Is Jesus God?

Second Sunday of Easter (or Sunday of Divine Mercy)

Acts 5:12-16

Many signs and wonders were done among the people at the hands of the apostles. They were all together in Solomon’s portico. None of the others dared to join them, but the people esteemed them. Yet more than ever, believers in the Lord, great numbers of men and women, were added to them. Thus they even carried the sick out into the streets and laid them on cots and mats so that when Peter came by, at least his shadow might fall on one or another of them. A large number of people from the towns in the vicinity of Jerusalem also gathered, bringing the sick and those disturbed by unclean spirits, and they were all cured.

Revelation 1:9-11A, 12-13, 17-19

I, John, your brother, who share with you the distress, the kingdom, and the endurance we have in Jesus, found myself on the island called Patmos because I proclaimed God’s word and gave testimony to Jesus. I was caught up in spirit on the Lord’s day and heard behind me a voice as loud as a trumpet, which said, “Write on a scroll what you see.” Then I turned to see whose voice it was that spoke to me, and when I turned, I saw seven gold lampstands and in the midst of the lampstands one like a son of man, wearing an ankle-length robe, with a gold sash around his chest. When I caught sight of him, I fell down at his feet as though dead. He touched me with his right hand and said, “Do not be afraid. I am the first and the last, the one who lives. Once I was dead, but now I am alive forever and ever. I hold the keys to death and the netherworld. Write down, therefore, what you have seen, and what is happening, and what will happen afterwards.”

John 20:19-31

On the evening of that first day of the week, when the doors were locked, where the disciples were, for fear of the Jews, Jesus came and stood in their midst and said to them, “Peace be with you.” When he had said this, he showed them his hands and his side. The disciples rejoiced when they saw the Lord. Jesus said to them again, “Peace be with you. As the Father has sent me, so I send you.” And when he had said this, he breathed on them and said to them, “Receive the Holy Spirit. Whose sins you forgive are forgiven them, and whose sins you retain are retained.” Thomas, called Didymus, one of the Twelve, was not with them when Jesus came. So the other disciples said to him, “We have seen the Lord.” But he said to them, “Unless I see the mark of the nails in his hands and put my finger into the nailmarks and put my hand into his side, I will not believe.” Now a week later his disciples were again inside and Thomas was with them. Jesus came, although the doors were locked, and stood in their midst and said, “Peace be with you.” Then he said to Thomas, “Put your finger here and see my hands, and bring your hand and put it into my side, and do not be unbelieving, but believe.” Thomas answered and said to him, “My Lord and my God!” Jesus said to him, “Have you come to believe because you have seen me? Blessed are those who have not seen and have believed.” Now Jesus did many other signs in the presence of his disciples that are not written in this book. But these are written that you may come to believe that Jesus is the Christ, the Son of God, and that through this belief you may have life in his name.

“My Lord and my God!” (Jn 20:28) – In a few simple words, Thomas’ exclamation on encountering the risen Christ is counted amongst some of the best known verses in the Bible.

In the Greek translation of the Old Testament, “Kyrios” – “Lord” – is a title used to refer to YHWH, the God of Israel (CCC 446). Thomas’ exclamation which is directed to Jesus, in other words, represents his assertion of Jesus’ divinity. Similar assertions can also be found in other NT passages, e.g. Phil. 2:11.

Scriptural evidences of Jesus’ divinity, both direct and indirect, are rich and numerous in both the New and the Old Testaments. In addition to Thomas’ assertion that addressed Jesus as God in this Sunday’s Gospel reading, the following scriptural passages should also be mentioned:

  • John 10:30-36 in which the Jews accused Jesus of blasphemy because they believed he claimed to be God.
  • Colossians 2:9 – “For in him dwells the whole fullness of the deity bodily…”
  • The Immanuel prophecy of Isaiah 7:14. Since Matthew sees Jesus as the fulfillment of this prophecy (c.f. Mt. 1:23), Jesus is Immanuel or “God is with us”.
  • Isaiah 9:5 – “For a child is born to us, a son is given us; upon his shoulder dominion rests. They name him Wonder-Counselor, God-Hero, Father-Forever, Prince of Peace.”
  • Various OT passages predicting that God would come to save His people personally, including, for example, Ez 34:11, Is. 40:9-11, and 59:16-17.

