Fr. Justin Huang Sunday Homily : Warning

Twenty-third Sunday in Ordinary Time

Ezekiel 33:7-9

Thus says the LORD: You, son of man, I have appointed watchman for the house of Israel; when you hear me say anything, you shall warn them for me. If I tell the wicked, "O wicked one, you shall surely die, " and you do not speak out to dissuade the wicked from his way, the wicked shall die for his guilt, but I will hold you responsible for his death. But if you warn the wicked, trying to turn him from his way, and he refuses to turn from his way, he shall die for his guilt, but you shall save yourself.

Romans 13:8-10

Brothers and sisters: Owe nothing to anyone, except to love one another; for the one who loves another has fulfilled the law. The commandments, "You shall not commit adultery; you shall not kill; you shall not steal; you shall not covet, " and whatever other commandment there may be, are summed up in this saying, namely, "You shall love your neighbor as yourself." Love does no evil to the neighbor; hence, love is the fulfillment of the law.

Matthew 18:15-20

Jesus said to his disciples: "If your brother sins against you, go and tell him his fault between you and him alone. If he listens to you, you have won over your brother. If he does not listen, take one or two others along with you, so that 'every fact may be established on the testimony of two or three witnesses.' If he refuses to listen to them, tell the church. If he refuses to listen even to the church, then treat him as you would a Gentile or a tax collector. Amen, I say to you, whatever you bind on earth shall be bound in heaven, and whatever you loose on earth shall be loosed in heaven. Again, amen, I say to you, if two of you agree on earth about anything for which they are to pray, it shall be granted to them by my heavenly Father. For where two or three are gathered together in my name, there am I in the midst of them."

[Watch Fr. Justin’s homily delivery here.]
https://youtu.be/qooNkt2Eftk

A while back, I called a 30-year old man who had been a young adult leader in a youth group at another parish. I said, “I want some advice because I’m starting to love the youth at St. Anthony’s the way I loved all of you, and I feel that I don’t know how to love them well.” Two things he said to me stuck: that all the youth appreciated my high standards—he said that’s what drew people to learn from me; but while having very high standards, I should give gentle guidance. Because a dominant sin of mine is impatience.

I bring up this story because the First Reading talks about a watchman warning the people of their sins and impending danger. St. Gregory the Great, one of the best pastors ever, commented on this passage by first denouncing himself because he didn’t live what he preached. But he says, “Because I love [Jesus], I do not spare myself in speaking of him” (Office of Readings, September 3).

I need to imitate St. Gregory: I want to admit my great sin of impatience, but, at the same time, continue to speak the truth clearly and lovingly, and not discourage.

One thing that’s impressed me is our community’s willingness to hear hard truths. So I don’t think we need to revisit this. You’re already ready.

God says to the prophet Ezekiel in the First Reading, “So you, O son of man, I have made a watchman for the house of Israel [A watchman would stand on a high position so that he can see an enemy coming and sound a trumpet]; whenever you hear a word from my mouth, you shall give them warning from me [Three times in this short reading we’ll hear the word ‘warning,’ and St. Augustine says, “It is our business not to keep quiet” (Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture, Ezekiel, Daniel, 98)]. If I say to the wicked, ‘O wicked one, you shall surely die,’ and you do not speak to warn the wicked to turn from their ways, the wicked person shall die in their iniquity, but their blood I will require at your hand [We’re talking about matters of life and death, that is, spiritual life and death, where we can fall away from Jesus and choose hell]. But if you warn the wicked person to turn from their ways, and they do not turn from their ways, they shall die in their iniquity, but you will have saved your life” (Ez 33:7-9).

Ezekiel, at this point in his life, was to tell the people their sins after Jerusalem had been invaded by the Babylonians in 587 BC and a huge number of the Jewish people were taken away as prisoners. So, it’s a time of upheaval for them, just as it is for us, and we need to hear our sins, so that we can change.

