The Spiritualization of the Body

Fifth Sunday of Lent

Ezekiel 37:12-14

Thus says the Lord GOD: O my people, I will open your graves and have you rise from them, and bring you back to the land of Israel. Then you shall know that I am the LORD, when I open your graves and have you rise from them, O my people! I will put my spirit in you that you may live, and I will settle you upon your land; thus you shall know that I am the LORD. I have promised, and I will do it, says the LORD.

Romans 8:8-11

Brothers and sisters: Those who are in the flesh cannot please God. But you are not in the flesh; on the contrary, you are in the spirit, if only the Spirit of God dwells in you. Whoever does not have the Spirit of Christ does not belong to him. But if Christ is in you, although the body is dead because of sin, the spirit is alive because of righteousness. If the Spirit of the one who raised Jesus from the dead dwells in you, the one who raised Christ from the dead will give life to your mortal bodies also, through his Spirit dwelling in you.

John 11:3-7, 17, 20-27, 33B-45

The sisters of Lazarus sent word to Jesus, saying, "Master, the one you love is ill." When Jesus heard this he said, "This illness is not to end in death, but is for the glory of God, that the Son of God may be glorified through it." Now Jesus loved Martha and her sister and Lazarus. So when he heard that he was ill, he remained for two days in the place where he was. Then after this he said to his disciples, "Let us go back to Judea." When Jesus arrived, he found that Lazarus had already been in the tomb for four days. When Martha heard that Jesus was coming, she went to meet him; but Mary sat at home. Martha said to Jesus, "Lord, if you had been here, my brother would not have died. But even now I know that whatever you ask of God, God will give you." Jesus said to her, "Your brother will rise." Martha said, "I know he will rise, in the resurrection on the last day." Jesus told her, "I am the resurrection and the life; whoever believes in me, even if he dies, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord. I have come to believe that you are the Christ, the Son of God, the one who is coming into the world." He became perturbed and deeply troubled, and said, "Where have you laid him?" They said to him, "Sir, come and see." And Jesus wept. So the Jews said, "See how he loved him." But some of them said, "Could not the one who opened the eyes of the blind man have done something so that this man would not have died?" So Jesus, perturbed again, came to the tomb. It was a cave, and a stone lay across it. Jesus said, "Take away the stone." Martha, the dead man's sister, said to him, "Lord, by now there will be a stench; he has been dead for four days." Jesus said to her, "Did I not tell you that if you believe you will see the glory of God?" So they took away the stone. And Jesus raised his eyes and said, "Father, I thank you for hearing me. I know that you always hear me; but because of the crowd here I have said this, that they may believe that you sent me." And when he had said this, He cried out in a loud voice, "Lazarus, come out!" The dead man came out, tied hand and foot with burial bands, and his face was wrapped in a cloth. So Jesus said to them, "Untie him and let him go." Now many of the Jews who had come to Mary and seen what he had done began to believe in him.

Two ideas have crossed my mind as I reflect on the Mass readings of the 5th Sunday of Lent:

First, the Christian conviction that the human body will be resurrected on the last day is consistently taught throughout the Scriptures, both New Testament and Old. Such consistency speaks to the centrality and significance of this teaching in the Christian faith. It also explains St. Paul’s uncompromising position in defending resurrection: “But if Christ is preached as raised from the dead, how can some among you say there is no resurrection of the dead? If there is no resurrection of the dead, then neither has Christ been raised. And if Christ has not been raised, then empty (too) is our preaching; empty, too, your faith” (1 Cor 15: 12-14). In this special season of Lent and Easter that celebrates Jesus’ passion and eventual triumph over death in the form of a glorious and resurrected body of agility, clarity, impassibility, and subtility, it comes as no surprise that resurrection is the common thread connecting the selected passages of Ezekiel, Romans, and John in this Sunday’s liturgy of the word (1 Cor 15:42-44, St. T. Aquinas, The Compendium of Theology, I.168).

