How to Ask for the Best Gifts

Seventeenth Sunday in Ordinary Time

1 Kings 3:5, 7:12

The LORD appeared to Solomon in a dream at night. God said, "Ask something of me and I will give it to you." Solomon answered: "O LORD, my God, you have made me, your servant, king to succeed my father David; but I am a mere youth, not knowing at all how to act. I serve you in the midst of the people whom you have chosen, a people so vast that it cannot be numbered or counted. Give your servant, therefore, an understanding heart to judge your people and to distinguish right from wrong. For who is able to govern this vast people of yours?" The LORD was pleased that Solomon made this request. So God said to him: "Because you have asked for this— not for a long life for yourself, nor for riches, nor for the life of your enemies, but for understanding so that you may know what is right— I do as you requested. I give you a heart so wise and understanding that there has never been anyone like you up to now, and after you there will come no one to equal you."

Romans 8:28-30

Brothers and sisters: We know that all things work for good for those who love God, who are called according to his purpose. For those he foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the image of his Son, so that he might be the firstborn among many brothers and sisters. And those he predestined he also called; and those he called he also justified; and those he justified he also glorified.

Matthew 13:44-52

Jesus said to his disciples: "The kingdom of heaven is like a treasure buried in a field, which a person finds and hides again, and out of joy goes and sells all that he has and buys that field. Again, the kingdom of heaven is like a merchant searching for fine pearls. When he finds a pearl of great price, he goes and sells all that he has and buys it. Again, the kingdom of heaven is like a net thrown into the sea, which collects fish of every kind. When it is full they haul it ashore and sit down to put what is good into buckets. What is bad they throw away. Thus it will be at the end of the age. The angels will go out and separate the wicked from the righteous and throw them into the fiery furnace, where there will be wailing and grinding of teeth. "Do you understand all these things?" They answered, "Yes." And he replied, "Then every scribe who has been instructed in the kingdom of heaven is like the head of a household who brings from his storeroom both the new and the old."

“At Gibeon the Lord appeared to Solomon in a dream by night; and God said, ‘Ask what I should give you'” (1 Kg 3:5)—This is what God is saying to us today. He wants to know what we want. What a beautiful offer!

Let’s establish the context of this reading: It’s night-time, so it’s a time of rest and calm, just like it is for us in the Sabbath Summer. Solomon had just consolidated his reign as king of Israel and Judah, and now God wants to know what he desires.

We need to slow ourselves down and start pondering: What do I really desire (because God speaks through our desires)? What do I truly need? If I could have anything this summer, what would it be? The most important thing for me this coming year is ______.

God implants certain desires in us to make us seek what’s good. He’s given, for example, the desire to rest, so that we renew ourselves; emotional desires for friendship and conversation because we’re made for community; and spiritual desires to give our life to Him so that we can find happiness.

The Catechism says that “the desire for God is written in the human heart, because man is created by God and for God; and God never ceases to draw man to himself” (CCC 27). This is our deepest desire and every desire is meant to lead to this one.

And here’s the main point: God wants to give us the best gifts! St. Ignatius of Loyola once wrote, “We will much sooner tire of receiving his gifts than he of giving them” (Fr. Timothy Gallagher, The Examen, 58. For more information about desires, see pp. 35-38). Do you understand this? God’s desire to give is greater than our ability to receive! St. “Ignatius experiences God as giving: giving immediately, the moment our hearts say ‘yes’ to God’s desire for relationship with us, giving abundantly, endlessly pouring out in gifts a love greater than our hearts can fathom.”

So how do we receive these best gifts? Follow Solomon’s path.

First: Begin with gratitude! “And Solomon said, ‘You have shown great and steadfast love to your servant my father David, because he walked before you in faithfulness, in righteousness, and in uprightness of heart toward you; and you have kept for him this great and steadfast love, and have given him a son to sit on his throne today” (1 Kg 3:6). Gratitude recognizes Who God is and what He’s already been doing.

We all know what it’s like to have bad days when everything seems to be going poorly. When we’re in that state of mind, we miss what God’s doing and, believe it or not, we forget about what we deeply desire, what we truly need. Once we’re grateful, however, then our perception of reality changes, and now we’re ready to ask.

Right now, can we start moving our hearts and minds to that for which we’re grateful? This question is simple: Good things come to our minds. But there’s a better question: What should we be grateful for? There are gifts in our lives of which we’re unaware or which we take for granted. And there is good which God has drawn out of suffering!

