Seeing is NOT believing!

Nineteenth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Wisdom 18:6 - 9

The night of the passover was known beforehand to our fathers, that, with sure knowledge of the oaths in which they put their faith, they might have courage. Your people awaited the salvation of the just and the destruction of their foes. For when you punished our adversaries, in this you glorified us whom you had summoned. For in secret the holy children of the good were offering sacrifice and putting into effect with one accord the divine institution.

Hebrews 11:1-2, 8-19

Brothers and sisters: Faith is the realization of what is hoped for and evidence of things not seen. Because of it the ancients were well attested. By faith Abraham obeyed when he was called to go out to a place that he was to receive as an inheritance; he went out, not knowing where he was to go. By faith he sojourned in the promised land as in a foreign country, dwelling in tents with Isaac and Jacob, heirs of the same promise; for he was looking forward to the city with foundations, whose architect and maker is God. By faith he received power to generate, even though he was past the normal age —and Sarah herself was sterile— for he thought that the one who had made the promise was trustworthy. So it was that there came forth from one man, himself as good as dead, descendants as numerous as the stars in the sky and as countless as the sands on the seashore. All these died in faith. They did not receive what had been promised but saw it and greeted it from afar and acknowledged themselves to be strangers and aliens on earth, for those who speak thus show that they are seeking a homeland. If they had been thinking of the land from which they had come, they would have had opportunity to return. But now they desire a better homeland, a heavenly one. Therefore, God is not ashamed to be called their God, for he has prepared a city for them. By faith Abraham, when put to the test, offered up Isaac, and he who had received the promises was ready to offer his only son, of whom it was said, “Through Isaac descendants shall bear your name.” He reasoned that God was able to raise even from the dead, and he received Isaac back as a symbol.

Luke 12:32-48

Jesus said to his disciples: “Do not be afraid any longer, little flock, for your Father is pleased to give you the kingdom. Sell your belongings and give alms. Provide money bags for yourselves that do not wear out, an inexhaustible treasure in heaven that no thief can reach nor moth destroy. For where your treasure is, there also will your heart be. “Gird your loins and light your lamps and be like servants who await their master’s return from a wedding, ready to open immediately when he comes and knocks. Blessed are those servants whom the master finds vigilant on his arrival. Amen, I say to you, he will gird himself, have them recline at table, and proceed to wait on them. And should he come in the second or third watch and find them prepared in this way, blessed are those servants. Be sure of this: if the master of the house had known the hour when the thief was coming, he would not have let his house be broken into. You also must be prepared, for at an hour you do not expect, the Son of Man will come.” Then Peter said, “Lord, is this parable meant for us or for everyone?” And the Lord replied, “Who, then, is the faithful and prudent steward whom the master will put in charge of his servants to distribute the food allowance at the proper time? Blessed is that servant whom his master on arrival finds doing so. Truly, I say to you, the master will put the servant in charge of all his property. But if that servant says to himself, ‘My master is delayed in coming,’ and begins to beat the menservants and the maidservants, to eat and drink and get drunk, then that servant’s master will come on an unexpected day and at an unknown hour and will punish the servant severely and assign him a place with the unfaithful. That servant who knew his master’s will but did not make preparations nor act in accord with his will shall be beaten severely; and the servant who was ignorant of his master’s will but acted in a way deserving of a severe beating shall be beaten only lightly. Much will be required of the person entrusted with much, and still more will be demanded of the person entrusted with more.”

No doubt, we live in a cynical world filled with distrust and malicious deception. Many would feel that individuals or institutions are not to be trusted as promises are carelessly made but rarely kept. When politicians proudly proclaim a new tax credit or tax cut, citizens would often protest, “We’ll believe when we see it!” They live by the motto, “Seeing is believing”. Perhaps their faith has been misplaced? Could this severe deficit in faith ever be restored? This week’s readings remind us that faith, though intangible, is the iron-clad “assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen” (Heb 11:1). However, this gift of faith also demands our response. God invites us to participate in His salvific plan.

