God Never Gives up on Us; Why Should We?

Twenty-ninth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Exodus 17:8-13

In those days, Amalek came and waged war against Israel. Moses, therefore, said to Joshua, “Pick out certain men, and tomorrow go out and engage Amalek in battle. I will be standing on top of the hill with the staff of God in my hand.” So Joshua did as Moses told him: he engaged Amalek in battle after Moses had climbed to the top of the hill with Aaron and Hur. As long as Moses kept his hands raised up, Israel had the better of the fight, but when he let his hands rest, Amalek had the better of the fight. Moses’hands, however, grew tired; so they put a rock in place for him to sit on. Meanwhile Aaron and Hur supported his hands, one on one side and one on the other, so that his hands remained steady till sunset. And Joshua mowed down Amalek and his people with the edge of the sword.

2 Timothy 3:14-4:2

Beloved: Remain faithful to what you have learned and believed, because you know from whom you learned it, and that from infancy you have known the sacred Scriptures, which are capable of giving you wisdom for salvation through faith in Christ Jesus. All Scripture is inspired by God and is useful for teaching, for refutation, for correction, and for training in righteousness, so that one who belongs to God may be competent, equipped for every good work. I charge you in the presence of God and of Christ Jesus, who will judge the living and the dead, and by his appearing and his kingly power: proclaim the word; be persistent whether it is convenient or inconvenient; convince, reprimand, encourage through all patience and teaching.

Luke 18:1-8

Jesus told his disciples a parable about the necessity for them to pray always without becoming weary. He said, “There was a judge in a certain town who neither feared God nor respected any human being. And a widow in that town used to come to him and say, ‘Render a just decision for me against my adversary.’ For a long time the judge was unwilling, but eventually he thought, ‘While it is true that I neither fear God nor respect any human being, because this widow keeps bothering me I shall deliver a just decision for her lest she finally come and strike me.’” The Lord said, “Pay attention to what the dishonest judge says. Will not God then secure the rights of his chosen ones who call out to him day and night? Will he be slow to answer them? I tell you, he will see to it that justice is done for them speedily. But when the Son of Man comes, will he find faith on earth?”

I remember one time I was trying to make banana bread; I sifted, mashed, measured, mixed and timed according to instructions and lo and behold, my bread didn’t turn out the way it should be! What did I do wrong? Have I not beaten the eggs enough? Or not enough baking powder? Or was it my oven? Do I dare to try again? So many unanswered questions to this puzzle!

Reflecting on this week’s readings, prayer is a lot like baking. The key is persistence. Luke’s Gospel illumines a simple truth about prayer: the necessity to “pray always” and “not to lose heart” (Lk 18:1). The widow in Jesus’ parable can be described as despised, neglected, marginalized, and perhaps, someone who has fallen through the cracks of society. Her grievance is casually ignored and her “opponent”, whatever this person has done to her, seems to have escaped justice. She is desperate and has nothing to lose but keep pestering the judge. This judge, interestingly, is portrayed as an absolute aberration of good governance: he has “no fear of God”; “no respect for any human beings”; and feels that his subjects, people for whom he is supposed to care, are “bothering” him (Lk 18:4, 5). Yet, even this heartless judge relents and grants the widow justice. If this caricature of an irresponsible judge is capable of a tiny act of justice, “will not God grant justice to his chosen ones who cry to Him day and night” (Lk 18:7)?

If our loving God never gives up on us, why should we? In fact, our God is so faithful that He will not “slumber nor sleep” in helping and protecting us, the Psalmist assures (Ps 121:4). In the first reading, Moses’ persistence is indeed admirable. During the battle against Amalek, Moses must hold up the staff of God until sunset so Israel may prevail. Some may consider that unwise: Should not Moses take up a sword to fight side-by-side with Joshua against Amalek’s army? In truth, Moses is extraordinarily wise! He understands that God is fighting for the Israelites and without God, they can do nothing. Moses’ faithfulness to what God has commanded him and his persistence for the right cause has paid off.

Just as Moses is persistent in upholding the staff of God during the battle, we must be courageous and persistent in upholding the truth, St. Paul writes in his letter to Timothy. “Be persistent, whether the time is favourable; convince, rebuke, and encourage, with the utmost patience in teaching” (2 Tim 4:2).

Therefore, let us pray for patience and more importantly, a steadfast faith; know that our compassionate and loving God, eternally steadfast, walks with us through the hills and valleys of our lives. “Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances” (1 Thess 5:16-18)

Oh, in case you’re wondering about my banana bread; success!

Posted: October 20, 2019

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


Other Sunday Reflections

“You do not know what you are asking” (Mk 10:38)
By this time in his ministry, Jesus has foretold three times his own Death and Resurrection to the apostles. The last prediction is the most detailed, specifying that his death… Continue Reading >
Too hard a demand from Jesus?
This Sunday's Gospel reading is one of the many hard sayings of Jesus. It is about renunciation - first, of material possessions and second, of relations (rf Mk 10:23, 29).… Continue Reading >
Our Bodies Are Good
A few weeks ago, some students in our school asked me if Catholics should support the LGBTQ movement—it’s wonderful that they spoke about what was really on their minds. I… Continue Reading >

天主永不放棄我們;我們為什麼放棄?

