“Sunday Homily: Fr. Justin Huang” Begin Again With Equilibrium

The Baptism of the Lord

Isaiah 55:1-11

Thus says the LORD: All you who are thirsty, come to the water! You who have no money, come, receive grain and eat; come, without paying and without cost, drink wine and milk! Why spend your money for what is not bread, your wages for what fails to satisfy? Heed me, and you shall eat well, you shall delight in rich fare. Come to me heedfully, listen, that you may have life. I will renew with you the everlasting covenant, the benefits assured to David. As I made him a witness to the peoples, a leader and commander of nations, so shall you summon a nation you knew not, and nations that knew you not shall run to you, because of the LORD, your God, the Holy One of Israel, who has glorified you. Seek the LORD while he may be found, call him while he is near. Let the scoundrel forsake his way, and the wicked man his thoughts; let him turn to the LORD for mercy; to our God, who is generous in forgiving. For my thoughts are not your thoughts, nor are your ways my ways, says the LORD. As high as the heavens are above the earth so high are my ways above your ways and my thoughts above your thoughts. For just as from the heavens the rain and snow come down and do not return there till they have watered the earth, making it fertile and fruitful, giving seed to the one who sows and bread to the one who eats, so shall my word be that goes forth from my mouth; my word shall not return to me void, but shall do my will, achieving the end for which I sent it.

1 John 5:1-9

Beloved: Everyone who believes that Jesus is the Christ is begotten by God, and everyone who loves the Father loves also the one begotten by him. In this way we know that we love the children of God when we love God and obey his commandments. For the love of God is this, that we keep his commandments. And his commandments are not burdensome, for whoever is begotten by God conquers the world. And the victory that conquers the world is our faith. Who indeed is the victor over the world but the one who believes that Jesus is the Son of God? This is the one who came through water and blood, Jesus Christ, not by water alone, but by water and blood. The Spirit is the one who testifies, and the Spirit is truth. So there are three that testify, the Spirit, the water, and the blood, and the three are of one accord. If we accept human testimony, the testimony of God is surely greater. Now the testimony of God is this, that he has testified on behalf of his Son.

Mark 1:7-11

This is what John the Baptist proclaimed: “One mightier than I is coming after me. I am not worthy to stoop and loosen the thongs of his sandals. I have baptized you with water; he will baptize you with the Holy Spirit.” It happened in those days that Jesus came from Nazareth of Galilee and was baptized in the Jordan by John. On coming up out of the water he saw the heavens being torn open and the Spirit, like a dove, descending upon him. And a voice came from the heavens, “You are my beloved Son; with you I am well pleased.”

Many of us struggle with highs and lows in our lives: When we’re high, we’re very high, but unfortunately unprepared for problems and sufferings that eventually come. If you’re the kind of person who gets surprised at suffering, such as when COVID-19 struck the world, this may apply to you. On the other hand, once we’re low, we’re distraught, forgetful that God’s still with us.

[Watch Fr. Justin’s homily delivery here.] https://youtu.be/H-xK4y_z13A

Part of the problem is that we let external forces influence us too much: We’re happy depending on how well people treat us. So, we’re up and down all the time. The point of today’s homily is to begin again with equilibrium, with balance.

If we look at today’s Gospel, we see four indications that life on earth will always be a mixture of blessings and challenges. We normally only see the consolations in this Gospel, but there are also challenges: “In those days Jesus came from Nazareth of Galilee and was baptized by John in the Jordan. And just as he was coming up out of the water, he saw the heavens torn apart and the Spirit descending like a dove on him. And a voice came from heaven, ‘You are my Son, the Beloved; with you I am well pleased’” (Mk 1:9-11).

1) When the voice says to Jesus, ‘You are my Son, the Beloved; with you I am well pleased,’ this is consoling, because Jesus is affirmed in His identity as the Father’s Son, but this also indicates that Jesus is sent to sacrifice Himself. The term ‘beloved son’ is used in the Old Testament (Gen 22:2,12,16, LXX) to describe Isaac when Abraham is asked by God to sacrifice his only son. But, whereas God will stop this sacrifice, He Himself will offer His only beloved Son for us.

So, there are times in life when we experience being loved by our Father, but this reminds us that we’re called to sacrifice ourselves out of love. If now is a time when you’re spiritually consoled, are you aware that part of life means that sacrifices are coming, and that’s part of being beloved children of God?

