Let our feet make us true messengers of God

Third Sunday in Ordinary Time

Isaiah 8:23-9:3

First the Lord degraded the land of Zebulun and the land of Naphtali; but in the end he has glorified the seaward road, the land west of the Jordan, the District of the Gentiles. Anguish has taken wing, dispelled is darkness: for there is no gloom where but now there was distress. The people who walked in darkness have seen a great light; upon those who dwelt in the land of gloom a light has shone. You have brought them abundant joy and great rejoicing, as they rejoice before you as at the harvest, as people make merry when dividing spoils. For the yoke that burdened them, the pole on their shoulder, and the rod of their taskmaster you have smashed, as on the day of Midian.

1 Corinthians 1:10-13, 17

I urge you, brothers and sisters, in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, that all of you agree in what you say, and that there be no divisions among you, but that you be united in the same mind and in the same purpose. For it has been reported to me about you, my brothers and sisters, by Chloe's people, that there are rivalries among you. I mean that each of you is saying, "I belong to Paul," or "I belong to Apollos," or "I belong to Cephas," or "I belong to Christ." Is Christ divided? Was Paul crucified for you? Or were you baptized in the name of Paul? For Christ did not send me to baptize but to preach the gospel, and not with the wisdom of human eloquence, so that the cross of Christ might not be emptied of its meaning.

Matthew 4:12-23

When Jesus heard that John had been arrested, he withdrew to Galilee. He left Nazareth and went to live in Capernaum by the sea, in the region of Zebulun and Naphtali, that what had been said through Isaiah the prophet might be fulfilled: Land of Zebulun and land of Naphtali, the way to the sea, beyond the Jordan, Galilee of the Gentiles, the people who sit in darkness have seen a great light, on those dwelling in a land overshadowed by death light has arisen. From that time on, Jesus began to preach and say, "Repent, for the kingdom of heaven is at hand." As he was walking by the Sea of Galilee, he saw two brothers, Simon who is called Peter, and his brother Andrew, casting a net into the sea; they were fishermen. He said to them, "Come after me, and I will make you fishers of men." At once they left their nets and followed him. He walked along from there and saw two other brothers, James, the son of Zebedee, and his brother John. They were in a boat, with their father Zebedee, mending their nets. He called them, and immediately they left their boat and their father and followed him. He went around all of Galilee, teaching in their synagogues, proclaiming the gospel of the kingdom, and curing every disease and illness among the people.

Matthew’s commencement of Jesus’ public ministry came startlingly with a withdrawal instead of an advancement. Retiring from Judea to Galilee, Jesus launched His messianic mission in the least expected place. “Galilee of the Gentiles” (Is 8:23), despised by Jesus’ contemporaries in Jerusalem (because of the Galileans’ impure race and suspect orthodoxy), was destined to witness the most important events of His public life. Jesus’ presence there had indeed fulfilled the prophecy of Isaiah (First Reading). Being the Light, He had brought a new dawn of hope to pagans and sinners that God’s salvation is for all people and comes impartially to everyone.

Besides fulfillment of God’s promise, Jesus’ move reminds us of His peripatetic character. From His birth in Bethlehem, His flight to Egypt, His childhood settlement in Nazareth to the beginning of His Galilean ministry, Matthew’s Jesus was always on the move, an itinerant preacher and a constant wanderer with no den or nest and “nowhere to lay His head” (Mt 8:20). He did not opt for the comforts and security of the familiar but rather embraced God’s will to reach out to those who were in need of His word wherever they might be. By coming to them, Jesus became one of them as their neighbour and as their friend. Though Jesus’ message was a replica of John the Baptist’s, yet instead of blunt and tough rebuke, His brought light and hope to both sinners and pagans.

