“Blessed are those who have not seen and yet have come to believe” (John 20:29)

Second Sunday of Easter

Acts 2:42-47

They devoted themselves to the teaching of the apostles and to the communal life, to the breaking of bread and to the prayers. Awe came upon everyone, and many wonders and signs were done through the apostles. All who believed were together and had all things in common; they would sell their property and possessions and divide them among all according to each one's need. Every day they devoted themselves to meeting together in the temple area and to breaking bread in their homes. They ate their meals with exultation and sincerity of heart, praising God and enjoying favor with all the people. And every day the Lord added to their number those who were being saved.

1 Peter 1:3-9

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who in his great mercy gave us a new birth to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, to an inheritance that is imperishable, undefiled, and unfading, kept in heaven for you who by the power of God are safeguarded through faith, to a salvation that is ready to be revealed in the final time. In this you rejoice, although now for a little while you may have to suffer through various trials, so that the genuineness of your faith, more precious than gold that is perishable even though tested by fire, may prove to be for praise, glory, and honor at the revelation of Jesus Christ. Although you have not seen him you love him; even though you do not see him now yet believe in him, you rejoice with an indescribable and glorious joy, as you attain the goal of your faith, the salvation of your souls.

John 20:19-31

On the evening of that first day of the week, when the doors were locked, where the disciples were, for fear of the Jews, Jesus came and stood in their midst and said to them, "Peace be with you." When he had said this, he showed them his hands and his side. The disciples rejoiced when they saw the Lord. Jesus said to them again, "Peace be with you. As the Father has sent me, so I send you." And when he had said this, he breathed on them and said to them, "Receive the Holy Spirit. Whose sins you forgive are forgiven them, and whose sins you retain are retained." Thomas, called Didymus, one of the Twelve, was not with them when Jesus came. So the other disciples said to him, "We have seen the Lord." But he said to them, "Unless I see the mark of the nails in his hands and put my finger into the nailmarks and put my hand into his side, I will not believe." Now a week later his disciples were again inside and Thomas was with them. Jesus came, although the doors were locked, and stood in their midst and said, "Peace be with you." Then he said to Thomas, "Put your finger here and see my hands, and bring your hand and put it into my side, and do not be unbelieving, but believe." Thomas answered and said to him, "My Lord and my God!" Jesus said to him, "Have you come to believe because you have seen me? Blessed are those who have not seen and have believed." Now, Jesus did many other signs in the presence of his disciples that are not written in this book. But these are written that you may come to believe that Jesus is the Christ, the Son of God, and that through this belief you may have life in his name.

Let me share with you a heart-warming story to start this reflection. It was a sunny and beautiful afternoon during the pandemic. The Greater Toronto Area is closed for non-essential services but citizens can still walk around in their neighborhood while practicing social distancing. So I took a walk around to get some exercise and enjoy the light breeze and the sun. Then a little girl’s tender voice caught my attention, “It’s so warm outside!” There I saw a family of four, the young mother carried a baby in her arms and the dad, a picnic basket. I wondered where they could go for their picnic since the outdoor recreation areas and parks were closed. Anyway, I walked on. Then towards the end of my walk, I saw them again. They were picnicking in the front porch of another house, happily chatting away with people inside who kept the door open. They must be the grandparents of the little girl and the baby. I was so moved by the scene. It was such a creative way to visit people we care and bring hope and warmth, comfort and joy to each other during this difficult time.

In this Sunday’s Gospel reading, we hear the famous story of the “Doubting Thomas”. He refuses to believe that during his absence, Jesus has appeared to his fellow Apostles on the very evening of the day He rose from the dead. Not only does Jesus appear to them, He also sends them “As the Father has sent me” (Jn 20:21). He breathes on them the Holy Spirit that He has promised before His Passion, “I will ask the Father and he will give you another Helper to be with you forever” (Jn 14:16) and from then on, “the Helper, the Holy Spirit … will teach you all things and remind you of all that I have told you” (Jn 14:26). He also gives them the power to forgive sins, “If you forgive the sins of any, they are forgiven them; if you retain the sins of any, they are retained” (Jn 20:23).

After eight days, Jesus appears to the Apostles again, He invites Thomas to “Reach out your hand and put it in my side. Do not doubt but believe” . Thomas answered Jesus, “My Lord and my God!” (John 20:27, 28).

