Why is the love of God verified by the love of neighbours?

Thirty-first Sunday in Ordinary Time

Deuteronomy 6:2-6

Moses spoke to the people, saying:"Fear the LORD, your God,and keep, throughout the days of your lives, all his statutes and commandments which I enjoin on you, and thus have long life. Hear then, Israel, and be careful to observe them, that you may grow and prosper the more, in keeping with the promise of the LORD, the God of your fathers, to give you a land flowing with milk and honey. "Hear, O Israel! The LORD is our God, the LORD alone! Therefore, you shall love the LORD, your God, with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your strength. Take to heart these words which I enjoin on you today."

Hebrews 7:23-28

Brothers and sisters: The levitical priests were many because they were prevented by death from remaining in office, but Jesus, because he remains forever, has a priesthood that does not pass away. Therefore, he is always able to save those who approach God through him, since he lives forever to make intercession for them. It was fitting that we should have such a high priest: holy, innocent, undefiled, separated from sinners, higher than the heavens. He has no need, as did the high priests, to offer sacrifice day after day, first for his own sins and then for those of the people; he did that once for all when he offered himself. For the law appoints men subject to weakness to be high priests, but the word of the oath, which was taken after the law, appoints a son, who has been made perfect forever.

Mark 12:28B-34

One of the scribes came to Jesus and asked him, "Which is the first of all the commandments?" Jesus replied, "The first is this: Hear, O Israel! The Lord our God is Lord alone! You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, with all your mind, and with all your strength. The second is this: You shall love your neighbor as yourself. There is no other commandment greater than these." The scribe said to him, "Well said, teacher. You are right in saying, 'He is One and there is no other than he.' And 'to love him with all your heart, with all your understanding, with all your strength, and to love your neighbor as yourself' is worth more than all burnt offerings and sacrifices." And when Jesus saw that he answered with understanding, he said to him, "You are not far from the kingdom of God." And no one dared to ask him any more questions.

When asked about the greatest commandment of the Law, Jesus quotes two biblical passages. The first is known as the Shema by the Jews, that “You shall love the Lord your God, with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your strength” (Dt 6:5). The other is a passage from Leviticus, that “You shall love your neighbor as yourself” (Lev 19:18). Why does Jesus place two commandments on an equal plane and make them into one dual commandment? Why does He make the two precepts into one law, like two sides of a coin, inseparable from one another? Is it not enough to love God alone and above all? Why is the love of God verified by the love of neighbours?

The first part of the commandment is easily understood – that one’s whole being (heart, soul, mind and strength) should love God for He is the Creator, the source of all things. God’s divine attributes (omnipotence, omniscience, omnipresence) deserve our reverence and awe but loving Him out of duty and command does not inspire true love. Our love for Him is indeed a reciprocal love, “We love Him because He first loved us” (Jn. 4:19). The pinnacle of His love is the giving of His only son to die on the cross for us (rf Jn. 3:16, Rom. 5:8). Though this unconditional and incomprehensible display of love is beyond our understanding, our natural instinct moves us to want to love Him back. But how? How can we love God who is so magnificent and awesome but transcendent, whom we cannot see or touch?

Jesus elucidates the first part of the commandment by revealing it in the second part of how this can be fulfilled. Jesus teaches us that the way to love the invisible God is by loving our visible neighbours. As John says in his first letter, “How can he who does not love his brother, whom he sees, love God, whom he does not see?” (1 Jn 4:20). And he also says this: “Behold what love the Father has bestowed on us that we may be called children of God; and such we are” (1 Jn 3:1). If we all are His children, then we all are brothers and sisters. “No one who fails to act in righteousness belongs to God, nor anyone who does not love his brother” (1 Jn 3:10). That is why the love of God is verified by the love of neighbours; the two acts are truly inseparable.

In the second part of the commandment, Jesus also sets forth the basis of a Christian life, “This is how all will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another” (Jn 13:34-35). The principle expression of the virtue of God’s children is their love for one another (rf 1 Jn 3:11, 4:7-8). Jesus Himself is the perfect model for He practices what He teaches; He has loved God and His neighbours unto death. If we want to follow Jesus, we too, must love, not only theoretically but also practically. Theoretically, one may be willing to lay down one’s life for another, and yet on the practical everyday level, one may neglect the most basic acts of charity.