2) When it says that Jesus ‘was baptized,’ this is a positive event, because baptism is symbolic of new life, but baptism is also symbolic of death, death to a sinful way of life, symbolized by cleaning one’s body of dirt. Water gives life, but also drowns.

Anyone who’s baptized will always experience invitations to new life, but also challenges to change their moral lives in order to love more like Jesus. We need to try to wash away all sin in our lives.

3) We see the Trinity appear together for the first time: Jesus is there; God is in the voice from heaven and refers to His Son, thus making Him Father; and then the Holy Spirit is present ‘descending like a dove on Him.’ They appear together in the context of love! But what does the Spirit do right after Jesus’ baptism? “The Spirit immediately drove him out into the wilderness. He was in the wilderness forty days, tempted by Satan” (Mk 1:12-13). Jesus is sent on a mission to combat Satan, to be tested, to prove that He truly is God’s Son and live in obedience—that testing is part of life.

4) Finally, Bishop Daniel Mueggenborg points out that the location of this event is symbolic of life (Come Follow Me, Year B, 35). It takes place in the river Jordan (https://www.biblicalarchaeology.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/07/bethany-map.jpg) between the northern Sea of Galilee, which is full of life-giving water, and the south Dead Sea, in which nothing can live. The Jordan river, however, flows southwards, and, if we’re the kind of people who ‘go with the flow,’ then that leads to spiritual death. In order to grow, daily life will often be a fight against difficulties.

So, life is a mixture of spiritual consolation and desolation. From now on, we are going to use these technical terms in homilies and when we speak to each other, because all of us experience them all the time. Spiritual consolations are movements in our hearts that are generally happy, uplifting, joyful and peaceful, and in a spiritual way. Let’s say right now your experience of Mass is prayerful, and your faith, love, or desire to share Jesus with others is strong—that’s spiritual consolation. But let’s say that though you’re having a good day, when it comes to Mass, you actually want to be somewhere else—that’s a spiritual desolation. We’ll give more examples in the future.

For now, just realize that it’s normal that consolation and desolation alternate in our lives (Fr. Timothy Gallagher, The Discernment of Spirit, 49, 110). Don’t be surprised when this happens. God wants to console us, but desolation can also help us grow.

How should we respond to these alternations? Begin again with equilibrium.

Please watch this one-minute clip from a professor of psychiatry on the fourth characteristic of human maturity, in which he emphasizes perspective and the ability to see the whole picture in human relationships (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LOkgvaQ-vHw 3:09-4:18). Now that’s maturity at a human level.

Maturity at a spiritual level is similar. St. Ignatius of Loyola writes in his 11th Rule for the discernment of spirits: “Let one who is consoled seek to humble himself and lower himself as much as he can, thinking of how little he is capable in the time of desolation without such grace or consolation. On the contrary, let one who is in desolation think that he can do much with God’s sufficient grace to resist all his enemies, taking strength from his Creator and Lord.”

Spiritually mature people have an equilibrium: When they’re consoled by God, they’re not naively high. They know they’re receiving a gift and know that desolation will come. And when they feel far from God, don’t feel like praying, serving or evangelizing, they stay faithful, because they know God is faithful. They have perspective, they see the whole spiritual picture.

Look closely at what St. Ignatius writes, ‘Let one who is consoled seek to humble himself… thinking of how little he is capable in the time of desolation without such grace or consolation.’ Some people, for example, after they get baptized, after an amazing experience at Alpha realize that what they were given was a gift, and they didn’t deserve it. And, so when it’s temporarily taken away, they accept it with humility, and so they’re stable.

When we seek to humble ourselves, we think back on the last time we felt far from God. How strong were we? Did we give up? Where we faithful?” This reminds us of how much we need God, and that, without Him, we can do nothing.

On the other hand, St. Ignatius writes, “Let one who is in desolation think that he can do much with God’s sufficient grace to resist all his enemies, taking strength from his Creator and Lord.” For example, I’m tired, my friends haven’t contacted me lately, my boss has a moustache and her name is Adolf, and I don’t want to pray. I’ve been praying the 11:02 prayer but I haven’t seen anything happen. Or, I missed a few days so I just stopped doing it—that’s spiritual desolation. ‘Think,’ St. Ignatius says, that you can do much with God’s grace! Don’t panic and blindly follow your emotions. God is with you. You still have the choice. You can call your friends, love your boss and pray for her, and start praying for your loved ones again, even when you don’t feel like it! This is hopeful! And the desolation will pass when God chooses.

