A Kingdom Like No Other

The Solemnity of Our Lord Jesus Christ, King of the Universe

2 Samuel 5:1-3

In those days, all the tribes of Israel came to David in Hebron and said: "Here we are, your bone and your flesh. In days past, when Saul was our king, it was you who led the Israelites out and brought them back. And the LORD said to you, ‘You shall shepherd my people Israel and shall be commander of Israel.’" When all the elders of Israel came to David in Hebron, King David made an agreement with them there before the LORD, and they anointed him king of Israel.

Colossians 1:12-20

Brothers and sisters: Let us give thanks to the Father, who has made you fit to share in the inheritance of the holy ones in light. He delivered us from the power of darkness and transferred us to the kingdom of his beloved Son, in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins. He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn of all creation. For in him were created all things in heaven and on earth, the visible and the invisible, whether thrones or dominions or principalities or powers; all things were created through him and for him. He is before all things, and in him all things hold together. He is the head of the body, the church. He is the beginning, the firstborn from the dead, that in all things he himself might be preeminent. For in him all the fullness was pleased to dwell, and through him to reconcile all things for him, making peace by the blood of his cross through him, whether those on earth or those in heaven.

Luke 23:35-43

The rulers sneered at Jesus and said, "He saved others, let him save himself if he is the chosen one, the Christ of God." Even the soldiers jeered at him. As they approached to offer him wine they called out, "If you are King of the Jews, save yourself." Above him there was an inscription that read, "This is the King of the Jews." Now one of the criminals hanging there reviled Jesus, saying, "Are you not the Christ? Save yourself and us." The other, however, rebuking him, said in reply, "Have you no fear of God, for you are subject to the same condemnation? And indeed, we have been condemned justly, for the sentence we received corresponds to our crimes, but this man has done nothing criminal." Then he said, "Jesus, remember me when you come into your kingdom." He replied to him, "Amen, I say to you, today you will be with me in Paradise."

“Jesus, remember me when you come into your kingdom” (Luke 23:43). Like the criminal hanging next to Jesus, the Kingdom of Christ is where we want to be when our earthly journey comes to an end.

Throughout history, kingdoms come and go. They take turn to rise to power and glory, and to fade into insignificance or even destruction. China, India, Egypt, Babylon, Persia, Greece, Rome, Germany, Britain – the list goes on and on. Unlike these earthly kingdoms, the Kingdom of Christ is the only one that transcends history and lasts forever. It is presented in Daniel’s prophecy as “a stone hewn from a mountain” that crushed all earthly kingdoms into pieces and achieved eternal dominance (cf. Daniel 2:34).

Unlike all human kingdoms, the Kingdom of Christ “does not belong to this world” (John 18:36). It is ruled by Christ, “the Lord of lords and King of kings” (Revelation 17:14). For this royal Kingship he was born and for this everlasting Dominion he came into the world (cf. John 18:37). Miraculously and without knowing it, Pilate testified to this mystery by putting an inscription that read “Jesus the Nazorean, the King of the Jews” (signified by “INRI” in Latin) on the cross above Jesus (John 19:19). It serves as a constant reminder to everyone who worships Christ and looks at the crucifix: Understand that this suffering servant who was spurned by men is Christ the King! “Because of his affliction he shall see the light in fullness of days; through his suffering, my servant shall justify many, and their guilt he shall bear” (Isaiah 53:11).

What a King! His Kingdom is like no other! Did God do anything else to affirm further Jesus’ amazing Messianic Dynasty? Of course, that’s why reading one (2 Samuel 5:1-3) goes hand in hand with this Sunday’s gospel reading. King David, a righteous and God-fearing man whose rule showcased the most powerful period of Israelite history, was a typological figure used by God to prefigure the coming of Christ the King.

The ascension of Jesus, the New King David, to the throne of the New Davidic Kingdom – the everlasting Kingdom of Christ that is already present in the Catholic Church here on earth – is foretold clearly in Daniels: “I saw One like a son of man coming, on the clouds of heaven; when he reached the Ancient One and was presented before him, he received dominion, glory, and kingship; nations and peoples of every language serve him. His dominion is an everlasting dominion that shall not be taken away, his kingship shall not be destroyed” (Daniel 7:13-14).

Posted: November 20, 2016

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


Other Sunday Reflections

Are we ready to accompany Jesus into Jerusalem and point out His true identity to others?
It is not until after Jesus' death does His true identity is revealed. Continue Reading >
We are spiritually dead. Who can help?
In this 5th Sunday of Lent, we continue our Lenten journey with a magnificent meditation from the Gospel of John, the story of raising Lazarus from the dead. The details… Continue Reading >
Something Dying Leads to Something Coming to Life
Most of us are experiencing unusual suffering right now, and the human person needs to understand what's going on! On a human level, once we have clarity about how long… Continue Reading >

獨一無二的王國

我們的主、耶穌基督、普世君王(節日)

