“You do not know what you are asking” (Mk 10:38)

Twenty-ninth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Isaiah 53:10 - 11

The LORD was pleased to crush him in infirmity. If he gives his life as an offering for sin, he shall see his descendants in a long life, and the will of the LORD shall be accomplished through him. Because of his affliction he shall see the light in fullness of days; through his suffering, my servant shall justify many, and their guilt he shall bear.

Hebrews 4:14 - 16

Brothers and sisters: Since we have a great high priest who has passed through the heavens, Jesus, the Son of God, let us hold fast to our confession. For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but one who has similarly been tested in every way, yet without sin. So let us confidently approach the throne of grace to receive mercy and to find grace for timely help.

Mark 10:35 - 45

James and John, the sons of Zebedee, came to Jesus and said to him, "Teacher, we want you to do for us whatever we ask of you." He replied, "What do you wish me to do for you?" They answered him, "Grant that in your glory we may sit one at your right and the other at your left." Jesus said to them, "You do not know what you are asking. Can you drink the cup that I drink or be baptized with the baptism with which I am baptized?" They said to him, "We can." Jesus said to them, "The cup that I drink, you will drink, and with the baptism with which I am baptized, you will be baptized; but to sit at my right or at my left is not mine to give but is for those for whom it has been prepared." When the ten heard this, they became indignant at James and John. Jesus summoned them and said to them, "You know that those who are recognized as rulers over the Gentiles lord it over them, and their great ones make their authority over them felt. But it shall not be so among you. Rather, whoever wishes to be great among you will be your servant; whoever wishes to be first among you will be the slave of all. For the Son of Man did not come to be served but to serve and to give his life as a ransom for many."

By this time in his ministry, Jesus has foretold three times his own Death and Resurrection to the apostles. The last prediction is the most detailed, specifying that his death will result from a conspiracy of the Jewish and Roman authorities, “… we are going up to Jerusalem, and the Son of Man will be given over to the chief priests and the teachers of the Law. They will condemn him to death and hand him over to the foreigners who will make fun of him, spit on him, scourge him and finally kill him; but three days later he will rise” (Mk 10:34-35, Ref. Ignatius Catholic Study Bible New Testament P. 85).

When Jesus explains this to the Apostles, they are on their way to Jerusalem, yet the Apostles do not understand Jesus’ prediction nor relate it to their journey. In this week’s gospel reading, we hear James and John voicing their ambitions and asking Jesus to let them sit on his right and his left, “in [his] glory” (10:37). Although Jesus responded, “You do not know what you are asking”, James and John courageously promised Jesus that they would drink the cup that he drinks, the cup filled for sinners despite his innocence and purity (10:38, Ref. Ignatius Catholic Study Bible New Testament P. 85). They asserted their willingness to be baptized “in the way [Jesus] is baptized”, which symbolizes one’s immersion in trial and suffering. Eventually James and John did share in Jesus’ cup and baptism when they suffered persecution in the early Church. James was martyred, “[King Herod] had James, the brother of John, killed with the sword” (Acts 12:2). John was exiled, “I, John, your brother, who share with you, in Jesus, the sufferings … was on the island of Patmos, because of the Word of God and witnessing to Jesus” (Rev: 1:9). They did accomplish what they promised Jesus, maybe far beyond what they could imagine when they put their request to Jesus. Indeed, “[they] do not know what [they] are asking”(10:38).

The ambitions expressed by James and John lead Jesus to explain to the Apostles the true nature of Christian leadership. His disciples are not to imitate the tyranny of the Gentile rulers but to follow Jesus’ example of humility and service, “whoever wishes to be first among you must be slave of all” (10: 44). Christ has come “to give his life as a ransom for many”, by the price of his life, God has paid for the release of his people from slavery in sin (10:45). Christ’s saving death, thus, ransomed us for freedom and fellowship in the family of God (Ref. ICSB NT P. 85).

St. Paul in the second reading proclaims that Christ, the Son of God, is now in the most intimate presence of God in heaven. Having triumphed over temptation as a man, he understands our struggles, sympathizes with our weaknesses and is able to help us through them (Ref. Heb 4:14-16, ICSB NT P. 421, CCC 2602). When we pray and ask God, we must “approach the throne of grace with boldness”, it is here “we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need” (Heb 4:16).

Posted: October 17, 2021

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

A New Fixed Star Is coming – An Apocalypse message from Jesus
Happy New Year! Today, the first Sunday of Advent, is the beginning of a new liturgical year. What an extraordinary commencement we have with the readings for today. We are… Continue Reading >
Celebrating the Greatest Decision
Today’s homily is about three great reversals, where Jesus flips our expectations. Let’s start with a video of today’s Gospel, and see if you can spot these reversals. Continue Reading >
Jesus — “The King of Kings and Lord of Lords” (Revelation 19:16)
This year, the celebration of the solemnity of our Lord Jesus Christ, King of the Universe is highlighted by a reading from Daniel 7, a chapter that contains arguably some… Continue Reading >

「你們不知道你們所求的是什麼」(谷 10:38)

常年期第二十九主日

依撒意亞先知書 53:10-11

上主的旨意,是要用苦難折磨他;當他犧牲了自己的性命,作了贖罪祭時,他要看見他的後輩延年益壽;上主的旨意,也藉他的手,得以實現。在他受盡了痛苦之後,他要看見光明,並因自己的經歷而滿足;我正義的僕人,要使許多人成義,因為他承擔了他們的罪過。

