The Catholic Church and Catholicity

Sixth Sunday of Easter

Acts 10:25-26, 34-35, 44-48

When Peter entered, Cornelius met him and, falling at his feet, paid him homage. Peter, however, raised him up, saying, "Get up. I myself am also a human being." Then Peter proceeded to speak and said, "In truth, I see that God shows no partiality. Rather, in every nation whoever fears him and acts uprightly is acceptable to him." While Peter was still speaking these things, the Holy Spirit fell upon all who were listening to the word. The circumcised believers who had accompanied Peter were astounded that the gift of the Holy Spirit should have been poured out on the Gentiles also, for they could hear them speaking in tongues and glorifying God. Then Peter responded, "Can anyone withhold the water for baptizing these people, who have received the Holy Spirit even as we have?" He ordered them to be baptized in the name of Jesus Christ.

1 John 4:7-10

Beloved, let us love one another, because love is of God; everyone who loves is begotten by God and knows God. Whoever is without love does not know God, for God is love. In this way the love of God was revealed to us: God sent his only Son into the world so that we might have life through him. In this is love: not that we have loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as expiation for our sins.

John 15:9-17

Jesus said to his disciples: "As the Father loves me, so I also love you. Remain in my love. If you keep my commandments, you will remain in my love, just as I have kept my Father's commandments and remain in his love. "I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and your joy might be complete. This is my commandment: love one another as I love you. No one has greater love than this, to lay down one's life for one's friends. You are my friends if you do what I command you. I no longer call you slaves, because a slave does not know what his master is doing. I have called you friends, because I have told you everything I have heard from my Father. It was not you who chose me, but I who chose you and appointed you to go and bear fruit that will remain, so that whatever you ask the Father in my name he may give you. This I command you: love one another."

“But you will receive power when the holy Spirit comes upon you, and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem, throughout Judea and Samaria, and to the ends of the earth” (Acts 1:8). Jesus’ words to the apostles in the beginning of the Book of Acts outline the course of the entire book. With the guidance of the Holy Spirit, the apostles preach the gospel in Jerusalem, Judea, Samaria, and then throughout the Roman world. In a way, Acts is a prologue to the rest of the history of the Church whose mandate of catholicity is to bring the gospel to the ends of the earth because God “wills everyone to be saved and to come to knowledge of the truth” (Ignatius Catholic Study Bible – New Testament, p.203; 1Timothy 2:4).

The theme of catholicity or the universality of salvation, called a “mystery” by St. Paul, permeates the entire Bible. Mostly hidden in the Old Testament, it is fully manifested in Jesus’ time (Col 1:26-27, Eph 3:5-6, Rm 16:25-26). On this 6th Sunday of Easter, we catch a glimpse of it in the first reading – in the home of Cornelius. Often called the “Gentile Pentecost”, the scene depicts the outpouring of the gift of the Holy Spirit on the Gentiles, which surprises even Peter’s circumcised followers (Acts 10:45). The theme is presented skillfully by Luke as a reminder to the reader that the Church’s mission as the bearer of Good News after Jesus’ Ascension is to proclaim to all nations God’s unconditional love for every human being.

The Church’s important mission of reaching out to every nation is further affirmed in the second reading, as something rooted in the very identity of God who is love (1 Jn 4:8). Catholicity or universality, in the final account, is about love. It’s about inclusiveness. Salvation is not only for the Jews; it’s for everyone. It does not pretend to see no differences among us. But for the sake of love, it does endeavor to embrace and include everyone in spite of our differences. In doing so, God, who is love, is manifested here on earth. The gospel passage on Jesus’ new commandment – “love one another as I love you” (Jn 15:12) – chosen specifically to complement this Sunday’s theme of universality, is the common ground that connects Jesus’ mission and the Church’s.

The memories of my university days, once so vivid and dear to my heart, have been getting more and more blurry as I age. But I still remember the early days of my freshman year when I bumped into a couple of Chinese Catholics on campus. I was just an unbeliever then, who didn’t even know what the Mass was. For whatever reason, they invited me to attend a Mass at the Assumption Chapel on the university campus. After the liturgy, they introduced me to the chaplain of the Chapel’s campus ministry, who was a Basilian Father. The encounter that had seemed so casual and inconsequential was in fact the beginning of my lifelong involvement with the Catholic Church, taking me to the door of the sacred.

Like many other foreign students from Hong Kong at the time, I was very poor financially. One day, I passed by the MacDonald’s close to the university campus. My stomach was groaning in protest, for it had not consumed anything all morning and lunchtime was here. It was nagging me for a big Mac and wouldn’t mind an order of fries as well. But remembering the miserly amount I had in my bank account, we eventually had to settle for just an apple pie.

It was hard to command the English language. Harder still was the challenge of adjusting to the North American culture. I tried very hard to convince myself that I belonged in spite of feeling very marginalized. “Tough” was probably too much of an understatement of the first few months of my freshman year. A better word would be “desolation”; maybe “devastation”. There were times when I had second thoughts about my decision to leave home for overseas study.

