Will only a few people be saved?

Twenty-first Sunday in Ordinary Time

Isaiah 66:18-21

Thus says the LORD: I know their works and their thoughts, and I come to gather nations of every language; they shall come and see my glory. I will set a sign among them; from them I will send fugitives to the nations: to Tarshish, Put and Lud, Mosoch, Tubal and Javan, to the distant coastlands that have never heard of my fame, or seen my glory; and they shall proclaim my glory among the nations. They shall bring all your brothers and sisters from all the nations as an offering to the LORD, on horses and in chariots, in carts, upon mules and dromedaries, to Jerusalem, my holy mountain, says the LORD, just as the Israelites bring their offering to the house of the LORD in clean vessels. Some of these I will take as priests and Levites, says the LORD.

Hebrews 12:5-7,11-13

Brothers and sisters, You have forgotten the exhortation addressed to you as children: “My son, do not disdain the discipline of the Lord or lose heart when reproved by him; for whom the Lord loves, he disciplines; he scourges every son he acknowledges.” Endure your trials as “discipline”; God treats you as sons. For what “son” is there whom his father does not discipline? At the time, all discipline seems a cause not for joy but for pain, yet later it brings the peaceful fruit of righteousness to those who are trained by it. So strengthen your drooping hands and your weak knees. Make straight paths for your feet, that what is lame may not be disjointed but healed.

Luke 13:22-30

Jesus passed through towns and villages, teaching as he went and making his way to Jerusalem. Someone asked him, “Lord, will only a few people be saved?” He answered them, “Strive to enter through the narrow gate, for many, I tell you, will attempt to enter but will not be strong enough. After the master of the house has arisen and locked the door, then will you stand outside knocking and saying, ‘Lord, open the door for us.’ He will say to you in reply, ‘I do not know where you are from. And you will say, ‘We ate and drank in your company and you taught in our streets.’ Then he will say to you, ‘I do not know where you are from. Depart from me, all you evildoers!’ And there will be wailing and grinding of teeth when you see Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob and all the prophets in the kingdom of God and you yourselves cast out. And people will come from the east and the west and from the north and the south and will recline at table in the kingdom of God. For behold, some are last who will be first, and some are first who will be last.”

The saying of the narrow door in Luke’s Gospel also appears in the Gospel of Matthew with some modifications in content and meaning (rf Mt 7:13-14). And though they are put in different contexts, both describe a situation that is difficult and laborious.

It is difficult because the narrow door is hard to find and upon finding it, it is hard to enter (rf Mt 7:14, Lk 13:24). It is laborious because it involves constant struggle not merely in one’s moral choice but perseverance in pursuing the way that leads to eternal life (rf Mt 7:14). Jesus thus lays down two conditions: concentrated effort to find the narrow door and rigorous effort to enter it.

Earlier in Luke’s Gospel, John the Baptist has already forewarned the Jewish people that family heritage is no guarantee for salvation (rf Lk 3:8). Now Jesus elaborates it further: it is not only insufficient to be the children of Abraham; neither are those with whom Jesus associates or to whom Jesus preaches the Gospel (rf Lk 13:26-27, Mt 7:21-23). Only by accepting Jesus’ message and demand will one be admitted to the heavenly feast. It is those (Gentiles included) with the faith of Abraham and who hear and do what Jesus said are entitled to enter. Again, like John the Baptist who preached a baptism of repentance with urgency (rf Lk 3:9, Mt 2:10), Jesus’ warning also demands immediate action. The door will not remain open indefinitely and once it is shut, there is absolutely no way to get in anymore (rf Lk 13:25). So “will only a few people be saved?” (Lk 13:23).

