“Rejoice in the Lord always; … the Lord is near” (Philippians 4:4-5)

Third Sunday of Advent

Isaiah 35:1-6A, 10

The desert and the parched land will exult; the steppe will rejoice and bloom. They will bloom with abundant flowers, and rejoice with joyful song. The glory of Lebanon will be given to them, the splendor of Carmel and Sharon; they will see the glory of the LORD, the splendor of our God. Strengthen the hands that are feeble, make firm the knees that are weak, say to those whose hearts are frightened: Be strong, fear not! Here is your God, he comes with vindication; with divine recompense he comes to save you. Then will the eyes of the blind be opened, the ears of the deaf be cleared; then will the lame leap like a stag, then the tongue of the mute will sing. Those whom the LORD has ransomed will return and enter Zion singing, crowned with everlasting joy; they will meet with joy and gladness, sorrow and mourning will flee.

James 5:7-10

Be patient, brothers and sisters, until the coming of the Lord. See how the farmer waits for the precious fruit of the earth, being patient with it until it receives the early and the late rains. You too must be patient. Make your hearts firm, because the coming of the Lord is at hand. Do not complain, brothers and sisters, about one another, that you may not be judged. Behold, the Judge is standing before the gates. Take as an example of hardship and patience, brothers and sisters, the prophets who spoke in the name of the Lord.

Matthew 11:2-11

When John the Baptist heard in prison of the works of the Christ, he sent his disciples to Jesus with this question, “Are you the one who is to come, or should we look for another?” Jesus said to them in reply, “Go and tell John what you hear and see: the blind regain their sight, the lame walk, lepers are cleansed, the deaf hear, the dead are raised, and the poor have the good news proclaimed to them. And blessed is the one who takes no offense at me.” As they were going off, Jesus began to speak to the crowds about John, “What did you go out to the desert to see? A reed swayed by the wind? Then what did you go out to see? Someone dressed in fine clothing? Those who wear fine clothing are in royal palaces. Then why did you go out? To see a prophet? Yes, I tell you, and more than a prophet. This is the one about whom it is written: Behold, I am sending my messenger ahead of you; he will prepare your way before you. Amen, I say to you, among those born of women there has been none greater than John the Baptist; yet the least in the kingdom of heaven is greater than he.”

During Advent, not only do we prepare ourselves to commemorate the birth of Christ over two thousand years ago, we must also prepare ourselves that Christ “will come again in glory to judge the living and the dead” (Nicene Creed). In the first Sunday of Advent, Jesus teaches us to “be alert … for the Son of Man is coming at an unexpected hour” (Matthew 24:44). On this Third Sunday, we celebrate Advent and rejoice as in the Entrance Antiphon of the Mass “Rejoice in the Lord always; … Indeed, the Lord is near” (Philippians 4:4-5).

Jesus came to John the Baptist at the Jordan to be baptized by him. John’s bap-tism is for sinners although Jesus is sinless. This gesture of Jesus is a “manifes-tation of his self-emptying” (CCC 1224). He takes on “the nature of a servant, made in human likeness” (Philippians 2:7). After Jesus’ baptism by John Bap-tist, Jesus’ identity as the Son of God is revealed: “the heavens opened and he saw the Spirit of God come down like a dove and rest upon him. At the same time, a voice from heaven was heard ‘This is my Son, the Beloved, he is my Chosen One’” (Matthew 3:16-17).

Jesus’ ministry must have caught John’s attention and got him thinking further whether he is indeed the Messiah. So we hear in this Sunday’s gospel reading, when “John the Baptist heard in prison about the deeds of the Christ, he sent word by his disciples who said to Jesus, ‘Are you the one who is to come, or are we to wait for another?’” (Matthew 11:2-3). Jesus does not give a definitive answer whether he is the one, and instead answers them “Go and tell John what you hear and see: the blind receive their sight, the lame walk, the lepers are cleansed, the deaf hear, the dead are raised, and the poor have good news brought to them” (Matthew 11:4-5). It is up to John to recognize the Messiah in what his disciples hear and see about Jesus and what Isaiah prophesied in the scriptures (Ref. First reading Isaiah 35:1-6a, 10).

Nevertheless, Jesus takes the opportunity to reveal to the crowds who come to listen to him that John the Baptist is “the one about whom it is written, ‘See, I am sending my messenger ahead of you, who will prepare your way before you’” and that “if you believe me, John is this Elijah, whose coming was predicted. Let anyone with ears listen!” (Matthew 11:10, 14-15). Indeed, when angel Gabriel appeared to Zechariah tell him that that his wife Elizabeth will bear a son whom he shall name John, Gabriel said that “[John] himself will open the way to the Lord with the spirit and power of the prophet Elijah” (Luke 1:17).

The Messiah Jesus Christ has come and we will celebrate his birth on Christmas Day. Let us take a moment from our busy Christmas preparations to contemplate on what “the Lord is near” means for us (Philippians 4:5).

