With Great Power Comes Great Responsibility

The Baptism of the Lord

Isaiah 55:1-11

Thus says the LORD: All you who are thirsty, come to the water! You who have no money, come, receive grain and eat; come, without paying and without cost, drink wine and milk! Why spend your money for what is not bread, your wages for what fails to satisfy? Heed me, and you shall eat well, you shall delight in rich fare. Come to me heedfully, listen, that you may have life. I will renew with you the everlasting covenant, the benefits assured to David. As I made him a witness to the peoples, a leader and commander of nations, so shall you summon a nation you knew not, and nations that knew you not shall run to you, because of the LORD, your God, the Holy One of Israel, who has glorified you. Seek the LORD while he may be found, call him while he is near. Let the scoundrel forsake his way, and the wicked man his thoughts; let him turn to the LORD for mercy; to our God, who is generous in forgiving. For my thoughts are not your thoughts, nor are your ways my ways, says the LORD. As high as the heavens are above the earth so high are my ways above your ways and my thoughts above your thoughts. For just as from the heavens the rain and snow come down and do not return there till they have watered the earth, making it fertile and fruitful, giving seed to the one who sows and bread to the one who eats, so shall my word be that goes forth from my mouth; my word shall not return to me void, but shall do my will, achieving the end for which I sent it.

1 John 5:1-9

Beloved: Everyone who believes that Jesus is the Christ is begotten by God, and everyone who loves the Father loves also the one begotten by him. In this way we know that we love the children of God when we love God and obey his commandments. For the love of God is this, that we keep his commandments. And his commandments are not burdensome, for whoever is begotten by God conquers the world. And the victory that conquers the world is our faith. Who indeed is the victor over the world but the one who believes that Jesus is the Son of God? This is the one who came through water and blood, Jesus Christ, not by water alone, but by water and blood. The Spirit is the one who testifies, and the Spirit is truth. So there are three that testify, the Spirit, the water, and the blood, and the three are of one accord. If we accept human testimony, the testimony of God is surely greater. Now the testimony of God is this, that he has testified on behalf of his Son.

Mark 1:7-11

This is what John the Baptist proclaimed: “One mightier than I is coming after me. I am not worthy to stoop and loosen the thongs of his sandals. I have baptized you with water; he will baptize you with the Holy Spirit.” It happened in those days that Jesus came from Nazareth of Galilee and was baptized in the Jordan by John. On coming up out of the water he saw the heavens being torn open and the Spirit, like a dove, descending upon him. And a voice came from the heavens, “You are my beloved Son; with you I am well pleased.”

“With great power comes great responsibility”, a proverb popularized by the Spider-Man comic books written by Stan Lee, comes to mind on this great Feast of the Baptism of the Lord. Spider-Man, a superhero deeply entrenched in contemporary popular culture, is a rather interesting figure. A person of contradictions; a mild-mannered and timid photographer by day and a fearless and powerful kung-fu-fighting, web-spinning, crime-busting superhero by night, when Peter Parker puts on his red and blue suit and a spider mask, there’s no telling what great feats he may accomplish. However, beneath the suit is just an ordinary individual who is willing to answer the call despite his shortcomings and imperfections. Why would so many aspire to such a figure of contradictions? Perhaps many of us recognize our shared humanity in Spider-Man; an ordinary person who not only experiences challenges, brokenness, and despair, but also triumphs, wholeness, and hope when he embraces all that he is and lives true to himself. If a fictional character can inspire such awe and aspirations, how much more would Jesus the only Son of God, a real-life superhero, transform our hearts and minds, and our world? On this great Feast of The Baptism of the Lord, we are invited to be completely open to the voice of the Holy Spirit, so that we may recognize our true identity hidden beneath all our fears and weaknesses, and to see ourselves as God sees us.

Jesus is, indeed, a figure of contradictions. This week’s readings offer an interesting juxtaposition of Jesus’ power and might and His humility. In Isaiah, Jesus is the “servant”, but “upheld” and “chosen” by God, upon whom rests God’s Spirit, and with whom God is “pleased” (Is 42:1). Similarly, Jesus’ uniqueness is highlighted in Mark’s Gospel. A brief but pivotal scene at the River Jordan, featuring John the Baptist, Jesus, and perhaps some bystanders or people waiting to be baptised, is nothing short of being extraordinary. All these human activities are overshadowed and transcended by the presence of the Holy Spirit, affirming Jesus’ sonship and divinity. After Jesus is baptized by John, “the heavens being torn open and the Spirit, like a dove, descending upon him. And a voice came from the heavens, ‘You are my beloved Son; with you I am well pleased’” (Mk 1:10-11). This chosen one is given the task to bring forth justice, not by force or might, but meekly, gently, and quietly, “not crying out, not shouting, not making his voice heard in the street. A bruised reed he shall not break, and a smoldering wick he shall not quench” (Is 42:2-3). How could one seemingly so meek in the eyes of the world accomplish such monumental tasks of “open[ing] the eyes of the blind, to bring out prisoners from confinement, and from the dungeon, those who live in darkness” (Is 42:7)? In truth, Christ’s greatest power lies in His humility to accept His Father’s will, even though “at the name of Jesus every knee should bend, in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is Lord” (Phil 2:10-11). With great power from the Spirit, indeed, comes great responsibility!

