“Run so as to win”


In today’s Gospel, we are told that Jesus is resolutely determined to journey to Jerusalem, the city of His destiny where He would accomplish His own Passover. The road to this destination is long and treacherous, and the travel is often marked by obstacles, unexpected events and stops.

As we read on, the first hindrance is the Samaritans whose unfriendly attitude seems not solely sprang from their ancestral animosity with the Jews, but rather this time, more on recognizing Jesus’ determination to Jerusalem, “. . . because His face was set for Jerusalem” (Lk 9:53). Then comes the angry remark from the “sons of thunder” – the calling forth of heavenly punishment to the Samaritans. The reaction of James and John when faced with hostility exposes their ignorance about Jesus’ mission, His mission of love. Jesus’ journey to Jerusalem is the journey of manifesting God’s love, not retaliation.

Then comes the encounters with individuals who wish to follow Him. While it appears that Jesus’ replies are cruel and in contradiction to works of piety, He is making known a principle, that is, nothing should take precedence over following Him and proclaiming the kingdom of God. The two areas – the severing ties with one’s family and the itinerant insecurity – are what Jesus Himself is experiencing (rf Mt 6:20, 12:46-50; Lk 9:58). The absolute commitment without regret or second thought is what Jesus demands and is what Jesus Himself is practicing.

Where does this “resoluteness” of Jesus come from? Could it be His stubbornness, idealism or simply His total love and dedication to His Father? Jesus knows perfectly His Father’s will, to do His will and fulfill His work is Jesus’ “food” which sustains and gives meaning to His life (rf Jn 4:34). In a similar manner, Paul, an itinerant preacher, whose resoluteness in preaching the Gospel is but an echo of his master’s. Why did Paul subject himself to all the hardships and grief and even to his death in Rome? (rf 2 Cor 11:23-29). In his letter to the Philippians, Paul speaks of his discovery of knowing Jesus, “The supreme good of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord” (Phil 3:8). In his letter to the Galatians, Paul says he is taken over by Christ who “has loved me and given himself up for me” (Gal 2:20). Due to these experiences, Paul tells the Corinthians that he cannot be defeated, “We are afflicted in every way, but not constrained; perplexed, but not driven to despair; persecuted but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed” (2 Cor 4:8-9).

Dear friends, in our faith journey, there will certainly be ebb and flow, bad times and good times, but they are part of the essentials that strengthen us. The key is to persevere as St Paul says, “Do you not know that the runners in the stadium all run in the race, but one wins the prize? Run so as to win” (1 Cor 9:24).

Posted:

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

God’s Laborers
Are we ready to accept the Lord’s invitation to exercise the lay apostolate and our common priesthood to become God’s “laborers” in our own different ways, each according to the… Continue Reading >
“Run so as to win”
Where does this “resoluteness” of Jesus come from? Continue Reading >
This Is My Body … This Is My Blood
When we receive Christ’s Body and Blood, we unite ourselves to Christ and bear witness to the greatest love of all. Continue Reading >

「應該這樣跑,好能得到獎賞」


在今天的福音,我們得知耶穌下定了決心前往耶路撒冷,這個祂要完成自己的逾越的城市。前往這目的地的路途漫長而艱辛,旅途中經常會出現障礙、出乎意料的事情和停滯。

當我們繼續讀下去時,看到第一個障礙是來自撒瑪黎雅人。他們不友善的態度,似乎不單是由於他們的祖先和猶太人傳下來的互懷敵意,而是因為知道耶穌的目的地是耶路撒冷,「. . . 因為衪是面朝耶路撒冷去的」(路 9:53)。然後就是來自「雷霆之子」的憤怒言詞 — 叫撒瑪黎雅人得到天譴。由此可見雅各伯和若望面對敵意時的反應,正暴露了他們對耶穌使命—愛的使命—的無知。耶穌往耶路撒冷之旅,是為彰顯天主的仁愛,而不是報復。

然後耶穌遇上希望跟隨衪的人。雖然耶穌對他們的回應,好像不近人情,跟虔誠應有的行為背道而馳;但祂闡明了一個原則,就是沒有什麼比跟隨祂和宣揚天主的國度更為重要。從這兩方面來說 — 與家庭斷絕關係和過着流離無安全感的生活—正是耶穌自己經驗的寫照 (參考 瑪 6:20, 12:46-50;路 9:58)。耶穌要求的是義無反顧及沒有猶疑的承諾,就像祂自己實行的一樣。

耶穌這「決心」究竟從何處而來?是否由於祂的擇善固執、理想主義,還是祂對天父全心全意的愛和奉獻?耶穌完全知道天父的旨意,遵行祂的旨意並完成祂的工作是耶穌的「食糧」,以維持衪的生命並賦予其生命的意義 (參考 若 4:34)。同樣地,保祿,一個四處飄泊的傳教士,他傳福音的決心只不過是回應著他老師的決心。為什麼保祿要忍受這一切苦難和悲感,甚至最後死在羅馬? (參考 格後 11:23-29)。保祿在寫給斐理伯人的書信中,談到了他和耶穌的相遇相知,「我只以認識我主基督耶穌為至寶」(斐 3:8)。保祿在給迦拉達人的書信中,說他全屬基督,因為「祂愛了我,且為我捨棄了自己」 (迦 2:20)。基於這些經歷,保祿告訴格林多人,他不可能被打敗,「我們在各方面受了磨難,卻沒有被困住;絕了路,卻沒有絕望;被迫害,卻沒有被棄捨;被打倒,卻沒有喪亡」(格後 4:8-9)。

朋友們,我們在信仰旅途上,必然會有高低起伏,順境逆境,但這些正是強化我們的要素。關鍵在於堅持,正如聖保祿所說:「你們豈不知道在運動埸上賽跑的,固然都跑,但只有一個得獎賞嗎﹖你們也應該這樣跑,好能得到獎賞」(格前 9:24)。

Posted: June 26, 2022

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

丙年(路加) 常年期第十三主日 : 基督徒應有的態度 吳智勳神父

今天的福音可分為兩部份:首先是指明耶穌的道路,然後是耶穌對門徒的要求。這兩部份合起來,可看出基督徒應有的態度。

繼續閱讀 >