“Cherish the hope God gives of being raised by him” (2 Macc 7:14)

Thirty-second Sunday in Ordinary Time

2 Maccabees 7:1-2,9-14

It happened that seven brothers with their mother were arrested and tortured with whips and scourges by the king, to force them to eat pork in violation of God's law. One of the brothers, speaking for the others, said: "What do you expect to achieve by questioning us? We are ready to die rather than transgress the laws of our ancestors." At the point of death he said: "You accursed fiend, you are depriving us of this present life, but the King of the world will raise us up to live again forever. It is for his laws that we are dying." After him the third suffered their cruel sport. He put out his tongue at once when told to do so, and bravely held out his hands, as he spoke these noble words: "It was from Heaven that I received these; for the sake of his laws I disdain them; from him I hope to receive them again." Even the king and his attendants marveled at the young man's courage, because he regarded his sufferings as nothing. After he had died, they tortured and maltreated the fourth brother in the same way. When he was near death, he said, "It is my choice to die at the hands of men with the hope God gives of being raised up by him; but for you, there will be no resurrection to life."

2 Thessalonians 2:16-3:5

Brothers and sisters: May our Lord Jesus Christ himself and God our Father, who has loved us and given us everlasting encouragement and good hope through his grace, encourage your hearts and strengthen them in every good deed and word. Finally, brothers and sisters, pray for us, so that the word of the Lord may speed forward and be glorified, as it did among you, and that we may be delivered from perverse and wicked people, for not all have faith. But the Lord is faithful; he will strengthen you and guard you from the evil one. We are confident of you in the Lord that what we instruct you, you are doing and will continue to do. May the Lord direct your hearts to the love of God and to the endurance of Christ.

Luke 20:27-38

Some Sadducees, those who deny that there is a resurrection, came forward and put this question to Jesus, saying, "Teacher, Moses wrote for us, If someone's brother dies leaving a wife but no child, his brother must take the wife and raise up descendants for his brother. Now there were seven brothers; the first married a woman but died childless. Then the second and the third married her, and likewise all the seven died childless. Finally the woman also died. Now at the resurrection whose wife will that woman be? For all seven had been married to her." Jesus said to them, "The children of this age marry and remarry; but those who are deemed worthy to attain to the coming age and to the resurrection of the dead neither marry nor are given in marriage. They can no longer die, for they are like angels; and they are the children of God because they are the ones who will rise. That the dead will rise even Moses made known in the passage about the bush, when he called out ‘Lord,’ the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob; and he is not God of the dead, but of the living, for to him all are alive."

How far are we willing to push the boundaries in order to reach our ultimate goal or to fulfill our deepest desires? This week’s readings offer some refreshing and encouraging insights about taking a stand for something (or someone) in which (whom) we truly believe. From the tales of the violent death of the seven brothers in Maccabees to the encouraging words of St. Paul; from the Psalmist’s hope-filled prayer to Jesus’ teachings about resurrection and eternal life, the Holy Spirit is gently guiding our gaze away from ourselves – our earthly concerns and worries – to the eternal King of kings and Lord of lords; “to the love of God and to the steadfastness of Christ” (2 Thes 3:5).

In the first reading, the story about the seven brothers told in 2 Maccabees can surely surpass any Netflix series! This story has everything a blockbuster needs: the villain – a raging king, Antiochus; the heroes – seven righteous and defiant brothers; the witness – the grieving mother; and of course, violence – “torture with whips and thongs”; and death (2 Macc 7:1). Behind the seemingly gratuitous violence lies a tableau of courage rooted in one’s unflinching faith and hope in God. In this animated story, Antiochus compels the seven brothers to eat swine’s flesh that is prohibited by the laws of their ancestors. One of the brothers bravely retorts by saying that they’d rather die than betray their God. One by one, the brothers are tortured and put to death, but not before proclaiming their steadfast faith and hope in the God of their ancestors, “One cannot but choose to […] cherish the hope God gives of being raised by him” (2 Macc 7:14). In the same way, we are reminded of God’s unconditional love and faithfulness and are called to take courage in taking a stand for our faith – “For God so loved the world that he gave his only Son, so that everyone who believes in him may not perish but may have eternal life” (Jn 3:16). All seven brothers die in the hope that God, “King of the universe” (contrary to King Antioch’s limited, temporary, and elusive power), will raise them up “to an everlasting renewal of life” (2 Macc 7:9). King Antiochus may have the power to take away lives but he is utterly powerless in raising up lives!