Because the word ‘warning’ is used three times, here are three significant problems that I see in our parish family.

1) Now that I’ve been with you for over six years as your pastor, I feel I can say this with accuracy: As parents, we’re not doing enough for our children to help them make Jesus the centre of their lives. Every year, we have our children go through our school or Parish Religious Education Program, and, after eight years of Catholic education, the majority are not disciples of Jesus, that is, they have not made Jesus the centre of their lives, the One Who influences their world view and choices more than anyone else.

Danah, who gave her testimony last week, nailed the problem of her teenage years: she admitted she put on a front to hide her faith, would leave Mass when bored, and saw God as a toy on the shelf (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2020/08/30/five-ways-god-expands-our-horizons/). She graduated from our school ten years ago, and only she and three of her classmates still practice their faith, and that’s a good year!

Here’s the deal: You parents do many things well, try hard, and I praise God for you! But, in terms of faith, it’s not enough. Most parents think they’re doing enough. But, because I meet parents from all stages in parenting and hear their faith journeys, I see that new parents are doing basically the same thing as the parents of students in Gr. 7, and parents of students in Gr. 7 are doing what Danah’s parents did before they had their conversion.

Parents, I love you, and I’m trying to step up my game by being more patient, but you need to as well. I’m telling you: Look at the parents ahead of you and do better than they.

I mentioned this to two mothers some weeks ago, and one responded, “So there’s no hope.” There’s always hope! Here’s the way: I told her, “Do you love Jesus more than your children?” That’s what Jesus teaches, and this is my first concrete suggestion. Now that we’re starting a new school year, if we listen to Jesus’ command to love Him more than our children, then He’ll be worth following, you will love your children more, and they’ll decipher this, and so will be more likely to follow Jesus.

2) Commitment: I think we, as a community, are poor in our moral commitments. For example, our commitment to Mass. For us in the Archdiocese of Vancouver, it’s currently not a sin to miss Sunday Mass because Archbishop Miller has dispensed us from its obligation. So, if we’re signed up for Sunday Mass and already have a spot(!) and then miss it for a weak reason, as in we have a family dinner, then it’s not breaking the third commandment, but it’s a lack of love; dinner is more important than the Eucharist, Jesus’ sacrifice, and being grateful. And our children can see that the Eucharist is truly not the centre of our lives. If we have a spot at Sunday Mass and don’t come for a poor reason, that’s a sign of poor moral commitment. Please think also about the people who are on the waiting list for Sunday Mass who can’t come yet.

What about a commitment never to lie? One time, I visited our school classrooms and talked about the commandments. When I asked the Grade 5 students if they would ever break the fifth commandment, “Thou shall not kill,” they shook their heads vigorously. Of course, they would never kill! They’ve learned that moral commitment from us. But when I asked them about the eighth commandment, “Thou shall not bear false witness,” none of them had made a commitment never to lie. And they have learned that from us.

Do your children lie to you, parents? I’m sorry to say that they’ve probably learned that from you. If you want your kids never to lie, then tell them about your own commitment. I sometimes, though rarely, lie, but I’m horrified by it and deeply embarrassed to admit it. But I’m trying with all my heart never to lie; it is a commitment. By the way, it’s better to commit and fail than to never commit and accept failure as the norm.

What about a commitment to prayer? For six years we’ve talked about the importance of prayer, and, if you’ve been here for six years and still don’t have an absolute commitment to daily prayer, then you’ve got a big spiritual problem. No one can grow if they’re spiritually malnourished. I remember watching an exercise guru on YouTube say, “If you’re working out every day, but still don’t know what you’re eating, then you’re still a beginner because true athletes know what they’re eating.” I was humbled because that’s I: I work out hard, but I’m careless about my diet. And that applies to Christians who don’t have a commitment to prayer. If you’re not committed to at least 15 minutes a day, then you’re not even a beginner. Beginners in the spiritual life start with 15 minutes of prayer a day. Now, what if we’re exhausted? Then pray standing up. What if we have no time? Then cut out something else from your life.