Second, the hope of resurrection never ceases to trigger in us a deep yearning for the day when all of humanity will be freed from the life-long opposition between the body and the spirit – an opposition so painful and exasperating that St. Paul called it a “war”: “I see in my members another principle at war with the law of my mind, taking me captive to the law of sin that dwells in my members. Miserable one that I am! Who will deliver me from this mortal body?” (Romans 7:23-24) Sweet and liberating is the realization that in the resurrection, the body, in its spiritualized form, will return to perfect unity and harmony with the spirit. According to St. John Paul II, spiritualization of the body “means not only that the spirit will dominate the body, but, I would say, that it will fully permeate the body… The resurrection will consist in the perfect participation of all that is physical in man in what is spiritual in him” (General Audience, December 9, 1981).

“Come, Lord Jesus!” or Maranatha! in Aramaic is the very last word of love uttered by the Church, portrayed as a bride in John’s apocalyptic vision, to her Beloved Groom in concluding the long history of salvation (Revelation 22:20). Together with the Church, let’s call out to the Groom, our Lord Jesus Christ: M-A-R-A-N-A-T-H-A! Come, Lord Jesus! We long for the day of the resurrection – the day our body, redeemed and spiritualized, returns to perfect unity and harmony with the spirit; the day God’s prophetic word in the beginning about marriage as husband and wife becoming one body is perfectly fulfilled in the union of Christ and his Church!

Posted: April 2, 2017

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


Other Sunday Reflections

God’s Epiphanies in our life
Today’s readings are about God’s epiphanies in our life, but we need patience, focused listening, and faith before we can hear or see them. Continue Reading >
Eighteenth Sunday In Ordinary Time
How to turn our littleness into greatness?
"Incline your ear, and come to me; listen, so that you may live"(Is 55:3) Continue Reading >
Eighteenth Sunday In Ordinary Time
Would You Bring Only the Old or the New?
What does Jesus teach about the Kingdom of God? What is the significance of rejecting the ideologies of both left and right, the idolatry of both the new and the… Continue Reading >

屬神的身體

四旬期第五主日

厄則克耳先知書 37:12-14

吾主上主這樣說:「看,我要親自打開你們的墳墓;我的百姓,我要從你們的墳墓中,把你們領出來,引你們進入以色列地域。我的百姓!當我打開你們的墳墓,把你們從墳墓領出來的時候,你們便承認我是上主。我要把我的神注入你們內,使你們復活,叫你們安居在你們的地域;那時,你們便要承認我,上主言出必行——吾主上主的斷語。」

羅馬書 8:8-11

弟兄姊妹們:凡隨從肉性的人,決不能得天主的歡心。至於你們,你們已不屬於肉性,而是屬於聖神,只要天主的聖神,住在你們內。誰若沒有基督的聖神,誰就不屬於基督。如果基督在你們內,身體固然因罪惡而死亡,但神魂卻賴正義而生活。再者,如果那使耶穌從死者中復活者的聖神,住在你們內,那麼,那使基督從死者中復活的,也必要藉那住在你們內的聖神,使你們有死的身體復活。

若望福音 11:3-7,17,20-27,33-45 【短式】

那時候,拉匝祿的兩個姊妹,便派人到耶穌那裡,說:「主啊,你所愛的人病了!」耶穌聽了,便說:「這病不至於死,只是為彰顯天主的光榮,並為叫天主子因此受光榮。」耶穌素來疼愛瑪爾大及她的妹妹和拉匝祿。當耶穌聽說拉匝祿病了,仍在原地逗留了兩天。此後,耶穌對門徒說:「我們再到猶太去吧!」耶穌一到了伯達尼,得知拉匝祿在墳墓裡,已經四天了。瑪爾大一聽說耶穌來了,便去迎接他;瑪利亞仍坐在家裡。瑪爾大對耶穌說:「主!如果你在這裡,我的兄弟決不會死!就是現在,我也知道:你無論向天主求什麼,天主必要賜給你。」耶穌對瑪爾大說:「你的兄弟必定要復活。」瑪爾大說:「我知道在末日復活時,他必要復活。」耶穌對瑪爾大說:「我就是復活,就是生命;信從我的,即使死了,仍要活著;凡活著而信從我的人,必永遠不死。你信麼?」瑪爾大回答說:「是的,主,我信你是默西亞,天主子,要來到世界上的那一位。」耶穌心神感傷,難過起來,於是說:「你們把他安放在那裡?」他們回答說:「主,你來,看吧!」耶穌哭了。於是猶太人說:「看,他多麼愛他啊!」其中有些人說:「他既開了瞎子的眼睛,難道不能使這人不死麼?」耶穌心中又感傷起來,來到墳墓前。這墳墓是個洞穴,前面有一塊石頭堵著。耶穌說:「挪開這塊石頭!」死者的姐姐瑪爾大向耶穌說:「主!已經臭了,因為已經四天了。」耶穌對瑪爾大說:「我不是告訴過你:如果你信,就會看到天主的光榮嗎?」他們便挪開了石頭。耶穌舉目向上,說:「父啊!我感謝你,因為你俯聽了我。我本來知道你常常俯聽我,但是,我說這話,是為了四周站立的群眾,好叫他們相信,是你派遣了我。」說完這話,便大聲喊說:「拉匝祿!出來吧!」死者便出來了,腳和手都纏著布條,面上還蒙著汗巾。耶穌向他們說:「解開他,讓他行走吧。」那些來到瑪利亞那裡的猶太人,一看到耶穌所行的事,就有許多人相信了他。