Posted: December 15, 2019

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

“Give therefore to Caesar the things that are Caesar’s, and to God the things that are God’s” (Mt 22:21)
May our earthly commitments be guided by a beacon of light from the divine Continue Reading >
The Bible is in a Nutshell Just God’s Wedding Invitation
The theme of marriage and family runs through the Bible like a thread, weaving its way intricately and skillfully from the first chapter to the last. Continue Reading >
What kind of tenants are we?
Christ is the true vine who gives life and the power to bear abundant fruit to the branches Continue Reading >

「你們在主內應當常常喜樂 ⋯主快來了」(斐 4:4-5)

將臨期第三主日

依撒意亞先知書 35:1-6,10

荒野和不毛之地必要歡樂,沙漠必要欣喜,如花盛開,盛開得有如百合,高興得歡樂歌唱,因為它們將獲得黎巴嫩的光華、加爾默耳和沙龍的美麗。它們將見到上主的榮耀、我們天主的光輝。你們應加強痿弱的手,堅固顫動的膝,告訴心怯的人說:「鼓起勇氣來,不要畏懼!看,你們的天主!報復已到!天主的報酬已到!他要親自來拯救你們。」那時,盲人將會看見,聾子將要聽到;那時,瘸子必要跳躍如鹿,啞吧的舌頭,必要歡呼。上主所解救的人必要歸來,快樂地來到熙雍;永久的歡樂,有如冠冕,戴在他們頭上。他們將盡享快樂和歡喜,再沒有憂愁和悲哀。

雅各伯書 5:7-10

弟兄姊妹們:直到主的來臨,你們應該忍耐。看,農夫多麼忍耐,期待田地裡寶貴的出產,直到獲得時雨和晚雨。你們也該忍耐,堅固你們的心,因為主的來臨已接近了。弟兄們,不要彼此抱怨,免得你們受審判;看,審判者已站在門前。弟兄們,應以那些曾因上主之名講話的先知們,作為受苦和忍耐的模範。

瑪竇福音 11:2-11

那時候,若翰在獄中聽了基督所行的,就派遣他的門徒去問耶穌說:「你就是要來的那一位,或是我們還要等候另一位?」耶穌回答他們說:「你們去,把你們所見所聞的,報告給若翰:瞎子看見,跛子行走,痲瘋病人得到潔淨,聾子聽見,死人復活,窮苦的人得聞喜訊。凡不因我而絆倒的,是有福的!」他們走了以後,耶穌就對群眾講論若翰說:「你們出去到荒野,是為看什麼呢?為看隨風搖曳的蘆葦嗎?你們出去到底是為看什麼?為看一位穿細軟衣服的人嗎?啊!那穿細軟衣服的人,是在王宮裡。你們究竟為什麼出去?為看一位先知嗎?是的!我給你們說:而且他比先知還大。關於這人,經上記載說:『看,我派遣我的使者在你面前,他要在你前面,預備你的道路。』「我實在告訴你們:在婦女所生的,沒有興起一位比洗者若翰更大的;但在天國裡最小的,也比他大。」

在將臨期,我們不但要為紀念二千多年前基督的降生而準備自己,也要為祂「光榮地降臨審判生者死者」(尼西亞信經)而作好準備。在將臨期第一主日,耶穌教導我們「應該準備,⋯ 因為你們不料想的時辰,人子就來了」 (瑪 24:44)。而在這第三主日,我們以彌撒《進台詠》「你們在主內應當常常喜樂 ⋯主快來了」(斐 4:4-5),滿懷喜樂,慶祝將臨期。

耶穌來到約旦河,讓若翰給祂施洗。若翰的洗禮是為罪人,而耶穌卻是無罪的。耶穌此舉「顯示出祂的『自我空虛』」(天主教教理 1224)。祂「取了奴僕的形體,與人相似」(斐 2:7)。耶穌受洗後,祂是天主子的身份顯明了——「忽然天為祂開了。祂看見天主聖神有如鴿子降下,來到祂上面;又有聲音由天上說:『這是我的愛子,我所喜悅的』」(瑪 3:16-17)。

若翰一定已經留意到耶穌的事工,使他猜想耶穌是否真是黙西亞。所以在本主日的福音讀經,我們聽到當「若翰在獄中聽到了基督所行的,就派遣他的門徒去,對他說:『你就是要來的那一位,或是我們還要等候另一位?』」(瑪 11:2-3)。耶穌沒有直接答覆他是否那一位,只回答說:「你們去,把你們所見所聞的報告給若翰:瞎子看見,瘸子行走,癩病人得了潔淨,聾子聽見,死人復活,窮苦人得了喜訊」(瑪 11:4-5)。若翰要從他的門徒所說及有關耶穌的所見所聞,及依撒意亞在聖經的預言中,洞察和認識黙西亞(參閲 讀經一 《依撒意亞先知書》35:1-6a, 10)。

耶穌也藉此機會顯示給來聽祂宣講的群眾,若翰就是那位「經上記載說:『看,我派遣我的使者在你面前,祂要在你前面預備你的道路。』和「若是你們願意接受,祂就是那位要來的厄里亞。有耳的,聽罷!」 (瑪 11:10, 14-15)。 確實,當天使加俾額爾顯現給匝加利亞,告訴他依撒伯爾他的妻子,要給他生一個兒子,他要給他起名若翰時,加俾額爾說:「【若翰】要以厄里亞的精神和能力,在【上主】前面先行」(路 1:17)。

耶穌基督默西亞已經降臨,在聖誕日我們紀念祂的降生。在忙碌準備過聖誕節的時候,讓我們抽空思考一下,「主快來了」為我們是什麼意思 (斐 4:4-5)。

Posted: December 15, 2019

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

甲年 將臨期第三主日 新時代的喜訊 吳智勳神父

今天的福音表面上是談若翰洗者,連耶穌也稱讚他:「婦女所生的,沒有一個比洗者若翰更偉大」。不少人把注意力放在若翰洗者派遣門徒去見耶穌的理由上:他對耶穌的身份產生懷疑?他希望門徒直接從耶穌口中得到答案?他催促耶穌快些行動?

繼續閱讀 >