Which is easier then? To love God or to love our neighbours? At first glance, it may seem that the latter is easier since loving God implies obedience in keeping all His commandments and that may seem difficult at times. But on second thought, loving someone who is all loving and all good is very logical and requires little effort. Contrarily, human interactions often involve conflicts and misunderstandings. To love someone who has unlikable character or someone who mistreats us is against our human nature and requires far more effort to do so. In order to acquire such a virtue, we must live a prayerful life of faith. A prayerful life that anchors our faith will help us to abide in God no matter what our feelings may, at times, tell us. Confidence in prayer and trust in God’s love, we strive to become God’s instrument of love, for loving our neighbours reveals His love to them.

Posted: November 4, 2018

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

God Never Gives up on Us; Why Should We?
Be persistent, “will not God grant justice to his chosen ones who cry to Him day and night?” (Lk 18:7)  Continue Reading >
Parenting
A good young priest, Fr. Lucio Choi, once shared with me how he was discouraged, and it wasn’t because of his bad haircut. He said he now understood why some… Continue Reading >
The miracle of the ten lepers
“God calls us to live in gratitude, obeying with joy to the One who has given us so much, infinitely more than we could ever give to him” (Pope Francis… Continue Reading >

為什麼對天主的愛要藉著對鄰人的愛來肯定?

常年期第三十一主日

申命紀 6:2-6

我,若望,看見了另一位天使,從太陽東升之處上來,拿著永生天主的印,大聲向那獲得授權,能傷害大地和海洋的四位天使呼喊,說:「你們不可傷害大地、海洋和樹木,等我們在我們天主的眾僕人額上,先蓋上印。」以後,我聽見蓋了印的數目:在以色列子孫各支派中,蓋了印的,共有十四萬四千。在這些事以後,我看見有一大夥群眾,沒有人能夠數清,是來自各邦國、各支派、各民族、各異語的;他們都站在寶座和羔羊面前,身穿白衣,手持棕櫚枝,大聲呼喊說:「救恩來自那坐在寶座上的、我們的天主,並來自羔羊!」於是,所有站在寶座、長老和那四個活物周圍的天使,在寶座前,俯伏於地,朝拜天主,說:「阿們。願讚頌、光榮、智慧、稱謝、尊威、權能和勇毅,全歸於我們的天主,至於無窮之世。阿們。」長老之中,有一位問我說:「這些穿白衣的人是誰?他們是從那裡來的?」我回答他說:「我主,你知道。」於是,他告訴我說:「這些人是由大災難中來的;他們曾在羔羊的血中,洗淨了自己的衣裳,使衣裳雪白。」

希伯來書 7:23-28

肋未人成為司祭的,人數眾多,因為死亡阻礙他們長久留任,但是,耶穌因永遠長存,具有不可消逝的司祭品位。因此,凡由他而接近天主的人,他都能全部拯救,因為他常活著,為他們轉求。這樣的大司祭,才適合我們。他是聖善的、無罪的、無玷的、有別於罪人的、高於諸天的;他無須像那些大司祭一樣,每日要先為自己的罪,後為人民的罪,祭獻犧牲;因為他奉獻了自己,只一次,就永遠完成了這事。因為法律所立為大司祭的人,是有弱點的;可是在法律以後,以誓言所立的聖子,卻是成全的,直到永遠。

馬爾谷福音 12:28-34

有一個經師前來,問耶穌說:「一切誡命中,那一條是第一條呢?」耶穌回答說:「第一條是:以色列!你要聽!上主、我們的天主,是唯一的天主。你應當全心、全靈、全意、全力,愛上主、你的天主。第二條是:你應當愛近人,如你自己。再沒有別的誡命,比這兩條更大的了。」那經師對耶穌說:「不錯,師父說的實在對:天主是唯一的,除他以外,再沒有別的。我們應全心、全意、全力愛他,並愛近人如自己;這遠超過一切全燔祭和犧牲。」耶穌見他回答得明智,便對他說:「你離天主的國不遠了。」從此,沒有人敢再問他。

