It’s All About the Freedom to Choose

Second Sunday of Advent

Isaiah 11:1-10

On that day, a shoot shall sprout from the stump of Jesse, and from his roots a bud shall blossom. The spirit of the LORD shall rest upon him: a spirit of wisdom and of understanding, a spirit of counsel and of strength, a spirit of knowledge and of fear of the LORD, and his delight shall be the fear of the LORD. Not by appearance shall he judge, nor by hearsay shall he decide, but he shall judge the poor with justice, and decide aright for the land’s afflicted. He shall strike the ruthless with the rod of his mouth, and with the breath of his lips he shall slay the wicked. Justice shall be the band around his waist, and faithfulness a belt upon his hips. Then the wolf shall be a guest of the lamb, and the leopard shall lie down with the kid; the calf and the young lion shall browse together, with a little child to guide them. The cow and the bear shall be neighbors, together their young shall rest; the lion shall eat hay like the ox. The baby shall play by the cobra’s den, and the child lay his hand on the adder’s lair. There shall be no harm or ruin on all my holy mountain; for the earth shall be filled with knowledge of the LORD, as water covers the sea. On that day, the root of Jesse, set up as a signal for the nations, the Gentiles shall seek out, for his dwelling shall be glorious.

Romans 15:4-9

Brothers and sisters: Whatever was written previously was written for our instruction, that by endurance and by the encouragement of the Scriptures we might have hope. May the God of endurance and encouragement grant you to think in harmony with one another, in keeping with Christ Jesus, that with one accord you may with one voice glorify the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ. Welcome one another, then, as Christ welcomed you, for the glory of God. For I say that Christ became a minister of the circumcised to show God’s truthfulness, to confirm the promises to the patriarchs, but so that the Gentiles might glorify God for his mercy. As it is written: Therefore, I will praise you among the Gentiles and sing praises to your name.

Matthew 3:1-12

John the Baptist appeared, preaching in the desert of Judea and saying, “Repent, for the kingdom of heaven is at hand!” It was of him that the prophet Isaiah had spoken when he said: A voice of one crying out in the desert, Prepare the way of the Lord, make straight his paths. John wore clothing made of camel’s hair and had a leather belt around his waist. His food was locusts and wild honey. At that time Jerusalem, all Judea, and the whole region around the Jordan were going out to him and were being baptized by him in the Jordan River as they acknowledged their sins. When he saw many of the Pharisees and Sadducees coming to his baptism, he said to them, “You brood of vipers! Who warned you to flee from the coming wrath? Produce good fruit as evidence of your repentance. And do not presume to say to yourselves, ‘We have Abraham as our father.’ For I tell you, God can raise up children to Abraham from these stones. Even now the ax lies at the root of the trees. Therefore every tree that does not bear good fruit will be cut down and thrown into the fire. I am baptizing you with water, for repentance, but the one who is coming after me is mightier than I. I am not worthy to carry his sandals. He will baptize you with the Holy Spirit and fire. His winnowing fan is in his hand. He will clear his threshing floor and gather his wheat into his barn, but the chaff he will burn with unquenchable fire.”

“Repent, for the kingdom of heaven is at hand!” shouted John the Baptist (Mt. 3:1-2), the voice crying out in the desert that Isaiah had predicted would prepare the way of the Lord (cf. Isaiah 40:2). Repent because human history was on the threshold of its final days. Christ would come to “gather his wheat into his barn, but the chaff he will burn with unquenchable fire” (Mt. 3:12).

Repent and to the Lord’s barn we go, harden our hearts and to the unquenchable fire we are thrown. It’s all about a very important choice.

Unlike the current world order in which man and nature have been at odds with each other ever since our first parents fell into a state of sin (cf. Gen 3:17-19; CCC 378-9), “the Lord’s barn” as envisioned by Isaiah is a new world order that brings perfect harmony: “Then the wolf shall be a guest of the lamb, and the leopard shall lie down with the kid…the lion shall eat hay like the ox. The baby shall play by the cobra’s den, and the child lay his hand on the adder’s lair” (Isaiah 11:6-8). How can we live in this amazing and beautiful world? Make good use of our freedom to choose to repent and accept Jesus’ salvific grace.

