Do we see what he sees?

The Resurrection of the Lord

Acts 10:34A, 37-43

Peter proceeded to speak and said: “You know what has happened all over Judea, beginning in Galilee after the baptism that John preached, how God anointed Jesus of Nazareth with the Holy Spirit and power. He went about doing good and healing all those oppressed by the devil, for God was with him. We are witnesses of all that he did both in the country of the Jews and in Jerusalem. They put him to death by hanging him on a tree. This man God raised on the third day and granted that he be visible, not to all the people, but to us, the witnesses chosen by God in advance, who ate and drank with him after he rose from the dead. He commissioned us to preach to the people and testify that he is the one appointed by God as judge of the living and the dead. To him all the prophets bear witness, that everyone who believes in him will receive forgiveness of sins through his name.”

Colossians 3:1-4

Brothers and sisters: If then you were raised with Christ, seek what is above, where Christ is seated at the right hand of God. Think of what is above, not of what is on earth. For you have died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God. When Christ your life appears, then you too will appear with him in glory.

John 20:1-9

On the first day of the week, Mary of Magdala came to the tomb early in the morning, while it was still dark, and saw the stone removed from the tomb. So she ran and went to Simon Peter and to the other disciple whom Jesus loved, and told them, “They have taken the Lord from the tomb, and we don’t know where they put him.” So Peter and the other disciple went out and came to the tomb. They both ran, but the other disciple ran faster than Peter and arrived at the tomb first; he bent down and saw the burial cloths there, but did not go in. When Simon Peter arrived after him, he went into the tomb and saw the burial cloths there, and the cloth that had covered his head, not with the burial cloths but rolled up in a separate place. Then the other disciple also went in, the one who had arrived at the tomb first, and he saw and believed. For they did not yet understand the Scripture that he had to rise from the dead.

The saying, “seeing is believing” which relies solely on sensory perception as the guarantor of truth, can no longer be considered as the touchstone of credibility anymore. For computer technology is now able to simulate, exaggerate, enhance or distort reality and thus can deceive the human eye. Even without such technology, our physical eyes can only see the surface of things and sheer physical seeing cannot plumb the depths where the truth lies.

In light of this consideration, let us try to understand the different episodes in each of the Gospels today. While the resurrection of Jesus undergirds our Christian faith, no human eye has been privileged to witness Jesus’ rising from the tomb. Mary Magdalene and the other women, Peter and the beloved disciple or the two disciples on the way to Emmaus, all witness only the telltale signs, namely, the empty tomb, the burial wrappings and the hearsay from others. In the case of Mary Magdalene, the other women, Peter and the other beloved disciple, they all see and share the same sensory experience. Mary Magdalene thinks it is a tomb robbery (rf Jn 20:2); the other women are too frightened to say anything (rf Mk 16:8); Peter is bewildered and confused (rf Lk 24;12). Only the beloved disciple comes to believe: “He saw and believed” (Jn 20:8).

What does the beloved disciple see that makes him believe Jesus is alive again? He does not actually see the risen Jesus with his naked eyes. If seeing is believing; then his conviction would make little sense. And yet he believes even in the darkness of incomprehension with mere superficial signs. St. Paul in his letter to the Ephesians says: “May the eyes of your hearts be enlightened, that you may know what is the hope that belongs to his call, what are the riches of glory in his inheritance among the holy ones, and what is the surpassing greatness of his power for us who believe” (Eph 1, 17-18). Yes, it is with these “eyes of the heart” which the beloved disciple sees and make him believe.

What are the eyes of the heart? For the Hebrews, the heart is not a blind and wanton generator of emotions but the seat of discernment and decisions. It is here that believing takes place and a heart that loves begets faith. Faith and believing belong to the domain of the heart which precedes intellectual understanding and reasoning. In fact, it is the love of God that generates a certain intellectual light – wisdom that opens the eyes of the heart to see beyond what is visible. It illumines so that one can recognize the truth even before the mind could grasp its full meaning. Jesus Himself says this, “. . . seeing they do not see, and hearing they do not hear, neither do they understand” (Mt 13:13). Realizing that, St. Augustine says: “I believe in order to understand”. But how often do we ourselves say or hear “I will believe when I understand”. It turns out, in most cases, we rarely understand and thus, rarely believe.

Each one of us can be the beloved disciple if we choose not to understand God but to love and trust Him first. Come to know Him personally and then we can see what the beloved disciple sees. Until we have Him in our hearts rather than in our heads, we cannot believe.

Posted: April 1, 2018

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

Salvation history is human history
Let us widen our lens when reading the Bible and do not dissociate its stories with our present age and the world we are in now Continue Reading >
The End or the Beginning
Advent is indeed, a time of remembering, reflection, and transformation. Continue Reading >
Is Christ the King in our Family?
What does it mean when we say Christ is King in our family? Let us unpack its meaning together. Continue Reading >

我們看見他看見的嗎?