St. Paul’s letter to the Thessalonians reminds us that “the Lord is faithful” and will “strengthen” and “guard” us from “the evil one” (2 Thes 3:3). When we encounter impossible situations or people in our everyday lives, we are tempted to either lash out in rage (complaints, gossips, etc.) or simply throw in the towel. The seven brothers in Maccabees have gone through worse and yet they refuse to surrender! They stand firm in defending their faith; knowing that they will be raised by God. Therefore, as St. Paul writes, may we stand firm in “good hope” and be strengthened by God’s love (2 Thes 2:16).

So, what is eternal life? Certainly, it looks nothing like our earthly existence. Jesus explains, “they cannot die anymore […] being children of the resurrection” (Lk 20:36). In the Sadducees’ attempt to trap Jesus with yet another mundane scenario, Jesus has shown them, and us, that “those who are considered worthy of a place in … the resurrection from the dead […] are like Angels and are sons and daughters of God, being children of the resurrection” (Lk 20:34-36). Can we “earn” our rightful place in resurrection? We must be mindful that salvation is a gift, not a right to be “earned”: “by grace you have been saved through faith” (Eph 2:8-9). As for resurrection, “All the dead will rise, ‘those who have done good [i.e. those who are saved], to the resurrection of life, and those who have done evil, to the resurrection of judgment” (CCC 998, cf. Daniel 12:2).

As we journey on over hills and valleys, let us turn our gaze away from our own darkness to the light of Christ. “May our Lord Jesus Christ himself and God our Father, who has loved us and through grace gave us eternal comfort and good hope”. (2Thes 2:16)

Posted: November 10, 2019

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


Other Sunday Reflections

“A time of waiting and watching” (CCC 672)
Let us join the psalmist to sing praises to the Lord, who on a day unbeknownst to us, “will judge the world with righteousness, and the peoples with equity.” (Psalm… Continue Reading >
“Cherish the hope God gives of being raised by him” (2 Macc 7:14)
As we journey on over hills and valleys, let us turn our gaze away from our own darkness to the light of Christ. Continue Reading >
“For the Son of Man has come to seek and to save” (Luke 19:10)
We like to think that we can have God in our own pocket. But we’ve got it all wrong. It’s God who finds us and reveals Himself to us; it’s… Continue Reading >

「深信天主許諾使人復活」(加下 7:14)

常年期第三十二主日

瑪加伯下 7:1-2,9-14

那時候,有兄弟七人,與他們的母親一同被捕。國王命人用鞭子和牛筋,痛打他們,強迫他們吃法律禁止的豬肉。其中一個兄弟,代表發言說:「你想問什麼?你想由我們知道什麼?我們已經準備,寧死不願背叛我們祖先的法律。」他在快要斷氣的一剎那,高聲說:「你這窮凶極惡的人!你使我失去現世的生命,但是宇宙的君王,必要使我們這些為他的法律而殉難的人復活,獲得永生。」這一個以後,輪到第三個兄弟受刑了!在命令他伸出舌頭時,他就爽快地伸出,且毅然伸開雙手,慷慨地說:「這些肢體是從上天得來的,但是,現在為了他的法律,我不吝嗇這一切,希望有一天,從他那裡,仍再得到。」國王和他的侍從,都驚訝這少年人,不怕受苦的精神。他死了以後,他們用同樣的酷刑,處罰第四個兄弟。他臨死時,這樣說:「我們這些深信天主許諾使人復活的人,死在人手中,是求之不得的;可是為你,決不會復活獲得永生。」

得撒洛尼後書 2:16-3:5

弟兄姊妹們:願我們的主耶穌基督,和那愛我們,並開恩將永遠的安慰和美好的希望,賜與我們的天主父,鼓勵你們的心,並在各種善工善言上,堅固你們。此外,弟兄們!請為我們祈禱,好叫主的聖道,也像在你們那裡一樣,順利展開,並得到光榮;也叫我們脫離壞人與惡人,因為不是人人都有信德。主是信實的,他必堅固你們,保護你們免於凶惡。我們在主內信賴你們;你們既然現今實行了我們所吩咐的,將來也必實行。願主指引你們的心,去愛天主,並學習基督的堅忍。

路加福音 20:27-38

那時候,否認復活的撒杜塞人中,有幾個來問耶穌,說:「師父,梅瑟給我們寫下:如果一個人的哥哥死了,撇下妻子而沒有子嗣,他的弟弟就應娶他的妻子,給他哥哥立嗣。有兄弟七人,第一個娶了妻子,沒有子嗣就死了。第二個,及第三個,都娶過她為妻。七個人都是如此:沒有留下子嗣就死了。後來,連那婦人也死了。「那麼,在復活的時候,這婦人是他們那一個的妻子?因為他們七個人,都娶過她為妻。」耶穌對他們說:「今世之子也娶也嫁;但那堪得來世,及堪當由死者中復活的人,他們也不娶,也不嫁;甚至他們也不能再死,因為他們相似天使;他們既是復活之子,也就是天主之子。「至論死者復活,梅瑟已在荊棘篇中指明了:他稱上主,為亞巴郎的天主,依撒格的天主,及雅各伯的天主。天主不是死人的天主,而是活人的天主;所有人為他都是生活的。」