Second: Consider your situation: Solomon continues, “And now, O Lord my God, you have made your servant king in place of my father David, although I am only a little child [Solomon was only 23 years old]; I do not know how to go out or come in. And your servant is in the midst of the people whom you have chosen, a great people, so numerous they cannot be numbered or counted” (1 Kg 3:7-8). The Holy Spirit speaks through our situations. For example, when we’re single, one of our greatest needs is to discern our vocation; what is God’s mission for us? But, if we’re parents, three of our greatest needs are wisdom, rest, and perseverance.

Part of knowing our situation is getting in touch with our dissatisfaction. Sometimes what’s deeply bothering us is where God speaks. Is there any deep pain in our lives? Anything that needs healing? There may be a relationship with someone we love that isn’t doing well. Sometimes we’re so frustrated with life that we realize, “There’s got to be more than this!”

When someone is asked what they desire and responds, for instance, “I just want a proper Christmas,” there’s something beneath that which requires listening. Perhaps a good Christmas means a time of peace, a time to be close to family.

As I’ve mentioned before, counselling is a great help to see what’s beneath our dissatisfaction. I’ll include a link to some counsellors on my blog (https://rcav.org/personal-counselling).

In St. Mark’s Gospel, when Jesus met Bartimaeus, who was blind and a beggar, Jesus asked him, “What do you want me to do for you?” And Bartimaeus responded according to his situation, “Master, let me receive my sight” (Mk 10:51). Sight is an important gift. Jesus wants us to be well and will heal us in order to bring about a deeper healing, to heal our faith and our relationship with Him. We know that Jesus doesn’t grant every request, because sometimes suffering leads to a greater healing, but Jesus also does many miracles which lead to spiritual healing. After Bartimaeus receives his physical sight, he’s granted a greater spiritual gift: The passage says that he “followed [Jesus] on the way” (10:52), meaning he became a disciple of Jesus.

Third: Ask for the best gifts: Solomon finally says, “Give your servant therefore an understanding mind to govern your people, able to discern between good and evil; for who can govern this, your great people?” (1 Kg 3:9). He asks for wisdom, one of the greatest gifts. We can and should ask for simple things, like parking spots and nice weather, but always be conscious that there are more important things, such as being patient when we can’t find a parking spot, and being cheerful in bad weather. Parents are typically focused on providing for the financial future of their children, which is wonderful, but there’s something more important, their spiritual future.

Notice how God responds: “It pleased the Lord that Solomon had asked this. God said to him, ‘Because you have asked this, and have not asked for yourself long life or riches, or for the life of your enemies, but have asked for yourself understanding to discern what is right, I now do according to your word. Indeed I give you a wise and discerning mind; no one like you has been before you and no one like you shall arise after you” (1 Kg 3:10-12). Solomon’s request and God’s response fulfills what Jesus says, “Seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things shall be yours as well” (Mt 6:33). Solomon puts the interests of the kingdom first, not his own, and so was granted everything else he needed.

I told you once that the Catholic speaker, Mark Hart, a husband and father, prays every morning: “Take away anything or anyone in my life that prevents me from being a saint” (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2020/05/03/three-clues-to-hear-jesus-voice/). That’s a great gift to ask for! Does that scare us? But God won’t hurt us. By asking for a gift like this, it means we’ll have the best life and better friendships!

St. Ignatius, when he guided people through his famous Spiritual Exercises (which are a time of guided retreat), told the retreatants to ask for specific graces. For example, “That I may not be deaf to his call, but ready and diligent to accomplish his most holy will,” or, “For an interior knowledge of our Lord… that I may love him more intensely and follow him more closely” (https://ejournals.bc.edu/index.php/jesuit/article/view/10443).

I mention these examples because Solomon’s request is spiritually mature. We should pray for a cure to COVID-19, or perhaps for a new job or new house, but Solomon shows us that there are more important things. During his time, there were many diseases, plagues and famines. He too could have asked for cures and physical needs, but didn’t. So, in the same way, we ask for spiritual gifts first and then for physical needs.

If you’re willing, could you share with someone else what you’re praying for? In the online chat today, please share what spiritual gift you’re praying for.

Right after this dream, Solomon’s presented with a case to judge between two prostitutes (1 Kg 3:16-28). Both women had recently given birth, but one of the women killed her son when she lay on him at night. So she took the child of the other woman and claimed he was her own while saying the other women had killed her son. Each woman, one of them with the living child, argued that that child was hers in front of King Solomon.

How did he solve this case? He said, “Bring me a sword… Divide the living boy in two; then give half to the one [mother], and half to the other.” But the real mother said, “Please, my lord, give her the living boy… do not kill him!” And Solomon said, “She is the mother.”