You should know that God hears the prayers of parents for their children, but they must be truly from the heart, not when we rush prayers and tack them on at the end of the day. I’m talking about having a conversation with Jesus about our kids, listening to Him speak through the Bible, and then I ask for help to love my kids more.

3) From what I observe, I think many of you still have moral world views based more on the world’s opinions than on the Bible and the Church. For example, on abortion, most of us are against it, but we’re soft on it and make illogical exceptions. We say things like, “Well, I would never have an abortion, but I won’t force my morality on others.” But this logic doesn’t work on other moral issues: “I’m against slavery, but I wouldn’t force my views on others.” To say this actually means we’re pro-choice because we’re conceding that the choice of abortion isn’t that wrong, when in fact we believe it’s wrong. We’ve given lots of homilies on abortion, on all the reasons, but many of us think like most Canadians because we follow popular opinion more than Catholic moral teaching.

As of this homily, there have been 28 million people killed worldwide because of abortion (https://www.worldometers.info). But there have been 826,000 deaths due to COVID-19. According to Worldometers, death by disease is 8.8 million; HIV/AIDS is 1.1 million; cancer is 5.5 million; smoking and alcohol is 5 million; so, abortion kills more than any of these. In order to do the greatest good, shouldn’t we try to end the greatest cause of death? But most people don’t think like that, because the world tells us that we need abortion, because of so-called hard cases like rape, incest, to save the life of a mother. But the majority of abortions don’t happen for those reasons (https://globalnews.ca/news/5302743/women-abortions-reasons/). Even a pro-abortion doctor admits, “Most women of every age, race, income level, parity, and education who chose an abortion cite reasons having to do with concerns about responsibility to children… as well as concern about the children they may have in the future… They base their decision mainly on their ability to remain financially stable” (https://www.verywellhealth.com/reasons-for-abortion-906589).

Most of us have been taught to make moral decisions based on feelings rather than facts. Maybe you’ll notice this in the people in your life who lie—why? Because getting out of trouble through lying feels better than accepting the consequences, but the fact is it always destroys relationships. In the same way, in hard cases where abortion is an option, the difficult situation makes us feel like abortion is the solution, and then we conclude that it’s okay in all cases.

We all agree that racism is wrong and we’re horrified when we see acts of racism, and that’s correct. But we don’t have the same reaction to abortion because we don’t see it, and therefore don’t feel it. Even though most of us would say it’s wrong and that we’d never have one, we’re not stirred to action because it doesn’t make us feel badly.

If God has put it on your heart that, for example, you should spend your time fighting poverty, follow that call! Our parish is trying to do its small part to help people in need by donating money and volunteer hours. But, while we acknowledge that poverty is terrible, we think according to the facts that the number one cause of death in the world is abortion (See also Causes of Death in 2017 (https://ourworldindata.org/causes-of-death#what-do-people-die-from)), and so we should act accordingly, like voting for life, protesting, making known the truth. The world will tell us that there are many other more important moral issues, and some people will spend their lives standing up for those issues and that’s praiseworthy. But the fact is that abortion is the most important moral issue because it’s the number one cause of death in the world, and no other right matters if we’re dead.

Please let me know what you think about these ideas. I won’t get mad, because, after all, I’m trying to be more patient!

Hearing our sins is life-giving. God says to Ezekiel, “I have no pleasure in the death of the wicked, but that the wicked turn from their ways and live” (Ez 33:11). I have so many apparent reasons to be impatient, but, every time I confess that I’m wrong and start being more patient, people in my life do better spiritually.

Remember what Danah revealed: The start of her coming to God was her mom’s conversion. Lorenza stepped up her parenting more than others (when I asked her if she loves God more than her two daughters, she said, “Of course!” But that also means she loves them to death); she made stronger moral commitments, and started changing her moral world view. She listened to God’s warnings.