In the Scriptures, man’s freedom to choose was something so precious and highly esteemed that God would do anything to protect it, even if it meant exacting a heavy price. Saul, who became Paul after conversion, was allowed to persecute the early Church; Peter to deny Jesus; Judas to hand over God’s only Son. To free Israel from the slavery of Egypt, God parted the Red Sea. To free us from the slavery of sin, His only Son suffered and died for us on the cross.

Every time when the integrity of man’s freedom was at stake, God would go to the wall for him – every time, it never failed. For deprived of freedom, what is man? Made on the 6th day in God’s image, man was top of the hierarchy of creatures (CCC342), the summit of the Creator’s work (CCC 343), and destined for the glory of God (CCC353). He was given the dominance and the freedom to govern all creatures (Genesis 1:26). In fact, all creatures, including heavens and earth, were created for the good of man (CCC 358). So, what is man if deprived of his freedom to take care of God’s creation, the freedom to rise above the 6th day to join God on the Sabbath – the 7th day, the Lord’s day, the day of perfection and holiness – through the transforming power of the 8th day – the day of Christ’s Resurrection, the day of the New Creation (CCC 349)?

No matter what human ideals we strive for, what communities and societies we build, what leaders and governing regimes we support, what religious faiths we believe in, if human freedom is suppressed, they are just accomplices of the powers of darkness that have been lurking in the undercurrents of history, always eager to pounce on the Creator whose plan is to make us free. They strike at the heart of the Scriptures. As such, they must be seen as nemeses against everything that is good, an affront to Jesus work of redemption, and thus unworthy of their power and authority.

Just last week on November 22, 2016, in the Presidential Medal of Freedom Ceremony at the White House, special recognition was given to 21 luminaries that included Michael Jordan, Dianna Ross, Robert Redford, Bill Gates (philanthropy), Margaret Hamilton (scientist), Maya Lin (art and architecture), Lorne Michaels (producer of Saturday Night Live), Newt Minow (law), and Eduardo Padron (education), just to name a few.

I watched with intense interest as each recipient walked on stage to receive his/her medal from President Obama. Many of them looked old and physically frail for their golden and productive years were well gone – gone but not wasted because their contributions to America and to the world, made possible by the freedom that they enjoyed, had helped make every one of us a better person and the world a freer order. I was captivated by the whole ceremony from the beginning to the end. I watched and I cried like a puppy, out of thankfulness to the recipients and to God who has been adamant in defending human freedom.

Disclaimer: The author’s outpouring of emotions for the Presidential Medal of Freedom recipients must not be perceived as an endorsement of their personal ways of living, moral values, and political aspirations.

Posted: December 4, 2016

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


Other Sunday Reflections

Finding Peace
When we care for someone, we have to reveal to them their value and gifts. Continue Reading >
Laziness or Rest?
Who in your family does the most work? Husband or wife? You or your siblings? Who does nothing? You can point at them if you’d like. We’re talking about laziness… Continue Reading >
Seeing is NOT believing!
Faith is a conviction that God is infinitely loving and merciful; the same faithful God patiently calls us to participate in His salvific plan. Continue Reading >

