New Jerusalem – the Final Apocalypse

Sixth Sunday of Easter

Acts 15:1-2, 22-29

Some who had come down from Judea were instructing the brothers, “Unless you are circumcised according to the Mosaic practice, you cannot be saved.” Because there arose no little dissension and debate by Paul and Barnabas with them, it was decided that Paul, Barnabas, and some of the others should go up to Jerusalem to the apostles and elders about this question. The apostles and elders, in agreement with the whole church, decided to choose representatives and to send them to Antioch with Paul and Barnabas. The ones chosen were Judas, who was called Barsabbas, and Silas, leaders among the brothers. This is the letter delivered by them: “The apostles and the elders, your brothers, to the brothers in Antioch, Syria, and Cilicia of Gentile origin: greetings. Since we have heard that some of our number who went out without any mandate from us have upset you with their teachings and disturbed your peace of mind, we have with one accord decided to choose representatives and to send them to you along with our beloved Barnabas and Paul, who have dedicated their lives to the name of our Lord Jesus Christ. So we are sending Judas and Silas who will also convey this same message by word of mouth: ‘It is the decision of the Holy Spirit and of us not to place on you any burden beyond these necessities, namely, to abstain from meat sacrificed to idols, from blood, from meats of strangled animals, and from unlawful marriage. If you keep free of these, you will be doing what is right. Farewell.’”

Revelation 21:10-14, 22-23

The angel took me in spirit to a great, high mountain and showed me the holy city Jerusalem coming down out of heaven from God. It gleamed with the splendor of God. Its radiance was like that of a precious stone, like jasper, clear as crystal. It had a massive, high wall, with twelve gates where twelve angels were stationed and on which names were inscribed, the names of the twelve tribes of the Israelites. There were three gates facing east, three north, three south, and three west. The wall of the city had twelve courses of stones as its foundation, on which were inscribed the twelve names of the twelve apostles of the Lamb. I saw no temple in the city for its temple is the Lord God almighty and the Lamb. The city had no need of sun or moon to shine on it, for the glory of God gave it light, and its lamp was the Lamb.

John 14:23-29

Jesus said to his disciples: “Whoever loves me will keep my word, and my Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our dwelling with him. Whoever does not love me does not keep my words; yet the word you hear is not mine but that of the Father who sent me. “I have told you this while I am with you. The Advocate, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you everything and remind you of all that I told you. Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give it to you. Do not let your hearts be troubled or afraid. You heard me tell you, ‘I am going away and I will come back to you.’ If you loved me, you would rejoice that I am going to the Father; for the Father is greater than I. And now I have told you this before it happens, so that when it happens you may believe.”

As we come close to the end of the Easter season, we have a great privilege to read the final chapters of the Book of Revelation in our second reading. Interestingly, though it is categorized as an apocalyptic scripture, it does not forecast disasters or events that may end the world. ‘Apocalypse’ in Greek, “apokálypsis”, actually means “unveiling”. The book is revealing to us something of great significance which has been previously hidden but now is fully disclosed. Let us unpack this journey a little bit further.

John the visionary sees a city coming down from heaven to earth as a gift (Ref. Rv 21:10). Please notice that people are not escaping up to heaven, instead grace is coming down from heaven to take its place on earth. In the climax of the story, God does not destroy the earth, nor facilitates an escape of humanity from it, contrarily He renews it and establishes His order in it. What we hear about the divine kingdom has finally arrived, to a rightly ordered community under the lordship of God, in the midst of renewed heaven and earth. That is the Biblical vision. Please also note that the city itself is not individualistic but “communitarian”, in which what God establishes for us is a community of love.

Then, John sees “a massive, high wall, with twelve gates where twelve angels were stationed and on which names were inscribed, the names of the twelve tribes of the Israelites” (Rv 21:12). Why would both “walls” and “gates” being emphasized here? Walls stand for identity. Israel’s identity as God’s chosen people is to live in communion with Him, worshipping Him and listening to His commandments. Gates stand for access. Israel is meant not for itself, but meant to be the “magnet” for all the nations, by which the world is gathered unto God. All these represent the fulfilment of Israel’s mission; to be a gathering place of the world, a place in which all the nations orient toward God.

