聽力的或耳聾的都聽得見。但是如果我們不告訴他們關於耶穌的事,就沒有人會告訴他們,他們也永遠沒有機會接受祂。

2)耶穌補充道:「你們不要怕那殺害肉身,而不能殺害靈魂的;但更要害怕那能使靈魂和肉身陷於地獄中的。」(瑪10:29-31) 殺死靈魂是什麼意思?它的意思是把它變成邪惡。人類的靈魂是不死不滅的。 (CCC366,1022) 所以在它停止存在的意義上它不會死亡。當它變成邪惡的時候它就死了。當一個人在做道德上好的事情時,他是真正活著的,但當他選擇道德上邪惡的事情時,他是死的。

耶穌說,不要害怕「那殺害肉身」的,這可能是任何人。但是最終只有一個人可以殺死你的靈魂:你自己。

所以,祂在告訴十二門徒:如果你不完成使命,不說真話,你就會失去靈魂,失去自我。

你知道那句話嗎? 「出賣靈魂」?它的意思是想討好,迎合大眾的喜好和接受能力,從做壞事換取利益。每當我們說謊或不說出真相時,我們就或多或少地出賣了自己的靈魂。

想一想這一點:行為塑造習慣,習慣塑造性格。一個人堅持說真話,養成誠實的習慣/美德,就成為一個誠實的人。重複的行為塑造性格,繼而身份。反之,一個反复撒謊的人建立相反的特徵,即撒謊的惡習,如果反复撒謊,這個人將在不同程度上成為說謊者;撒謊將成為他或她的一部分。 我們做什麼就會變成什麼!這個想法適用於我們做出的每一個道德選擇。走出勇敢的一小步說出真相的人就是具有勇敢的行為,如果他們一次又一次地這樣做,就會越來越有勇氣,最終會變得勇敢起來。但是,如果我們知道這是錯的,卻隨波逐流,當我們的良知在說「這是不對的」時,我們卻保持沉默,那麼我們就會犯下懦弱的行為,久而久之,我們就會變成懦夫。

加拿大心理學家喬丹彼得森(Jordan Peterson)講了很多關於說實話的話題,這在世界上引起了共鳴。人們問他, 要在共產主義國家那樣做可怕事情下保護自己最好的方法是隨波逐流; 他說,「與他們鬥爭的方式是,在任何事情上不撒謊。整個(蘇聯)瀰漫著謊言。三分之一的人是政府的線人。你永遠不能說任何你認為是真的話。… 人們不是從直接撒謊開始,而是從人們因為某些事情而閉口不言開始的。通過不去有作為之罪過,變得軟弱, 摧毀了你的品格…。一旦你軟弱了,人們就可以馬上瘋狂地操縱你。

他說,你甚至可以從身體上感覺到自己是不是在說實話:你可以在你的太陽神經叢solar plexus中感受到。當我們撒謊的時候,我們感覺自己要分崩離析了。但是,當說出真相時,我們就感覺到自己很整體,變得更強大了!

3)耶穌說:「兩隻麻雀不是賣一個銅錢嗎﹖但若沒有你們天父的許可,它們中連一隻也不會掉在地上。就是你們的頭髮,也都一一數過了。所以,你們不要害怕;你們比許多麻雀還貴重呢!」(瑪10:29-31) 一隻麻雀是人們能買到的最便宜的肉食,一個銅錢是一天工資的1/16 (Mueggenborg, 207) ,所以,如果天主關心這些微不足道的事情,祂會更關心我們這些試圖說真話的人。

我和你們一樣擔憂對因為說真話可能引起的事情, 但我們沒有考慮到天主是掌握著我們的情況的。祂會從我們的困難中帶出美好的事。事實上,當我們跟隨耶穌說真話的時候,善行就會到來! (Cf. Rom 8:28) 這太鼓舞人心了!

4)耶穌下面的話頗具挑戰性:「凡在人前承認我的, 我在我天上的父前也必承認他;但誰若在人前否認我,我在我天上的父前也必否認他。

(瑪10:32-33) 耶穌說祂是真理(若14:6),所以當我們承認真理時,我們就承認了祂。但當我們否認必須說出的真理時,祂也會否認我們。為什麼?因為祂不會強迫我們和祂在一起。

我一直覺得這非常鼓舞人心。我害怕你的 一些反應。但我應該更害怕祂的反應,不是因為祂會傷害我,而是因為我不想和祂分離。

所以讓我們把說真話應用於教會的醜聞。我之所以選擇這個問題,是因為在我們批判世界的罪惡之前,我們必須先批判我們自己的罪過。 (Cf. Mt 7:3-5) 我們必須先清理自己的爛攤子,然後才能幫助別人清理他們的爛攤子。

但我會讓你們做好準備:我們這說真話的做法可能會讓我們所有人都非常滿意。我的問題是,當我們說出挑戰你世界觀的問題的真相時,你能做到嗎?對教會的醜聞說真話被認為是社會上可以接受的,但在社會上,我們沒有同樣的自由來詢問關於種族主義、跨性別主義等的問題。我們承受著壓力,要求我們保持政治正確,而不是說實話。