Source: The JustMeasure : Warning (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2020/09/06/warning/)

Posted: September 6, 2020

Fr. Jusin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

Solemnity of All Saints
Experiencing the Mystical Body of Christ
The doors of the Church that I knocked on 43 years ago are opening up to an abyss of mysteries far deeper than any human mind can fathom! Continue Reading >
Solemnity of All Saints
Religious Life and Social Life Become One in Love
Love is what brings our religious life (love of God) and social life (love of neighbor) into unity. Continue Reading >
Solemnity of All Saints
“Give therefore to Caesar the things that are Caesar’s, and to God the things that are God’s” (Mt 22:21)
May our earthly commitments be guided by a beacon of light from the divine Continue Reading >

黃謙善神父主日講道: 警告

常年期第二十三主日

厄則克耳先知書 33:7-9

上主這樣說:「人子,我要立你做以色列家族的警衛;你聽了我口中的話,應代我警告他們。「為此,當我告訴惡人:『惡人,你必喪亡!』你如果不講話,也不警告惡人離開邪道,那惡人雖因自己的罪惡而喪亡,但我要由你手中,追討他的血債。「你如果警告惡人,叫他離開邪道,但他不肯歸正,離開邪道,他必因自己的罪惡而喪亡,而你卻救了自己。」

羅馬書 13:8-10

弟兄姊妹們: 除了彼此相愛外,你們不可再欠人什麼,因為誰愛別人,就滿全了法律。其實「不可姦淫,不可殺人,不可偷盜,不可貪戀」,以及其他任何誡命,都包含在這句話裡:就是「愛你的近人如同你自己」。愛不加害於人,所以愛就是法律的滿全。

瑪竇福音 18:15-20

那時候,耶穌對門徒說:「如果你的弟兄得罪了你,去,要在你和他獨處的時候,規勸他;如果他聽從了你,你便賺得了你的兄弟;但他如果不聽,你就多帶一個或兩個人同去,為叫任何事情,憑兩個或三個見證人的口供,得以成立。如果他仍不聽從他們,你要告訴教會;如果他連教會也不聽從,你就將他看作外教人或稅吏。「我實在告訴你們:凡你們在地上所束縛的,在天上也要被束縛;凡你們在地上所釋放的,在天上也要被釋放。「我實在告訴你們:如果你們當中有兩個人,在地上同心合意,無論為什麼事祈禱,我在天之父,必要成全他們,因為那裡有兩個或三個人,因我的名字聚集一起,我就在他們中間。」

[黃神父主日講道視頻 (英語)]
https://youtu.be/qooNkt2Eftk

(本篇譯稿略經修輯,特為黃謙善神父主日講道即埸傳譯之用,所有引用語出處省掉,若有內容不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿 (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2020/09/06/warning/) 為準。出處省掉,若有內容不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿為準。)

前段時間,我打電話給一位30歲的男子,他曾在另一個堂區的一個青年小組擔任過青年領導。我說:「我需要一些建議,因為我開始喜歡聖安東尼堂的年輕人,就像我愛你們所有人一樣,然而我覺得我不知道如何很好的愛他們。」他有兩句話深深地打動了我:所有的年輕人都欣賞我的高標準—他說這就是吸引人們向我學習的原因;但雖然我的標準很高,但我應該給予溫和的指導。因為我最大的罪過 就是不夠耐心。

我提到這個故事是因為第一篇讀經講到一個看守人,他警告人們自己的罪過和迫在眉睫的危險。聖大格雷戈里 St. Gregory the Great,有史以來最好的牧者之一,在評論這段經文時,首先譴責自己,因為他沒有實踐他所宣揚的。但是他說,「因為我愛[耶穌],所以我不遺餘力地談論他」(Office of Readings, September 3)