當耶穌被問及那一條誡命為律法之首時,祂引用了兩段聖經的經文。第一段是猶太人稱為 Shema 的 (意思為「以色列!你要聽」) 「你當全心、全靈、全力,愛上主你的天主」(申 6:5)。另一段是《肋未紀》中的經文,「應愛人如己」(肋 19:18)。為什麼耶穌將這兩條誡命放在同樣重要的位置上,使它們成為一條複合式的誡命呢?為什麼祂將這兩個規則合成為一個法令,就像一枚硬幣的兩面那樣不能分割? 僅僅愛天主是否仍然不夠?為什麼對天主的愛要藉著對鄰人的愛來肯定?

誡命的第一部分容易理解 ─ 人要以自己的全部(全心、全靈、全意和全力)去愛天主,因為祂是創造者,是萬物的根源。天主的神性(全能、全知、無處不在)當然值得我們去尊崇和敬畏,但出於責任和命令而愛天主,並不能激發真愛。我們對祂的愛理應是回應祂對我們的愛,「我們應該愛,因為天主先愛了我們」(若一 4:19)。祂對我們頂點的愛是犧牲祂唯一的兒子為我們死在十字架上(參考 若一 3:16,羅馬書 5:8)。雖然我們無法明白這難以理解的無條件的愛,但我們的天性驅使我們要以愛還愛。但怎樣去愛祂?我們怎樣去愛一個我們看不見觸不到,但卻如此偉大,令人讚嘆而超然的天主呢?

耶穌用誡命的第二部分來展示怎樣履行誡命的第一部分。耶穌教導我們,想要愛看不見的天主便需愛我們看得見的鄰人。正如若望在《若望一書》中說,「那不愛自己所看見的弟兄的,就不能愛自己所看不見的天主」(若一 4:20)。而他也這樣說:「請看父賜給我們何等的愛情,使我們得稱為天主的子女,而且我們也真是如此」(若一 3:1)。如果我們都是祂的子女,那麼我們大家便是兄弟姐妹。「就是凡不行正義的和不愛自己弟兄的,就不是出於天主」(若一3:10)。 這就是為什麼對天主的愛必須由對鄰人的愛來證實;這兩種愛的行為真的不能分割。

在誡命中的第二部分,耶穌也闡述了基督徒生活的根基,「如果你們之間彼此相親相愛,世人因此就可認出你們是我的門徒」(若 13:34-35)。天主子女的義德主要是藉他們彼此相愛而表達出來的(參考 若一 3:11, 4:7-8)。耶穌自己便是完美典範,祂實踐自己所教導的;祂至死仍愛着天主和祂的鄰人。如果我們要跟隨耶穌,我們也必須這樣,不僅是理論上,而是實在的去愛人。 理論上,人可能願意為他人捨命,但在實際的日常生活中,卻可能忽畧了最基本的善行。

那麼,哪一樣比較容易?愛天主還是愛鄰人?驟眼看來,似乎後者比較容易,因為愛天主意味著必須謹守及遵行祂的所有誡命,有時可能很難做到。但回心一想,去愛一個至愛和至善的主是順理成章的,並不須要多少功夫。反之,人與人相處,往往會產生衝突和誤解。去愛一個性格有些討厭或曾經得罪我們的人是違背人的本性,需要付出更大的努力。要獲得這樣的美德,我們必須生活在信德和祈禱中。以祈禱為中心的生活能穩固我們的信德,即使有時我們會受感情或情緒影响。藉著對祈禱的信心和信靠天主的愛,我們努力成為天主愛的工具,因為在愛我們的鄰人時,我們也展示主對他們的愛。

Posted: November 4, 2018

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

乙年常年期三十一主日:從愛人到愛主 吳智勳神父

耶穌在走向耶路撒冷這條不歸路上,一直在培訓門徒有關基督徒應有的精神,例如得勇於捨棄、要背十字架、要與耶穌建立密切的關係等等;但實際地該怎樣做呢?讓我們來看 看耶穌給我們的答案。

繼續閱讀 >