“You are my son, the Beloved; with you I am well pleased” (Luke 3:22)

The Baptism of the Lord

Isaiah 40:1-5,9-11

Comfort, give comfort to my people, says your God. Speak tenderly to Jerusalem, and proclaim to her that her service is at an end, her guilt is expiated; indeed, she has received from the hand of the LORD double for all her sins. A voice cries out: In the desert prepare the way of the LORD! Make straight in the wasteland a highway for our God! Every valley shall be filled in, every mountain and hill shall be made low; the rugged land shall be made a plain, the rough country, a broad valley. Then the glory of the LORD shall be revealed, and all people shall see it together; for the mouth of the LORD has spoken. Go up on to a high mountain, Zion, herald of glad tidings; cry out at the top of your voice, Jerusalem, herald of good news! Fear not to cry out and say to the cities of Judah: Here is your God! Here comes with power the Lord GOD, who rules by a strong arm; here is his reward with him, his recompense before him. Like a shepherd he feeds his flock; in his arms he gathers the lambs, carrying them in his bosom, and leading the ewes with care.

Titus 2:11-14;3:4-7

Beloved: The grace of God has appeared, saving all and training us to reject godless ways and worldly desires and to live temperately, justly, and devoutly in this age, as we await the blessed hope, the appearance of the glory of our great God and savior Jesus Christ, who gave himself for us to deliver us from all lawlessness and to cleanse for himself a people as his own, eager to do what is good. When the kindness and generous love of God our savior appeared, not because of any righteous deeds we had done but because of his mercy, He saved us through the bath of rebirth and renewal by the Holy Spirit, whom he richly poured out on us through Jesus Christ our savior, so that we might be justified by his grace and become heirs in hope of eternal life.

Luke 3:15-16,21-22

The people were filled with expectation, and all were asking in their hearts whether John might be the Christ. John answered them all, saying, “I am baptizing you with water, but one mightier than I is coming. I am not worthy to loosen the thongs of his sandals. He will baptize you with the Holy Spirit and fire.” After all the people had been baptized and Jesus also had been baptized and was praying, heaven was opened and the Holy Spirit descended upon him in bodily form like a dove. And a voice came from heaven, “You are my beloved Son; with you I am well pleased.”

This Sunday’s Gospel reading is an account of the revelation of the divinity of Christ after His baptism by John the Baptist, “the heaven was opened, and the Holy Spirit descended upon him in bodily form like a dove. And a voice came from heaven, ‘You are my son, the Beloved; with you I am well pleased’” (Luke 3:22).

It takes faith for Christians to believe in the divinity of Christ. It is not through our own merits that we have the gift of faith, “Your faith might be a matter, not of human wisdom, but of God’s power” (1 Cor 2:5). It is by His revelation that the invisible God, from the fullness of His love, invites and receives us in his own company. Faith is our response to God’s invitation when we completely submit our intellect and our will to Him (Ref. CCC 142 and 143).

Each one of us has a different story about our own faith and conversion. We may be fortu-nate to know God through faithful and loving parents, a gentle and righteous teacher in school or a holy and compassionate priest in church. We may be in search of God and indeed find Him and the meaning of our being. We may encounter God when we receive a spectacular or even miraculous grace to render us relief from a terrible suffering. Or we may simply encounter God through the beauty and wonder of nature, the living things on earth, the stars in the sky and the timeless universe. Or we may be amazed by the synchronization and order in our own physical self from the cellular level to the bodily functions, in the mother earth where we live and the universe that we are part of, pointing us to an omnipotent Creator, the almighty Triune God.

We are truly blessed to have the gift of faith. Let us follow St. Paul’s advice, strive to be transformed by faith to “renounce impiety and worldly passions, and in the present age to live lives that are self-controlled, upright and godly” and make it our goal in life that God will also be well pleased in us His adopted children (Second reading Titus 2:12).

Posted: January 13, 2019

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

“The appearance of his face changed, and his clothes became dazzling white” (Luke 9:28)
Pope Francis encouraged us to climb up with Jesus on the mountain, to be more attentive to the voice of God and to allow oneself to be enveloped and transformed… Continue Reading >
Our own forty days in the desert
This Sunday’s Gospel reading is an account of the revelation of the divinity of Christ after His baptism by John the Baptist, “the heaven was opened, and the Holy Spirit… Continue Reading >
Our own forty days in the desert
Temptations are like litmus papers, revealing the depth of our faith and love in God. Continue Reading >

「你是我的愛子,我因祢而喜悅」(路 3:22)

