Allegorical Reading of the Bible

Fifteenth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Deuteronomy 30:10-14

Moses said to the people: "If only you would heed the voice of the LORD, your God, and keep his commandments and statutes that are written in this book of the law, when you return to the LORD, your God, with all your heart and all your soul. "For this command that I enjoin on you today is not too mysterious and remote for you. It is not up in the sky, that you should say, 'Who will go up in the sky to get it for us and tell us of it, that we may carry it out?' Nor is it across the sea, that you should say, 'Who will cross the sea to get it for us and tell us of it, that we may carry it out?' No, it is something very near to you, already in your mouths and in your hearts; you have only to carry it out."

Colossians 1:15-20

Christ Jesus is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn of all creation. For in him were created all things in heaven and on earth, the visible and the invisible, whether thrones or dominions or principalities or powers; all things were created through him and for him. He is before all things, and in him all things hold together. He is the head of the body, the church. He is the beginning, the firstborn from the dead, that in all things he himself might be preeminent. For in him all the fullness was pleased to dwell, and through him to reconcile all things for him, making peace by the blood of his cross through him, whether those on earth or those in heaven.

Luke 10:25-37

There was a scholar of the law who stood up to test him and said, "Teacher, what must I do to inherit eternal life?" Jesus said to him, "What is written in the law? How do you read it?" He said in reply, "You shall love the Lord, your God, with all your heart, with all your being, with all your strength, and with all your mind, and your neighbor as yourself." He replied to him, "You have answered correctly; do this and you will live." But because he wished to justify himself, he said to Jesus, "And who is my neighbor?" Jesus replied, "A man fell victim to robbers as he went down from Jerusalem to Jericho. They stripped and beat him and went off leaving him half-dead. A priest happened to be going down that road, but when he saw him, he passed by on the opposite side. Likewise a Levite came to the place, and when he saw him, he passed by on the opposite side. But a Samaritan traveler who came upon him was moved with compassion at the sight. He approached the victim, poured oil and wine over his wounds and bandaged them. Then he lifted him up on his own animal, took him to an inn, and cared for him. The next day he took out two silver coins and gave them to the innkeeper with the instruction, 'Take care of him. If you spend more than what I have given you, I shall repay you on my way back.' Which of these three, in your opinion, was neighbor to the robbers' victim?" He answered, "The one who treated him with mercy." Jesus said to him, "Go and do likewise."

The Divine Author of the Bible used allegory to help the reader to “acquire a more profound understanding of events by recognizing their significance in Christ”, according to the Catechism (CCC 117). As a result, when we read the Bible, don’t lose sight of the allegorical meanings that many of its stories carry – meanings that point us directly or indirectly to Christ himself.

How do we understand the Good Samaritan story in today’s gospel allegorically? What is its significance in Christ? According to Pope Benedict XVI, the answers to these questions can be obtained by understanding the story in the following manner (see Jesus of Nazareth – From the Baptism in the Jordan to the Transfiguration, pp. 200-201):

  • “A man fell victim to robbers” (v. 30) – “Man” is to be understood as Adam or man in general; in other words, “humanity”.
  • “Robbers” refers to the force of evil.
  • “They stripped and beat him and went off leaving him half-dead” (v.30) – A picture of humanity in tatters, bereft of grace and wounded by sin. What we have is a fallen human nature.
  • “Priest” and “Levite” (vv. 31-32) symbolize history, culture, and religion. None of them are the ultimate solution to humanity’s problem.
  • The “Samaritan traveler” (v. 33) was distant and foreign to the man. Since the victim was a Jew, the Samaritan traveler was foreign to him. In fact, Jews and Samaritans didn’t get along. The Samaritan traveler refers to Jesus, who is distant and foreign to us because he is transcendent, holy and divine.
  • “He approached the victim, poured oil and wine over his wounds and bandaged them” (v.34) – Jesus heals our wounded human nature using the Sacraments (oil and wine).
  • “Took him to an inn and cared for him” (v. 34) – Jesus instituted the Church (inn) to care for man.

The theme of this allegory, as it relates to Christ, is love: man in general is wounded (human nature is wounded due to sin); every one of us is in need of redemption which we will receive from Jesus (the Samaritan in the story); we should love our neighbors the way the Good Samaritan loved the victim, helping the victim generously even though he was his enemy (because the victim was a Jew). The story also confirms the importance of the Church and the Sacraments (“inn” and “oil and wine” in the story), both of which were indispensable in the healing of the victim.

Posted: July 10, 2016

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


Other Sunday Reflections

“They had argued with one another who was the greatest (9:34).
Jesus said to the twelve, “Whoever wants to be the first must be last of all and servant of all” (9:35). Continue Reading >
Perfect Freedom is Found in Christ
In June of this year, I read an article by Sohrab Ahmari, an Iranian who converted to Catholicism in 2016, and about his anxiety as a new father. The anxiety… Continue Reading >
The Mystery of Suffering
The next time we are confounded by the human fear of suffering, will we choose to follow James’ advice to persevere for spiritual maturity? Or, will we adopt the pre-Pentecost… Continue Reading >

