Why don’t we just give in to worldly riches and pleasures?

Fourth Sunday of Easter

Acts 13:14, 43-52

Paul and Barnabas continued on from Perga and reached Antioch in Pisidia. On the sabbath they entered the synagogue and took their seats. Many Jews and worshipers who were converts to Judaism followed Paul and Barnabas, who spoke to them and urged them to remain faithful to the grace of God. On the following sabbath almost the whole city gathered to hear the word of the Lord. When the Jews saw the crowds, they were filled with jealousy and with violent abuse contradicted what Paul said. Both Paul and Barnabas spoke out boldly and said, “It was necessary that the word of God be spoken to you first, but since you reject it and condemn yourselves as unworthy of eternal life, we now turn to the Gentiles. For so the Lord has commanded us, I have made you a light to the Gentiles, that you may be an instrument of salvation to the ends of the earth.” The Gentiles were delighted when they heard this and glorified the word of the Lord. All who were destined for eternal life came to believe, and the word of the Lord continued to spread through the whole region. The Jews, however, incited the women of prominence who were worshipers and the leading men of the city, stirred up a persecution against Paul and Barnabas, and expelled them from their territory. So they shook the dust from their feet in protest against them, and went to Iconium. The disciples were filled with joy and the Holy Spirit.

Revelation 7:9, 14B-17

I, John, had a vision of a great multitude, which no one could count, from every nation, race, people, and tongue. They stood before the throne and before the Lamb, wearing white robes and holding palm branches in their hands. Then one of the elders said to me, “These are the ones who have survived the time of great distress; they have washed their robes and made them white in the blood of the Lamb. “For this reason they stand before God’s throne and worship him day and night in his temple. The one who sits on the throne will shelter them. They will not hunger or thirst anymore, nor will the sun or any heat strike them. For the Lamb who is in the center of the throne will shepherd them and lead them to springs of life-giving water, and God will wipe away every tear from their eyes.”

John 10:27-30

Jesus said: “My sheep hear my voice; I know them, and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish. No one can take them out of my hand. My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all, and no one can take them out of the Father’s hand. The Father and I are one.”

Salvation and eternal life are for those who would “continue in the grace of God.” (First reading, Acts 13:43) The good news is that salvation has no bounds. It is to be brought “to the ends of the earth” (Acts 13:47). But for those of us who believe and are continuing in the grace of God, will our earthly journey be easy and smooth? Not necessarily so. As we can see from the example of Paul and Barnabas, they were abused, contradicted, (Acts 13:45) driven away and persecuted (Acts 13:50) while evangelizing and doing God’s work.

We strive to be good people, but there is no guarantee that bad things will not happen to good people. Then why must we make attaining eternal life our mission and goal in our earthly journey? Why don’t we just give in to worldly riches and pleasures, instead of living out the teachings of Jesus which is not easy and may even result in us being ridiculed or ignored to say the least? Because of Jesus’ promise of eternal life to us, (Gospel Reading Jn 10:28) we must continue in the grace of God (Acts 13:43). If we are willing to see beyond the world that we live in and follow Jesus, listen to his words, we will have eternal life. We will “hunger no more, and thirst no more;” and “he will guide them to springs of the water of life, and God will wipe away every tear from their eyes.” (Second Reading Rev 7:16-17) If more people will live out the teachings of Jesus, our world will become a better place for everyone too.

In the chaos of the present day when morals and ethics are challenged and even life itself is given a meaning contrary to our Catholic faith, let us not be disheartened or discouraged even when our effort to live out the Gospel fails to bear fruit. We must find courage and strength in Jesus’ promise of eternal life. We must carry on with hope, “… the sorrows of our daily lives may never dim our hope of life beyond death.” (“The Way of the Cross with Pope Francis” CNEWA Canada 2015) This message of hope is especially meaningful in the Easter season, which is a season of hope. For our Lord who is risen has brought us salvation!

Posted: April 17, 2016

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

You’re Free to Choose
Today’s homily is about freedom, because some people have been wondering if anyone will feel pressure in our upcoming Christ the King Challenge. ‘What will my wife think if I… Continue Reading >
The Joy of Knowing How to Read the Bible
This Sunday’s readings give us a good glimpse into Typology - an amazing biblical interpretation technique that enables us to see the unity of the Old and New Testaments. Continue Reading >
This is Justice, This is Mercy
Mr. Perry, our school principal, once shared a story about when he was young, he and his family took the ferry to Salt Spring Island. He had a friend who… Continue Reading >

為什麼我們不讓自己嚮往世上的榮華富貴和歡樂?