我需要效仿聖大格雷戈里:我想承認我急躁的罪過,但同時,我要繼續清晰而充滿愛意地說出真相,而不是灰心喪氣。

有一件事很打動我,那就是我們的團體樂意聽到殘酷的事實。所以我不認為我們需要重新考慮這件事。你已經準備好了。

上主在第一篇讀經中對厄則克爾先知說:「人子,我也這樣立你作以色列家族的警衛([警衛]會站在高處,好看見敵人來吹號);你聽了我口中的話,應代我警告他們。 (在這簡短的朗讀中,我們會聽到三次[警告]這個詞,聖奧斯定說:『我們的職責是不保持沉默』(Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture, Ezekiel, Daniel, 98) 為此,當我告訴惡人:『惡人,你必喪亡!』你若不講話,也不警告惡人離開邪道,那惡人雖因自己的罪惡而喪亡,但我要由你手中追討他的血債。(我們談論的是生死問題,也就是精神上的生和死,在那裡我們可以離開耶穌,選擇地獄) 你若警告惡人叫他離開邪道,但他不肯歸正,離開邪道,他必因自己的罪惡而喪亡,你卻救了自己。」(厄33:7-9)。

公元前587年,在耶路撒冷被巴比倫人入侵,大量猶太人被當作囚犯帶走後,厄則克爾,他要告訴人們他們的罪過。因此,對他們來說,那是一個動蕩的時期,就像現在對於我們一樣,我們需要聽到我們的罪孽,這樣我們才能改變。

由於「警告」一詞被使用了三次,所以,我在我們的堂區家庭中看到了三個重大問題。

1) 現在我作為您的牧者已經和您在一起六年多了,我覺得我可以準確地說:作為父母,我們沒有為我們的孩子做足夠的事情來幫助他們把耶穌作為他們生活的中心。每年,我們的孩子都會接受學校或堂區宗教教育課程Parish Religious Education Program,經過八年的天主教教育,他們中的大多數都不是耶穌的門徒,也就是說,學生們沒有把耶穌作為自己生活的中心,而他才是那個比任何人都更能影響孩子們的世界觀和選擇的人。

上周作證的丹娜(Danah)在十幾歲的時候就解決了這個問題:她承認自己偽裝起來隱藏自己的信仰,無聊時會離開彌撒,並將天主視為架子上的玩具(http:/ /thejustmeasure.ca/2020/08/30/five-ways-god-expands-our-horizo​​ns/)。她十年前從我們學校畢業了,現在只有她和她的三個同學還在實踐他們的信仰,那是個好年頭!

事情是這樣的:你們父母把很多事情都做好了,努力去做,我為你們讚美天主!但是,就信仰而言,這是不夠的。大多數家長認為他們做得夠多了。但是,因為我見到了育兒過程中各個階段的父母,聽到了他們的信仰之旅,我看到新的父母基本上和七年級學生的父母做著同樣的事情。而七年級學生的家長也正在做丹娜的父母在皈依之前所做的事情。

父母們,我愛你們,我正在努力提高自己的耐心,但你們也需要這樣做。我告訴你:看看比你做的好的父母,你會比他們做得更好。

幾週前,我向兩位母親提到了這一點,其中一位回答說,「那就沒有希望了。」總有希望的!是這樣的, 我告訴她,「你愛耶穌勝過愛你的孩子嗎?」這就是耶穌所教導的,這是我的第一個具體建議。現在我們開始了新的學年,如果我們聽從耶穌的命令,愛祂勝過愛我們的孩子,那麼他就值得跟隨,你會更愛你的孩子,孩子們會洞悉這一點,所以更有可能跟隨耶穌。