為了實現我們最終的理想和目標,我們願意走多遠?本星期的讀經提供了一些清新和鼓舞人心的見解,如何為自己真心相信的事(或人),表示立場。從《瑪加伯》七兄弟慘死的故事到聖保祿鼓勵的話;由聖詠作者滿是希望的禱告,到耶穌講解復活和永生的教導,天主聖神輕輕引導我們的目光,從自己塵世的憂慮, 轉而集中專注於萬王之王、萬主之主;「去愛天主,並學習基督的堅忍」(得後 3:5)。

在讀經一,《瑪加伯下》記載那七兄弟的故事比Netflix的所有劇集更精采!這故事包含了一個大製作的所有元素:大反派—暴戾的國王安提約古;英雄—義無反顧地抗命的七兄弟;見證者—傷心欲絕的母親;當然還有暴力—「用鞭子和牛筋痛打」;和殺害(加下 7:1)。看似無緣無故的暴力故事,背後是一股無比的勇氣,而這勇氣植根於人對天主堅定的信念和希望。在這動畫般的聖經故事中,安提約古強迫七兄弟違背他們祖先的法律,下令他們食豬肉。其中一兄弟勇敢反駁,說寧死也不願背叛他們的天主。就這樣,七兄弟一個又一個遭受酷刑,被處死,在臨死之前,他們都宣認對自己祖先的天主,堅定不移的信心和希望,「深信天主許諾使人復活」(加下 7:14)。同樣地,讀經亦提醒我們天主無條件的愛和信實,而我們亦被召叫,要有勇氣表白自己的信仰立場—「天主竟這樣愛了世界,甚至賜下了自己的獨生子,使凡信他的人不至喪亡,反而獲得永生」(若 3:16)。七兄弟懷着希望而受死,相信天主—「宇宙的君王」(跟安提約古王那有限、暫時及難以掌握的權力,絕對不能相提並論)必要使人復活,「獲得永生」(加下 7:9)。安提約古王可以奪走生命,卻絕對無權給人永生。

聖保祿在《得撒洛尼書》中提醒我們「主是忠信」的,祂必「堅固」和「保護」你們「免於凶惡」(得後 3:3)。在日常生活中,當我們遇到極困難的情況或極厭煩的人時,我們會禁不住誘惑,往往於怒氣中斥責人(投訴、 說別人壞話等等),或是放棄。《瑪加伯》中七兄弟的遭遇更悲慘,但他們堅拒投降!他們堅定捍衛自己的信仰;知道上主會讓他們得到永生。因此,正如聖保祿說,願我們懷着「美好的希望」,天主的愛會堅固我們(得後 2:16)。

如此說來,什麼是永生?當然,永生絕對不像我們在現世的存在。耶穌說:「他們也不能再死,因為他們……是復活之子」(路20:36)。當撒杜塞人試圖以另外一個世俗的處境來試探耶穌時,耶穌跟他們和我們解釋說,「那堪得來世⋯ 由死者中復活的人【⋯】相似天使;他們既是復活之子,也就是天主之子」(路 20:34-36)。那麼我們可以「爭取」到復活的機會嗎?我們不要忘記,永生是天主賜予的禮物,不是一個可以「爭取」的權利:「你們得救是由於恩寵」(弗 2:8-9)。至於復活,「所有死去的人:『行過善的,(意思是指得救的人)復活進入生命;行過惡的,復活而受審判』」(天主敎教理 998, 參 達 5:29)。

當我們穿越人生的山嶺和幽谷時,讓我們將目光從自己的黑暗轉向基督的光明。「願我們的主耶穌基督,和那愛我們⋯ 的天主父」「開恩將永遠的安慰和美好的希望,賜與我們 ⋯」(得後 2:16-17)。

Posted: November 10, 2019

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


其他主日反省

丙常年期第三十二主日:死人復活 吳智勳神父

本週的福音讀經記載耶穌與撒杜塞人討論「死人復活」的問題,讓我們先把這段對談放回當天的時空裡去分析。耶穌進了耶京後,當權者相繼來挑戰他。先是法利塞人,他們本是個宗教性的團體,重視聖經和守梅瑟的法律,但卻問了一個政治性的問題──能否給凱撒納稅,耶穌的回答使他們啞口無言。

繼續閱讀 >