Joining the Assumption Chapel community was a complete game-changer. Although my proficiency in English didn’t improve overnight, and my demeanor as an oriental remained foreign to the parishioners, I could see clearly the extra efforts that they made to make me feel welcome. It was not easy to get comfortable with people you didn’t really know. And the feeling was mutual. There were awkward moments when both parties wanted to be nice but just couldn’t think of anything to say or find any common interests. But one thing was clear to me: This was a community I could call home because in it I found receptivity, inclusiveness, and love.

While grateful to the Assumption Chapel community for their support at a time when I needed it most, I had never thought much about the reason for their kindness. To me, it was just something that every church community would do. While this is true, our reflection for this Sunday makes me realize that when the Catholic Church opens her arms to welcome all peoples – just as Peter had welcomed Cornelius and the uncircumcised in the second reading and the Assumption Chapel community had welcomed me – she does so not only because of charity, important as it is in Jesus’ teaching, it’s also because of catholicity. And the two are intertwined.

Posted: May 9, 2021

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


Other Sunday Reflections

Heaven Is Full of Cinderella Occupants
Blessings do not go to the powerful people, but to the humble and lowly ones: the poor, the mournful, the meek, and the hungry (cf. Mt 5:3-7). Continue Reading >
“My flesh is food . . . my blood is drink”
a Eucharistic life of faith, love, service, piety, humility , gratitude and reverence Continue Reading >
It Matters That God is Called ‘Father’
Why is God called ‘Father’? Can He be called ‘Mother’? In the Second Reading, we see an example of the unanimous tradition of calling God, ‘Father’: “All who are led… Continue Reading >

天主教會及其普世性

復活期第六主日

宗徒大事錄 10:25-26,34-35,44-48

當伯多祿到了凱撒勒雅時,科爾乃略去迎接他,跪伏在他腳前叩拜。伯多祿拉他起來,說:「起來!我自己也是個人。」伯多祿於是開口說:「我真正明白了:天主是不看情面的;凡在各民族中,敬畏他,而又履行正義的人,都是他所中悅的。」伯多祿還在講這些話的時候,聖神降在所有聽道的人身上。那些受過割損與伯多祿同來的信徒,都驚訝聖神的恩惠,也傾注在外邦人身上,因為聽見他們說各種語言,並頌揚天主。那時,伯多祿就發言說:「這些人既領受了聖神,和我們一樣,誰能阻止他們接受水洗呢?」 於是,他吩咐人以耶穌基督的名,給他們施洗。以後,他們要求伯多祿再住了幾天。

若望一書 4:7-10

親愛的諸位:我們應該彼此相愛,因為愛是出於天主;凡有愛的,都是生於天主,也認識天主;那不愛的,也不認識天主,因為天主是愛。天主對我們的愛,在這事上已顯示出來:就是天主把自己的獨生子,打發到世界上來,好使我們藉著他,得到生命。愛就在於此:不是我們愛了天主,而是他愛了我們,且打發自己的兒子,為我們做贖罪祭。

若望福音 15:9-17

那時候,耶穌對門徒說:「正如父愛了我,同樣我也愛了你們;你們應存在我的愛內。如果你們遵守我的命令,便存在我的愛內,正如我遵守了我父的命令,而存在他的愛內一樣。「我對你們講論了這些事,為使我的喜樂存在你們內,使你們的喜樂圓滿無缺。「這是我的命令:你們該彼此相愛,如同我愛了你們一樣。人如果為自己的朋友,捨掉性命,再沒有比這更大的愛情了。「你們如果實行我所命令你們的,你們就是我的朋友。我不再稱你們為僕人,因為僕人不知道他主人所做的事。我稱你們為朋友,因為凡由我父聽來的一切,我都顯示給你們了。「不是你們揀選了我,而是我揀選了你們,並派你們去結果實,去結常存的果實;如此,你們因我的名,無論向父求什麼,他必賜給你們。「這就是我命令你們的:你們應該彼此相愛。」

「但當聖神降臨於你們身上時,你們將充滿聖神的德能,要在耶路撒冷及全猶太和撒瑪黎雅,並直到地極,為我作證人」(宗 1:8)。在《宗徒大事錄》的開端,耶穌給宗徒們的說話,概述了整部書的進展。在聖神的引領下,宗徒們在耶路撒冷、猶太、撒瑪黎雅傳佈福音,其後並遍及整個羅馬世界。可以說,《宗徒大事錄》為教會後來的歷史作序幕,而普世教會的任務是把福音帶到世界的每一個角落,因為天主「願意所有的人都得救,並得以認識真理」(Ignatius Catholic Study Bible – New Testament, p.203; 弟前 2:4)。

