Conversion of a city

Third Sunday of Lent

Exodus 17:3-7

In those days, in their thirst for water, the people grumbled against Moses, saying, "Why did you ever make us leave Egypt? Was it just to have us die here of thirst with our children and our livestock?" So Moses cried out to the LORD, "What shall I do with this people? a little more and they will stone me!" The LORD answered Moses, "Go over there in front of the people, along with some of the elders of Israel, holding in your hand, as you go, the staff with which you struck the river. I will be standing there in front of you on the rock in Horeb. Strike the rock, and the water will flow from it for the people to drink." This Moses did, in the presence of the elders of Israel. The place was called Massah and Meribah, because the Israelites quarreled there and tested the LORD, saying, "Is the LORD in our midst or not?"

Romans 5:1-2, 5-8

Brothers and sisters: Since we have been justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have gained access by faith to this grace in which we stand, and we boast in hope of the glory of God. And hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us. For Christ, while we were still helpless, died at the appointed time for the ungodly. Indeed, only with difficulty does one die for a just person, though perhaps for a good person one might even find courage to die. But God proves his love for us in that while we were still sinners Christ died for us.

John 4:5-15, 19B-26, 39A, 40-42

Jesus came to a town of Samaria called Sychar, near the plot of land that Jacob had given to his son Joseph. Jacob's well was there. Jesus, tired from his journey, sat down there at the well. It was about noon. A woman of Samaria came to draw water. Jesus said to her, "Give me a drink." His disciples had gone into the town to buy food. The Samaritan woman said to him, "How can you, a Jew, ask me, a Samaritan woman, for a drink?" —For Jews use nothing in common with Samaritans.— Jesus answered and said to her, "If you knew the gift of God and who is saying to you, 'Give me a drink, ' you would have asked him and he would have given you living water." The woman said to him, "Sir, you do not even have a bucket and the cistern is deep; where then can you get this living water? Are you greater than our father Jacob, who gave us this cistern and drank from it himself with his children and his flocks?" Jesus answered and said to her, "Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again; but whoever drinks the water I shall give will never thirst; the water I shall give will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life." The woman said to him, "Sir, give me this water, so that I may not be thirsty or have to keep coming here to draw water. "I can see that you are a prophet. Our ancestors worshiped on this mountain; but you people say that the place to worship is in Jerusalem." Jesus said to her, "Believe me, woman, the hour is coming when you will worship the Father neither on this mountain nor in Jerusalem. You people worship what you do not understand; we worship what we understand, because salvation is from the Jews. But the hour is coming, and is now here, when true worshipers will worship the Father in Spirit and truth; and indeed the Father seeks such people to worship him. God is Spirit, and those who worship him must worship in Spirit and truth." The woman said to him, "I know that the Messiah is coming, the one called the Christ; when he comes, he will tell us everything." Jesus said to her, "I am he, the one who is speaking with you." Many of the Samaritans of that town began to believe in him. When the Samaritans came to him, they invited him to stay with them; and he stayed there two days. Many more began to believe in him because of his word, and they said to the woman, "We no longer believe because of your word; for we have heard for ourselves, and we know that this is truly the savior of the world."

The conversion of a city begins with Jesus asking for a drink of water from a Samaritan woman at the well. She comes to get water to quench her thirst. But coming to get water in the heat of the midday sun must have worsened her thirst; others would get their water in the early morning when the air is cool. From her conversation with Jesus, we know her life story. Maybe she wants to avoid others who may look down upon her, a woman with five husbands and now living with someone who is not her husband. The thirst to free herself from this bondage in her soul must be harder to bear than the thirst for water.

When Jesus talks to her about the living water that He can give and whoever drinks of it will never be thirsty, she asks Jesus for it so that “[she] may never be thirsty or have to keep coming here to draw water” (John 4:15). She shows great faith, unlike her ancestors whom Moses brings out of Egypt. When the people are in the wilderness and thirst for water, they complain and put the Lord to the test, “Why did you bring us out of Egypt, to kill us and our children and livestock with thirst?”, “Is the Lord among us or not?” (Exodus 17:3,7)

When Jesus tells her that He is the Messiah (Ref. John 4:26), she leaves her water jar, runs back to the city – a Samaritan city called Sychar – and tells people to go see a man who “told [her] everything [she has] ever done! He cannot be the Messiah, can he?” (John 4: 39). She must be overwhelmed with excitement and joy that Jesus with whom she has a conversation at Jacob’s well could be the Messiah. She is so zealous in spreading the good news to her people that she leaves behind her water jar and the reason for her to come to the well. Many Samaritans from that city believe in Jesus because of her testimony. What a great example for us to follow; we must have passion in our hearts and a strong faith to share effectively the good news we have received with others!