撒慕爾紀下 5:1-3

以色列各支派,聚集到赫貝龍,來見達味,說:「看,我們都是你的骨肉。以前,連撒烏耳作我們君王時,也是你率領以色列出入戰場。上主曾對你說過:你應牧養我的百姓以色列,作以色列的領袖。」隨後,以色列所有長老,都到赫貝龍,來見君王。達味君王就在赫貝龍,當上主的面,同他們立了盟約;他們便給達味傅油,立他為以色列王。

哥羅森書 1:12-20

弟兄姊妹們:感謝天父,使我們有資格,在光明中,分享聖徒的福分,因為是他由黑暗的權勢下,救出了我們,並將我們移置在他愛子的國裡;我們且在他愛子內,得到了救贖,獲得了罪赦。耶穌基督是不可見的天主的肖像,是一切受造物的首生者,因為在天上和地上的一切,可見的與不可見的,或是上座者,或是宰制者,或是率領者,或是掌權者,都是在他內受造的;一切都是藉著他,並且是為了他,而受造的。他在萬有之先就有,萬有都賴他而存在。耶穌基督又是身體——教會的頭:他是元始,是死者中的首生者,為使他在萬有之上,獨佔首位,因為,天主樂意叫整個的圓滿,居住在他內,並藉著他,使萬有,無論是地上的,是天上的,都與自己重歸於好,因著他十字架的血,立定了和平。

路加福音 23:35-43

耶穌被釘在十字架上時,民眾站著觀望;首領們嗤笑耶穌,說:「別人,他救了;如果這人是天主的受傅者、被選者,就救他自己吧!」兵士也戲弄耶穌,前來把醋遞給他,說:「如果你是猶太人的君王,就救你自己吧!」在他頭上,還有一塊用希臘文、拉丁文及希伯來文,寫的罪狀牌:「這是猶太人的君王。」懸掛著的凶犯中,有一個侮辱耶穌說:「你不是默西亞嗎?救救你自己和我們吧!」另一個凶犯,應聲責斥他說:「你既然受著同樣的刑罰,連天主你都不怕嗎?這刑罰對我們是理所當然的,因為我們所受的,是罪有應得;但是,這個人,從未做過什麼不正當的事。」隨後說:「耶穌,當你來為王時,請你紀念我!」耶穌給他說:「我實在告訴你:今天,你就要與我一同在樂園裡。」

「耶穌,當袮進入袮的王國時,求袮紀念我! 」(路加福音23:43)。像在耶穌旁邊綁在十字架上的罪犯,當我們在世的旅程結束時,基督的王國是我們理想的終站。

縱觀歷史上的王國, 輪流興替。每每在得到權力榮耀後,大國會衰落為蕞爾小國,甚至滅亡。 中國,印度,埃及,巴比倫,波斯,希臘,羅馬,德國,英國 – 這些例子有很多。與這些地上王國不同,基督的王國是唯一能超越歷史,直到永遠的。 基督王國在達尼爾的預言中被描述為 「一塊石頭,未經手鑿即滾下」,石頭把所有地上的王國擊碎,永遠佔據了全地。(參見達尼爾書 2:34)。

與人類所建的王國不同,基督的王國「不屬於這世界」(若望福音18:36)。基督的王國由基督統治,「他是萬主之主,萬王之王」(默示錄17:14)。祂為這王權而生,也為這永遠的王國而來到世界上(參見若望福音18:37)。奇跡一般而又毫不自知地,比拉多在耶穌的十字架上寫了個牌子說:「納匝肋人耶穌,猶太人的君王」(拉丁語 “INRI” 字樣),為這奧蹟作了見證 (若望福音19:19)。這牌子不斷提醒每一個欽崇基督,仰望十字架的人:要明白,這個受苦和被人唾棄的僕人就是基督君王! 「在他受盡了痛苦之後,他要看見光明,並因自己的經歷而滿足;我正義的僕人要使多人成義,因為他承擔了他們的罪過。 」(依撒意亞53:11)。

何等偉大的君王!祂的王國獨一無二!天主有沒有再做什麼來進一步肯定耶穌的默西亞王朝? 當然有,這就是讀經一(撒慕爾紀下5:1-3)和這個主日的福音讀經互相呼應的原因。達味國王,一個公義和敬畏天主的人,在他的統治下,成就了以色列歷史上最輝煌的時期,他是一位天主用預象法去預告基督君王的來臨的人物。

新達味君王 – 耶穌,會上坐新達味王國的寶座,即基督在世的永恆國度 – 天主教會,這點達尼爾早已清楚預言:「我看見一位像人子的,乘著雲彩降來,走到萬古常存者的面前。祂便把統治權、尊榮和王國,賜給像人子的那一位。所有民族、國家和各種語言的人,都要事奉祂;祂的王權是永遠的,永存不替; 祂的王國永不滅亡。 」(達7:13-14)。

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


其他主日反省

丙年 基督君王節:慈悲的判決 吳智勳神父

今天基督君王節的讀經告訴我們耶穌是一位慈悲的君王,祂的王國是一個慈悲的王國,可惜今天所選讀的只是路加所載耶穌臨終前的片段,但我會以路加對整件事的報導跟大家分享。耶穌在十字架上的情景直像一齣獨幕劇。

繼續閱讀 >