In the Old Testament, the motif of the surviving remnants scattered throughout the books of the prophets (rf Is 4:2-3; 9:27; 11:11-12; 62:12, Zec 8:1-14; 13:8-9, Mi 2;12, Jer 23:3, Jl 3:5, Ob 3:5). On one hand, they foretold the forthcoming exile and the destruction of Jerusalem but on the other hand, the hope and promise of Israel’s survival and restoration through the faithful remnants. In Jesus’ time, the number of those who will be saved is still a concern of the Jews. Contrary to what was understood, Jesus replies by portraying a multitude of people instead of a few and they “will come from the east and the west and from the north and the south” (Lk 13:29). Salvation is God’s gift freely given to the Jews, but now it is also extended to the Gentiles. Through belief and acceptance of Jesus, those who are called last (the Gentiles) will precede those to whom the invitation to enter the Kingdom was first made (the Jews).

Struggle for the Jews therefore entails both the acceptance of Jesus and the reality of the inclusive rights of others into God’s kingdom. As the chosen people, the Jews are told not to pin their salvation simply on their ties with Abraham. But how about us? Does Jesus’ warning also apply to us? Is our baptism a one-way ticket to heaven? And should we also be concerned like the Jews as to the number of us who will be saved? Now that we are included in God’s salvation plan, should our attitude be a spirit of gratitude and humility, and our response a will of repentance and good deeds? Like St. Paul who told the Philippians to work out their salvation with fear and trembling (rf Phil 2:12), what if because of presumption, pride or laxity, we are the ones to stand outside knocking when the master comes?

Posted: August 25, 2019

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

God Never Gives up on Us; Why Should We?
Be persistent, “will not God grant justice to his chosen ones who cry to Him day and night?” (Lk 18:7)  Continue Reading >
The miracle of the ten lepers
“God calls us to live in gratitude, obeying with joy to the One who has given us so much, infinitely more than we could ever give to him” (Pope Francis… Continue Reading >
Healing is Simpler Than Imagined
I know a man who’s got a lot of problems: He struggles with his closest relationships, with his work, and with his direction in life. He blames everything: God hasn’t… Continue Reading >

果真是得救的人不多嗎?

常年期第二十一主日

依撒意亞先知書 66:18-21

上主這樣說:「我要來聚集萬民,及各種語言的民族;他們都要前來,觀看我的榮耀。我要在他們中,施行奇事,並派遣生還的人,到外邦人那裡,即往塔爾史士、普特、路得、默舍客、洛士、突巴耳、雅汪,及遼遠的海島上,即沒有聽過我的聲譽,沒有見過我光榮的地方。「他們要從各民族中,用馬、車、轎、騾、獨峰駝,把你們的弟兄,送到我的聖山:耶路撒冷,當作獻於天主的獻儀,好像以色列子民,用潔淨的器皿,將供物獻於上主的聖殿一樣:這是上主說的。我要從他們中間,選拔司祭和肋未人:這是上主說的。」

希伯來書 12:5-7,11-13

弟兄姊妹們:你們竟然忘記了天主勸你們,好像勸子女所說的話:「我兒,不要輕視上主的懲戒,也不要厭惡他的譴責,因為上主懲戒他所愛的,鞭策他所接納的每個兒子。」為接受懲戒,你們應該堅忍,因為天主對待你們,有如對待子女。那有兒子,做父親的,不懲戒他呢?固然各種懲戒,在當時,似乎不是樂事,而是苦事;可是,以後,為那些這樣受過訓練的人,就會結出正義與和平的果實。為此,你們應該伸直痿弱的手,及麻木的膝;你們的腳,應履行正直的路,叫瘸子不要偏離正道,反叫他獲得痊瘉。

路加福音 13:22-30

那時候,耶穌經過各城各鄉,前往耶路撒冷,隨處施教。有一個人對耶穌說:「主,得救的人果然不多嗎?」耶穌對群眾說:「你們竭力由窄門進入吧!我告訴你們:因為將來有許多人,想要進去,卻不能進去。及至家主起來,把門關上,你們在外面站著,開始敲門,說:主,請給我們開門吧!他要回答你們說:我不認識你們是那裡的。那時,你們會說:我們曾在你面前,吃過喝過;你也曾在我們的街市,施教過。「他要說:我告訴你們:我不認識你們是那裡的;你們這些作惡的人,都離開我吧!「幾時你們望見亞巴郎、依撒格、雅各伯,及眾先知,在天主的國裡,你們卻被摒棄在外面,你們只有哀號和切齒。將有從東從西,從北從南而來的人,參加天主國裡的筵席。「看!有最後的,將成為最先的,也有最先的,將成為最後的。」