Last insight: In St. Matthew’s Gospel, he records that everyone heard the voice of the Father say to Jesus that He’s God’s beloved Son. But, what we just heard in St. Mark’s Gospel is that only Jesus heard it. It’s a private grace that we’re privileged to hear. In the same way, God the Father says to each of us privately, “You are my beloved son/daughter.” If we listen carefully, we’ll hear it. In the quiet of our hearts, at the beginning of 2021, we’re called to make one of the most life-giving personal choices: When we’re blessed by God, we’ll accept it, but won’t be naively high; and when we’re suffering, we’ll trust in Him. Begin again with equilibrium.

Source: The JustMeasure: Begin Again With Equilibrium (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2021/01/10/begin-again-with-equilibrium/)

Posted: January 10, 2021

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

The Catholic Church and Catholicity
When the Catholic Church opens her arms to welcome all peoples, she does so not only because of charity, important as it is in Jesus’ teaching, it’s also because of… Continue Reading >
“Abide in me as I abide in you.”
From Jesus the Vine comes the natural outflow of life Continue Reading >
What our eyes cannot see, our heart perceives and understands
The Spirit in us; the same Spirit promised by Jesus and given to us through the sacrament of confirmation, sharpens all our senses, and most importantly our heart, to “taste… Continue Reading >

【黃謙善神父主日講道】從保持心靈的均衡重新開始

主受洗節

依撒意亞先知書 55:1-11

上主說:「凡口渴的,請到水泉來!那沒有錢的,也請來吧!請來買不花錢,不收費的酒和奶!你們為什麼為那些不能充飢的東西花錢?為那些不足果腹的東西,浪費薪金呢?你們如果細心聽我,你們就能吃到豐美的食物;你們的心靈必因飽享佳餚而喜悅。「你們如果走近我,側耳聽我,你們必將獲得生命;我要與你們訂立一項永久的盟約,即誓許於達味的恩惠。看,我立了你為萬民的證人,為列國的領袖與主宰。看哪!你要召見你不認識的民族;不曾認識你的民族,也要奔向你;這都是為了那光榮你的、以色列的聖者、上主你天主的原故。「趁可找到上主的時候,你們應尋找他;趁上主還在近處的時候,你們應呼求他。罪人應離開自己的行徑,惡人該拋棄自己的思念,來歸附上主,好讓上主憐憫他。請來歸附我們的天主吧!因為他是富於仁慈的。「因為我的思念,不是你們的思念,你們的行徑,也不是我的行徑:上主的斷語。就如天離地有多高,我的行徑離你們的行徑,我的思念離你們的思念,也有多高。譬如雨和雪從天降下,不再返回原處,只有灌溉田地,使之生長萌芽,償還播種者種子,供給吃飯者食糧;同樣,從我口中發出的言語,也不能空空地回到我這裡來;反之,它必實行我的旨意,完成我派遣它的使命。」

聖若望一書 5:1-9

凡信耶穌為默西亞的,是由天主所生的;凡愛生他之父的,也必愛那由他所生的。幾時我們愛天主,又遵行他的誡命,那就知道我們也愛天主的子女。原來愛天主,就是遵行他的誡命,而他的誡命並不沉重,因為凡由天主所生的,必得勝世界;得勝世界的武器,就是我們的信德。誰得勝世界呢?不是那信耶穌為天主子的人嗎?這位就是經過水及血而來的耶穌基督;他不但以水,而且也是以水及血而來的;並且有聖神作證,因為聖神是真理。原來作證的有三:就是聖神,水及血,而這三者是一致的。人的證據,我們既然接受,但天主的證據更大,因為天主的證據,就是他為自己的兒子作證。

聖馬爾谷福音 1:7-11

那時候,若翰宣告說:「那比我更有力量的,要在我以後來,我連俯身解他的鞋帶,也不配。我以水洗你們,他卻要以聖神洗你們。」 那時,耶穌由加里肋亞納匝肋來,在約但河,受了若翰的洗。耶穌剛從水中上來,就看見天裂開了,聖神有如鴿子,降在他上面;此時有聲音從天上說:「你是我的愛子,我因你而喜悅。」

(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿 (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2021/01/10/begin-again-with-equilibrium/) 為準。)

