Forgive from the heart

Twenty-fourth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Sirach 27:30-28:7

Wrath and anger are hateful things, yet the sinner hugs them tight. The vengeful will suffer the LORD's vengeance, for he remembers their sins in detail. Forgive your neighbor's injustice; then when you pray, your own sins will be forgiven. Could anyone nourish anger against another and expect healing from the LORD? Could anyone refuse mercy to another like himself, can he seek pardon for his own sins? If one who is but flesh cherishes wrath, who will forgive his sins? Remember your last days, set enmity aside; remember death and decay, and cease from sin! Think of the commandments, hate not your neighbor; remember the Most High's covenant, and overlook faults.

Romans 14:7-9

Brothers and sisters: None of us lives for oneself, and no one dies for oneself. For if we live, we live for the Lord, and if we die, we die for the Lord; so then, whether we live or die, we are the Lord's. For this is why Christ died and came to life, that he might be Lord of both the dead and the living.

Matthew 18:21-35

Peter approached Jesus and asked him, "Lord, if my brother sins against me, how often must I forgive? As many as seven times?" Jesus answered, "I say to you, not seven times but seventy-seven times. That is why the kingdom of heaven may be likened to a king who decided to settle accounts with his servants. When he began the accounting, a debtor was brought before him who owed him a huge amount. Since he had no way of paying it back, his master ordered him to be sold, along with his wife, his children, and all his property, in payment of the debt. At that, the servant fell down, did him homage, and said, 'Be patient with me, and I will pay you back in full.' Moved with compassion the master of that servant let him go and forgave him the loan. When that servant had left, he found one of his fellow servants who owed him a much smaller amount. He seized him and started to choke him, demanding, 'Pay back what you owe.' Falling to his knees, his fellow servant begged him, 'Be patient with me, and I will pay you back.' But he refused. Instead, he had the fellow servant put in prison until he paid back the debt. Now when his fellow servants saw what had happened, they were deeply disturbed, and went to their master and reported the whole affair. His master summoned him and said to him, 'You wicked servant! I forgave you your entire debt because you begged me to. Should you not have had pity on your fellow servant, as I had pity on you?' Then in anger his master handed him over to the torturers until he should pay back the whole debt. So will my heavenly Father do to you, unless each of you forgives your brother from your heart."

In this Sunday’s Gospel Reading, we hear the story of a slave who has just been forgiven a debt of ten thousand talents by his king but would not forgive a fellow slave who owes him a much smaller sum of a hundred denarii. The slave throws his fellow slave into prison until the debt is repaid. The slave receives mercy from the king yet he does not show mercy to his fellow slave.

This reminds me of a grudge I bore against a cousin who bullied and wronged me when we were small children. For the longest time, I have not spoken with her and avoided her. Looking back, it was not a big deal but I felt the hurt of being belittled and ridiculed and carried that hurt into adulthood. Then I managed to be cordial with her, caught up with her when we met in family gatherings, but in my heart, the hurt stunk. After all these years, I was still harboring an enmity towards her. Why was that? What I failed then was to forgive her from the heart.

But we must forgive from the heart. This is what Jesus teaches us to do in this Sunday’s Gospel Reading, we must “forgive your brother or sister from your heart” (Matthew 18:35). When we pray The Lord’s Prayer, we must mean what we pray when we ask God to “forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us”. We must forgive in order to be forgiven. From this moment on, let us “overlook faults” and forgive from the heart (Sirach 28:7).

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

Twenty-ninth Sunday in Ordinary Time
Our Mission is Love
The Christian identity is intricately tied to the mission of the Church - to bring the Gospel of Life to all; a life that “sets us free from every kind… Continue Reading >
Twenty-eighth Sunday in Ordinary Time
“Many are called, but few are chosen” (Matthew 22:14)
That we will be among the chosen few, we must live our life “in a manner worthy of the Gospel of Christ” (Philippians 1:27). Continue Reading >
Twenty-seventh Sunday in Ordinary Time
What can we learn from the teaching of “repaying good for evil” ?
Free ourselves from taking revenge and we merit God's blessings as His children in perfection Continue Reading >