Through the ecumenical councils of Nicaea (325), Ephesus (431), Chalcedon (451), and Constantinople (553), the Church affirms that Jesus is inseparably true God and true man.

Why was it necessary for God, the Father, to save us by sending His own Son, who was divine? Why didn’t He simply send, for example, an angel or a really nice guy like Abraham or Moses? This is because sin had ushered in a huge separation between God and man, which could only be bridged by Jesus who, as the Son of God and the “only Mediator between God and the human race” (1 Tim 2:5), was both human and divine.

No one summed up this important doctrine better than St. Athanasius, the great defender of Jesus’ divinity against Arianism, when he said, “The Son of God became the Son of Man so that the sons of men could become the sons of God.”

On this second Sunday of Easter, let’s rejoice in hope because Jesus, who “hold the keys to death and the netherworld”, has overpowered death and is “alive forever and ever” (Rev 1:18). We wait for him to return to fulfill his promise that “everyone who sees the Son and believes in him may have eternal life, and I shall raise him (on) the last day” (Jn 6:40).

Posted: April 3, 2016

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


Other Sunday Reflections

A New Fixed Star Is coming – An Apocalypse message from Jesus
Happy New Year! Today, the first Sunday of Advent, is the beginning of a new liturgical year. What an extraordinary commencement we have with the readings for today. We are… Continue Reading >
Celebrating the Greatest Decision
Today’s homily is about three great reversals, where Jesus flips our expectations. Let’s start with a video of today’s Gospel, and see if you can spot these reversals. Continue Reading >
Jesus — “The King of Kings and Lord of Lords” (Revelation 19:16)
This year, the celebration of the solemnity of our Lord Jesus Christ, King of the Universe is highlighted by a reading from Daniel 7, a chapter that contains arguably some… Continue Reading >

耶穌是天主嗎?

救主慈悲主日(復活期第二主日)

宗徒大事錄 5:12-16

天主藉著眾宗徒,在百姓中行了許多徵兆,顯了許多奇蹟。眾信徒都同心合意聚集在撒羅滿廊,其他人沒有一個敢與他們接近;但是百姓都誇讚他們。信主的人越來越增加,男女人數,極其眾多。眾宗徒行了這樣多的奇蹟,以致有人把病人抬到街上,放在床上或草墊上,好叫伯多祿走過的時候,至少他的影子能遮在一些人身上。還有許多人,從耶路撒冷四周城市,抬著病人,及被邪魔所纏擾的人,蜂擁而來;他們都得到了痊瘉。

默示錄 1:9-13,17-19

我、若望,你們的弟兄,並在耶穌內與你們共患難,同王權和同忍耐的,為了天主的話,並為給耶穌作證,曾到了一座名叫帕特摩的海島。在一個主日,我在神魂超拔中,聽見在我背後有一個大聲音,好似號角的聲音,說:「將你所聽見的,寫在書上。」我就轉過身來,要看看那同我說話的聲音。我一轉身,就看見了七盞金燈台;在燈台當中,有似人子的一位,身穿長衣,胸間佩有金帶。我一看見他,就跌倒在他腳前,有如死人。他於是把右手按在我身上,說:「不要害怕!我是元始,我是終末,我是生活的。我曾死過;可是,看!我現在卻活著,一直到萬世萬代。我握有死亡和陰府的鑰匙,所以你應把你看見的事,現今的,以及在這些事以後,要發生的事,都寫下來。」

若望福音 20:19-31

一周的第一天晚上,門徒所在的地方,因為怕猶太人,門戶都關著,耶穌來了,站在中間,對他們說:「願你們平安!」 說了這話,便把手和肋膀指給他們看。門徒見了主,便喜歡起來。耶穌又對他們說:「願你們平安!就如父派遣了我,我也同樣派遣你們。」說了這話,就向他們噓了一口氣,說:「你們領受聖神吧!你們赦免誰的罪,誰的罪就得赦免;你們保留誰的罪,誰的罪就被保留。」十二人中的一個,號稱狄狄摩的多默,當耶穌來時,卻沒有和他們在一起。其他門徒向他說:「我們看見了主。」但多默對他們說:「除非我看見他手上的釘孔,用我的指頭,探入釘孔;用我的手,探入他的肋膀,我決不信。」八天以後,耶穌的門徒又在屋裡,多默也和他們在一起。門戶關著,耶穌來了,站在中間,說:「願你們平安!」然後對多默說:「把你的指頭伸到這裡來,看看我的手吧!並伸過你的手來,探入我的肋膀,不要做無信德的人,但要做個有信德的人。」多默回答說:「我主!我天主!」耶穌對多默說:「因為你看見了我,才相信嗎?那些沒有看見而相信的,才是有福的!」耶穌在門徒前,還行了許多其他神蹟,沒有記在這部書上。這些所記錄的,是為叫你們信耶穌是默西亞,天主子,並使你們信的人,賴他的名,獲得生命。

