Are we Nichodemus or the Samaritan woman?

Third Sunday of Lent

Exodus 17:3-7

In those days, in their thirst for water, the people grumbled against Moses, saying, "Why did you ever make us leave Egypt? Was it just to have us die here of thirst with our children and our livestock?" So Moses cried out to the LORD, "What shall I do with this people? a little more and they will stone me!" The LORD answered Moses, "Go over there in front of the people, along with some of the elders of Israel, holding in your hand, as you go, the staff with which you struck the river. I will be standing there in front of you on the rock in Horeb. Strike the rock, and the water will flow from it for the people to drink." This Moses did, in the presence of the elders of Israel. The place was called Massah and Meribah, because the Israelites quarreled there and tested the LORD, saying, "Is the LORD in our midst or not?"

Romans 5:1-2, 5-8

Brothers and sisters: Since we have been justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have gained access by faith to this grace in which we stand, and we boast in hope of the glory of God. And hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us. For Christ, while we were still helpless, died at the appointed time for the ungodly. Indeed, only with difficulty does one die for a just person, though perhaps for a good person one might even find courage to die. But God proves his love for us in that while we were still sinners Christ died for us.

John 4:5-15, 19B-26, 39A, 40-42

Jesus came to a town of Samaria called Sychar, near the plot of land that Jacob had given to his son Joseph. Jacob's well was there. Jesus, tired from his journey, sat down there at the well. It was about noon. A woman of Samaria came to draw water. Jesus said to her, "Give me a drink." His disciples had gone into the town to buy food. The Samaritan woman said to him, "How can you, a Jew, ask me, a Samaritan woman, for a drink?" —For Jews use nothing in common with Samaritans.— Jesus answered and said to her, "If you knew the gift of God and who is saying to you, 'Give me a drink, ' you would have asked him and he would have given you living water." The woman said to him, "Sir, you do not even have a bucket and the cistern is deep; where then can you get this living water? Are you greater than our father Jacob, who gave us this cistern and drank from it himself with his children and his flocks?" Jesus answered and said to her, "Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again; but whoever drinks the water I shall give will never thirst; the water I shall give will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life." The woman said to him, "Sir, give me this water, so that I may not be thirsty or have to keep coming here to draw water. "I can see that you are a prophet. Our ancestors worshiped on this mountain; but you people say that the place to worship is in Jerusalem." Jesus said to her, "Believe me, woman, the hour is coming when you will worship the Father neither on this mountain nor in Jerusalem. You people worship what you do not understand; we worship what we understand, because salvation is from the Jews. But the hour is coming, and is now here, when true worshipers will worship the Father in Spirit and truth; and indeed the Father seeks such people to worship him. God is Spirit, and those who worship him must worship in Spirit and truth." The woman said to him, "I know that the Messiah is coming, the one called the Christ; when he comes, he will tell us everything." Jesus said to her, "I am he, the one who is speaking with you." Many of the Samaritans of that town began to believe in him. When the Samaritans came to him, they invited him to stay with them; and he stayed there two days. Many more began to believe in him because of his word, and they said to the woman, "We no longer believe because of your word; for we have heard for ourselves, and we know that this is truly the savior of the world."

I would like to pair today’s Gospel reading with the conversation of Jesus and Nicodemus in John chapter 3 verse 2 to 21. Apart from being the longest one-on-one talks with Jesus in the New Testament, these two passages also display very interesting similarities and differences.

Nichodemus is a man, highly respected both as a member of the Sanhedrin and morally as a teacher of the law. In sharp contrast, the woman is a Samaritan with no name and is living an indecent life. Nichodemus initiates his visit to Jesus at night whereas it is Jesus who engages the woman in dialogue in broad daylight. Nichodemus’ response is one with uncertainty, misunderstanding and confusion. Being a religious and political insider, Nichodemus is unable to move beyond the confines of the religious system. The woman, an outsider both ethnically and religiously, likewise starts with uncertainty but moves forward and ends up not only believing Jesus but becoming His witness enthusiastically.

