Being Healed of Passivity


The point of today’s homily is that the Father wants us to become more active as persons, because we tend towards passivity.  We want a better life, but we want it in the easiest way possible.  Most people want to be in better shape, but without pain.  That’s why they sell those ab machines—if we just roll in them, then we’ll lose weight.  We want to overcome our sins, but we do the minimum to accomplish it.  We all tend towards passivity.

Think about where the Holy Spirit has put desires in our hearts for this upcoming year.  Are we going to do the maximum to accomplish these things?  Let’s look at the example of our mother’s being active in the Gospel: “On the third day there was a wedding in Cana of Galilee, and the mother of Jesus was there.  Jesus and his disciples had also been invited to the wedding” (Jn 2:1-2).  It’s very interesting that St. John tells us that she’s there, but that Jesus is ‘also’ invited.

The story is about Him, but she’s the one who takes the initiative.  “When the wine gave out, the mother of Jesus said to him, ‘They have no wine’” (2:3).  We’ve mentioned before, in this culture, having no wine during a wedding would be socially very embarrassing.  The key for us is how our mother notices someone’s need and takes action.

How often do we see needs in our lives and don’t take action?  We say to people that things are bad in society, and we complain about them, but do we do anything?  We see there’s a problem in our family, but do we really do something?  Do we really pray about the needs we see in people’s lives?  I’m talking about praying so hard and long that you actually change your life to make it better.

In terms of our new year’s resolutions, are you writing them down, asking people to hold you accountable, changing your schedule, and spending money to do it?

Jesus’ response confirms that she was expecting something extraordinary from Him: “Woman, what concern is that to you and to me?  My hour has not yet come” (2:4).  This is a famously difficult passage to interpret.  We’ve said before that there’s no other recorded time in ancient near-East literature when a son calls his mother, ‘Woman.’  It’s not impolite, just uncommon.  And Jesus’ first question, ‘What concern is that to you and to me?’ is an expression in Hebrew that literally reads, ‘What to me and to you?’ and means, ‘That is your business.  How am I involved?’

So, on one hand, it seems as if Jesus is refusing our mother’s request, but, on the other hand, He later grants her request, by changing water into wine!  St. John later writes, “Jesus did this, the first of his signs, in Cana of Galilee, and revealed his glory” (2:11).  So, Jesus’ first miracle is done because of our mother’s initiative.  In fact, He did it because of her.

This brings us to a theological idea called self-creative freedom.  The Father intends for us to cooperate with Him in creating our future; we’re not just passively responding, but actively creating (Luke Burgis & Joshua Miller, Unrepeatable, 196-197).  And when we move, He responds to us.

A man who was struggling with what to do in his life, liked an image I shared with him.  I said, “The Holy Spirit can only blow the sails of your ship when you put up the sails.”  I made this remark because his problem was that he really struggled to make decisions.  He wanted to know God’s plan and have confirmation of it before he started moving.  What I suggested was that he start moving, and then God would direct him, because this was a sign of trust in God, and it’s also the mature, adult path: Sometimes you have to make a decision in uncertainty.

This doesn’t mean that you make every decision in uncertainty, and self-creative freedom is not an excuse to choose sinful actions.  This example just means that sometimes you have to get the ball rolling because you’re paralyzed in inaction.

Yes, you have to think through decisions.  But once the preponderance of evidence tells you to move, then move.  However, if the evidence suggests waiting, then wait.

Here are some simple tests: Do you have the ability to make decisions once you know you should?  Can you be decisive?  Or do you hesitate endlessly?  And are you growing spiritually, emotionally, humanly, physically?  If you’re not, you may not be active enough.

The Father has given us the power of agency, meaning you can choose and act freely.  He doesn’t save us without ourselves.  And our mother is a doer.  She goes to Jesus with the needs of the couple, asking Him to act.  She got the ball rolling, and Jesus cooperated with her!

That’s part of the perfect humility of God: Not only do we cooperate with Him, but He cooperates with us!  That’s why often in the Gospels, Jesus asks people what they want!  And why St. Matthew tells us that Jesus could do no miracles in His home town because of people’s lack of faith.

Saints are never passive.  In fact, to become a saint requires actuation and cooperation with the Holy Spirit to the highest degree.  Many of us want to become saints, so this means growing in our ability to act boldly, and take risks for Him.

In philosophy, there’s an idea that describes God as pure act, in other words, He’s always acting; God has no potentiality in Him.  The Trinity is always loving, giving, and receiving.  And so we mirror God’s perfection when we act.

We have to act to make the world better.  We have to act to heal our depression, to become healthy, to grow in virtue, and improve.

The Father allowed there to be no wine at the wedding so that our mother would act.  He allows our lives to be filled with problems so that we will act.  He’s not interested in our staying like children and having everything done for us.  He’s interested in our perfection.

