Why does Jesus want to be baptized?


Today’s feast may, legitimately, cause confusion to some of us. Rightly, we understand that baptism entails a cleansing and erasing of the original sin (CCC 405). Obviously, as God, Jesus has no need for such a ritual ablution or a baptism of repentance for the forgiveness of sins, just as John preached (rf Lk 3:3). What prompted Jesus, then, to go to John the Baptist to be baptized, to be part of “all the people” and to “blend into the grey mass of sinners waiting on the banks of the Jordan”? (Lk 3:21, Pope Benedict XVI, Jesus of Nazareth from the Baptism in the Jordan to the Transfiguration P.16).

No doubt, Jesus’ baptism is a solemn inauguration of His public ministry but for Luke, it is more of a theophany, a revelation of who Jesus is. The first revelation is “heaven was opened” (Lk 3:21). If heaven is now opened, it implies it was closed before. Why? It is because of the sin of our first parents, that the way to the Tree of Life was blocked (rf Gen 3:24). Jesus came to reconnect the way, to be the mediator between God and humankind so that “the grace of God has appeared, saving all” (rf Second Reading Ti 2:11). The second revelation is the descending of the Holy Spirit on Jesus. It is His anointing and investiture as the divine Messiah. He can truly embody the oracle of the prophet Isaiah for which He will later proclaim in the synagogue of Nazareth, “The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, because He has anointed me to bring glad tidings to the poor” (Lk 4:18). Jesus is now set to proclaim the good news of salvation! The third revelation is the voice from heaven, the voice of God, the voice from a father to his son. At the Annunciation, the angel Gabriel proclaims that the child whom Mary will conceive in her womb will be holy, the Son of God (rf Lk 1:35). Here, we have God Himself solidly confirming the fact by addressing this to Jesus, not only as the beloved Son, but also in whom the Father is well pleased (rf Lk 3:22).

The baptism of Jesus reminds us of our baptism. What have been revealed to us at His baptism also happened to us at our own baptism. By this rite, apart from the remittance of our sins, we participate in the love of the Trinity. Heaven is opened to welcome us and the Holy Spirit descends to clothe us with the three baptismal roles (priest, prophet and king). Each one of us is called and becomes a “son of God”, each one of us is the “beloved son of God”. Our baptism is “an entrance into [the Lord’s] own baptism” (rf. Pope Benedict XVI, Jesus of Nazareth from the Baptism in the Jordan to the Transfiguration, P.23).

What prompted Jesus to be baptized? To put it plainly, He wills it. He wills to “[step] into the place of sinners”, to immerse Himself in the same water with them; to infuse His own holiness into them and to let life start over again anew ( rf Pope Benedict XVI, Jesus of Nazareth from the Baptism in the Jordan to the Transfiguration, P. 18). Jesus refers His baptism to His sacrificial death on the cross (rf Mk 10:38, Lk 12:50). His baptism is “an acceptance of death for the sins of humanity”. “He loaded the burden of all mankind’s guilt upon His shoulders; he bore it down into the depths of the Jordan” (rf Pope Benedict XVI, Jesus of Nazareth from the Baptism in the Jordan to the Transfiguration P.18). We, too, are buried with Him in baptism the filth of our past but “are raised with Him through faith in the power of God, who raised Him from the dead” (Col 2:12). The “heavenly voice proclaimed an anticipation of the Resurrection,” a rebirth through water, which is the symbol of life (rf Pope Benedict XVI, Jesus of Nazareth from the Baptism in the Jordan to the Transfiguration P.18).

When St John Paul II promulgated “The Mysteries of Light” of the Holy Rosary in 2002, the Lord’s baptism has become not just an annual feast but a part of our Thursday contemplation of the life of Jesus, our Savior. May our prayer of the luminous mystery keep us faithful to our baptismal call as the children of God, just as Jesus was faithful to His mission which started at His baptism at the Jordan River.

Posted: January 9, 2022

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

“Just as I have loved you, you also should love one another” (Jn 13:34)
The love that Jesus refers to is the divine love for one another that is modeled on his own acts of charity and generosity on the Cross (Ref ICSB P191) Continue Reading >
Beyond Loneliness
Were you ever lonely as a child? If so, do you remember how often? A while back, I saw some students at our school waiting to be picked up by… Continue Reading >
We Are His people, the sheep of His Flock (Ps 100:3)
This week’s readings invite us to renew our confidence in the one true God, our Good Shepherd, Lord Jesus Christ, who remains faithful and steadfast throughout our pilgrimage on earth. Continue Reading >

為什麼耶穌要受洗?