「我主! 我天主! 」(若望福音20:28) – 多默在基督復活後向他顯現時,所發出的驚嘆不過寥寥數字, 卻成了聖經名句之一。

在希臘文所翻譯的舊約聖經裡,“Kyrios”-「上主」- 是用來指「雅威」, 即以色列的神(教理446)。換句話說,多默對耶穌的感嘆,是他對耶穌的天主性的肯定。類似的肯定還可以在其他新約聖經章節中找到,例如: 斐理伯書 2:11。

關於耶穌天主性的聖經憑證, 在新約和舊約聖經中, 有無數直接或間接的例子。除了這個主日福音讀經中多默對耶穌天主性的肯定,以下的聖經章節也應被列舉:

  • 若望福音10:30-36 猶太人指控耶穌褻瀆,因為他們相信祂自稱是天主。
  • 哥羅森書2:9 – 「因為是在基督內,真實地住有整個圓滿的天主性…… 」
  • 依撒意亞書7:14對厄瑪奴耳的預言。瑪竇認為耶穌實現了這個預言(參考瑪竇1:23),換言之,耶穌就是厄瑪奴耳或「天主與我們同在。」
  • 依撒意亞書9:5 – 「因為有一個嬰孩為我們誕生了,有一個兒子賜給了我們;他肩上擔負著王權,他的名子要稱為神奇的謀士、強有力的天主、永遠之父、和平之王。」
  • 在舊約很多經文都預言天主會親自來拯救祂的子民,當中包括了厄則克爾34:11,依撒意亞  40:9-11,和59:16-17。

透過幾次大公會議, 包括了尼西亞(公元325),厄弗所(公元431),加采東(公元451),和君士坦丁堡(公元553),教會確認耶穌是真天主, 又是真人, 這兩者是不可分割的。

為什麼天主聖父為了拯救我們,有必要差遣是天主身份的聖子呢?為什麼祂不乾脆派遣天使, 又或許一些賢者, 例如亞巴郎或梅瑟?這是因為罪惡使天主和人之間存在著巨大的鴻溝,而這鴻溝只能透過耶穌作為橋樑來銜接。身為天主聖子,祂同時具有人性和天主性,能成為「在天主與人之間的」唯一中保(弟前2:5)。

沒有人能比聖達修(亞大納削)(Athanasius) 對這個重要的教義闡釋得更好。當時他為了對抗異端亞略主義(Arianism)對耶穌的天主性的質疑,他說,「天主子之成為了人子,是好使世人都能成為天主子。」

在這個復活節第二個主日,就讓我們滿懷希望來慶祝,因為耶穌,祂「持有死亡和陰府的鑰匙」,已經征服了死亡,是「如今卻活著,一直到萬世萬代。」(默1:18)。我們在等待祂的再來, 實現祂的承諾, 因為祂曾承諾過,「凡看見子,並信從子的,必獲得永生;並且在末日,我要使他復活。」(若望福音6:40)

Posted: April 3, 2016

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


其他主日反省

丙年復活期第二主日:我主,我的天主! 吳智勳神父

本週的福音章節甲乙丙年都同用,最明顯的理由是它所記敘的事發生於耶穌復活後第八天,而每年復活期第二個主日正是第八天。這段聖經內容豐富,它既講述耶穌派遣門徒、預告聖神來臨、提及罪的赦免、亦透露了主日的來由(耶穌兩次顯現都在星期日,所以慢慢地基督徒以主日取代了設於星期六的安息日)。今天讓我們從多默宗徒身上作反省。

繼續閱讀 >