At the request of the Samaritans, Jesus stays in the city for two days. After hearing for themselves, many more believe because of His word, they said to the woman, “It is no longer because of what you said that we believe, for we have heard for ourselves, and we know that this is truly the Saviour of the World” (John 4:42).

Jesus creates the gift of faith in the Samaritan woman and kindles in her the fire of divine love (Ref. Preface for this Sunday’s Eucharistic Prayer). We, too, have a special grace from God. In the second reading, St. Paul proclaims that “God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit that has been given to us” and “God proves his love for us in that while we still were sinners Christ died for us” (Rom 5: 5, 8).

When the world is devastated by the spread of the novel virus, let us stay calm, and may this Lenten journey be a time for us to grow in God’s love, to imitate His kindness and generosity as we await Jesus’ glorious resurrection.

Posted: March 15, 2020

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

Remember!
Turn our gaze and see with eyes of an enlightened heart Continue Reading >
Life is a Test and Temporary Assignment
"The way you see your life shapes your life" (Rick Warren, The Purpose Driven Life, 41). Some people may see life as a journey, or a roller coaster (up and… Continue Reading >
"The holy Spirit … will teach you everything and remind you of all that [I] told you” (Jn 14:26)
The voice of the Holy Spirit may become clearer if we listen and pray with a faithful heart. Continue Reading >

一個城市的皈依

四旬期第三主日

出谷紀 17:3-7

那時候,百姓在曠野裡非常口渴,就抱怨梅瑟說:「你為什麼從埃及領我們上來?難道要使我們、我們的子女和牲畜,都渴死嗎?」梅瑟向上主呼號說:「我要怎樣對待這百姓呢?他們幾乎就要用石頭砸死我了!」上主回答梅瑟說:「你到百姓面前,帶上幾個以色列長老,手中拿著你擊打尼羅河的棍杖!看,我要站在你面前,在曷勒布的一塊磐石上;你擊打那磐石,就有水流出來,給百姓喝。」梅瑟就在以色列的長老眼前,照樣做了。梅瑟稱那地方為瑪撒和默黎巴,因為以色列子民在那裡爭吵過,並試探過上主說:「上主是否在我們中間?」

羅馬書 5:1-2,5-8

弟兄姊妹們:我們既因信德成義,便是藉我們的主耶穌基督,與天主和好了。藉著耶穌,我們得以因著信德,進入了現今所站立的這恩寵中,並因希望分享天主的光榮,而歡躍。望德不叫人蒙羞,因為天主的愛,藉著所賜與我們的聖神,已傾注在我們心中了。當我們還在軟弱的時候,基督就在指定的時期,為不虔敬的人死了。為義人死,是罕有的事;為善人,或許有敢死的;但是,基督在我們還是罪人的時候,就為我們死了,這證明天主怎樣愛了我們。