As we celebrate and reflect on Christ’s baptism this week, we, once again, renew our gratitude for God’s compassion and unconditional love for us. God calls each of us by our name; He calls us to be His children through the Sacrament of Baptism. Like Jesus, we, too, have received the Holy Spirit that not only equips us with great power but also calls us to even greater responsibility beyond our wildest imagination. Knowing the great gifts and expectations God has bestowed on us, how should we live ? Like Jesus, “with the Holy Spirit and power [,] He went about doing good and healing all those oppressed by the devil, for God was with him”(Acts 10:38). Let us attune our ears to listen to the voice that calls us “beloved” sons and daughters of God, let our inner superhero out, and bravely walk with Christ and each other.

Posted: January 10, 2021

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


Other Sunday Reflections

“Come and see” (John 1:39)
“Here I am Lord; I come to do your will” (Psalm 40) Continue Reading >
The Baptism of the Lord
With Great Power Comes Great Responsibility
The Holy Spirit empowers us to let our inner “superhero” out and be the person whom God has called. Continue Reading >
The Baptism of the Lord
"Sunday Homily: Fr. Justin Huang" Begin Again With Equilibrium
Many of us struggle with highs and lows in our lives: When we’re high, we’re very high, but unfortunately unprepared for problems and sufferings that eventually come. If you’re the… Continue Reading >

【主日聖言與反省】隨着強大能力而來的,是龐大的責任!

主受洗節

依撒意亞先知書 55:1-11

上主說:「凡口渴的,請到水泉來!那沒有錢的,也請來吧!請來買不花錢,不收費的酒和奶!你們為什麼為那些不能充飢的東西花錢?為那些不足果腹的東西,浪費薪金呢?你們如果細心聽我,你們就能吃到豐美的食物;你們的心靈必因飽享佳餚而喜悅。「你們如果走近我,側耳聽我,你們必將獲得生命;我要與你們訂立一項永久的盟約,即誓許於達味的恩惠。看,我立了你為萬民的證人,為列國的領袖與主宰。看哪!你要召見你不認識的民族;不曾認識你的民族,也要奔向你;這都是為了那光榮你的、以色列的聖者、上主你天主的原故。「趁可找到上主的時候,你們應尋找他;趁上主還在近處的時候,你們應呼求他。罪人應離開自己的行徑,惡人該拋棄自己的思念,來歸附上主,好讓上主憐憫他。請來歸附我們的天主吧!因為他是富於仁慈的。「因為我的思念,不是你們的思念,你們的行徑,也不是我的行徑:上主的斷語。就如天離地有多高,我的行徑離你們的行徑,我的思念離你們的思念,也有多高。譬如雨和雪從天降下,不再返回原處,只有灌溉田地,使之生長萌芽,償還播種者種子,供給吃飯者食糧;同樣,從我口中發出的言語,也不能空空地回到我這裡來;反之,它必實行我的旨意,完成我派遣它的使命。」

聖若望一書 5:1-9

凡信耶穌為默西亞的,是由天主所生的;凡愛生他之父的,也必愛那由他所生的。幾時我們愛天主,又遵行他的誡命,那就知道我們也愛天主的子女。原來愛天主,就是遵行他的誡命,而他的誡命並不沉重,因為凡由天主所生的,必得勝世界;得勝世界的武器,就是我們的信德。誰得勝世界呢?不是那信耶穌為天主子的人嗎?這位就是經過水及血而來的耶穌基督;他不但以水,而且也是以水及血而來的;並且有聖神作證,因為聖神是真理。原來作證的有三:就是聖神,水及血,而這三者是一致的。人的證據,我們既然接受,但天主的證據更大,因為天主的證據,就是他為自己的兒子作證。

聖馬爾谷福音 1:7-11

那時候,若翰宣告說:「那比我更有力量的,要在我以後來,我連俯身解他的鞋帶,也不配。我以水洗你們,他卻要以聖神洗你們。」 那時,耶穌由加里肋亞納匝肋來,在約但河,受了若翰的洗。耶穌剛從水中上來,就看見天裂開了,聖神有如鴿子,降在他上面;此時有聲音從天上說:「你是我的愛子,我因你而喜悅。」