Solomon showed that he had been granted that for which he asked, wisdom to govern his people and discern between good and evil.

This summer let’s do what he did: 1) Begin with gratitude; 2) Consider your situation; 3) Ask for the best gifts! Doing these three actions will allow God to give us the best gifts!

Source: The JustMeasure:How to Ask for the Best Gifts (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2020/07/26/how-to-ask-for-the-best-gifts/)

Posted: July 26, 2020

Fr. Jusin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

Where do I stand in response to God’s invitation
This Sunday Gospel reading shows that one can and should stand before God, individually, and assume spiritual responsibility. It confronts each of us with a big question, “Where do I… Continue Reading >
“[A]re you envious because I am generous?” (Mt 20:15)
Let us free ourselves from our presumptions, so that God’s big picture, beyond the limited reality we can perceive with our eyes, can be made visible to our heart. Continue Reading >
Envy
Some of you might have enjoyed the movie Parasite, a Korean film that won last year’s Academy award for best picture. The film is very well acted and well made,… Continue Reading >

如何要求最好的禮物

常年期第十七主日

列王紀上 3:5, 7-12

在夜間,上主於夢中顯現給撒羅滿。天主對他說:「你無論求什麼,我必賜給你。」撒羅滿說:「上主,我的天主,現在你使你的僕人,替代我父親達味為王,但我還太年輕,不知道如何處理國事。你的僕人處身在你所選的民族中間;這是一個多得不可統計、不可勝數的大民族。為此,求你賜給你僕人一顆智慧的心,可統治你的百姓,判斷善惡;否則,誰能統治你這樣眾多的人民呢?」因為撒羅滿求了這件事,獲得了上主的歡心。天主於是對他說:「因為你求了這件事,而沒有為你自己求長壽,也沒有為你自己求富貴,也沒有要求你敵人的性命,單單為你自己求了智慧,為能辨明正義。我必照你的話,賞賜你一顆聰明智慧的心,除你以外,前無古人,後無來者。」

羅馬書 8:28-30

弟兄姊妹們:我們知道:天主使一切,都有助於那些愛他的人,就是使那些按他的旨意蒙召的人,獲得益處。因為他已預定:他所預選的人,要與他兒子的肖像相似,好使他兒子,在眾弟兄中作長子。天主不但召叫了他所預定的人,而且也使他所召叫的人成義,並使成義的人,分享他的光榮。

瑪竇福音 13:44-52

那時候,耶穌對群眾說:「天國好像藏在地裡的寶貝;人找到了,就把它藏起來,高興地去賣掉他所有的一切,買了那塊地。「天國好像一個尋找完美珍珠的商人;他一找到一顆寶貴的珍珠,就去賣掉他所有的一切,買了那顆珍珠。「天國又好像撒在海裡的網,網羅各種的魚。網一滿了,人就拉上岸來,坐下,揀好的,放在器皿裡;壞的,扔在外面。在今世的終結時,也將如此:天使要出去,把惡人由義人中分開,把他們扔在火窯裡;在那裡要有哀號和切齒。「這一切你們都明白了嗎?」群眾說:「是的。」耶穌就對他們說:「為此,凡成為天國門徒的經師,就好像一個家主,從他的寶庫裡,拿出新的和舊的寶貝。」

(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿 http://thejustmeasure.ca/2020/07/26/how-to-ask-for-the-best-gifts/ 為準。)

「撒羅滿在基貝紅時,夜間上主藉著夢顯現給他;天主對他說﹕「你不拘求什麼,我必給你。」(列上3:5) 這就是天主今天對我們說的話,祂想知道我們想要什麼。多麼漂亮的提議啊!

讓我們確定這篇經文的背景:現在是晚上,所以這是一個休息和平靜的時間,就像我們在安息日的夏天一樣。撒羅滿剛剛鞏固了他作為以色列和猶大王的統治者,現在天主想知道他想要什麼? 。

我們需要放慢腳步,開始思考:我真正想要的是什麼(因為天主通過我們的願望說話)?我真正需要的是什麼?如果這個夏天我能擁有任何東西,那會是什麼呢?對我來說,來年最重要的事情是什麼________。

天主將某些慾望植入我們體內,使我們追求善。例如,祂給了我們吃的慾望,讓我們滋養自己;給予休息,讓我們更新自己;情感上渴望友誼和交談,因為我們是為團體而生的;精神上的渴望,把我們的生命獻給天主,這樣我們就能找到幸福。