我們中的大部分人都在生活的高低起伏中掙扎著:當情緒高漲的時候,我們非常興奮,但遺憾的是,問題和痛苦總會到來,我們卻措手不及。如果你是那種對苦難感到驚訝的人,比如這次的新冠肺炎肆虐全球,這也許適於用在你身上。另一方面,一旦我們情緒低落,我們就會心煩意亂,忘記天主仍然與我們同在。

[黃神父主日講道視頻 (英語)] https://youtu.be/H-xK4y_z13A

部分問題是:我們受外在力量的影響太多了,我們的喜樂取決於其他人對我們好還是不好。所以,我們一直在起起伏伏。今天的講道的重點是「重新開始保持心靈的均衡」。

今天的福音,我們會看到四個跡象,表明世上的生活永遠是祝福和挑戰兼具的結合。我們通常只在福音中看到安慰,但也有挑戰:

「在那些日子裏,耶穌由加里肋亞納匝肋來,在約旦河裏受了若翰的洗。他剛從水裏上來,就看見天裂開了,聖神有如鴿子降在他上面;又有聲音從天上說:「你是我的愛子,我因你而喜悅。」(谷1:9-11)。

1)當有聲音對耶穌說:「你是我的愛子,我因你而喜悅。」這是慰藉,因為耶穌的身份得到了肯定,但這也表明耶穌是被派來獻祭自己的。 「舊約」中(Gen 22:2,12,16,LXX)使用了「愛子」一詞來形容依撒格,當時上主要求亞巴郎祭獻他唯一的兒子作犧牲。但是,雖然上主最終叫停這種祭獻,但祂卻把祂唯一的愛子獻給我們。

所以,在生活中,我們有時會體驗被天父愛的經歷,但這提醒我們將被被召喚為了愛而作犧牲。如果現在是你在神修上得到神慰的時候,你是否意識到犧牲作為生活的一部分也即將到來,而它也是成為天主所愛的兒女的一部分?

2) 當福音說耶穌「受洗」,這是一個積極的事件,因為受洗是新生命的象徵,但受洗也是死亡的象徵,死亡的是一種罪惡生活方式,象徵著清除身體上的污垢。正如水既能滋養生命,但也會淹死人。

任何受過洗禮的人都會收到新生活的邀請,但也會面臨挑戰;要改變自己的道德生活,以便更像耶穌那樣去愛。我們必須設法滌除生活中的一切罪污。

3)我們第一次看到聖三一同出現:耶穌在那裡;上主聲音由天上傳來中指認祂的兒子,而他自己就是父親;然後聖神有如鴿子降臨在耶穌身上。祂們在愛的情景下一同出現!但聖神在耶穌受洗後立即做了什麼呢?

「聖神立刻催他到曠野裏去。他在曠野裏,四十天之久,受撒殫的試探,與野獸在一起,並有天使服侍他。」 (谷1:12-13) 耶穌被派去與撒殫戰鬥,接受考驗,證明他真的是上主的兒子,過著順服的生活—-這考驗正是生活的一部分。

4)最後,丹尼爾 穆格堡Daniel Mueggenborg主教指出,這個事件發生的地點是生命的象徵(Come Follow Me, Year B, 35)。故事發生在約旦河,(https://www.biblicalarchaeology.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/07/bethany-map.jpg)在充滿生命之水的加里肋亞北海和南死海之間,死海裡什麼都不能生存。然而,約旦河是往南流的,如果我們是那種隨波逐流的人,那就會導致靈性上的死亡。為了成長,我們在 日常生活中往往是要與困難作鬥爭的。

所以,生活是「神慰」和「神枯」的混合體(spiritual consolation and desolation)。從現在開始,我們將在講道和交談中開始使用這些術語,因為我們每時每刻都有這些術語的體驗。神慰是我們心中的運動,通常是愉快的、振奮的、喜怳的、和平的,並且是以神修方式進行的。比方說,你的彌撒經歷是虔誠的,你與他人分享耶穌的信仰、愛或願望是強烈的–這是神慰。但假設你今天過得很愉快,可是當你參與彌撒時,分心了—-那就是所謂「神枯spiritual desolation」。我們在往後會在往後會舉更多的例子。

現在,我們只要意識到神慰和神枯交替出現在我們的生活中是很正常的。 (Fr. Timothy Gallagher, The Discernment of Spirit, 49, 110)。當這種情況發生時,不要感到驚訝。天主想要給我們神慰,但神枯也是有助於我們成長的