That makes so much sense to me!  You know, I thought Jesus would heal me of my problems, let’s say, my sleep problems, with less effort.  I thought all I’d have to do was make a few changes.  But this Gospel reminds me that He wants to heal me of my passivity.

Whatever the Holy Spirit wants you to do, go do it!  For some of us, we’ve prayed enough about something, now’s the time to go do it.  But, for others, prayer could be a great start, because prayer isn’t just passive, it’s also active.  If you see a need, take it to Jesus, and ask Him intensely, over and over.  As you do, you’ll get stronger in your willpower to cooperate with Him and do what He wants.

Our mother says to the servants, “Do whatever he tells you” (2:5).  Sometimes Jesus performs miracles, sometimes He doesn’t.  But the greater miracle is that we’re growing in perfection.

Many of you told me that you were encouraged by the homily about weaknesses becoming strengths, where Bryan overcame his problems to such a degree that he was so mature that he was able to help me, his priest.

One thing I wanted to tell you is that I look forward to the day when all of you will become so humanly and spiritually mature that you will help me.  You will have grown so much by consistently taking action that you’ll be ready for sainthood.

Posted:

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

“Just as I have loved you, you also should love one another” (Jn 13:34)
The love that Jesus refers to is the divine love for one another that is modeled on his own acts of charity and generosity on the Cross (Ref ICSB P191) Continue Reading >
Beyond Loneliness
Were you ever lonely as a child? If so, do you remember how often? A while back, I saw some students at our school waiting to be picked up by… Continue Reading >
We Are His people, the sheep of His Flock (Ps 100:3)
This week’s readings invite us to renew our confidence in the one true God, our Good Shepherd, Lord Jesus Christ, who remains faithful and steadfast throughout our pilgrimage on earth. Continue Reading >