自由珍貴

將臨期第二主日

依撒意亞先知書 11:1-10

那一天,由葉瑟的樹幹將生出一個嫩枝;由它的樹根將發出一個幼芽。上主的神,智慧和聰敏的神,超見和剛毅的神,明達和敬畏上主的神,將住在他內。【他將以敬畏上主為快慰。】他必不照他眼見的,施行審訊,也不按他耳聞的,執行判斷。他將以正義,審訊微賤者,以公理,判斷世上的謙卑者,以他口中的棍杖,打擊暴戾者,以他唇邊的氣息,誅殺邪惡者。正義將是他腰間的束帶,忠誠將是他脅下的佩帶。豺狼將與羔羊共處;虎豹將與小山羊同宿。牛犢和幼獅一同飼養;一個幼童即可帶領牠們。母牛和母熊將一起牧放;牠們的幼雛將一同伏臥。獅子將與牛一樣吃草。吃奶的嬰兒將遊戲於蝮蛇的洞口;斷奶的幼童將伸手探入毒蛇的窩穴。在我的整個聖山上,再沒有誰作惡,也沒有誰害人,因為大地充滿了對上主的認識,有如海洋滿溢海水。那一日,葉瑟的根,將成為萬民的旗幟;列邦必將尋求他;他駐節之地,將是輝煌的。

羅馬書 15:4-9

弟兄姊妹們:其實,凡經上所寫的,都是為教訓我們而寫的,為叫我們因經典所教訓的忍耐和安慰,而獲得希望。願賜忍耐和安慰的天主,賞賜你們仿效耶穌基督的榜樣,彼此同心合意,一心一口,光榮我們的主耶穌基督的天主和父。為此,你們要為光榮天主,而彼此接納,猶如基督也接納了你們一樣。我要說:基督為了彰顯天主的信實,成了「割損」的僕役,為實踐那向先祖們所作的恩許,也使外邦人因天主的憐憫,而光榮天主,正如所記載的:「為此,我要在異民中稱謝你,歌頌你的聖名。」

瑪竇福音 3:1-12

那時候,洗者若翰在猶太曠野出現,宣講說:「你們悔改吧!因為天國臨近了。」這人就是那藉依撒意亞先知所預言的:「在曠野裡有呼號者的聲音:你們該當預備上主的道路,修直他的途徑。」這若翰穿著駱駝毛做的衣服,腰間束著皮帶,他的食物是蝗蟲和野蜜。那時,耶路撒冷、全猶太,以及全約但河一帶的人都出來,到若翰那裡,承認自己的罪過,並在約但河受他的洗。他見到許多法利塞人和撒杜塞人,來受他的洗,就對他們說:「毒蛇的種類!誰教你們逃避那即將來臨的憤怒?那麼,就結與悔改相稱的果實吧!你們自己不要想:我們有亞巴郎為父。我給你們說:天主能從這些石頭,給亞巴郎興起子孫來。斧刀已放在樹根上,凡不結好果子的樹,必被砍倒,投入火中。「我固然用水洗你們,為使你們悔改;但在我以後,要來的那一位,比我更強,我連提他的鞋也不配,他要以聖神及火洗你們。他的簸箕已拿在手中,他要揚淨自己的禾場,將他的麥粒收入倉內,至於糠秕,卻要用不滅的火燒掉。」

「你們悔改吧!因為天國近了。」洗者若翰在曠野裡呼喊 (瑪竇福音3:1-2), 就如依撒意亞所預言的,即在曠野裡將出現呼喊者的聲音, 為了預備上主的道路。(參見依撒意亞先知書40:2)。 人類要悔改,因為歷史已進入了最後的時期, 基督要來「把麥子收進倉庫,至於糠秕,就要用那永不熄滅的火來燒掉。」(瑪竇福音3:12)。

我們面臨一個非常重要的選擇:悔改的話, 我們會進入上主的倉庫,執迷不悟的話,會被拋入永火。

自原祖父母犯罪之後, 世界失去秩序,人和大自然不能和睦相處 (參閱創3:17-19; <天主教教理> CCC 378-9)。依撒意亞預言的「上主的倉庫」 ,是一個新的世界秩序, 個中瀰漫着完美的和諧:「豺狼將與羔羊共處,小豹將與小山羊一起躺臥, 小牛和幼獅將一同飼養,一個幼童即能帶領牠們。母牛和母熊將一起牧放,小牛和幼獅也一同躺臥;獅子要像牛一樣吃草。嬰兒將在蝮蛇的洞口遊戲,幼童將伸手探摸毒蛇的窩穴。」 (依撒意亞11:6-8)。這是個多麽美麗奇妙的世界啊!我們要怎樣才能生活其中?很簡單,善用自由選擇去悔改和接受耶穌的救恩吧!