我們應該如何應對相互替代的情況?從保持心靈的均衡equilibrium重新開始。

請看這段一分鐘的短片,由一位精神病學教授講述人類成熟的第四個特徵,他在片中強調洞察力和洞察人際關係全貌的能力(https://www.youtube.com/watch ?v=LOkgvaQ-vHw 3:09-4:18)。這就是人類層面的成熟。

在神修成熟的層面上,這是類似的。聖依納爵St. Ignatius of Loyola在他的神修辨認discernment of spirits第11條規則中寫道:「讓一個處在神慰中的人尋求謙卑,,盡可能地降低自己,想想在沒有這種恩典或神慰時,他的能力是那樣微不足道。相反,讓一個正在經歷神枯的人認為他可以用天主豐富的恩典來抵抗他所有的敵人,從他的創造者和上主那裡汲取力量。」

神修成熟的人有一種平衡:當他們得到天主的神慰時,他們不會天真地興高彩烈。他們知道他們收到了一份恩典,也知道神枯將會到來。當他們感覺離天主很遠,不想祈禱、服事或傳福音時,他們保持忠誠,因為他們知道天主是忠誠的。他們有自己的展望和對神修的整體見解。

仔細看看聖依納爵寫的,「讓一個處在神慰的人尋求謙卑,…。想想看,在神枯的時候,如果沒有這樣的恩典和安慰,他的能力是那樣微不足道。」

例如,有些人在接受了洗禮,經歷了一次精彩的Alpha之後,意識到他們得到的是一份不配得到的恩賜;當那些恩賜被暫時拿走時,他們會謙虛地接受,他們會保持心平氣和。

當我們努力保持謙卑,回想上一次感覺離天主很遠的時候,我們有多堅強?我們放棄了嗎?我們是否忠誠?這提醒我們,我們多麼需要天主,沒有祂,我們什麼也做不了。

另一方面,聖依納爵寫道,「當一個人在神枯中,認為他可以用天主足夠的恩典來抵抗所有的敵人,從他的造物主和上主那裡汲取力量,他就可以做很多事情。」例如,「我累了,…我的朋友最近沒有聯繫我,…我的老闆留著鬍子,她名叫阿道夫,…我不想祈禱。我一直在做11:02分的祈禱,但我什麼效果都沒看到。或者,我錯過了幾天,所以我乾脆不做了—-這是神枯。「想一想,」聖依納爵說,有了天主的恩典,你可以做很多事情!不要驚慌失措,盲目地跟隨自己的情緒。天主與你同在。你還有選擇的。即使你不願意,你還是可以打電話給你的朋友、愛你的老闆,為她祈禱;然後再次開始為你所愛的人祈禱!這是有希望的!當天主作選擇的時候,神枯就會過去。

最後的洞悉:在聖瑪竇福音中,記載了眾人都聽到了天父的聲音,說耶穌是天主的愛子。但是,我們剛才在聖馬爾谷福音裡聽到的是,只有耶穌聽到。我們很榮幸能聽到, 這是私人的恩典。同樣,聖父私下對我們每個人說:「你是我的愛子/女兒。」如果我們仔細地聽,我們是會聽到的。在寧靜的內心,在2021年初,天主召喚我們做出一個最能賦予生命的個人選擇:當我們得到天主的祝福時,我們會接受它,但不會過分天真高興;當我們受苦時,我們會信任祂。從保持心靈均衡中重新開始。

Posted: January 10, 2021

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

【主日聖言與反省】隨着強大能力而來的,是龐大的責任! Susanna Mak

天主聖神給我們能力,讓我們發揮在自己內在的「超級英雄」,成為天主召叫的人。

繼續閱讀 >
乙年(馬爾谷) 主受洗節:洗禮的反思 吳智勳神父

教會定常年期第一主日為耶穌受洗節,可能因為這是耶穌出來傳道所做的第一件事,它也是基督徒領洗的預象。基督徒領洗時做了一個重要的選擇,就像當日耶穌在約旦河受洗時做了一個重要抉擇一樣,開始了生命新的一頁。此外,藉著耶穌受洗,天主將自己顯示給世人。

繼續閱讀 >
【神修話語】耶穌受洗節 – 何庭耀神父

這個周末,教會慶祝耶穌受洗節,是教宗若望保祿二世於二零零二年將玫瑰經加上光明奧跡的第一端。耶穌在約旦河與其他認 […]

在線聆聽 >