The prophecy of Isaiah also has a special bearing for us today in our own age. We are in the lands of darkness, marked by hardened consciences, grave injustices and the culture of death. Our societies often overflow with things that are perverse and ugly, deceptive and depressing. But in the midst of all these grievances, let us not forget the strength of God’s word—-“Your word is a lamp for my feet, a light on my path” (Ps 119:105) and let us not underestimate its power—-”For just as from the heavens the rain and snow come down………..so shall my word be…..it shall not return to me void but shall do my will, achieving the end for which I sent it” (Is 55:10-11). In our present more mobile and diverse culture, do we, as disciples of Christ, have the courage to be the mouthpiece of God’s word and give witness to the truths? Do we dare to join in the work of bringing light to others? Are we willing to continue Jesus’ mission to illumine others, to be His voice, arms and legs here on earth?

“How beautiful upon the mountains are the feet of him who brings glad tidings, announcing peace, bearing good news, announcing salvation….” ( Is 52:7). As St Paul said to the Romans, “How can they call on Him in whom they have not believed? And how can they believe in Him of whom they have not heard? And how can they hear without someone to preach? (Rom 10: 14). Let us carry Jesus’ presence with us, let us be the light in the lands of darkness and let us imitate Jesus in reaching out to those who are in need of His word wherever they may be. Let “[our] feet swift as those of hinds” (Hab 3:19) and make us true messengers of God.

Posted: January 22, 2017

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

The Catholic Church and Catholicity
When the Catholic Church opens her arms to welcome all peoples, she does so not only because of charity, important as it is in Jesus’ teaching, it’s also because of… Continue Reading >
“Abide in me as I abide in you.”
From Jesus the Vine comes the natural outflow of life Continue Reading >
What our eyes cannot see, our heart perceives and understands
The Spirit in us; the same Spirit promised by Jesus and given to us through the sacrament of confirmation, sharpens all our senses, and most importantly our heart, to “taste… Continue Reading >

讓我們的腳步使我們成為天主真正的傳訊者

常年期第三主日

依撒意亞先知書 8:23-9:3

昔日,上主曾使則步隆和納斐塔里地域,受了侮辱,但日後卻使沿海之路,約但東岸,外方人的加里肋亞,獲得了光榮。在黑暗中行走的百姓,看見了一道皓光;那寄居於漆黑之地的人,已有光輝照射在他們身上。你加強了他們的快樂,增加了他們的喜悅;他們在你面前歡樂,有如人收割時的歡樂,又如分贓時的愉快;因為,正如在米德楊那天一樣,你折斷了他們所負的重軛,和他們肩上的橫木,以及壓迫他們者的短棍。

格林多前書 1:10-13,17

弟兄姊妹們:我因我們的主耶穌基督之名,請求你們眾人言談一致;在你們中不要有分裂,但要同心合意,精誠團結。因為,我的弟兄們,我由黑羅厄的家人,聽說你們中發生了紛爭。我的意思是說,你們各自聲稱:我是屬保祿的,我是屬阿頗羅的,我是屬刻法的,我是屬基督的。基督被分裂了嗎?難道保祿為你們被釘死在十字架上嗎?或者你們受洗,是歸於保祿名下嗎?原來基督派遣我,不是為施洗,而是為宣傳福音,且不用巧妙的言辭,免得基督的十字架失去效力。

瑪竇福音 4:12-23

耶穌聽到若翰被監禁以後,就退避到加里肋亞;後來,又離開納匝肋,住在海邊的葛法翁,即住在則步隆和納斐塔里境內。這應驗了依撒意亞先知所說的話:「則步隆與納斐塔里地,通海大路,約但河東,外方人的加里肋亞,那坐在黑暗中的百姓,看見了皓光;那坐在死亡陰影之地的人,已有光明為他們升起。」從那時起,耶穌開始宣講說:「你們悔改吧!因為天國臨近了。」耶穌沿加里肋亞海行走時,看見了兩個兄弟:稱為伯多祿的西滿,和他的兄弟安德肋,在海裡撒網;他們原是漁夫。耶穌就對他們說:「來,跟隨我!我要使你們成為漁人的漁夫。」他們立刻捨下網,跟隨了耶穌。耶穌從那裡再往前行,看見了另外兩個兄弟:載伯德的兒子雅各伯和他的弟弟若望,在船上,同他們的父親載伯德,修理他們的網,就召叫了他們。他們也立刻捨下漁船,及自己的父親,跟隨了耶穌。耶穌走遍了全加里肋亞,在他們的會堂施教,宣講天國的福音,治好民間各種疾病、各種災殃。