在聖經裡,人的自由選擇,非常珍貴, 備受尊崇,即使要付出沉重的代價, 天主都會不惜一切來保衛它。 掃祿皈依天主成為保祿以前,天主容許他迫害早期教會, 也讓伯多祿不認耶穌,和不阻止猶達斯出賣天主的獨生子。 為了將以色列人從埃及的奴役中釋放出來,天主展現祂的大能將紅海分開。為了將我們從罪惡的奴役中釋放出來,祂的獨生子在十字架上為我們受盡苦難而死。

每一次當人類的自由受到威脅時,天主都會義無反顧地解救我們 – 每次都如是,從來沒有例外。假如自由被剝奪,人還算是什麼?天主在第六天以祂的肖像來造人,人是受造物中等級最高的(CCC 342),人是創造工程的巔峰(CCC 343),以天主的光榮為依歸(CCC 353)。 人被賦予支配和自由地管理所有受造物的權利(創1:26)。 事實上,天空、大地、及整個受造界都是為人而創造(CCC 358)。 人若喪失了照顧天主受造物的自由, 若喪失了跨越第六天而進入第七天的自由 – 即與天主共度安息日,與祂一起共享完美聖善的自由 – 那麼,人還算是甚麼?(這跨越的力量是聖子在「第八天」復活所帶來的,即代表著新創造的新的一週的第一天 (CCC 349)。)

無論我們要為任何人類理想而奮鬥,要建立任何團體和社會,要支持任何領導者和政權,或要相信任何宗教信仰,如果自由被壓制,這一切行動和努力,都成了黑暗勢力在歷史洪洪巨流中的暗湧,與願意讓人自由的造物主的計劃,水火不容。 他們與聖經的中心思想互相違背,與所有美好的事物作敵,傷害耶穌的救贖工作,因此絕對不能助長和跟隨。

上週 2016年11月22日,在美國白宮頒發 <總統自由勳章> 儀式裡,特別表彰了21位傑出人物,包括米高.佐頓,戴安娜·羅斯,羅拔·列福,比爾·蓋茨(慈善家),瑪嘉烈·咸美頓(科學家) ,林瓔(藝術和建築),洛恩·邁克爾斯(<週六夜現場> 的製作人),牛頓.緬路(法律)和 克亞度.柏德(教育),這是當中的幾個。

在電視機前, 我非常有關注地看著每個得獎者輪流上台,接受奧巴馬總統的勳章。 他們當中許多人看起來年紀已經相當大,身體也顯得虛弱,看得出他們的全盛黃金年代已經過去了 – 雖然年代己經過去,但絕沒有浪費掉,他們對美國和世界作出貢獻, 他們享受的自由 影響着我們, 幫助我們每個人變得更好, 幫助世界達至更高的自由秩序。我觀看整個儀式,從開始到結束我都被迷住了。 我一路看著,一路流著感動的眼淚,為受勳者和天主堅持捍衛人類的自由而感恩。

聲明:筆者對領受<總統自由勳章> 者所表達的感受,不代表他認同他們各自的生活方式、道德價值觀、和政治立場。

Posted: December 4, 2016

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


其他主日反省

甲年 將臨期第二主日 真心悔改吧 吳智勳神父

今天的福音有一位戲劇性的人物出現了,若翰洗者是舊約的一位先知,也是新約的序幕人物。他的形象有點不倫不類,穿著駱駝毛的衣服,以蝗蟲野蜜為食,有點像中國的濟公。但為猶太人,他是個震憾心弦的人物。

繼續閱讀 >