在主受洗節,我想起「隨着強大能力而來的,是龐大的責任」這一句因史丹李漫畫《蜘蛛俠》而變得普及的諺語。蜘蛛俠是流行文化中根深蒂固的人物,也是一個有趣的角色。他身上具有各種矛盾;白天他是溫和膽小怕事的攝影師,晚上則是一個無畏無懼,好武功,射蛛網,警惡懲奸的超級英雄。當彼得帕克換上紅藍服裝、戴上蜘蛛面具時,他能完成多偉大的英勇壯舉,實在無法預料。然而,服裝下面只是一個有缺點,有不完善之處,卻願意回覆呼召的普通人。為什麼這麼多人會嚮往一個如此矛盾的角色?也許我們不少人會認識到蜘蛛俠的人性;一個遇到挑戰、失敗和沮喪的普通人,當他忠於自己,並活出真正的自我時,會經驗勝利、完滿和希望。如果一個虛構的人物可以激發這樣的敬畏和渴望,那麼,天主的獨生子耶穌 — 真實的超級英雄 — 不是更能改造我們的心靈和世界嗎?在主受洗節,請完全開放自己,聆聽聖神的聲音,讓我們可以認識到隱藏在自己的恐懼和軟弱中的真正身份,天主的目光看我們自己。

確實耶穌也是一個充滿矛盾的人物。本星期的讀經有趣地對比了耶穌的權力、大能和謙卑。在《依撒意亞先知書》中,耶穌既是「僕人」,卻為上主所「扶持」及「所選」,聖神傾注於祂身上,上主「喜愛」祂(依 42:1)。同樣地,《馬爾谷福音》強調了耶穌的獨特性。約旦河上短暫而關鍵的一幕,有洗者若翰、耶穌、也許一些旁觀者、或是等待受洗的人, 是絕不平凡的一幕。但所有這些人世間的活動,都因聖神的臨在而失色,聖神降下超越了人性,肯定了耶穌是天主子的身份和祂的天主性。耶穌接受若翰施洗之後,「就看見天裂開了,聖神有如鴿子,降在祂上面,又有聲音從天上說:『祢是我的愛子,我因祢而喜悅。』」(谷 1:10-11)。這個被揀選的人被賦予任務,帶來正義,不是透過武裝或力量,而是心謙、溫和、安靜地「不呼喊,不喧嚷,在街市上也聽不到祂的聲音。破傷的蘆葦,祂不折斷;將熄的燈心,祂不吹滅」(依42:2-3)。一個在世人眼中如此謙卑的人,如何能完成「開啟盲人的眼目,從獄中領出被囚的人,從牢裡領出住在黑暗的人」這些艱巨不朽的任務(依42:7)?雖然「一聽到耶穌的名字,無不屈膝叩拜;一切唇舌無不明認耶穌基督是主」(斐 2:10-11),事實上,基督最大的力量是在於祂謙卑地接受天主聖父的旨意。隨着聖神授予的偉大能力而來的,是龐大的責任!

本星期當我們在慶祝並反思基督受洗時,我們為天主的憐憫和無條件的愛,重燃感恩之心。天主以我們的名字召叫我們每一個人;藉着聖洗聖事,祂召叫我們成為祂的兒女。就像耶穌一樣,我們接受了聖神;聖神不僅使我們強而有力,更召叫我們承擔大至超乎想像的責任。既然知道天主已經賜予我們恩典和期望,我們應該如何生活?我們要像耶穌,「以聖神和德能…使他巡行各處,施恩行善,治好一切受魔鬼壓制的人,因為天主同他在一起」(宗 10:38)。讓我們豎起耳朵,聆聽稱呼自己為天主「至愛」兒女的聲音,喚醒潛在我們內的超級英雄,共同勇敢地與基督同行。

Posted: January 10, 2021

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


其他主日反省

主日的聖言與反省 (乙年主受洗節) 洗禮的反思 吳智勳神父

教會定常年期第一主日為耶穌受洗節,可能因為這是耶穌出來傳道所做的第一件事,它也是基督徒領洗的預象。基督徒領洗時做了一個重要的選擇,就像當日耶穌在約旦河受洗時做了一個重要抉擇一樣,開始了生命新的一頁。此外,藉著耶穌受洗,天主將自己顯示給世人。

繼續閱讀 >
【黃謙善神父主日講道】從保持心靈的均衡重新開始 Fr. Justin Huang

我們中的大部分人都在生活的高低起伏中掙扎著:當情緒高漲的時候,我們非常興奮,但遺憾的是,問題和痛苦總會到來,我們卻措手不及。如果你是那種對苦難感到驚訝的人,比如這次的新冠肺炎肆虐全球,這也許適於用在你身上。另一方面,一旦我們情緒低落,我們就會心煩意亂,忘記天主仍然與我們同在。

繼續閱讀 >