天主教教理說:「對天主的渴求已銘刻在人的心中,因為人是由天主及為天主而受造;而天主也不斷地吸引人,」(CCC27) 這是我們最深的願望,每一個願望都要通向這一點。

重點是:天主要給我們最好的禮物!聖依納爵St. Ignatius of Loyola曾經寫道,「我們會比祂更早厭倦接受祂的禮物。」(Fr. Timothy Gallagher, The Examen, 58. For more information about desires, see pp. 35-38 )。這個懂了吧?天主恩賜的慾望超過了我們接受的能力!聖依納爵體驗到天主的恩典:當我們的心接受天主想要與我們建立關係的願望的那一刻,天主就立即把禮物充裕地源源不斷地傾注給我們,一種超乎我們內心所能理解的愛。

那我們怎樣才能收到這些最好的禮物呢?讓我們沿著撒羅滿的歷程走吧。

第一:從感恩開始!撒羅滿說﹕「祢的僕人,我的父親達味曾以虔誠、公義及正直的心與祢同行,祢曾向他表示了偉大的恩德,又為給他保持這偉大的恩德,賜給了他一個兒子,坐在他的寶座上,如同今天一樣。」(紀上3:6) 感恩讓我們意識到天主是誰,以及祂正在進行的事工。

我們都知道,在一切似乎都很糟糕的情況下,過著糟糕的日子是什麼滋味。當我們處於這種心態時,我們會懷念天主正在做的事情,信不信由你,我們忘記了我們深深渴望的東西,我們真正需要的東西。然而,一旦我們心存感激,那麼我們對現實的看法就會改變,現在我們可以問了。

現在,我們可否開始把的心神和思想轉移到我們感恩的事情上?這個問題很簡單:好東西會出現在我們的腦海裡。但還有一個更好的問題:我們應該感激什麼?在我們的生活中,有些禮物是我們沒有意識到的,或者是我們認為理所當然的。有些美好的事是從一些苦難中汲取出來的!

其次,撒羅滿說:「上主,我的天主,現在你使你的僕人替代我父親達味為王,但我還太年輕,(撒羅滿當時只有廿三歲) 不知道如何處理國事。你的僕人是住在你所選的民族中間,這是一個多得不可統計,不可勝數的大民族。」(列上3:7-8) 聖神通過我們的處境說話。例如,當我們單身時,我們最大的需要之一就是辨別我們的職業;天主對我們的使命是什麼?但是,如果我們是父母,我們最大的三個需要是智慧、休息和毅力。

了解我們處境的一部分是接觸我們的不滿意。有時候,天主藉著我們的困擾來向我們說話。我們的生活中有沒有深深的痛苦?有什麼需要治癒的嗎?可能與我們所愛的人的關係不太好,所以聖神通過這一點說話。有時,我們對生活感到很沮喪,以至於我們意識到,「肯定有比這更多的東西!當有人被問及他需要什麼時? 他回答說:「我只想要一個像樣的聖誕節。 」我們需要聽這話背後的一些東西。也許是一個美好的聖誕節,意味著一個和平的時刻,一個與家人親近的時刻。

我以前提到過,輔導可以幫我們看清我們不滿的背後的原因。我會在我的博客(https://rcav.org/personal-counselling)上加上一些輔導員的聯繫。

在聖馬爾谷福音中,當耶穌遇到盲人乞丐巴爾提買時,耶穌問他:“「你願意我給你做什麼﹖」巴爾提買回答說:「師傅! 叫我看見!」(谷10 :51)。視力是一份重要的恩典。耶穌希望我們痊癒,並要醫治我們,為的是帶來更深層次的醫治,醫治我們的信心和我們與祂的關係。我們知道耶穌不會答應每一個請求,因為有時苦難會帶來更大的醫治,但耶穌也會創造許多神蹟,讓人得到屬靈的醫治。巴爾提買恢復視力以後,他得到了更大的恩賜:經文說他「就在路上跟著耶穌去了。」(谷10:52) 意思是他成了耶穌的門徒。

第三:要求最好的禮物:撒羅滿最後說:「為此,求你賜給你的僕人一顆慧心,可統治祢的百姓,判斷善惡;否則,誰能統治祢這樣眾多的人民呢﹖」(列上3:9) 他要求智慧,一顆傾聽的心,這是他能要求的最好的禮物之一。是的,我們可以也應該要求一些簡單的事情,比如停車位和好天氣,但要時刻意識到還有更重要的事情,比如找不到停車位時要有耐心,天氣不好時要心情開朗。父母通常專注於為他們的孩子提供未來的經濟資助,這很好,但還有更重要的是提供未來靈性上的滋養。