What follows is most important, in which John sees “no temple in the city, for temple is the Lord God almighty, and the lamb” (Rv 21:22). In ancient Israel, earthly Jerusalem was the temple. This reminds us of David who has brought the Ark of the Covenant into its capital city, and later on, his son Solomon, built the great temple to house the Ark, and that temple and its successors have lasted for a thousand years. It was the meeting place of heaven and earth, and where the right praise of Israel was on display. In this context, why would John see no temple in this new Jerusalem? This is because what he sees is a magnificent vision, in which the city itself has become a temple, that is to say “a place of right praise.” The temple is not turning onto itself, but rather to sanctify the whole world, to turn the whole world into a temple! This is the climax and the fulfilment of the Biblical story.

Finally, John concludes, “The city has no need of sun or moon to shine on it, for the glory of God gave it light” (Rv 21:23). How splendid and marvelous it is! What God always wants from the beginning, is to shine light of His love into every city, every place, and every corner of our lives. In today’s atheistic culture, however, we allow this light to extinguish all together. No, we need to allow the divine love to shed its light everywhere, and in all things. We need to turn the whole city into a holy temple. That is the whole “trajectory” of the whole Bible. That is what John sees in its fulfilment and realization of this great hope!

Let this passage in the Book of Revelation sinks into our heart once again, and let us read this in a meditative spirit, realizing that it is God’s great story reaching its fulfillment in its telling.

Acknowledgement
This is an excerpt from Bishop Robert Barron’s homilies, including
No Temple in the New Jerusalem”, and “Apokalypsis”. For more information, please visit WordOnFire.org.

Posted: May 26, 2019

Ben Cheng

 


Other Sunday Reflections

The Lost Sheep
“He will seek out the lost [sheep] until He finds it” (Luke 15:4) Continue Reading >
What is God’s will? Why is it so hard to follow God’s will?
“For the reasoning of mortals is worthless, and our designs are likely to fail (Wis 9:14) Continue Reading >
Attending Mass with Humility and Holy Fear
Why do the Catholics genuflect, bow their heads, strike their chests, and make all kinds of gestures to humble themselves in the Mass? Now we know why. Continue Reading >

新耶路撒冷 – 最後的啓示

復活期第六主日

宗徒大事錄 15:1-2,22-29

那時候,有從猶太下來的幾個人,教訓眾弟兄說:「如果你們不按梅瑟的慣例,接受割損,不能得救。」保祿和巴爾納伯,於是同他們發生不少爭執和辯論。大家就指定保祿和巴爾納伯,與他們中的幾個人,上耶路撒冷,去見宗徒和長老,討論這問題。當時,宗徒和長老同全教會決定,從他們當中選幾個人,派他們同保祿和巴爾納伯,去安提約基雅。所派的,有號稱巴爾撒巴的猶達和息拉,是弟兄中的領導人物。他們帶去的信如下:「宗徒和眾長老弟兄,問候在安提約基雅、敘利亞和基里基雅,由外邦歸化的眾弟兄。我們聽說,有幾個從我們這裡去的,而並非我們所派去的人,講話擾亂你們,混亂了你們的心。我們取得同意後,決定揀選幾個人,派他們同我們可愛的巴爾納伯和保祿,到你們那裡去。他們兩人,為了我們主耶穌基督的名,已付出了自己的性命。我們派猶達和息拉去,他們要親口報告同樣的事。因為聖神和我們決定,不再加給你們什麼重擔,除了這幾項重要的事:即不要吃祭過邪神的食物、血和窒死的牲畜,並戒避姦淫。如果你們戒絕了這一切,那就好了。祝你們安好!」

默示錄 21:10-14,22-23

天使使我神魂超拔,把我帶到一座又大又高的山上,將那從天上,由天主那裡降下的聖城耶路撒冷,指給我看。這聖城具有天主的光榮;城的光輝,好似極貴重的寶石,又像水晶那麼明亮的蒼玉。城牆高而且大,有十二座門;守門的有十二位天使。門上寫著以色列子民十二支派的名字。東面三門,北面三門,南面三門,西面三門。城牆有十二座基石,上面刻著羔羊的十二位宗徒的十二個名字。在城內,我沒有看見聖殿,因為上主全能的天主和羔羊,就是她的聖殿。那城也不需要太陽和月亮的光照,因為有天主的光榮照耀她;羔羊就是她的明燈。