若望福音 4:5-15,19-26,39,40-42 【短式】

那時候,耶穌來到撒瑪黎雅的一座城,名叫息哈爾,靠近雅各伯給他兒子若瑟的莊田;在那裡有「雅各伯井」。耶穌走累了,就順便坐在井旁;那時,大約是第六時辰。有一個撒瑪黎雅婦人來打水。耶穌向她說:「請給我一點水喝!」那時,耶穌的門徒都到城裡,去買食物。那撒瑪黎雅婦人就回答說:「你既是猶太人,怎麼向我一個撒瑪黎雅婦人要水喝呢?」原來,猶太人和撒瑪黎雅人一向不相往來。耶穌回答那婦人說:「如果你知道天主的恩賜,並知道向你說『給我水喝』的人是誰,你或許早就會求他,而他也早就賜給了你活水。」那婦人問說:「先生,你連打水器也沒有,而井又深,你從那裡取得那活水呢?難道你比我們的祖先雅各伯還大嗎?他留給了我們這口井;他和他的子孫,以及他的牲畜,都曾喝過這井裡的水。」耶穌回答說:「凡喝這水的,還要再渴;但誰若喝了我賜給他的水,他將永遠不渴;並且我賜給他的水,將在他內,成為湧到永生的水泉。」婦人說:「先生,請給我這水吧!免得我再渴,也免得我再來這裡打水。……「先生,我看你是個先知。我們的祖先一向在這座山上,朝拜天主,你們卻說:應該朝拜的地方,是在耶路撒冷。」耶穌回答說:「女人,你相信我吧!到了時候,你們將不在這座山,也不在耶路撒冷,朝拜父。你們朝拜你們所不認識的,我們朝拜我們所認識的,因為救恩出自猶太人。然而,時候要到,且現在就是,那些真正朝拜的人,將以心神以真理朝拜父,因為父就是尋找這樣朝拜他的人。天主是神,朝拜他的人,應當以心神以真理去朝拜他。」婦人說:「我知道默西亞(意即基督)要來;他一來了,必會告訴我們一切。」耶穌向那婦人說:「同你談話的我就是。」城裡有許多撒瑪黎雅人,信從了耶穌,因為那婦人作證說:「他向我說出了我所做過的一切。」這樣,那些撒瑪黎雅人,來到耶穌面前,請求耶穌在他們那裡住下;耶穌就在那裡住了兩天。還有更多的人,因為耶穌的宣講,而信從了耶穌。他們向那婦人說:「現在我們信,不是因為你的話,而是因為我們親自聽見了,並知道:他確實是世界的救主。」

一個城市的皈依,從耶穌在井旁向撒瑪黎雅婦人要一㸃水喝而展開。因為口渴,所以她來取水。在炎熱的正午太陽下前來取水,可能使她更口渴;其他人都在比較清涼的早晨前來取水。從她和耶穌的對話,我們得知她的生平。或許,她想避開那些可能會鄙視她的人。她有五個丈夫,而現在又和一個不是她丈夫的人在一起。她渴望從這比口渴更難忍受的靈魂枷鎖中釋放出來。

當耶穌和她談及祂能賜給的活水,而無論誰飲了活水都永不用再口渴之時,她便向耶穌討活水, 「 免得【她】再渴,也免得再來這裡汲水」(若4:15)。她展示出強大的信德,不像她的祖先一般。當年梅瑟帶她的祖先逃出埃及,在荒野沒有水喝,便抱怨和考驗上主,「你為什麼從埃及領我們上來 ? 難道要使我們,我們的子女和牲畜都渴死嗎?」,「上主在我們之中嗎?」 (谷 17:3,7)

當耶穌告訴她祂是默西亞 (參 若4:26),她便放下水罐,跑回城裏 — 撒瑪黎雅的一座城,名叫息哈爾 — 叫城裡的人去看一個人,祂「說出了【她】所做過的一切事;莫非祂就是默西亞嗎?」(若 4:39)。她一定非常激動和滿心歡喜,因為那位在「雅各伯井」跟她說話的耶穌可能是默西亞。 她要把好消息傳開去的熱忱,使她放下水罐和她本來到那口井的目的。因為那婦人的作證,城裏很多人信從了耶穌。對我們來說,這是一個值得我們效法的好榜樣;我們必須擁有一顆熾熱的心和堅強的信德,才能將福音有效地與別人分享。

在撒瑪黎雅人的請求下,耶穌在城裏住了兩天。親耳聽到耶穌的宣講後,更多人信從了祂。他們向那婦人說:「現在我們信,不是因為你的話,而是因為我們親自聽見了,並知道:祂確實是世界的救主」 (若 4:42)。

耶穌賜給撒瑪黎雅婦人信德之恩,和在她內燃起天主的愛火(參 本主日彌撒頌謝詞)。我們也得到主賜隆恩。在讀經二,聖保祿宣講說:「天主的愛,藉著所賜與我們的聖神,已傾注在我們心中」和 「基督在我們還是罪人的時候,就為我們死了,這證明了天主怎樣愛我們」(羅 5: 5, 8)。

當世界被新型病毒肆虐摧殘的時候,我們要保持平靜。在四旬期的旅程中等候耶穌光榮復活的時候,讓我們在天主的愛內成長,效法祂的仁愛與慷慨。

Posted: March 15, 2020

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 四旬期第三主日:從不信到信 吳智勳神父

福音描述了一個撒瑪黎雅婦人皈依基督的過程,這個歷程實有助每一位基督徒,特別是候洗者,對自己的信仰作反省。

繼續閱讀 >