主受洗節

依撒意亞先知書 40:1-5,9-11

「你們安慰,安慰我的百姓吧!」你們的天主說。你們應向耶路撒冷說知心的話,並向她宣告:她的苦役已期滿,她的罪債已清償,因為她為了自己的一切罪過,已由上主手中,承受了雙倍的懲罰。有一個呼聲喊說:「你們要在曠野,預備上主的道路,在荒野,為我們的天主修平一條大路!一切深谷要填滿;一切山陵要剷平;隆起的要削為平地;崎嶇的要闢成坦途!上主的光榮要顯示出來;凡有血肉的,都會看見:這是上主親口說的。」給熙雍傳喜訊的啊!請登上高山!給耶路撒冷報喜訊的啊!請大聲疾呼!高呼吧!不要畏懼!向猶大各城報告說:你們的天主來了!吾主上主帶著威能來到;他的手臂獲得了勝利;他的勝利品與他同在;他獲得的酬勞在他面前。他必如牧羊人,牧放自己的羊群,以自己的手臂集合小羊,把牠們抱在自己的懷中;溫良地帶領哺乳的母羊。

弟鐸書 2:11-14; 3:4-7

親愛的:天主拯救眾人的恩寵已經出現,教導我們棄絕不虔敬的生活,和世俗的貪慾;而要有節制地、公正地、虔敬地在今世生活,期待所希望的幸福,和我們偉大的天主及救主耶穌基督光榮的顯現。他為我們捨棄了自己,是為救贖我們脫離一切罪惡,並洗淨我們,使我們能成為他的選民,叫我們熱心行善。當我們救主天主的良善,和他對人的慈愛出現時,他救了我們,並不是由於我們本著義德所立的功勞,而是出於他的憐憫,藉著聖神所施行重生和更新的洗禮,救了我們。這聖神,是天主藉我們的救主耶穌基督,豐富地傾注在我們身上的,好使我們因他的恩寵成義,本著希望,成為永生的承繼人。

路加福音 3:15-16,21-22

那時,百姓都在期待【默西亞】,為此,人人心中推想:或許若翰就是默西亞。若翰便向眾人說:「我固然以水洗你們,但是,比我強的那一位要來,就是解他的鞋帶,我也不配。他要以聖神和火洗你們。」眾百姓受洗後,耶穌也受了洗;當他祈禱時,天開了;聖神藉著一個形象,如同鴿子,降在他上邊;並有聲音從天上說:「你是我的愛子,我因你而喜悅。」

這主日的福音讀經講述基督在若翰洗者為祂施洗以後,祂的天主性顯示了,『天開了,聖神藉着一個形象,如同鴿子,降在祂上邊。並有聲音從天上說: 「你是我的愛子,我因祢而喜悅」』(路 3:22)。

基督徒藉著信德,相信基督的天主性。信德不是因自己的功勞而可得的恩寵,「你們的信德不是憑人的智慧,而是憑天主的德能」(格前 2:5)。藉著啟示,無形的天主,以祂無窮的愛,邀請我們與祂共融契合。信德是我們回應天主的邀請,把自己的理智和意志完全交付祂(參 《天主教教理 142,143》)。

我們都有自己的信仰和皈依的故事。我們有幸認識天主,可能是因為有信德和愛我們的父母,學校裡有正義溫良的老師,聖堂裡有聖善和慈愛的神父。可能我們尋找天主,而真的找到祂和自己存在的意義。我們可能在困厄中遇見天主,獲得特別甚至奇蹟般的恩典,令我們脫離苦痛。或許我們從美麗奇妙的大自然,大地上的各種生物,天空的星辰和永恆的宇宙中與主相遇。又或許我們會因自己身體細胞以至器官功能皆依時運作有序,所住的大地和所屬的宇宙而驚嘆,在在都為我們指向全能的造物主,三位一體的天主。

有信德的恩寵,我們真有福。讓我們遵照聖保祿的勸勉,「棄絕不虔敬的生活,和世俗的貪慾;而要有節制地、公正地、虔敬地在今世生活」,努力藉著信仰改造自己,以天主因我們 – 祂的義子義女 – 而喜悅作為生命的目標 (讀經二 弟 2:12)。

Posted: January 13, 2019

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

丙年主受洗節 : 耶穌受洗 吳智勳神父

教會把主受洗日放在主顯節後的主日,作為聖誕期的結束和常年期的開始。事實上,主耶穌以接受若翰悔改的洗禮,作為祂公開生活的開端,也是另一次主顯的事蹟,即主基督以從事傳播福音的工程,來表達天主臨在於此世的明證。

繼續閱讀 >