醫治我的被動性


(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿為準。)
今天講道的重點是:天父希望我們成為更積極的人,因為我們傾向於被動。我們想要更好的生活,但我們卻希望以最容易的方式來獲得。大多數人都想有美好的體型,但無需經歷任何痛苦。這就是為什麼有人賣那些健身機—我們只需要隨著它們運轉,就能減肥。我們想要克服我們的罪孽,但我們盡了最少的努力去完成它。我們都傾向於被動。
想一想在即將到來的一年裡,聖神把我們的心願置於心中何處。我們要盡最大努力來完成這些事情嗎?
讓我們看看在福音中我們的聖母積極參與的例子:「第三天, 在加里肋亞有婚宴,耶穌的母親也在那裡。耶穌和他的門徒也被請去赴婚宴。」(若2:1-2)。非常有趣的是,聖若望告訴我們她(聖母)在那裡,但耶穌「也」被邀請了。
故事是關於祂的,但她才是主動者。 「酒不夠了,耶穌的母親向耶穌說:『他們沒有酒了。』」(2:3)。我們以前提過,在這種文化中,婚禮期間酒不夠在社交上是非常尷尬的。對我們來說,關鍵是我們的母親如何注意到別人的需要並採取行動。
在生活中,我們曾多次看到了人們的需要而無動於衷?我們對人們抱怨說世風敗壞,但是我們做了什麼嗎?我們看到家裡出了問題,我們真的做了什麼嗎?我們真的為我們看到的,人們的生活所需而祈禱了嗎?我說的是很努力和持之以恆的祈禱,實際上你從而改變了你的生活,讓它變得更好。
至於我們的新年計劃,你有沒有把它們寫下來,讓別人監督你,改變你的日程安排,花錢去做呢?
耶穌的回答證實了她對他的期待是非同尋常的,(https://www.vatican.va/content/john-paul-ii/en/audiences/1997/documents/hf_jp-ii_aud_26021997.html):「女人,這於我和你有什麼關係?我的時候尚未來到」(2:4)。這是一段出了名的難解讀的篇章。我們以前說過,在古代近東方文學中,沒有其他記載兒子叫母親「女人」的。這不是不禮貌,只是不尋常。耶穌的第一個問題是,『這與你我有什麼關係? 』希伯來語的字面意思是『對我和你有什麼意義? 』意思是『那是你的事。我與此有何牽連? 』。
所以,一方面,耶穌好像拒絕了我們母親的請求,但另一方面,他後來又答應了她的請求,把水變成了酒!聖若望後來寫道:「這是耶穌所行的第一聖蹟,是在加里肋亞加納行的;耶穌顯示了自己的光榮」(2:11)。所以,耶穌的第一個聖蹟是因為我們母親的倡議。事實上,祂這麼做是因為她。
這就引出了一種叫做自我「創造自由」的神學思想。天父打算讓我們與祂合作創造我們的未來;我們不只是被動地回應,而是積極地創造Luke Burgis & Joshua Miller, Unrepeatable, 196-197)。當我們行動時,祂會回應我們。
一名正在生活中苦苦掙扎的男人點讚了與我分享給他的一張照片。我說:「只有當你揚起船帆時,聖神才能吹動風帆助你啟航。」
我說這句話是因為他的問題是: 他真的很難做決定。在他開始行動之前,他想知道天主的計劃並得到確認。我的建議是:他先開始行動,然後天主會指引他,因為這是信任天主的標誌,也是成熟的、成人的道路:有時你必須在不確定的情況下做出決定。
這並不意味著你的每一個決定都是在不確定的情況下做出的,「自我創造的自由」也不是選擇罪惡行為的藉口。這個例子只是意味著,有時你必須採取行動,否則你會在不作為中僵滯不前。
是的,你必須深思熟慮。但一旦多數證據告訴你要行動,那就行動吧。然而,如果證據表明你必須等待,那就等待吧。
這裡有一些簡單的測試:當你知道你應該做決定時,你有能力做出決定嗎?你能果斷嗎?還是會無休止地猶豫?你在精神上、情感上、人性上、身體上都在成長嗎?如果不是,你可能不夠活躍。
天父給了我們代理的權力,這意味著你可以自由選擇和行動。祂不會在沒有我們參與的情況下拯救我們。我們的聖母是個實踐者。她帶著這對夫婦的需要去找耶穌,要求祂採取行動。她開始行動了,耶穌和她合作了!
這是天主完美謙卑的一部分:我們不僅與祂合作,祂也與我們彼此合作!這就是為什麼在福音中,耶穌經常問人們他們想要什麼!為什麼聖瑪竇告訴我們,因為他們缺乏信心,耶穌在祂的家鄉不能行聖蹟。
聖人從來都不是被動者。事實上,成為聖人需要與聖神的最高程度的驅動和合作。我們很多人都想成為聖人,所以這意味著我們隨著能力的增強放膽行動,為祂承擔風險。
在哲學中,有一種觀點將天主描述為「純粹的行為」(Pure Act),換句話說,祂總是在行動;天主在身上沒有潛力。天主聖三永遠是在愛、給予和接受。因此,當我們行動時,我們反映了天主的完美。
我們必須行動起來,讓世界變得更美好。我們必須採取行動來治愈我們的抑鬱症,變得健康,在美德上成長,進步。
天父允許在婚宴上缺酒,這樣,我們的母親就會行動起來。祂允許我們的生活充滿問題,這樣我們就會行動起來。祂不想我們像小孩子一樣,由祂來為我們安排一切。祂希望我們變得完美。
這對我來說太有意義了!你知道,我曾以為耶穌會治愈我的問題,比方說,我的睡眠問題,而我可以不費吹灰之力。我以為我所要做的就是做一點改變。但這福音提醒我,祂想醫治我的被動性
無論聖神要你做什麼,就去做吧!對於一些人來說,我們已經為某件事祈禱得夠多了,現在是去行動的時候了。但是,對於其他人來說,祈禱可能是一個很好的開始,因為祈禱不僅僅是被動的,它也是積極的。如果你看到人們的需要,就把它帶到耶穌跟前,一遍又一遍地強烈地問祂。當你這樣做的時候,你與祂合作的意志力就會變得更強,做祂想要你做的事情。
我們的母親對僕人說:「他無論吩咐你們什麼,你們就做什麼」(2:5)。耶穌有時行聖蹟,有時不行,但更大的聖蹟是我們在完美中成長。
許多人告訴我,你們受到於「弱點變成優勢」的那篇講道鼓舞,布萊恩(Bryan) 克服了自己的問題,達到了成熟的程度,以至能夠幫助我,他的神父。
我想告訴你們的是,我期待著有一天,你們所有人在人性和靈修上都會變得很成熟,你們會幫助我。通過始終如一地採取行動,你們會成長很多,為成為聖人做好準備。

資料來源:Being Healed of Passivity

Posted: January 16, 2022

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

丙年(路加) 常年期第二主日:女性優美的特質 吳智勳神父

今日的福音記載耶穌變水為酒的奇蹟,作者帶出耶穌基督能把一切不圓滿的成為圓滿;只要有祂的臨在,任何不完美的東西都可以變得完美。「七」為猶太人是一個圓滿的數字,「六」是未圓滿的;六口石缸及缸裡的水,都暗示欠缺,耶穌卻使它圓滿,水也變成酒,而酒便有恩寵的意義,耶穌基督就是這樣豐富地賜給我們恩寵。

繼續閱讀 >
「祂無論吩咐你們什麼,你們就做什麼」(若 2:5) Shiu Lan

瑪利亞是我們的中保,我們甚至不用請求她,她也會為我們代禱。所以,在一生的歲月裏,我們都要堅定信實地做耶穌吩咐我們做的任何事。

繼續閱讀 >