What strikes me the most is at the end of the story when Jesus said, “Blessed are those who have not seen and yet have come to believe”(John 20:29). He is referring to us! To us who have not seen but believe, what St. Peter said in the Second Reading is inspiring, “Although you have not seen [Jesus Christ], you love him; and even though you do not see him now, you believe in him and rejoice […] for you are receiving the outcome of your faith, the salvation of your souls” (1 Peter 1:8-9). Let us strive to live in the way that Jesus teaches us to stay worthy of this outcome of our faith!

This Easter, we rejoice in the Lord’s Resurrection under the shadow of the pandemic, let us unite in prayer to pray for the world and for each other for His mercy and compassion. Jesus greets His Apostles with “Peace be with you” when He first appears to them after He is risen from the dead (Jn 20:19). He is walking with us and greeting us with the same words. Let us be patient, remain faithful in joyful hope and look for opportunities to love our neighbors as we go through this ordeal together.

Posted: April 19, 2020

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

Apostles Are Alive! Fr. Justin Huang

Did you realize that last week, when you encountered a very difficult situation, that you were probably sent there by God? Is it possible that, last week, you were sent to a chaotic situation at work to bring Jesus’ peace? Or you were sent home where there was an argument between your parents so that you could pray for them? Or you were sent an impatient e-mail so you could ask the person what’s bothering them?

Continue Reading >

「那些沒有看見而相信的,纔是有福的!」(若 20:29)

復活期第二主日

宗徒大事錄 2:42-47

弟兄們專心聽取宗徒的訓誨,時常團聚、擘餅、祈禱。因為宗徒顯了許多奇蹟異事,各人都滿懷敬畏之情。凡信了的人,常齊集一處,一切所有,皆歸公用。他們把產業和財物變賣,按照每人的需要分配。他們每天都成群結隊地前往聖殿,也挨戶擘餅,懷著歡樂和誠實的心,一起進食。他們常讚頌天主,也獲得了全民眾的愛戴;上主天天使那些得救的人,加入會眾。

伯多祿前書 1:3-9

願我們的主耶穌基督的天主和父受讚美!他因自己的大仁慈,藉耶穌基督由死者中的復活,重生了我們,為使我們獲得那充滿生命的希望,並獲得那為你們已存留在天上的、不腐壞、無瑕疵、不朽的產業,因為你們原是為天主的能力所保護,為使你們藉著信德,而獲得那已準備好,在最後時期出現的救恩。為此,你們要歡欣踴躍;雖然,現在你們暫時還該在各種試探中受苦;這是為使你們的信德,得以精煉,比經過火煉,而仍易消失的黃金,更有價值,好使你們在耶穌基督顯現時,堪受稱讚、光榮和尊敬。你們雖然沒有見過他,卻愛慕他;雖然你們現在仍看不見他,還是相信他,並且以不可言傳,和充滿光榮的喜樂,而歡欣踴躍,因為你們已把握住信仰的效果:靈魂的救恩。

若望福音 20:19-31

一周的第一天晚上,門徒所在的地方,因為怕猶太人,門戶都關著;耶穌來了,站在中間,對他們說:「願你們平安!」說了這話,便把手和肋膀指給他們看。門徒見了主,便喜歡起來。耶穌又對他們說:「願你們平安!就如父派遣了我,我也同樣派遣你們。」 說了這話,就向他們噓了一口氣,說:「你們領受聖神吧!你們赦免誰的罪,誰的罪就得赦免;你們保留誰的罪,誰的罪就被保留。」十二人中的一個,號稱狄狄摩的多默,當耶穌來時,卻沒有和他們在一起。其他門徒向他說:「我們看見了主。」但多默對他們說:「除非我看見他手上的釘孔,用我的指頭,探入釘孔;用我的手,探入他的肋膀,我決不信。」八天以後,耶穌的門徒又在屋裡,多默也和他們在一起。門戶關著,耶穌來了,站在中間,說:「願你們平安!」然後對多默說:「把你的指頭伸到這裡來,看看我的手吧!並伸過你的手來,探入我的肋膀,不要做無信德的人,但要做個有信德的人。」多默回答說:「我主!我天主!」耶穌對多默說:「因為你看見了我,才相信嗎?那些沒有看見而相信的,才是有福的!」耶穌在門徒前,還行了許多其他神蹟,沒有記在這部書上。這些所記錄的,是為叫你們信耶穌是默西亞,天主子,並使你們信的人,賴他的名,獲得生命。