四旬期第五主日讀經的反思,使我腦海中浮現著兩個想法:

首先,基督徒認為人的肉身會在末日復活的信念,清楚地貫連著新舊約聖經。這教導的貫徹性正好說明它的重要性,也顯示出它的確是基督徒信仰的核心。 這也解釋了聖保祿在辯說復活時絕不妥協的立場:「我們既然傳報了基督已由死者中復活了,怎麼你們中還有人說:死人復活是沒有的事呢? 假如死人復活是沒有的事,基督也就沒有復活;假如基督沒有復活,那麼,我們的宣講便是空的,你們的信仰也是空的」 (格前15:12-14) 。在四旬期和復活期裡,教會特別紀念耶穌受難和復活,慶祝祂最後戰勝死亡,以擁有神速、神光、神健、神透特恩的肉身,光榮復活。既然如此,這主日聖道禮儀以復活為主題,貫連著三篇選自厄則克耳、羅馬書及若望福音的讀經,也是順理成章的事 (格前15:42-44,《神學大全》I.168 聖湯瑪斯著 ) 。

其次,復活的希望從未停止觸發我們五內中的渴望,我們渴望有一天人可以擺脫身體和靈魂之間的終生對立。這對立令人如此痛苦和氣憤,聖保祿甚至稱之為一場「戰爭」:「可是,我發覺在我的肢體內,另有一條法律,與我理智所贊同的法律交戰,並把我擄去,叫我隸屬於那在我肢體內的罪惡的法律。我這個人真不幸呀!誰能救我脫離這該死的肉身呢?」(羅馬書7:23-24) 原來在復活時,肉身將會以屬神的形式,和諧地與靈魂重新結合,水乳交融。這理解是何等的甜蜜啊!它讓我們釋然,心靈舒暢。據聖若望保祿二世解釋,所謂屬神的身體「不僅意味著靈性將主宰身體的一切,但我會說, 它將完全地滲透著整個身體… 復活是人的肉體性天衣無縫地參與著人靈性上的一切。」(公開接見: 1981年12月9日) 。

「主耶穌,你來罷!」即阿拉美語的Maranatha! 是教會對她至愛的新郎所說的,最後一句情話。在若望的神視和默示文體中,教會被描繪為新娘,悠長的救恩史也在新娘對新郎如癡如醉的呼喚中徐徐結幕 (默示錄 22:20)。就讓我們與教會一起呼喚新郎,我們的主耶穌基督:M-A-R-A-N-A-T-H-A! 主耶穌,你來罷! 我們渴望復活。在那一天,我們被救贖了和屬神的身體,將與靈魂結合,恢復完美和諧; 在那一天,天主在起初已預告了的,婚姻是丈夫和妻子二人結合而成為一體的預言,將滿全於教會與基督的完美結合之中!

Posted: April 2, 2017

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 四旬期第五主日:拉匝祿,出來! 吳智勳神父

上兩主日的福音提到耶穌基督是活水、是光明,今日的福音講耶穌是復活與生命,彼此都是相關連的。水是屬靈生命的開始,光是生命的指示,復活是生命的最終目的。這一切都指向基督,以基督為中心。

繼續閱讀 >