耶穌在《路加福音》中提到的窄門,在《瑪竇福音》也有提及。雖然內容和意思稍有改變(參 瑪 7:13-14),也出現於不同的文理內,但兩者都描述一個艱辛竭力的情況。

如此艱辛,因為狹而窄的門不容易找到,找到以後,能進去也是艱難的 (參 瑪 7:14,路 13:24)。如此竭力,因為要進就得不斷努力掙扎才可,不單是要立志選擇正道,也要堅持追求那導入永生的門的路 (參 瑪 7:14)。耶穌也就給我們定了兩個條件:集中精力尋找狹窄的門,並竭力進入。

早前在《路加福音》,若翰洗者已預先警告猶太人,從祖先繼承的,並不是救恩的保證 (參 路 3:8)。現在耶穌進一步闡述:作為亞巴郎的子孫並不足夠;與耶穌有關係或聽過祂宣講福音的人,也都不足夠 (參 路 13:26-27,瑪 7:21-23)。只有接受耶穌教理和誡命的人,才能參加天國的盛宴;有亞巴郎一樣信德的人(包括外邦人),並聆聽履行耶穌的教誨,才有權進入。像若翰洗者宣講一個迫切悔改的洗禮 (參 路 3:9,瑪 2:10)一樣,耶穌的警告也是行動緊急的。門是不會長開,一但關上,便絕對不能進入 (參 路 13:25)。那麼「果真是得救的人不多嗎?」(路 13:23)。

舊約的先知書中 ,處處都提及尚存遺民這主題 (參 依 4:2-3; 9:27; 11:11-12; 62:12,匝 8:1-14; 13:8-9,米 2;12,耶 23:3,岳 3:5,北 3:5)。一方面,衆先知預言即要來臨的流亡和耶路撒冷的摧毀;另一方面,藉著充滿信德的尚存遺民,他們也預言以色列的存活及其重建的希望和承諾。在耶穌時代,猶太人仍然關心有多少人會得救。而耶穌的回應,與
當時猶太人所理解的卻相反,祂說不是少數而是會有很多人得救,而他們是「從東從西,從北從南而來的人」(路 13:29)。天主白白地給予猶太子民救恩,現在,救恩也延伸到外邦人身上。透過相信和接受耶穌,最後獲邀的(外邦人),可比最早獲邀的(猶太人)更先進入天國。

所以猶太人的掙扎包括要接受耶穌,同時也得接受其他人也享有進入天國的權利。作為特選的民族,猶太人得知,不能單憑與亞巴郎的關係而獲得救恩。至於我們呢?耶穌給猶太人的警告對我們也適用嗎?領受了的聖洗聖事是我們到天國的直通車票嗎?我們應否像猶太人一樣,關心我們中間有多少人能得救呢?我們現正是收錄在天主的救世計劃內,那麼我們是否應懷着感恩和謙卑的態度,而我們的回應是悔改和行善的決心呢?像聖保祿告訴斐理伯人,要懷著恐懼戰慄,努力成就得救的事 (參 斐 2:12) ,萬一因為妄望、驕傲、怠慢,以至當家主來臨時,我們成為站在外邊敲門的一群,那怎麼辦?

Posted: August 25, 2019

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

丙常年期第二十一主日:誰在天國裡? 吳智勳神父

今天的福音談及有關天國的言論,這個言論是由一個很有趣的問題引發出來的。有人問耶穌:「主啊,得救的人真的不多嗎?」耶穌便借著這問題,處理兩個問題:第一個是「誰可進入天國?」第二個是「怎樣才可進入天國?」

繼續閱讀 >