復活期第四主日

宗徒大事錄 13:14,43-52

那時候,保祿和巴爾納伯,由培爾革經過各處,到了丕息狄雅的安提約基雅。安息日,他們進了會堂,坐下。有許多猶太人和皈依猶太教的虔誠人,隨從了保祿和巴爾納伯。兩人同他們談話,勸他們務要堅持天主的恩寵。下一個安息日,全城的人幾乎都聚集起來,要聽天主的聖道。猶太人一看見這麼多人,就滿懷嫉妒,反對保祿所講的,且加以辱罵。保祿和巴爾納伯卻放膽地說:「天主的聖道,本來應該先講給你們聽,但因你們拒絕接受,並斷定自己不配得永生。看!我們就要轉向外邦人,因為主如此命令我們,說:『我已立你作為外邦人的光明,把救恩帶到地極。』」外邦人聽了,都很喜歡,讚美主的聖道。那些被預定獲得永生的人,就都信了。主的聖道於是傳遍了那地方。猶太人卻挑唆敬畏天主的尊貴婦人,及城中要人,發動迫害保祿和巴爾納伯,把他們驅逐出境。兩人就當著他們,拂去腳上的塵土,往依科尼雍去了。門徒都充滿喜樂和聖神。

默示錄 7:9,14-17

我、若望,看見有一大夥群眾,沒有人能夠數清,是來自各邦國、各支派、各民族、各異語的;他們都站在寶座和羔羊面前,身穿白衣,手持棕櫚枝。長老之中,有一位告訴我,說:「這些人是由大災難中來的,他們曾在羔羊的血中,洗淨了自己的衣裳,使衣裳雪白。因此,他們得以站在天主的寶座前,且在他的殿內,日夜事奉他。那坐在寶座上的,也必要住在他們中間。他們再也不餓,再也不渴;烈日和任何炎熱,再也不會損傷他們,因為,那在寶座中間的羔羊,要牧放他們,要領他們到生命的水泉;天主也要拭去他們眼上的一切淚痕。」

若望福音 10:27-30

那時候,耶穌說:「我的羊聽我的聲音,我也認識他們,他們也跟隨我;我把永生賜給他們,他們永遠不會喪亡;誰也不能從我手中,把他們奪去。「我父把羊群賜給我;我父超越一切,為此,誰也不能從我父手裡,將他們奪去。我與父原是一體。」

恆久保持天主恩寵的人會得到救贖和永生。(讀經一,宗 13:43)讀經一的好消息就是救贖是無界限的,救恩會被「帶到地極」(宗 13:47)。為我們這些相信天主和努力保持天主恩寵的人,我們在世的路容易走嗎?也不一定容易走。從保祿和巴爾納伯的例子,我們看到他們在為天主傳揚福音時,被人辱罵,反對(宗 13:45),驅逐和迫害(宗 13:50)。

我們努力做好人,卻沒有保證壞事不會發生在好人身上。為什麼我們仍然以得永生為我們此生的使命和目標?為什麼我們不讓自己嚮往世上的榮華富貴和歡樂,而要活出耶穌的教導?活出福音,絕不容易,會被人冷落,取笑。但因為耶穌給了我們永生的承諾,我們必要恆久保持天主的恩寵。只要我們的目光超越此生,只要我們跟隨耶穌,聽祂的話, 便會得到永生,我們「再不會受飢渴」,天主要領我們「到生命的水泉」;要抹乾我們的「每滴眼淚。」(讀經二,默7:16-17)如果更多的人可以活出耶穌的教導,世界會更美好。

在這紛亂之世,不但倫理道德受到挑戰,甚至連生命也有了一個違反天主教信仰的釋義。當我們努力活出福音卻看不見成果時,我們不必氣餒。在耶穌永生的承諾裡,我們必定找到勇氣和力量。尤其是在這復活期間,一個滿有救贖希望的季節,我們要懷着希望,努力下去, 「不要因生活上的憂苦挫敗而漸漸失去對永生的盼望」。(《教宗方濟各的苦路善工》 CNEWA Catholic Near East Welfare Association 2015) 因為復活的主已救贖了我們!

Posted: April 17, 2016

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

丙年復活期第四主日:我認識我的羊,我的羊也認識我 吳智勳神父

今日是聖召主日,傳統稱這一天為善牧主日。善牧主日能給人一個印象以為單指神父作為牧者的聖召,改稱為聖召主日,可以包括修士和修女的聖召,目的是希望整個教會能為各種聖召祈禱。

繼續閱讀 >