教會的一個問題是,無論何時發生醜聞,許多主教、神父和平信徒仍有一種本能但非常有害的反應,為了保護教會的聲譽,或淡化它。它不僅扼殺了我們的信譽,因為人們想知道為什麼我們準備好批評這個世界的道德缺陷,但卻遲遲不去批評我們自己的道德缺陷;而且它殺死了我們的靈魂,因為如果我們在編制中不能承認自己的錯誤,我們就會變得軟弱,失去所有道德勇氣直言不諱地反對我們世界的罪惡。如果我們撒謊,我們就會變成一個空殼。我們什麼都不是。以下是一些例子:

非常值得信賴的記者約翰艾倫(John Allen)寫道,5月1日,包括三名神職人員在內的六名梵蒂岡僱員被解僱,因為他們都是「一項倫敦地產交易的嫌疑人,梵蒂岡國務秘書處用教廷的慈善基金Peter’s Pence 年度收集2.25億美元購買了前哈羅德倉庫的一部分」,然後交易失敗了。艾倫指出,「解僱的原因需要解釋…。[而且] 如果世界各地在10月4日站在他們的教友面前,呼籲支持Peter’s Pence 的堂區神父們,也應該對發生的事情做出解釋,
(https://cruxnow.com/news-analysis/2020/05/sooner-or-later-pope-francis-will-have-to-face-the-malaise-of-reform/ Listen also to “Sex, Money , Power: The Challenge of Church Reform”: https://catholicherald.co.uk/behindtheheadlines/episode-004-sex-money-power-the-challenge-of-church-reform/)。

「大多數天主教徒認為Peter’s Pence 是為了支持教宗的慈善機構而設計的,如果他們認為他們的錢最終會用在投機性的土地交易上,他們可能不會那麼傾向於捐款,”( https: //angelusnews.com/voices/vaticans-financial-mess-illustrates-ambivalence-of-being-a-poor-church/)。

另一個例子:加拿大的雷蒙德•德索薩神父Fr. Raymond De Souza 寫了一篇事實專欄, 題為「我們一向相信主教說的都是真相, 事實怎麼了?

從不同的案件中,他提到華盛頓州紅衣主教維爾Cardinal Wuerl在2018年表示,他對前紅衣主教麥卡里克McCarrick的性侵行為一無所知。但14年前,維爾已經聽到了對麥卡里克的正式投訴,並通知了使徒大使。維爾將這種差異解釋為記憶失誤,但沒有人相信他。 ,也不應該相信他。 (https://catholicherald.co.uk/we-used-to-believe-bishops-told-the-truth-what-happened/)

我們不應該害怕稱這些掩蓋行為為掩蓋行為,並追究這些人的責任。在網上追問答案、簽名請願並談論這件事是正確的,因為一旦它公開了,就會有一種健康的壓力去改善。

當我們承認真相並為錯誤贖罪時,治愈就會到來。我們會找回我們的靈魂。例如,當談到教會參與加拿大原住民寄宿學校的真相時,我們須要承認,神父、修士和修女們犯下了巨大的罪惡。不僅有身體和性虐待,而且真相與和解委員會稱寄宿學校是文化滅絕的核心因素,在摧毀了人民的機構、語言、文化和宗教。 (http://www.trc.ca/assets/pdf/Honouring_the_Truth_Reconciling_for_the_Future_July_23_2015.pdf) 承認真相會讓我們獲得自由。

作為天主教徒,這不應該動搖我們對耶穌或教會的信仰。一直都有出賣耶穌的猶達。我們的信仰不是基於他們,而是基於耶穌,天主教會仍然是耶穌的家人。如果你曾經看過In the Spirit of Reconciliation這部電影,你會看到那些在寄宿學校受到虐待的人,仍然相信耶穌和教會。

我們也得承認,不是梵蒂岡的每一個人都在濫用公款,不是每一個主教都撒謊,或者每一個住宿學校的傳教士都是邪惡的。我們是說我們必須先把自己眼中的大樑取出來才能把鄰人眼中的木屑取出來。

我們對集體的恐懼直言不諱,通過說實話的美德,我們就已經在道德上和靈性上變得更強大了。耶穌給了我們四個不用害怕的理由:1)我們不能把耶穌和真理據為己有,必須與所有人分享祂;2)如果我們不說真話,那麼我們就會喪失靈魂;3) 當我們挑戰什麼是政治正確的時候,天主會從罪惡中帶出美好來。 4)如果我們否認耶穌,祂就會否認我們。因為這四個原由,我們克服了對說真話的恐懼。

Posted: June 21, 2020

Fr. Jusin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

「凡在人前承認我的,我在我天上的父前也必承認他」(瑪 10:32) Shiu Lan

天主聖神,真理之神,會讓我們可以正確地承認耶穌

繼續閱讀 >
甲年(瑪竇) 常年期第十二主日:不要害怕 吳智勳神父

本周福音寫作背後的環境,大概是門徒傳道時遇上種種困難。他們內在地感到不足,不知怎樣有效地傳福音;他們多半沒有受過正統教育,遇到知識分子便有困難。外在方面,福音傳播受到阻撓甚或迫害。耶穌鼓勵門徒,三次提到「不要害怕」。「不要害怕」有幾個意思:

繼續閱讀 >