若望福音 14:23-29

那時候,耶穌對門徒說:「誰愛我,必遵守我的話,我父也必愛他,我們要到他那裡去,並要在他那裡,作我們的居所。那不愛我的,就不遵守我的話。你們所聽到的話,並不是我的,而是派遣我來的父的話。「我還與你們在一起的時候,給你們講論了這些事;但那護慰者,就是父因我的名,所要派遣來的聖神,他必要教訓你們一切,也要使你們想起,我對你們所說的一切。「我把平安留給你們,我將我的平安賜給你們;我所賜給你們的,不像世界所賜的一樣。你們心裡不要煩亂,也不要膽怯。你們聽見我給你們說過:我去,但我還要回到你們這裡來。如果你們愛我,就該喜歡我往父那裡去,因為父比我大。現在,在事發生前,我就告訴了你們,為使你們在事發生時,能夠相信。」

復活期臨近結束,在讀經二,我們有幸讀到《若望默示錄》的最後幾個章節。有趣的是,雖然《默示錄》一向被分類為啓示性的聖經,它並沒有預言可能導致世界末日的天災或其他事件。希臘語中的“Apocalypse”是“apokálypsis”,其實意思是「啓示」。 這本書向我們展示了一些重要訊息,以前這些訊息是隱晦的,但現在已經完全披露了。讓我們去作進一步了解。

若望在神視中看見一個城市從天上降下,作為禮物(參見默 21:10)。請注意,世人沒有逃走到天堂,相反,恩典從天上降臨世上。故事最精彩的地方是,天主沒有毀滅世界,也沒有協助人類逃亡,相反,衪更新了世界,並在世上建立了祂的秩序。我們所聽過從天主而來的王國終於來臨了,臨在於一個由上主領導的,並有正確秩序的團體,屹立於更新了的天地之中。這就是聖經裡面的願景。請注意,這並不是一個個人主義的城市,人並不各自存在,而是一個「息息相關的社群」,在這裡,天主為我們建立的,是一個愛的團體。

然後,若望又看到「城牆高而且大,有十二座門,守門的有十二位天使,門上寫著以色列子民十二支派的名字」(默 21:12)。為什麼這裡要強調「城牆」和「城門」?城牆代表身份。以色列作為天主選民的身份,是生活於與祂共融,敬拜祂和遵守祂的誡命中。城門代表通道。以色列不單是為自己,而是要成為凝聚所有國家的「磁石」,吸引世界集合在天主面前。這些都代表着以色列已完成使命;成為世界的聚集點,是所有國家仰望天主的地方。

接下來是最重要的,若望「在城內沒有看見聖殿,因為上主全能的天主和羔羊就是她的聖殿」(默 21:22)。在古代以色列,地上的耶路撒冷是聖殿。這提醒我們,是達味將約櫃放在首都內,後來,是他的兒子撒羅滿,建造了一座偉大的聖殿來放置約櫃,這種情形延續了一千年。這是天和地相遇的地方,展示了以色列對天主實至名歸的讚美。在這種情況下,為什麼若望在這新耶路撒冷看不到聖殿呢?因為他所看到的是一個壯觀的視野,城市本身已成為一座聖殿,也就是說,是一個「實至名歸地讚美天主的地方」。聖殿並沒有只面向自己,而是要聖化整個世界,將整個世界改變成一座聖殿!這便是這段聖經故事實現時的震撼。

最後,若望總結說,「那城也不需要太陽和月亮光照,因為有天主的光榮照耀她」(默 21:23)。這是多麼的美妙和神奇!天主從開始一直想達致的,是將祂愛的光芒照耀每一個城市、每一個地方和我們生活的每一個角落。然而,在今天的無神論文化中,我們容許這光輝完全熄滅。不,我們需要讓從天主而來的愛在任何地方和所有事物中照耀。我們需要將整個城市變成一座聖殿。這就是整本聖經的「主軸」。這是若望所視,偉大祈望的完滿實現!

讓《默示錄》中的這段經文再次深深嵌入我們心中,讓我們好好地閱讀和默想這一段聖經,明白這是天主所述說的偉大故事的實現。

鳴謝
這是Bishop Robert Barron 的講道摘錄,包括“No Temple in the New Jerusalem”, and “Apokalypsis”.
詳情請瀏覽 WordOnFire.org

Posted: May 26, 2019

Ben Cheng

 


其他主日反省

丙年復活期第六主日:分辨與突破 吳智勳神父

今天的第一與第三篇讀經都提到聖神,讓我們以聖神的恩賜來做主題。教會常說聖神七恩,其實聖神的恩典又豈止七個?不過,聖經的數字七,包含圓滿的意義。今天我們反省兩件聖神的恩賜,就是分辨和突破,傳統稱為上智和明達的恩賜。

繼續閱讀 >