The faith of Abraham, Sarah, and Moses demonstrates that our God is ever faithful; He is infinitely loving and merciful despite our disbelief. Time and again, we, like the Israelites, turn away from God; perhaps due to fear, short-sightedness, greed, impatience, or simply our inflated ego. We trust our own instincts above God’s will; trading in genuine grace for short-term gains. The Book of Wisdom reminds us of God’s faithfulness. It is described that the forefathers of Israel are able to take courage on “the night of the deliverance from Egypt” because they have received “sure knowledge” of the Passover miracle (Wis 18:6). They believe, period, without seeing! This is because their courage is rooted in God’s “oaths” or promises. They place their trust and take courage in their faithful God who has journeyed with their ancestors throughout history. Indeed, “blessed the people the Lord has chosen as his heritage” (Ps 33:12).

Similarly, Abraham’s faith encourages us to have confidence in God. “By faith Abraham obeyed when he was called to set out for a place that he was to receive; as an inheritance; and he set out, not knowing where he was going” (Heb 11:8). He and Sarah left the place of familiarity and comfort to live in a “foreign land, living in tents” (Heb 11:9). Equally impressive is Sarah, who initially laughed at the idea of bearing a child at her “old age” but eventually believed “because she considered him faithful who had promised” (Heb 11:11). In addition, when God asks Abraham to offer Isaac, “his only-begotten son”, he obeys without hesitation because he has faith in God’s promise, “It is through Isaac that descendants shall be named for you” and the fact that God is capable of bringing someone “from the dead” (Heb 11: 18-19). Finally, St. Paul explains that though Abraham would never set foot onto the Promised Land, he remains faithful to God as he “desire[s] a better country, that is, a heavenly one” (Heb 11:14). God has given everything to Abraham but at the same time, patiently awaits Abraham to freely respond. “From everyone to whom much has been given, much will be required; and from the one to whom much has been entrusted, even more will be demanded” (Lk 12:48). Indeed, not only do his conscious decisions exemplify true faith that focuses on “things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen”, he has also demonstrated the importance of collaborating with God – the ultimate “architect and builder” (Heb 11:1,10).

Indeed, as God unfolds His beautiful salvific plan through Abraham, Sarah, and Moses, God also invites us to collaborate with Him. Through their examples, we are reminded to believe and invest in God’s love and promise instead of the empty promises of the world. May our hearts be rested in God “for where your treasure is, there your heart will be also” (Lk 12:34). Like the holy people of God portrayed in the Old Testament, we are tremendously gifted with God’s grace, therefore, “do not be afraid” to answer God’s call (Lk 12:32).

Posted: August 11, 2019

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


Other Sunday Reflections

Finding Peace
When we care for someone, we have to reveal to them their value and gifts. Continue Reading >
Laziness or Rest?
Who in your family does the most work? Husband or wife? You or your siblings? Who does nothing? You can point at them if you’d like. We’re talking about laziness… Continue Reading >
Seeing is NOT believing!
Faith is a conviction that God is infinitely loving and merciful; the same faithful God patiently calls us to participate in His salvific plan. Continue Reading >

見到,不是相信!

常年期第十九主日

智慧篇 18:6-9

我們的祖先,曾預先得知那一夜的事,而且,由於確實知道自己所相信的誓言,是多麼可靠,因此都心安神樂。所以,你的子民所期待的,就是義人的救援,及仇人的滅亡。你怎樣懲罰了仇敵,也怎樣光榮了我們,為召叫我們歸向你。善人的聖潔子孫,都曾在暗中獻祭,同心合意訂立了神聖的盟約,為使聖徒同甘共苦,並同唱了列祖的讚美歌。——上主的話。