常年期第二十九主日

出谷紀 17:8-13

那時候,有阿瑪肋克人,來到勒非丁,同以色列人作戰。梅瑟向若蘇厄說:「你給我們選拔壯丁,明天去同阿瑪肋克作戰。我手中拿著天主的棍杖,站在這山頂。」若蘇厄就照梅瑟吩咐他的作了,去同阿瑪肋克作戰;同時,梅瑟、亞郎和胡爾,上了那山頂。當梅瑟高舉雙手時,以色列就打勝仗;放下手的時候,阿瑪肋克就打勝仗。終於,梅瑟的手舉得疲乏了。他們就搬了一塊石頭來,放在他後邊,叫他坐下。亞郎和胡爾,一邊一個,托著梅瑟的手:這樣,他的雙手舉著不動,直到日落的時候。於是,若蘇厄用刀劍打敗了阿瑪肋克和他的人民。

弟茂德後書 3:14-4:2

親愛的:你要堅持你所學和所信的;你知道你是由誰學來的。你自幼便通曉了聖經;這聖經能使你,憑著那在基督耶穌內的信德,獲得得救的智慧。凡受天主默感所寫的聖經,為教訓、為督責、為矯正、為教導人學正義,都是有益的,好使天主的人成全,適合行各種善工。我在天主,和那要審判生死者的基督耶穌面前,指著他的顯現和他的國,懇求你:務要宣講真道,不論順境逆境,總要堅持不變;以百般的忍耐,及各樣的教訓,去反駁,去斥責,去勸勉。

路加福音 18:1-8

那時候,耶穌給門徒設了一個比喻,論及人應當時常祈禱,不要灰心。耶穌說:「某城中,曾有一個法官,不敬畏天主,也不敬重人。「在那城中,另有一個寡婦,常去見那法官,說:請你制裁我的對頭,給我伸冤吧!那法官,多時不肯。「以後,那法官心裡想:我雖然不敬畏天主,也不敬重人。但是,因為這個寡婦,時常來煩擾我,我還是為她伸冤,免得她不斷來糾纏我。「於是,主說:你們聽聽這個不義的法官,說了什麼!天主所召選的人,日夜呼籲天主,天主豈能不為他們伸冤,而拖延俯聽他們嗎?「我告訴你們:天主必要快快為他們伸冤。但是,人子來臨時,能在世上找到信德嗎?」

我記得有一次嘗試做香蕉麵包,完全根據食譜的份量、時間和方法去過篩、搗碎、混勻、烘培,但製成品卻未如理想。我什麼地方做錯了?雞蛋打不夠?還是不夠泡打粉?抑或是焗爐的問題? 我敢再嘗試一次嗎?那一刻,有很多疑團未能解開!

思考本週讀經,禱告跟烘培有很多共通點。關鍵是要堅定。《路加福音》闡明了一個有關祈禱的簡單真理:我們必須「時常祈禱,不要灰心」(路 18:1)。耶穌比喻中的寡婦可以說是一名被鄙視、忽略、被邊緣化的人,她也許是掉進社會夾縫的人。寡婦所受的委屈,輕易地被忽略了,雖然我們不確定她的「對頭」做了什麼,但這個「對頭」似乎逃脫了公義的制裁。 寡婦感到絕望,但既然她已沒有什麼可以失去了,便一直纏擾著法官為她伸冤。有趣的是這名法官被描述為不義,在管治上絕對失誤:他既「不敬畏天主」,也「不敬重人」;並認為他的子民,這些他本該照顧的人,只是在「煩擾」他(路18:4-5)。但到最後就連這位無情的法官也同情她,聆聽了婦人的訴求,並給她應得的公義。這個不負責任的法官諷刺地也能行一點公義,「天主 … 豈能不給他們伸冤,而遷延俯聽他們嗎?」(路18:7)

既然慈愛的天主永不放棄我們,我們為什麼放棄?實際上,我們的天主如此信實,聖詠作者給我們保證,祂幫助和保護我們「不打盹,也不會睡著」(詠 121:4)。在今天的讀經一,梅瑟的毅力也確實令人欽佩。在跟阿瑪肋克人戰爭中,梅瑟必須舉起天主的棍杖直至日落,以色列才能獲勝。有些人可能認為這是不明智的,會問:梅瑟是否應該拿起刀劍,和若蘇厄並肩作戰,對抗阿瑪肋克人的軍隊?事實上,梅瑟非常有智慧!他明白天主為以色列人而戰,沒有天主,他們無能為力。梅瑟對天主命令忠貞不渝,而他對正確信念的堅持,也得到回報。

正如梅瑟在戰鬥中堅持不懈,舉起天主的棍杖一樣,我們必須勇於堅持真理。聖保祿在給弟茂德的書信中說:「不論順境逆境,總要堅持不變;以百般的忍耐、和各樣的教訓,去反駁,去斥責,去勸勉。」(弟後 4:2)

因此,讓我們祈求耐心,以及更重要的堅定不移的信德;須知仁愛的天主永遠與我們同行,陪我們走過人生的高山低谷。「應常歡樂,不斷祈禱,事事感謝。」(得前5:16-18)

喔!如果你想知道的話,我焗的香蕉麵包結果成功了!

Posted: October 20, 2019

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


其他主日反省

丙常年期第廿九主日:出自信德的祈禱 吳智勳神父

路加福音神修性極強,尤其注重祈禱。他指出耶穌在其生命中的重要時刻或作重大決定時,都先行祈禱,例如受洗、揀選門徒、顯聖容、山園中、十字架上等。

繼續閱讀 >
為人父母 Fr. Jusin Huang

一位優秀的年輕神父,Fr Lucio Choi,曾經和我分享過一次灰心的經驗,這並不是因為他糟糕的髮型。他說,他現在明白為什麼有些神父會變得憤世嫉俗:不管你多麼努力,為人們做了多少,他們就是漠不關心,也不回應。我對此有同感,因為我知道作為一個靈性上的父親,氣餒是什麼感覺。

繼續閱讀 >