請注意天主是如何回應的:因為撒羅滿求了這件事,獲得了上主的歡心天主於是對他說﹕「因為你求了這件事,而沒有為你自己求長壽,也沒有為你自己求富貴,也沒有要求你敵人的性命,單單為你自己求了智慧,為能辨明正義。我必照你的話做,賞賜你一顆聰明智慧的心,在你以前沒有像你的人,在你以後,也不會興起一個像你的人。」

(列上3:10-12 ) 撒羅滿的要求與天主的回應就如耶穌所說的:「你們先該尋求天主的國和它的義德,這一切自會加給你們。」

(瑪6:33)。撒羅滿把王國的利益放在首位,而不是他自己的利益,所以他得到了他需要的一切。

我曾經告訴過你,天主教演講家馬克哈特(Mark Hart), 一位丈夫和父親,他每天早上祈禱​​:「請帶走我生命中阻礙我成為聖人的任何東西或任何人。」

那是他要求的最好的禮物。 (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2020/05/03/three-clues-to-hear-jesus-voice/)。這嚇到我們了嗎?但天主不會傷害我們的。通過要求這樣的恩賜,就意味著我們將擁有最好的生活和更好的友誼!

聖依納爵(St.Ignatius)在引導人們完成他著名的「聖依納爵神操」時(這是一個有嚮導的退省指導),告訴退省的人在祈禱時要求特定的恩典。例如:「不要對祂的呼召充耳不聞,而是準備全力實現祂最神聖的旨意。」或者祈求我們對上主內心的洞悉,以便我可以更強烈地愛祂,更緊密地跟隨祂。 (https://ejournals.bc.edu/index.php/jesuit/article/view/10443)。

我提到這些例子,是因為撒羅滿的要求是成熟的靈性的要求。誠然,我們應該為新冠肺炎祈求治愈,或者是希望獲得一份新工作或新房子,但是撒羅滿告訴我們還有更重要的事情。在他那個時代,有很多疾病、瘟疫和飢荒。他也可以要求治療和身體上的需要,但他沒有,所以,同樣地,我們先祈求靈性的恩賜,然後才要求身體上的需要。

如果你願意,你能和別人分享你禱告的內容嗎?在今天的網上聊天中或彌撒過後,請分享你所祈求的靈性恩賜。

這個夢之後,在撒羅滿的生命中發生了兩件事。首先,他去了耶路撒冷,向天主作了適當的崇拜,而不是在其他地方,這表明了他的心不再在天主和假偶像之間分裂(International Bible Commentary, 617) 第二,他要處理了一個案子, 要在兩個妓女之間作審判。 (列上3:16-28) 兩名婦女最近都生了孩子,但其中一名婦女在晚上睡覺時,躺在兒子身上, 把孩子壓死了。但她卻帶走了另一個女人的孩子,聲稱孩子是她自己生的,又說另一個女人殺死了自己的兒子。兩個女人,在撒羅滿王面前,爭論著孩子是自己的。

他是如何破案的?他說,「給我拿把劍來,…。把活著的男孩一分為二,然後一半給[母親],一半給另一個女人。但是親生母親說:「大人,請把活著的男孩…給她吧。別殺他!」撒羅滿說:「這個才是孩子的母親。」

撒羅滿表明,他已經得到了他所要求的—統治人民的智慧和辨別正邪的智慧。

讓我們在這個安息日夏天Sabbath Summer做他所做的:1)帶著感激的心開始;2)考慮你的處境;3)要求最好的禮物!做這三件事, 會讓天主把最好的禮物賜給我們!

Posted: July 26, 2020

Fr. Jusin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

你會只拿出舊的還是新的? Ben Cheng

耶穌對天國的教導是甚麽?拒絕左翼與右翼的思想,拒絕盲目崇拜新和舊事物的重要性是甚麽?讓我們揭開本週的比喻,一個家主從他的寶庫拿出新的和舊的東西的故事。

繼續閱讀 >
甲年(瑪竇) 常年期第十七主日:我們明白天國的比喻嗎? 吳智勳神父

本主日福音有寶藏、珍珠、撒網三比喻,連同上兩主日撒種、莠子、芥子、酵母的比喻共七個比喻,瑪竇是以一個完美聖經數字來完成有關天國的比喻。 在寶藏的比喻中,那個發現寶藏、買下土地的人,似乎十分狡猾,沒有把發現的東西告訴地主,反而想辦法據為己有,這種人怎配進入天國?

繼續閱讀 >