希伯來書 4:14-16

弟兄姊妹們: 我們既然有一位偉大的、進入了諸天的司祭,天主子耶穌,我們就應堅持所信奉的真道,因為我們所有的,不是一位不能同情我們弱點的大司祭,而是一位在各方面與我們相似,受過試探的,只是沒有罪過。 所以,我們要懷著依恃之心,走近恩寵的寶座,以獲得仁慈,找到恩寵,作及時的扶助。

馬爾谷福音 10:35-45

那時候,載伯德的兒子:雅各伯和若望,走到耶穌面前,對耶穌說:「師父!我們請你允許我們的要求!」 耶穌對他們說:「你們願意我給你們做什麼?」 他們回答說:「賜我們在你的光榮中,一個坐在你右邊,一個坐在你左邊。」 耶穌對他們說:「你們不知道你們所求的是什麼;你們能飲我飲的爵嗎?或者,你們能受我受的洗嗎?」 他們對耶穌說:「我們能。」 耶穌就對他們說:「我飲的爵,你們必要飲;我受的洗,你們必要受;但坐在我右邊或左邊,不是我可以給的,而是給誰預備了,就給誰。」 那十個聽了,就開始惱怒雅各伯和若望。 耶穌叫門徒過來,對他們說:「你們知道:在外邦人中,有尊為首領的,主宰他們,有大臣管轄他們;但你們中間,卻不可這樣:誰若願意在你們中間成為大的,就當作你們的僕役;誰若願意在你們中間為首的,就當作眾人的奴僕,因為人子,不是來受服事,而是來服事人,並交出自己的性命,為大眾作贖價。」

自耶穌傳道以來,到了這個時期,祂給宗徒們預言自己的死亡與復活,至此已有三次。祂最後一次的預言尤其詳盡,明確指出祂的死亡會是猶太人和羅馬帝國當局合謀加害的結果,「 ⋯ 我們上耶路撒冷去,人子要被交於司祭長和經師;他們要定他死罪,要把他交給外邦人;這些人要戲弄他,唾污他,鞭打他,殺害他;但三天以後,他必要復活」 (谷10:32-34, 參 Ignatius Catholic Study Bible New Testament P. 85)。
耶穌向宗徒們解釋時,是在前往耶路撒冷的路上。他們並不明白耶穌的預言,也沒有把這旅程與預言聯繫起來。從本週的福音讀經,我們聽到雅各伯和若望表達了他們的抱負,並要求耶穌「在【祂】的光榮中」,讓他們坐在祂的左右 (10:37)。雖然耶穌回應說:「你們不知道你們所求的是什麽」,雅各伯與若望仍勇敢地承諾耶穌要飲祂的苦杯,那為罪人而斟滿了的苦爵,但耶穌自己卻是清白和聖潔無瑕的。(10:38, 參 Ignatius Catholic Study Bible New Testament P. 85)。他們斷言,願意承受如「 【耶穌】受的洗」,象徵著陷入試煉與磨難之中。最終,他們都在早期教會遭受苦難和逼害,真的分嘗了耶穌的苦杯和洗禮。雅各伯殉了道,「【黑落德】… 用劍殺了若望的哥哥雅各伯」 (宗 12:2) 。若望則遭流放,「我若望,你們的弟兄,在耶穌内與你們共患難 ⋯ 為天主的話,並為給耶穌作證,曾到了一座名叫帕特摩的海島上」(默 1:9) 。對耶穌的承諾,他們實踐的,可能遠遠超過了當初他們提出要求時所想像的。真的,「【他們】不知道【他們】所求的是什麼!」 (10:38)。
雅各伯和若望表達的野心,導致耶穌為宗徒們解釋,基督徒領袖精神的真正本質。祂的門徒不應學習外邦人統治者的專制暴政,而是跟隨耶穌的謙卑和服務的榜樣,「誰若願意在你們中間為首的,就當作眾人的奴僕」(10: 44)。基督到來,是為「交出自己的性命,為大眾作贖價」,天主以基督的生命作代價,把祂的子民從罪惡的勞役中解放出來 (10:45)。所以,基督是以祂的聖死救贖了我們,讓我們獲得自由和可在天主的大家庭中成為一員 (參 ICSB NT P. 85)。
聖保祿在《讀經二》宣講,基督 — 天主聖子 — 現在親密地與天主於天國在一起。聖子為人的時候,戰勝了誘惑,所以祂明白我們的掙扎,祂同情我們的短處,並能幫助我們克服自己的弱點 (參 希 4:14-16, ICSB NT P. 421, 天主教教理 2602)。當我們祈禱時,應懷着「依恃之心,走近恩寵的寶座」祈求天主,在這裡,我們可「獲得仁慈,尋到恩寵,作及時的扶助」(希 4:16)。

Posted: October 17, 2021

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

乙年(馬爾谷) 常年期第廿九主日:權力是為服務 吳智勳神父

過去幾週,我們聽到耶穌要求人以新行為配合新時代的來臨:耶穌談到婚姻不可以拆散 和不應讓財富綑綁自已,使自己失去自由。這個星期,耶穌論及另一課題──權力是為服務。

繼續閱讀 >