讀聖經的寓言

常年期第十五主日

申命紀 30:10-14

梅瑟曉諭人民說:「你要聽從上主你天主的話,謹守這法律書上,所記載的誡命和法令;你要全心全靈回頭,歸向上主你的天主。「其實,我今天吩咐你的誡命,為你並不太難,也不是達不到的。這誡命不在天上,以致你能說:『誰能為我們上到天上,給我們取下來,使我們聽了,好能遵行呢?』也不在海外,以致你能說:『誰能為我們渡海,給我們取來,使我們聽了,好能遵行呢?』其實,這話離你很近,就在你口裡,就在你心裡,使你遵行。」

哥羅森書 1:15-20

耶穌基督是不可見的天主的肖像,是一切受造物的首生者,因為在天上和在地上的一切,可見的與不可見的,或是上座者,或是宰制者,或是率領者,或是掌權者,都是在他內受造的;一切都是藉著他,並且是為了他,而受造的。他在萬有之先就有;萬有都賴他而存在。耶穌基督又是身體——教會的頭:他是元始,是死者中的首生者,為使他在萬有之上,獨佔首位,因為,天主樂意叫整個的圓滿,居住在他內,並藉著他,使萬有,無論是地上的,是天上的,都與自己重歸於好,因著他十字架的血,立定了和平。

路加福音 10:25-37

那時候,有一個法學士起來,試探耶穌說:「師父,我應當做什麼,才能獲得永生?」耶穌對他說:「法律上記載了什麼?你是怎樣讀的?」他答說:「你應當全心、全靈、全力、全意愛上主、你的天主;並愛近人如你自己。」耶穌向他說:「你答得對。你這樣做,必得生活。」但是,那法學士為顯示自己有理,又對耶穌說:「誰是我的近人呢?」耶穌回答說:「有一個人從耶路撒冷下來,到耶里哥去,遭遇了強盜;他們剝去他的衣服,把他打的半死,就丟下他走了。正巧,有一個司祭從那條路上下來,看了看他,便從旁邊走過。又有一個肋未人,也是一樣;他到了那裡,看了看,也從旁邊走過。「但有一個撒瑪黎雅人,路過他那裡,一看見,就動了憐憫的心,於是上前,在他的傷處,注上油與酒,包紮好了,又扶他騎上自己的牲口,把他帶到客店裡,小心照料他。第二天,取出兩個銀錢,交給店主說:請你小心看護他!不論額外花費多少,等我回來時,必要還給你。「你以為這三個人中,誰是那遭遇強盜者的近人呢?」那法學士答說:「是憐憫他的那人。」耶穌於是給他說:「你去,也照樣做吧!」

根據《天主教教理》(第 117 條)聖經神聖的作者用寓言幫助讀者明白個中訊息,因為「如果我們在基督身上認出事件的意義,就能對事件有更深入的了解」。因此,當我們閱讀聖經時,不要忽略聖經裡面許多故事的寓意 – 這些寓意直接或間接地指向基督。

我們如何明白今天福音讀經中,有關善心的撒瑪黎雅人的故事的寓意呢?它與基督有什麼關係?根據教宗本篤十六世,如果這個故事用以下方式去理解,我們會找到問題的答案 (參看《納匝肋人耶穌:從約旦河受洗至顯聖容》第200至201頁):

  • 「有一個人…遇到了强盗」(30節)-「人」應理解為亞當或泛指一切的人;換句話說,是「人類」。 「強盜」是指邪惡的力量。
  • 「他們剝去他的衣服,把他打得半死,丟下他就走了。」(30節)- 一個人類在支離破碎中的畫面;人喪失了恩典,被罪過所傷。我們有的,是一個墮落的人性。
  • 「司祭」和「肋未人」(31至32節)象徵歷史,文化和宗教。 這些都不是解決人類問題的最終辦法。
  • 對於受害人,那「路過的撒瑪黎雅人」(33節) 是遙遠而外來的人。由於受害者是猶太人,那路過的撒瑪黎雅人就是外來的人。歷史上猶太人與撒瑪利亞人不相往來。路過的撒瑪黎雅人代表耶穌,為我們來說, 耶穌是遙遠和外來的,因為祂是超凡的、至聖的,從天主而來的。
  • 「遂上前,在他的傷處倒上油與酒,包紮好了」(34節)- 耶穌以聖事(油和酒)治癒我們受傷的人性。
  • 「把他帶到客棧裡,照顧他。」(34節)- 耶穌建立教會(客棧)照顧人類。

這個與基督相關的寓言,主題就是愛:人類受了傷 (人性因罪而受傷);從耶穌(故事中的撒瑪黎雅人)那裡,我們將會得到我們每個人都需要的救恩;我們應愛近人,就如善心的撒瑪黎雅人愛傷者一樣,雖然傷者是敵人 (傷者是猶太人) 他也慷慨地幫助他。這個故事也確定教會和聖事的重要性(故事中的「客棧」和「油與酒」) ,因兩者都是治癒傷者不可或缺的。

Posted: July 10, 2016

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


其他主日反省

丙年常年期第十五主日 誰是我的近人? 吳智勳神父

今天的福音提到慈善撒瑪黎雅人的比喻,這是路加福音所獨有的故事。路加想藉著這比喻讓我們注意法學士問的一個問題:「誰是我的近人?」畢竟這比喻是由此問題引起的。過去有人認為比喻的人物皆有所代表,如慈善的撒瑪黎雅人代表耶穌,傷者代表罪人,司祭與肋未人代表猶太當權者,客棧代表教會,店主代表保祿宗徒。這種解釋不但牽強,而且支離破碎,使人難以把握比喻的訊息。

繼續閱讀 >