Perhaps we can ask ourselves: are we Nichodemus or the Samaritan woman? As Nichodemus, are we contented with our doctrinal constructs but too prudent to invite others to hear them? Is our well acquired religious knowledge making us complacent rather than active in our faith? Are we too cautious of others’ reactions that we dare not give testimonies for our faith? As the Samaritan woman, do we let Jesus’ words lead us and take root in us? Is our faith growing each time when we encounter God’s revelation to us? Do we willingly and openly share our faith experience with others?

Dear friends, we do not need to be another Nichodemus, that is, we do not have to feel confident, secure and knowledgeable enough before we invite others to “come and see” (Jn 4:29). Faith is not about having all the answers, but about what and who we believe. Like the Samaritan woman, she was not truly certain that Jesus was the Christ (Jn 4:29), but that did not deter her from going into the city and saying only what she knew from her own experience. Her testimony compelled others to come and see Jesus for themselves and thus brought a good harvest to Him. It is our generosity to share, our courage to speak and our good will to accomplish that allows God’s grace to work, for “all things work for good for those who love God, who are called according to His purpose” (Rom 8:28).

Posted: March 19, 2017

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

A New Fixed Star Is coming – An Apocalypse message from Jesus
Happy New Year! Today, the first Sunday of Advent, is the beginning of a new liturgical year. What an extraordinary commencement we have with the readings for today. We are… Continue Reading >
Celebrating the Greatest Decision
Today’s homily is about three great reversals, where Jesus flips our expectations. Let’s start with a video of today’s Gospel, and see if you can spot these reversals. Continue Reading >
Jesus — “The King of Kings and Lord of Lords” (Revelation 19:16)
This year, the celebration of the solemnity of our Lord Jesus Christ, King of the Universe is highlighted by a reading from Daniel 7, a chapter that contains arguably some… Continue Reading >

我們是尼苛德摩還是撒瑪黎雅婦人?

四旬期第三主日

出谷紀 17:3-7

那時候,百姓在曠野裡非常口渴,就抱怨梅瑟說:「你為什麼從埃及領我們上來?難道要使我們、我們的子女和牲畜,都渴死嗎?」梅瑟向上主呼號說:「我要怎樣對待這百姓呢?他們幾乎就要用石頭砸死我了!」上主回答梅瑟說:「你到百姓面前,帶上幾個以色列長老,手中拿著你擊打尼羅河的棍杖!看,我要站在你面前,在曷勒布的一塊磐石上;你擊打那磐石,就有水流出來,給百姓喝。」梅瑟就在以色列的長老眼前,照樣做了。梅瑟稱那地方為瑪撒和默黎巴,因為以色列子民在那裡爭吵過,並試探過上主說:「上主是否在我們中間?」

羅馬書 5:1-2,5-8

弟兄姊妹們:我們既因信德成義,便是藉我們的主耶穌基督,與天主和好了。藉著耶穌,我們得以因著信德,進入了現今所站立的這恩寵中,並因希望分享天主的光榮,而歡躍。望德不叫人蒙羞,因為天主的愛,藉著所賜與我們的聖神,已傾注在我們心中了。當我們還在軟弱的時候,基督就在指定的時期,為不虔敬的人死了。為義人死,是罕有的事;為善人,或許有敢死的;但是,基督在我們還是罪人的時候,就為我們死了,這證明天主怎樣愛了我們。