2)承諾:我認為,作為一個社會,我們在道德承諾方面做得很差。例如,我們對彌撒的承諾。對於我們溫哥華總教區來說,錯過主日彌撒並不是一種罪過,因為總主教Archbishop Miller免除了我們的義務。所以,如果我們報名參加了主日彌撒,並且拿到了一個位置。但又因為一個軟弱的原因錯過了,比如因為我們有一個家庭聚餐,這雖然不會違反第三條誡命,但卻是愛的缺失;晚餐就是比聖體、耶穌的犧牲,和感恩更重要。我們的孩子可以看到聖體並不是我們生活的中心。如果我們在主日彌撒留了位,卻因為一個簡單的原因而缺席,那就是道德承諾不佳的跡象。還請考慮主日彌撒的候補名單上尚未到來的人。

那麼, 關於「不撒謊」的承諾又怎樣呢?有一次,我參觀了我們學校的教室,談到了誡命。當我問五年級的學生,他們會不會違反第五誡時,「不可以殺人」,他們使勁地搖了搖頭。當然,他們永遠不會殺人!他們從我們身上學到了道德承諾。但當我問他們第八條誡命:「不可作假見證」時,他們沒有一個人答應永遠不撒謊。他們是從我們這身上學到的。

家長們,你們的孩子有對你們撒謊嗎?我很抱歉地說,他們可能是從你那裡學到的。如果你想讓你的孩子永遠不撒謊,那就告訴他們你自己的承諾。我雖然很少撒謊,偶爾也會。但我對此感到震驚,並且非常尷尬地承認了這一點。但我正全心全意努力不說謊,這是一種承諾。順便說一句,作出承諾而失敗了比不承諾和接受失敗更好。

2) 對禱告的承諾呢?六年來,我們一直在談論祈禱的重要性,如果你已經在這裡六年了,但仍然沒有絕對致力於每天的祈禱,那麼你就有了一個很大的屬靈問題。如果靈性上營養不良,任何人都不能成長。我記得在YouTube上看到一位運動大師說:「如果你每天都在鍛煉,但仍然不了解你吃的東西,那麼你仍然是一個初學者,因為真正的運動員知道他們在吃什麼。」我很慚愧,因為那就是我:我努力鍛煉,但是我對自己的飲食很粗心。這也適用於那些沒有祈禱習慣的基督徒。如果你不致力於每天至少祈禱15分鐘,那麼你甚至連初學者也不是。屬靈生活的初學者從每天15分鐘的祈禱開始。現在,如果我們筋疲力盡了怎麼辦?站起來祈禱吧。如果我們沒有時間怎麼辦?那就從你的生活中剔除一些其他的東西。

你應該知道,天主會聽到父母為他們的孩子祈禱,但這些祈禱必須是發自內心的,而不是當我們在一天結束時匆忙祈禱並順便給他們祈禱。我說的是與耶穌談論我們的孩子,聽祂通過聖經說話,然後我請求祂幫助我更愛我的孩子。

3)據我觀察,我認為你們中的許多人仍然持有更多的是基於世界的道德觀,而不是聖經和教會的觀點。例如,在墮胎問題上,我們大多數人都反對,但我們對此態度軟弱,並做出不合邏輯的例外。我們會說,「嗯,我永遠不會墮胎,但我不會把我的道德觀點強加給別人。」但這種邏輯在其他道德問題上行不通:「我反對奴隸制,但我不會把我的觀點強加給別人。」這麼說實際上意味著我們支持墮胎,因為我們承認墮胎的選擇並沒有那麼錯誤,雖然實際上我們認為它是錯誤的。我們在墮胎問題上進行了大量的說講道,原因多種多樣,但我們中的許多人的想法和大多數加拿大人一樣,因為我們更多地遵循大眾觀點,而不是天主教的道德教義。