讓我和大家分享一個溫暖人心的故事來開始這反思。那是疫症蔓延期間一個陽光普照美麗的下午。大多倫多所有非主要服務已經停止,但市民仍然可以在自己居所附近,在保持社交距離下行走。於是,我便出外散步,當作運動和享受一下微風下和煦的陽光。然後一個小女孩的幼嫩聲音引起我的注意,「外面真暖啊!」我看見一家四口,年輕母親懷裏抱着一個嬰兒,父親就帶着一個野餐籃子。我很奇怪,既然戶外康樂活動場所和公園都關閉了,他們何處野餐去。我繼續散步。當我差不多散步完畢的時候,我又再見到他們了。他們在另一間屋子的前園野餐,屋子的門是打開的,而他們就非常開心地和屋子裏面的人說話。他們一定是這個小女孩和嬰兒的祖父母。看見這個情景,我非常感動。這是一個如此富想像力的方法,去探訪我們關心的人,在這困難時期,互相帶來希望和溫暖,安慰和喜樂。

本主日的福音讀經,講及「無信的多默」這著名的故事。多默不肯相信耶穌從死者中復活的那天晚上,在他不在場的時候,顯現給宗徒。耶穌不但顯現給他們,還派遣了他們,「就如父派遣了我」( 若20:21)。祂向宗徒們噓氣,把聖神賜給他們,信守了祂受難前許下的諾言,「我也要求父,祂必會賜給你們另一位護慰者,使祂永遠與你們同在」(若14:16)從此以後,「那護慰者 ⋯ 聖神,祂必要教訓你們一切,也要使你們想起,我對你們所説的一切」(若14:26)。祂又賜給宗徒赦罪的權柄,「你赦免誰的罪,就給誰赦免;你們存留誰的,就給誰存留」( 若20:23)。

八天之後,耶穌再次顯現給宗徒,祂請多默「伸過你的手來,探入我的肋膀,不要作無信的人,但要作個有信德的人」。多默這樣回答耶穌:「我主!我的天主!」( 若 20:27,28)。

最觸動我的是故事的結尾,耶穌說:「那些沒有看見而相信的,纔是有福的」(若 20:29)。祂是指我們!對於我們這些沒有眼見而仍然相信的人,聖伯多祿在讀經二所說的,非常令人鼓舞,「你們雖然沒有見過【耶穌基督】,卻愛慕他;雖然你們如今仍看不見他,還是相信他;並且【⋯】喜樂而歡躍,因為你們已把握住信仰的效果:靈魂的救恩」(伯前 1:8-9)。讓我們努力在生活上遵循耶穌的教導,繼續堪當享有信仰的效果。

這個復活節,在全球疫症的陰影下,我們為主的復活喜樂歡騰,讓我們在祈禱中團結起來,為世界祈禱,彼此代禱,祈求主的慈悲和憐憫。當耶穌從死者中復活第一次顯然給宗徒,祂向他們說:「願你們平安!」(若 20:19)。祂現正和我們同行,也用同樣的說話,給我們問好。我們要忍耐,繼續做個有信德的人,懷著歡欣的希望,找機會去愛自己的鄰人,共渡時艱。

Posted: April 19, 2020

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 復活期第二主日:基督的教會(救主慈悲主日) 吳智勳神父

由本主日至耶穌升天,所有主日讀經皆來自新約,其中第一篇是選自宗徒大事錄。這個編排是要我們知道,復活的基督如何改變了門徒,更新了教會。讓我們以教會為主題作反省。

繼續閱讀 >
宗徒們是充滿活力的 Fr. Justin Huang

你有沒有意識到,上週當你遇到一個非常困難的情況時,可能是天主派你去的?上個星期,你被派往一個混亂的工作環境,會不會是為的是讓耶穌得平安?或者你回家時你的父母發生了爭執,讓你可以為他們祈禱?或者你收到了一封不耐煩的電子郵件,讓你可以問那個人是遭受到什麼困擾?

繼續閱讀 >