Do good in the things we do every day

Second Sunday in Ordinary Time

Isaiah 49:3, 5-6

The LORD said to me: You are my servant, Israel, through whom I show my glory. Now the LORD has spoken who formed me as his servant from the womb, that Jacob may be brought back to him and Israel gathered to him; and I am made glorious in the sight of the LORD, and my God is now my strength! It is too little, the LORD says, for you to be my servant, to raise up the tribes of Jacob, and restore the survivors of Israel; I will make you a light to the nations, that my salvation may reach to the ends of the earth.

1 Corinthians 1:1-3

Paul, called to be an apostle of Christ Jesus by the will of God, and Sosthenes our brother, to the church of God that is in Corinth, to you who have been sanctified in Christ Jesus, called to be holy, with all those everywhere who call upon the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, their Lord and ours. Grace to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.

John 1:29-34

John the Baptist saw Jesus coming toward him and said, "Behold, the Lamb of God, who takes away the sin of the world. He is the one of whom I said, 'A man is coming after me who ranks ahead of me because he existed before me.' I did not know him, but the reason why I came baptizing with water was that he might be made known to Israel." John testified further, saying, "I saw the Spirit come down like a dove from heaven and remain upon him. I did not know him, but the one who sent me to baptize with water told me, 'On whomever you see the Spirit come down and remain, he is the one who will baptize with the Holy Spirit.' Now I have seen and testified that he is the Son of God."

In this Sunday’s Gospel Reading, we hear how Jesus was revealed as the Messiah and as the Lamb of God who would take away the sin of the world as he was baptized by John the Baptist along the banks of River Jordan. John the Baptist testified that “the one who sent me to baptize with water said to me, ‘He on whom you see the Spirit descend and remain is the one who baptizes with the Holy Spirit.’ And “I myself have seen and have testified that this is the Son of God.” (John 1:33-34)

Jesus’ Baptism reminded me of my own Baptism and Confirmation, the Baptism with the Holy Spirit. Through these Sacraments, we are privileged to be a child of God, “sanctified in Christ Jesus, called to be saints” (Second Reading, 1 Corinthians 1:3) how well have we fulfilled our role as children of God?

While 2016 had different meanings for us personally, for the world, it was a year of wars, tragedies and uncertainties that would probably carry on to 2017. Is there anything we children of God can do to make the world a better place for ourselves, our neighbors and for the least of our brothers and sisters? Yes we can. We can do good. We can do good in the things we do every day. It can be as simple as not taking home with us our stress at work and venting it on the family we so love. Be slow to anger. Do not create hell for people by what we say off the top of our heads or what we show on our faces. Think before losing our temper or lodging a complaint for a small inconvenience or a small mishap, it might cause people their jobs. Be considerate and do not do things that we do not want others to do to us. If we think about it, the good things we can do every day goes on and on. It is just that sometimes life is so hectic that we do not have the time to make someone’s day by a smile, a greeting or a kind word that comes from the heart. Do not overlook the small good things we do to each other. They may be small and insignificant, yet they are the seeds of Christian joy, love and peace in our home and in our community which is the building block for a more harmonious society.

Posted: January 15, 2017

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

Are Socialists Greedy?
About whom is St. James talking in the Second Reading? He writes: “Come now, you rich people, weep and wail for the miseries that are coming to you” (Jas 5:1).… Continue Reading >
Cut it off! A difficult message from Jesus
In this Sunday's Gospel, Jesus speaks with incredible bluntness about cutting off one’s own hand, cutting off one’s own foot, and plucking out one’s own eye. These are hard, stark,… Continue Reading >
Honesty With God About Our Envy
Sometime in the past year, I actually felt envious of Fr. Richard Conlin. I can’t remember exactly why, but it was either because people were leaving St. Anthony’s to go… Continue Reading >

在日常生活上做好事

常年期第二主日

依撒意亞先知書 49:3,5-6

上主對我說:「以色列,你是我的僕人,我因你而自豪。」我在上主眼中是光榮的;天主是我的力量。那由母胎中,形成我作他的僕人、將雅各伯領回他面前、並把以色列聚集在他面前的上主,現在說:「你作我的僕人,復興雅各伯支派,領回以色列遺留下的人,還是小事,我更要使你作萬民的光明,使我的救恩達於地極。」

格林多前書 1:1-3

因天主的旨意,蒙召為耶穌基督宗徒的保祿,偕同索斯特乃弟兄,致書給格林多的天主教會,就是給那些在基督耶穌內受祝聖,與所有在各地呼求我們的主,亦即他們和我們的主、耶穌基督之名,一同蒙召為聖的人:願恩寵與平安,由我們的天主父和主耶穌基督,賜給你們。

若望福音 1:29-34

那時候,若翰見耶穌向他走來,便說:「看,天主的羔羊,除免世罪者!這位就是我論及他,曾說過:有一個人在我以後來,成了在我以前的,因他原先我而有。連我也不曾認識他,但為使他顯示於以色列,為此,我來以水施洗。」若翰又作證說:「我看見聖神,彷彿鴿子,從天降下,停在他身上。我也不曾認識他,但那派遣我來以水施洗的,給我說:你看見聖神降下,停在誰身上,誰就是那要以聖神施洗的人。「我看見了,我便作證:他就是天主子。」

在這個主日的福音讀經,我們聽到耶穌在約旦河邊接受若翰洗者的洗禮,被顯示為默西亞,為除免世罪的天主羔羊。若翰洗者作證說:「派我來用水施洗的那位對我說:你看見聖神降下,停在誰上面,誰就是那要用聖神施洗的人。這是我所目睹的,於是我作證:祂就是天主子。」(若 1:33-34)

耶穌的受洗讓我想起自己領洗和在領堅振的時候,領受天主聖神。藉着聖事,我們得享特權成為天主的子女, 「在耶穌基督內得到聖化 …蒙召成為聖者」(讀經二,格前 1:3) 我們有沒有做好天主子女這職份 ?

為我們個人來說,2016 各有不同意義。但為世界整體來說,過去一年是充滿戰亂,悲劇和變數的一年,而這些都可能會在 2017延續下去。作為天主子女,我們可以為自己,為我們的鄰人,為我們當中最小的弟兄姊妹,讓世界變得更好嗎?可以的。我們可以做好事。我們可以在日常生活中做好事。這些可能是簡單不過的,如不要把工作壓力帶回家,發洩在你愛惜的家人身上。緩於發怒。不要讓衝口而出的說話,或難看的臉色讓別人難過。在為小事發脾氣或投訴別人之前,要想清楚,人家可能為此失去工作。為他人着想,己所不欲勿施於人。只要想一想,我們每一天可以做的好事,實在數之不盡。只是在忙碌生活中,我們沒有時間給旁人一個微笑,打一個招呼,或說一句衷心的好話。不要忽視我們可以互相為大家做的好事。事情雖是不值一提的小事,但這些小事就是基督的喜樂,和平和愛的種子,播在我們的家和團體裏。而我們的家和團體,就是建立和諧社會和世界的基石。

Posted: January 15, 2017

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

甲年常年期第二主日:信仰的歷程 吳智勳神父

今日福音記載︰若翰洗者看見聖神像鴿子從天降下,在耶穌上面停著,他本來不認識耶穌,但派他來用水施洗的那一位對他說︰「你看見聖神降下,停在誰上面,誰就是那要用聖神施洗的人」。這是若翰所看見的,於是他作證,耶穌就是天主子。以上是若翰信仰歷程的三步曲:他看見、他認識、他作證。

繼續閱讀 >