希伯來書 11:1-2, 8-19

弟兄姊妹們:信德是所希望之事的擔保,是未見之事的確證。先人們因這信德,都曾得到褒揚。因著信德,亞巴郎一蒙召選,就聽命前往他將要承受為產業的地方。他出發時,還不知道要到那裡。因著信德,他作客他鄉,旅居在所應許的地域,與有同樣恩許的承繼人:依撒格和雅各伯,寄居在帳幕內,期待著那有堅固基礎的城;這城的工程師和建築者,就是天主。因著信德,連石女撒辣,雖然過了適當年齡,也獲得懷孕生子的能力,因為她相信,那應許者是信實的。因此,由一個人,且由一個已屆暮年的人,生育子孫,有如天上的星辰那麼多,又如海邊的沙粒,不可勝數。這些人,還未獲得所恩許的,就懷著信德死去。他們雖只由遠處觀望,便表示歡迎,並明認自己在世上,只是外方人和旅客。的確,說這話的人,是表示自己正在尋找一個家鄉。如果他們仍懷念所離開的家鄉,他們還有回鄉的機會;但是,事實上,他們現在所渴望的,是一個更美麗的家鄉,即天上的家鄉。因此,天主自稱是他們的天主,又不以他們為恥,因為,天主已給他們預備了一座城。因著信德,亞巴郎在受試探時,獻上了依撒格。亞巴郎就是那承受了恩許的人,但他卻獻上了自己的獨生子。原來天主曾向亞巴郎說過:「只有由依撒格所生的,才稱為你的後裔。」亞巴郎深信:天主有使人從死者中復活的能力,因此,他又得回了依撒格,以作預像。——上主的話。

路加福音 12:32-48

那時候,耶穌對門徒說:「你們小小的羊群,不要害怕!因為你們的父,喜歡把天國賜給你們。「要變賣你們所有的,來施捨,為你們自己準備不朽的錢囊、在天上準備取用不盡的寶藏;在那裡,盜賊不能走近,蠹蟲也不能損壞,因為你們的寶藏在那裡,你們的心,也必在那裡。「你們要束上腰,點著燈;應當如同僕人,等候自己的主人,由婚宴回來,為的是主人來到,一敲門,就立刻給他開門。主人來到時,所遇見醒寤著的那些僕人,是有福的。我實在告訴你們:主人要束上腰,請他們入席,自己親自伺候他們。主人二更來也罷,三更來也罷,他所遇見醒寤著的僕人,是有福的。「你們應該明白這一點:如果家主知道盜賊何時要來,【他必要醒寤,】 決不容許自己的房屋被挖穿。你們也應當準備,因為在你們料想不到的時辰,人子就來了。」伯多祿說:「主,你講這個比喻,是為我們呢,還是為眾人?」主說:「究竟誰是忠信及精明的管家?不是那受主人委派,管理自己的家僕,按時分配食糧的人嗎?主人回來時,看見他如此行事,那僕人才是有福的。我實在告訴你們:主人必要委派他,管理自己的一切財產。如果那個僕人心裡說:我的主人必會遲來;他便開始拷打僕婢,也吃也喝也醉酒。在他料想不到的日子,不知覺的時刻,那僕人的主人就會來到,必要剷除他,使他與不信的人,遭受同樣的命運。「那知道主人的旨意,而偏偏不作準備,或竟然不奉行他旨意的僕人,必然要多受拷打;那不知道,而做了該受拷打之事的,要少受拷打。給誰的多,向誰要的也多;交託誰的多,向誰索取的也格外多。」 -- 基督的福音

毫無疑問,我們生活在一個充滿著不信任和惡意欺詐的世界。許多人覺得任何人或機構都不值得信任,因為他們輕易作出承諾,卻極少遵守。當政客大肆宣佈新的稅務優惠或減稅時,市民經常不滿地回應,「落實了,我們才信!」他們以「眼見為實」作生活格言。可能他們的信心已不知落在何方?這樣嚴重的信心赤字,可能修復嗎?本主日的讀經提醒我們,信德雖無形,卻確實「是所希望之事的擔保,是未見之事的確證」(希 11:1)。然而,信德之恩也要求我們作出回應。天主邀請我們參與祂的救世計劃。