今天的慶日,無疑會令一些人感到困惑。 沒錯,我們所認知的聖洗聖事囊括了清洗和滌除原罪的功能(天主教教理 405)。顯然,耶穌作為天主,並不需要洗者若翰宣講的清洗儀式,或悔改的洗禮去赦免罪過(參見 路 3:3)。那麼,是什麼促使耶穌去洗者若翰那裡受洗,成為「衆百姓」的一份子,並「融入在約旦河岸等候的一羣灰暗的罪人中」? (路 3:21,教宗本篤十六世著《納匝肋人耶穌 從約旦河受洗到顯聖容》 16 頁)。
毫無疑問,耶穌的受洗,為祂的公開傳教隆重地揭開了序幕,但對路加來說,卻更像是主的顯示,顯示了耶穌是誰。第一個啟示是「天開了」(路 3:21)。如果天堂現在被打開,則意味著之前,天堂是關閉的。何解?因為我們原祖的罪過,通往生命樹的道路被堵住了(參見 創 3:24)。耶穌到來,是為重新接通這道路,並成為天主與人之間的中保,「天主救眾人的恩寵,已經出現」了(參見 讀經二 弟 2:11)。第二個 啟 示是天主聖神降臨 於耶穌身上。祂領受傅油為天主所派遣的默西亞。衪真的能實現依撒意亞先知的預言,就是衪稍後在納匝肋會堂上宣告的:「上主的神臨於我身上,因為衪 給我傅了油,派遣我向貧窮人傳報喜訊」(路 4:18)。耶穌現已一切準備就緒,去宣講救贖的福音!第三個啟 示是來自天上的聲音 — 天主的聲音 — 是父親對兒子說話的聲音。在天使報喜時,天使加俾額爾宣佈瑪利亞所懷的孩子會是至聖的,是天主的兒子(參 路 1:35)。在這裡,我們聽見天主親自證實這事實,衪 對耶穌說,衪 不僅是衪 的愛子,更是天父所喜悅的 (參 路 3:22)。
耶穌的洗禮,提醒了我們自己的洗禮。 祂受洗時顯示給我們的,在我們受洗時,也同樣發生在我們身上。通過這禮儀,除了我們的罪過得到赦免之外,我們也參與了天主聖三的仁愛。天堂之門敞開歡迎我們; 聖神降臨,讓我們負起受洗後的三個職務(司祭、先知和君王)。我們每個人都被召喚成為「天主的兒子」,我們每個人都是「天主的愛子」。 我們的洗禮是「進入了【上主】自己的洗禮」(參 教宗本篤十六世著,《納匝肋人耶穌 從約旦河受洗到顯聖容》 23 頁)。
是什麼促使耶穌去受洗?簡單來說,是祂意願的。衪願意「【踏進】罪人的位置」,與他們浸在同一的水中;把自己的神聖灌注在他們內,讓他們的生命可重新開始(參 教宗本篤十六世著,《納匝肋人耶穌 從約旦河受洗到顯聖容 》 18 頁)。耶穌隱射衪的洗禮為衪在十字架上的犧牲(參 谷 10:38,路 12:50)。衪 的洗禮是「為人類的罪惡而接受的死亡」。「衪背負着全人類的罪惡;帶到約旦河的深處」 (參 教宗本篤十六世著《納匝肋人耶穌 從約旦河受洗到顯聖容 》18 頁)。在受洗時,我們以及我們過去的罪污也與衪一起埋葬了,但「藉着信德,即相信那使衪由死者中復活的天主的能力,與衪一同復活了」(哥 2:12)。那「天上的聲音宣告了對復活的期望」,而藉着生命的象徵 — 水 — 而獲得重生(參 教宗本篤十六世著,《納匝肋人耶穌 從約旦河受洗到顯聖容》 18 頁)。
當聖若望保祿二世於 2002 年頒布玫瑰經「光明的奧蹟」時,主的受洗不僅是一年一度的慶日,更成為我們每星期四默想救主耶穌一生的一部份。 願光明奧蹟的祈禱,使我們忠於自己受洗成為天主兒女的召叫,就如耶穌忠於衪在約旦河受洗時所展開的使命一樣。

Posted: January 9, 2022

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

2021年隱藏的恩典 Fr. Justin Huang

請問:人們還在互相祝賀「新年快樂」嗎?如果是,最好,因為現在還是新年伊始,還有成長的機會,我們都想成長。

繼續閱讀 >
丙年(路加) 主受洗節 : 耶穌受洗 吳智勳神父

教會把主受洗日放在主顯節後的主日,作為聖誕期的結束和常年期的開始。事實上,主耶穌以接受若翰悔改的洗禮,作為祂公開生活的開端,也是另一次主顯的事蹟,即主基督以從事傳播福音的工程,來表達天主臨在於此世的明證。

繼續閱讀 >