若望福音 4:5-15,19-26,39,40-42 【短式】

那時候,耶穌來到撒瑪黎雅的一座城,名叫息哈爾,靠近雅各伯給他兒子若瑟的莊田;在那裡有「雅各伯井」。耶穌走累了,就順便坐在井旁;那時,大約是第六時辰。有一個撒瑪黎雅婦人來打水。耶穌向她說:「請給我一點水喝!」那時,耶穌的門徒都到城裡,去買食物。那撒瑪黎雅婦人就回答說:「你既是猶太人,怎麼向我一個撒瑪黎雅婦人要水喝呢?」原來,猶太人和撒瑪黎雅人一向不相往來。耶穌回答那婦人說:「如果你知道天主的恩賜,並知道向你說『給我水喝』的人是誰,你或許早就會求他,而他也早就賜給了你活水。」那婦人問說:「先生,你連打水器也沒有,而井又深,你從那裡取得那活水呢?難道你比我們的祖先雅各伯還大嗎?他留給了我們這口井;他和他的子孫,以及他的牲畜,都曾喝過這井裡的水。」耶穌回答說:「凡喝這水的,還要再渴;但誰若喝了我賜給他的水,他將永遠不渴;並且我賜給他的水,將在他內,成為湧到永生的水泉。」婦人說:「先生,請給我這水吧!免得我再渴,也免得我再來這裡打水。……「先生,我看你是個先知。我們的祖先一向在這座山上,朝拜天主,你們卻說:應該朝拜的地方,是在耶路撒冷。」耶穌回答說:「女人,你相信我吧!到了時候,你們將不在這座山,也不在耶路撒冷,朝拜父。你們朝拜你們所不認識的,我們朝拜我們所認識的,因為救恩出自猶太人。然而,時候要到,且現在就是,那些真正朝拜的人,將以心神以真理朝拜父,因為父就是尋找這樣朝拜他的人。天主是神,朝拜他的人,應當以心神以真理去朝拜他。」婦人說:「我知道默西亞(意即基督)要來;他一來了,必會告訴我們一切。」耶穌向那婦人說:「同你談話的我就是。」城裡有許多撒瑪黎雅人,信從了耶穌,因為那婦人作證說:「他向我說出了我所做過的一切。」這樣,那些撒瑪黎雅人,來到耶穌面前,請求耶穌在他們那裡住下;耶穌就在那裡住了兩天。還有更多的人,因為耶穌的宣講,而信從了耶穌。他們向那婦人說:「現在我們信,不是因為你的話,而是因為我們親自聽見了,並知道:他確實是世界的救主。」

我想將今天的福音讀經與若望福音第3章2至21節耶穌和尼苛德摩的談話連在一起來探討。這兩段經文,除了是新約聖經中耶穌最長的單對單談話之外,也顯示出一些非常微妙的相似和差異。

尼苛德摩是非常受尊敬的一個人,他是公議會的成員,更是德高望重的律法導師。對比之下,撒瑪黎雅婦人既沒有名字,生活亦相當不檢. 尼苛德摩在晚上拜訪耶穌, 耶穌則在日間和撒瑪黎雅婦人對話。尼苛德摩的回應充滿了懷疑,誤解和困惑。 作為一個政教的內部人士,尼苛德摩無法走出他所認知的宗教框框。而那婦人,是一個不同族裔和信仰的局外人,她從起初的不肯定,進而不但相信了耶穌,還熱心地為祂作見證。

或許我們可以撫心自問:我們是尼苛德摩還是撒瑪黎雅婦人?如像尼苛德摩,我們是否滿足於自己對教義的認識,但過份謹慎,以致怯於邀請別人去聽講? 我們獲得的豐富宗教知識是否使我們自我得意,而不是令我們積極地活於信仰中? 我們是否太著意別人的反應,而不敢為信仰作證? 如像撒瑪黎雅婦人,我們是否能讓耶穌的話語引導我們並在我們身上紮根? 當我們遇到天主的啟示時,我們的信德是否有所增長? 我們是否願意公開地與別人分享自己的信仰經驗?

朋友,我們不必成為另一個尼苛德摩,也就是說,我們不必要在有自信,安全感,及足夠的知識以後才邀請別人「你們來看!」 (若望福音4:29)。 信德並不是什麼都有答案的,而是我們相信的是什麼和相信的是誰。就像撒瑪黎雅婦人一樣,她並不真正肯定耶穌是基督(若4:29),但這並不妨礙她到鎮上,告訴別人她從自己的經驗中所知道的。 她的見證,促使他人親自去看耶穌,為祂帶來了豐盛的收穫。能讓天主的恩典發揮其作用是我們慷慨的分享,勇敢的說話和善意的成全,因為「天主使一切協助那些愛他的人,就是那些按他的旨意蒙召的人」 (羅 8:28 )。

Posted: March 19, 2017

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 四旬期第三主日:從不信到信 吳智勳神父

福音描述了一個撒瑪黎雅婦人皈依基督的過程,這個歷程實有助每一位基督徒,特別是候洗者,對自己的信仰作反省。

繼續閱讀 >