亞巴郎、撒辣及梅瑟的信德證明我們的天主是永遠信實的;儘管我們不相信,祂的仁愛及慈悲卻是無限的。我們猶如以色列子民,一而再地背離天主;也許出於恐懼、目光短淺、貪婪、不耐煩,又或是過大的自尊心。我們信靠自己的本能多於天主的旨意;為短暫的利益放棄真實的恩寵。《智慧書》提醒我們天主的信實。書中形容以色列先祖在「那一夜」出離埃及的勇氣,來自他們「確實知道」了巴斯卦奇蹟 (智 18:6)。他們未曾見到,卻亳無疑問地相信了!因為他們的勇氣根植於天主的「誓言」或承諾。他們信靠那在歷史上與他們先祖一直同行的忠信的天主, 並在祂內獲得勇氣。的確,「上主選為自己產業的百姓,真是有福」(詠 33:12)。

同樣,亞巴郎的信德鼓勵我們對天主要有信心。「因著信德,亞巴郎一蒙召選,就聽命往他將要承受為產業的地方去了:他出走時,還不知道要到那裡去」(希 11:8)。他和撒辣離開了熟悉且舒服的地方,「作客他鄉」住「在帳幕內」(希 11:9)。撒辣也令人敬佩,起初她笑看「老來生子」這想法,但最終也相信了「因為她相信那應許者是忠信的」(希 11:11)。此外,當天主要求亞巴郎獻上「獨生子」依撒格時,他因相信天主的許諾,「祇有由依撒格所生的,纔稱為你的後裔」以及天主有使人從「死者中」復活的能力,便毫不猶豫地服從了 (希 11:18-19)。最後,聖保祿這樣解釋:亞巴郎雖從未踏足應許之地,但他仍然忠信於天主,因他「所渴念的,實是一個更美麗的家鄉,即天上的家鄉」(希 11:14)。天主將一切給予亞巴郎,但同時也等待亞巴郎自由的回應。「給誰的多,向誰要的也多;交托誰的多,向誰索取的也格外多」(路 12:48)。真信德聚焦於「所希望之事的擔保,是未見之事的確證」,的確,亞巴郎自覺的決定不單是真信德的典範,也顯示了和天主——那最終的「工程師和建築者」——合作的重要性 (希 11:1,10)。

的而且確,當天主藉亞巴郎、撒辣及梅瑟展開祂至美的救世工程時,天主也邀請我們與祂合作。他們的榜樣提醒我們不要相信世界上的空言,而要相信及投靠天主的愛和承諾。但願我們的心在天主內心安神樂,「因為你們的寶藏在那裡,你們的心也必在那裡」(路 12:34)。如舊約所描述的天主眾聖者,我們也得到天主所賜隆恩,故此,回應天主的召叫,我們「不要害怕」 (路 12:32)。

Posted: August 11, 2019

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


其他主日反省

懶惰還是休息? Fr. Jusin Huang

你們誰在家裡做事最多?丈夫還是妻子?你,還是你的兄弟姐妹?誰什麼都不做?把他們指出來! 我們今天談論的是「懶惰」這個問題。有些人下班回家後,從不做飯,不打掃,也從不會主動幫別人的忙。他們還說他們需要休息,覺得上個小學五年級很辛苦的什麼的。現在是「安息夏天」──我們在天主內休息,慶祝祂;但有些人過的是「安息年」。

繼續閱讀 >
丙年常年期第十九主日:聽從 吳智勳神父

今日三篇讀經,讓我嘗試用「聆聽」兩個字把它們連起來。第一篇讀經提到關於「那一夜」的事,那一夜是指上主解救以色列人脫離埃及奴役的那一晚。以色列人很重視那逾越的晚上,世世代代都再聽那一夜的故事,希望後代的子孫不要忘記天主對他們的愛。這就是聆聽的作用,使人牢記天主的眷顧,提高感恩的警覺。

繼續閱讀 >