從心裏寬恕

常年期第二十四主日

德訓篇 27:33-28:9

憤恨與惱怒,兩者都是可憎惡的,但罪人卻堅持不放。凡報仇的,必要遭到上主的報復,上主必要保留他的罪。你要寬恕你近人的過錯;這樣,當你祈求時,你的罪惡,也會得到赦免。人如果對人懷恨,怎能向上主求饒呢?對自己同類的人,沒有慈愛,又怎能為自己的罪過求寬赦呢?他既是血肉之人,竟然懷恨不休,而求天主赦罪,誰會赦免他的罪呢?你要記得最後的結局,而停止仇恨;你要記得腐爛與死亡,而遵照誡命生活。你要記得天主的誡命,不要向人發怒;你要記得至高者的盟約,寬恕別人的過錯。

羅馬書 14:7-9

弟兄姊妹們: 我們中沒有一人,是為自己而生的,也沒有一人,是為自己而死的;因為我們或者生,是為主而生,或者死,是為主而死;所以我們或生或死,都是屬於主。因為基督死而復生了,正是為作生者和死者的主。

瑪竇福音 18:21-35

那時候,伯多祿前來,對耶穌說:「主啊!如果我的弟兄得罪了我,我該寬恕他多少次?直到七次嗎?」耶穌對他說:「我不是對你說:直到七次,而是到七十個七次。「為此,天國好比一個君王,要同他的僕人算賬。他開始算賬的時候,有人帶來了一個欠他一萬『塔冷通』的僕人,因那僕人沒有錢可償還,主人就下令,要他把自己和妻子兒女,以及他所有的一切,都變賣來還債。那僕人就俯伏在地,叩拜他主人,說:主啊!寬容我吧!一切我都要還給你。那僕人的主人,就動心,把他釋放了,並且也寬免了他的債。「但那僕人正出去時,遇見了一個欠他一百『德納』的同伴,那僕人就抓住他,扼住他的喉嚨,說:還清你所欠的債!他的同伴就俯伏在地,哀求他說:寬容我吧!我必還給你。可是那僕人不願意,且把他的同伴關在監裡,直到他還清了所欠的債。「那僕人的其他同伴,見到所發生的事,非常悲憤,就去把所發生的一切,告訴了主人。於是,主人把那僕人叫來,對他說:惡僕!因為你哀求了我,我就寬免了你的一切債項;難道你不該憐憫你的同伴,如同我憐憫了你一樣嗎?「於是,主人大怒,把他交給刑役,直到他還清所欠的一切。「如果你們各人,不從心裡寬恕自己的弟兄,我的天父,也要這樣對待你們。」

在本週的福音讀經,我們聽到一個君王豁免了僕人的債務,僕人欠了君王一萬金幣。但僕人卻不肯豁免欠他一百銀幣的同事,一百銀幣比一萬金幣,數目少得多。那僕人把同事關在監獄,直至他還清了欠債為止。僕人從君王處得到憐憫,卻不憐憫自己的同事。

這故事使我想起,當大家都是小孩子的時候,我曾經被一位親友欺負和冤枉,而我一直對她心懷怨恨。有一段很長的時間,我沒有和她說話,我一直避開她。回想起來,只是小事一宗,但那被人看輕和取笑的委屈,我到長大成人還未能放下。然後漸漸,我可以友善地面對她,在家庭聚會可以與她談談近況,但心中的刺還是痛。事情已經過去多年,但對於她,我還是心懷怨懟。為什麼?就是因為我沒有做到從心裡寬恕她。

但我們一定要從心裡寬恕。這是耶穌在主日彌撒讀經敎導我們的,我們一定要「從心裡寬恕你們的弟兄」(瑪 18:35)。當我們唸《天主經》「求你寛恕我們的罪過,如同我們寬恕別人一樣」的時候,我們不能口不對心。我們要寛恕別人,自己才能獲得寛恕。從現在開始,讓我們從心裡「寬恕別人的過失」吧(徳訓篇 28:7)。

Posted: September 17, 2017

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 常年期第廿四主日:不寬恕的荒謬 吳智勳神父

這星期福音讀經的主題是寬恕。故事甚簡單,由伯多祿的問題引起——問耶穌該寬恕兄弟多少次。耶穌以比喻作答,要求我們寬恕弟兄如同天父寬恕我們一樣。這個看來簡單的比喻,除非細加反省,否則難以入心。

繼續閱讀 >