瑪竇福音記載耶穌奇怪地,以退為進的方式來開始祂的公開傳教。 耶穌從猶大隱退到加里肋亞,選擇在最令人意想不到的地方來展開祂的救世主使命。 「外邦人的加里肋亞」(依 8:23),一向被耶穌時代的耶路撒冷人鄙視(因為加里肋亞人血統不純和懷疑信仰不正統),卻註定要見証祂在公開傳教時期的最重要事跡。 耶穌在加里肋亞應驗了依撒意亞先知的預言(見讀經一)。 作為世上的光,祂為異教徒和罪人帶來了曙光和新希望,那就是天主的救恩是為所有的人,對每一個人都是一樣的。

除了履行天主的應許之外,耶穌此舉提醒我們祂四處為家的特徵。 從祂生於白冷,逃難埃及,在納匝肋渡過童年,直至在加里肋亞開始公開傳教,瑪竇福音中的耶穌總是馬不停蹄,沒有安定下來,祂是一個巡迴宣道者,漂泊流浪,居無定所,祂既沒有洞或巢也「沒有枕頭的地方」(瑪 8:20)。祂沒有選擇留在祂熟悉的,舒適和安全的地方,而是接受天主的旨意,需要祂話語的人在那裡,祂便到那裡。來到他們當中,祂成為他們的鄰居和朋友。 雖然耶穌的訊息和洗者若翰的一樣,但祂的卻不是嚴厲的責備,而是為罪人和異教徒帶來光明和希望。

以撒意亞先知當年的預言對我們現今世代也具有特殊意義。我們現正在黑暗之地,硬化了的良心,極度的不公義和死亡的文化。我們的社會充斥著邪惡的, 醜陋的,騙人的和令人沮喪的事情。但在抱怨中,我們不要忘記天主話語的力量:「你的言語是我步履前的靈燈,是我路途上的光明」(詠 119:105),我們千萬不要低估天主話語的能力:「譬如雨和雪從天降下…… 同樣,從我口中發出的言語…… 不能空空地回到我這裏來;反之,它必行我的旨意,完成我派遣它的使命」(依 55:10-11)。我們目前面對流動性大和多元的文化,作為基督門徒,我們有勇氣成為天主的喉舌, 宣揚天主的話語,為真理作證嗎?我們敢於參與將光明帶給別人的事工嗎?我們願意繼續耶穌的使命,照亮別人,在世上成為祂的聲音,手和腳嗎?

「那傳佈喜訊,宣佈和平,傳報佳音,宣佈救恩……..的腳步,在山上是多麼美麗啊! ….」(依 52:7)。 正如聖保祿對羅馬人說:「但是,人若不信祂,又怎能呼號祂呢﹖從未聽到祂,又怎能信祂呢﹖沒有宣講者, 又怎能聽到呢?」(羅10:14)。讓我們帶同耶穌,使我們作為這黑暗大地的光,讓我們學習耶穌去接觸那些需要祂話語的人,無論他們身處何方。 讓「他使[我們]的腳有如鹿腳」(哈巴谷 3:19),使我們成為天主真正的傳訊者。

Posted: January 22, 2017

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 常年期第三主日:悔改罷!跟我來 吳智勳神父

若翰洗者被監禁了,這意味著先知時代結束,新的時代開始了。耶穌離開納匝肋,往則步隆和納斐塔里去,從前這兩支派被亞述人擄走當奴隸,現在先知的話應驗了,耶穌來解救他們;但這不是政治性的解救,而是罪惡奴役的解救。所以,耶穌說︰「悔改罷!」悔改包含離開罪惡及錯誤的行為,不承認有錯誤就不可能悔改。

繼續閱讀 >