耶穌復活主日

宗徒大事錄 10:34,37-43

那時候,伯多祿說:「你們都知道:在若翰宣講洗禮以後,從加里肋亞開始,在全猶太所發生的事:天主怎樣以聖神和德能,傅了納匝肋人耶穌,使他巡行各處,施恩行善,治好一切受魔鬼壓制的人,因為天主同他在一起。「耶穌在猶太人地區,及在耶路撒冷所行一切,我們都是見證人。但是,他們卻把耶穌懸在木架上,殺死了。第三天,天主使他復活了,叫他顯現出來,不是給所有百姓,而是給天主所預先揀選的見證人,就是給我們這些、在他從死者中復活後,與他同食共飲的人。「他吩咐我們向百姓講道,指證他就是天主所立:生者與死者的判官。一切先知都為他作證:凡信他的人,賴他的名字,都要獲得罪赦。」——上主的話。

哥羅森書 3:1-4

弟兄姊妹們:你們既然與基督一同復活了,就該追求天上的事;在那裡,有基督坐在天主的右邊。你們該思念天上的事,不該思念地上的事,因為你們已經死了,你們的生命,已與基督一同藏在天主內;當基督、我們的生命,顯現時,那時,你們也要與他一同,出現在光榮之中。——上主的話。

若望福音 20:1-9

一周的第一天,清晨,天還黑的時候,瑪利亞瑪達肋納,來到墳墓那裡,看見石頭已從墓門挪開了。於是,她跑去見西滿伯多祿,及耶穌所愛的那另一個門徒,對他們說:「有人從墳墓中,把主搬走了;我們不知道他們把他放在那裡。」伯多祿便和那另一個門徒出來,到墳墓那裡去。兩人一起跑,但那另一個門徒,比伯多祿跑得快,先來到了墳墓那裡。他俯身看見了放著的殮布,卻沒有進去。跟著他的西滿伯多祿,也來到了,進入了墳墓,看見了放著的殮布,也看見耶穌頭上的那塊汗巾,不同殮布放在一起,而在另一處捲著。先來到墳墓的那個門徒,也進去了,一看見就相信了。這是因為他們還不明白,耶穌必須從死者中復活的那段聖經。

「眼見為實」這句說話, 是指單依賴感官的知覺來證實事實的真相; 但這已不能作為事情是否可信的標準了。因電腦科技現在可以模擬、誇大、增強或扭曲現實,欺騙人的眼睛。就算沒有這些科技,我們的眼睛也只能看到事情的表面,只靠肉眼並不能看到在深處的真理。

鑑於上述的情況,讓我們今天嘗試從每一本福音來理解耶穌的復活。耶穌復活是我們基督宗教信仰的基礎,但沒有任何人曾親眼目睹耶穌自墳墓中復活。瑪利亞瑪達肋納和其他女人、伯多祿和耶穌所愛的那個門徒或那兩位前往厄瑪烏途中的門徒,他們見到的只是一些顯示性的跡象, 如空的墓穴、殮布,和他人的轉告。瑪利亞瑪達肋納、其他女人、伯多祿和耶穌所愛的那個門徒,他們都看見和有着同樣感官上的經驗。瑪利亞瑪達肋納以為墓被盜了(參閱 若 20:2);其他女人因為害怕,什麼也沒有說 (參閱 谷 16:8);伯多祿面對所發生的事感到困惑和混亂(參閱 路 24:12)。只有耶穌所愛的那個門徒相信:他「一看見就相信了」(若 20:8)。

究竟耶穌所愛的那個門徒看見了什麼令他相信耶穌已復活了?他實際上沒有看見復活的耶穌。如果要看見才相信的話,那麼,他的堅信便不合情理了。但竟然在毫無頭緒的黑暗中,只有表面的情況下,他相信了。聖保祿在致厄弗所人書中寫道:「光照你們心靈的眼目,為叫你們認清他的寵召有什麼希望,在聖徒中他嗣業的光榮,是怎樣豐厚;他對我們虔信的人,所施展的強有力而見效的德能是怎樣的偉大 (厄 1:17-18)。對,所愛的門徒是用「心靈的眼目」來看才能相信。

甚麼是心靈的眼目?對希伯來人來說,心不是一個盲目和胡亂製造情緒的器官,而是明辨和做決定的地方。相信源自心間,能愛的心衍生信德。信德和信念屬於心的範疇,先有信德和信念,然後才有明智的理解和理性的思考。其實,是天主的愛產生某些明智的光─那能開啟心目的智慧,看到目力不及的地方。這智慧發光發亮,儘管在思維上還未能完全明白是甚麼意義,人已能認識真理。耶穌自己說過 「… 他們看,卻看不見;聽,卻聽不見,也不了解 」(瑪 13:13)。了解到這一點,聖奧斯定說:「我相信才能明白」。但我們是否經常會說或聽到「我明白了便會相信」。而然, 在大部分情形之下,我們發現自己不常明白,故此,不常相信。

如果我們選擇不要求明白天主,卻首先去愛和信賴祂,我們都可以成為耶穌所愛的那個門徒。當我們用心去認識天主後,我們便能看見那門徒所看見的。直至我們把耶穌放進心裡,而不是在知理上,我們是無法相信的。

Posted: April 1, 2018

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

乙年(馬爾谷) 耶穌復活主日:我期待死人的復活 吳智勳神父

復活期間我們常圍繞著聖洗與復活這些主題,今天讓我們用信經最後三句作反省:「我承認赦罪的聖洗只有一個,我期待死人的復活,及來世的生命」。

繼續閱讀 >