截至此次說講道,全球已有2,800萬人死於墮胎(https://www.worldometers.info).。但是已經有826,000人死於新冠肺炎。根據Worldeters的數據,死於疾病的人數為880萬人;死於艾滋病毒/艾滋病的人數為110萬人;死於癌症的人數為550萬人;死於吸煙和酗酒的人數為500萬人;因此,墮胎的死亡人數超過上述任何一項。為了做最大的好事,難道我們不應該試著結束最大的死因嗎?但大多數人不這樣想,因為世界告訴我們,我們需要墮胎,因為強姦、亂倫等所謂的艱難案件,是為了拯救一名母親的生命。但大多數墮胎並不是因為這些原因而發生的,(https://globalnews.ca/news/5302743/women-abortions-reasons/)。即使是一位支持墮胎的醫生也承認,「大多數選擇墮胎的不同年齡、種族、收入水平、平等程度和受教育程度的女性都引用了與對孩子責任的擔憂有關的理由。以及對他們可能有的孩子的擔憂…。他們的決定主要基於他們想保持財政穩定的能力。“(https://www.verywellhealth.com/reasons-for-abortion-906589).。

我們中的大多數人都被教導要根據感覺而不是事實做出道德決定。也許你會在你生活中說謊的人身上註意到這一點—為什麼?因為通過撒謊來擺脫麻煩感覺比接受後果要好,但事實上撒謊總會破壞關係。同樣,在艱難案例中會讓我們覺得墮胎是解決問題的辦法,所以我們得出一概結論就是: 在所有情況下墮胎都是可以的。

我們都認為種族主義是錯誤的,當我們看到種族主義行為時,我們會感到恐懼,這是正常的。但是我們對墮胎沒有同樣的反應,因為我們看不到它,因此感覺不到它。即使我們中的大多數人會說這是錯誤的,我們永遠不會有這樣的行為,我們也不會被激起採取行動,因為這並不會讓我們感覺很糟糕。

如果天主讓你牢記,例如,你應該把時間花在對抗貧困上,那就听從這個號召吧!我們的堂區正試圖通過捐款和志願者時間來儘自己的一小部分來幫助有需要的人。但是,雖然我們承認貧困是可怕的,但我們認為,根據事實,世界上頭號死因是墮胎(See also Causes of Death in 2017 (https://ourworldindata.org/causes-of-death#what-do- people-die-from)) ,因此我們應該採取相應的行動, 就像投票維護生命, 示威說出真相。世界會告訴我們,還有許多其他更重要的道德問題,有些人會為某些問題而奮鬥終生,這是值得稱讚的。但事實是,墮胎是道重德上最重要的議題, 因為這是世界上頭號死因,因為如果我們死了,其他任何權利都不重要。

請讓我知道您對這些想法的看法。我不會生氣,因為畢竟,我想讓自己更有耐心!

聽到我們的罪孽是能給人以生命的。神上主對厄則克耳說:「我決不喜歡惡人喪亡,但卻喜歡惡人歸正」(Ez 33:11) 我有很多顯而易見的理由不耐煩,但是,每次我承認我自己錯了,開始變得更有耐心時,我身邊的人們會在靈性上做得更好。

記得丹娜透露的:她開始來到天主面前的是她母親的皈依。她母親Lorenza 洛倫扎比其他父母更多地加強了為人父母的力度;(當我問她是否她愛天主勝過她的兩個女兒時,她說:「當然!」但這也意味著她愛她們愛得要死。她做出了更堅定的道德承諾,並開始改變她的道德的世界觀。她聽從了天主的警告。

Posted: September 6, 2020

Fr. Jusin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

我以什麼立場來回應天主的邀請
這主日的福音讀經指出人可以和應該逐一站在天主面前,負起屬靈的... 繼續閱讀 >
甲年(瑪竇) 常年期第廿六主日:只有承行天父旨意,才能進天國
耶穌喜歡講故事,因為故事是當時傳遞訊息最佳的工具。今日福音故... 繼續閱讀 >
「因為我好,你就眼紅嗎?」(瑪 20:15)
讓我們從自己的假設中解放出來,走出憑眼中所見而領悟的有限現實... 繼續閱讀 >