救恩的至公性或普世性,聖保祿稱之為「奧秘」,這主題貫連着整部聖經。在舊約中,這主題大部分是隱藏著的,但在耶穌時期,便完全彰顯了(哥 1:26-27, 厄 3:5-6, 羅 16:25-26)。復活期第六主日的《讀經一》,在科爾乃略的家,驚鴻一瞥地,我們看到了救恩的普世性。這常被稱為「外邦人聖神降臨」的一幕,描繪了聖神的恩典如何傾注在外邦人身上,連受了割損的伯多祿的追隨者也大為驚訝(宗 10:45)。路加巧妙地把這主題表達,作為對讀者的提醒:耶穌升天後,教會作為傳播福音者的使命,是向普世萬民宣揚天主對每個人無條件的愛。

救恩的至公性或普世性,聖保祿稱之為「奧秘」,這主題貫連着整部聖經。在舊約中,這主題大部分是隱藏著的,但在耶穌時期,便完全彰顯了(哥 1:26-27, 厄 3:5-6, 羅 16:25-26)。復活期第六主日的《讀經一》,在科爾乃略的家,驚鴻一瞥地,我們看到了救恩的普世性。這常被稱為「外邦人聖神降臨」的一幕,描繪了聖神的恩典如何傾注在外邦人身上,連受了割損的伯多祿的追隨者也大為驚訝(宗 10:45)。路加巧妙地把這主題表達,作為對讀者的提醒:耶穌升天後,教會作為傳播福音者的使命,是向普世萬民宣揚天主對每個人無條件的愛。

曾幾何時,大學生活的回憶既深刻且珍貴,現隨着自己年事漸長,已日趨模糊。但我依然記得,在大學第一年初,在校園裏偶然遇上兩位華裔敎友。那時我還未信主,甚至不知道彌撒是什麼。不知何解,他們邀請我到大學校園裏的聖母升天小堂參與彌撒。聖祭完畢,他們介紹我認識在小堂負責校園事工的校牧,他是一位巴西略會的神父。這看似普通的偶遇,卻成了我終身參與天主教會的開始,把我引領到這神聖境域的大門前。

那時候,像很多來自香港的留學生一樣,我在經濟上拮据籌維,並不豐裕。有一天,我經過大學校園附近的麥當勞快餐店。我腹如雷鳴,似在抗議我整個上午都沒有吃東西,當時已經是午飯時候。我的胃在嘮嘮叨叨,想要一個巨無霸漢堡包,最好還有一客薯條。但當我想起銀行戶口僅餘的存款,最後我們還是吃了一個蘋果批便了事。

要掌握英語真不容易,但更困難的是適應北美文化的挑戰。雖然我覺得自己是邊緣人,我仍極力說服自己,我是屬於這裏的。若用「艱難」這兩個字來形容大學第一年的頭幾個月,可以說是極度的輕描淡寫。比較貼切的是「可悲」,甚至是「悽慘」。有時我不禁對於自己離家到外國留學的決定,有所懷疑。

要掌握英語真不容易,但更困難的是適應北美文化的挑戰。雖然我覺得自己是邊緣人,我仍極力說服自己,我是屬於這裏的。若用「艱難」這兩個字來形容大學第一年的頭幾個月,可以說是極度的輕描淡寫。比較貼切的是「可悲」,甚至是「悽慘」。有時我不禁對於自己離家到外國留學的決定,有所懷疑。

聖母升天小堂團體在我最需要扶持的時候給我的支持,讓我銘感於心,但我可從沒去想太多他們對我關懷備至的原因。對我來說,這是每一個教會團體都會做的。雖然這想法是正確的,但本主日的反思,讓我意識到,當天主普世教會張開雙臂歡迎世人時—正如在《讀經二》中伯多祿歡迎科爾乃略和未受過割損的人,和聖母升天小堂團體歡迎我—教會這樣做,不單是出於愛德,儘管愛德在耶穌的教導中極為重要,也是因為教會是至公的。而這兩者是互相連結的。

Posted: May 9, 2021

Edmond Lo

 
As a Catholic speaker, writer and RCIA Catechist, Edmond is very active in promoting and defending the Catholic faith. He has a MBA, a CPA-CMA, and a MTS (Master of Theological Studies) from U.T., St. Augustine's Seminary. Having worked many years as the CFO of a non-profit organization, he retired at 55 to follow his special vocation of evangelization. The activities he conducts include the CMCC Bible Study Program, the Catechism Revisited Program, the FLL Spiritual Formation Program, Living in the Holy Tradition, RCIA, family groups and retreats, etc. Edmond is a member of the FLL Core Team. He writes Sunday Mass reflections regularly for the weekly FLL NewSpiration. His personal blog: http://elodocuments.blogspot.com/


其他主日反省

幸福家庭的三個特徵 Fr. Justin Huang

列夫·托爾斯泰(列夫·托爾斯泰)的俄羅斯經典小說安娜·卡列尼娜”(安娜·卡列尼娜)以這樣一句名言開頭:“所有幸福的家庭都是相似的;每個不幸的家庭卻有自己第二部分似乎是正確的,因為每個人都可能因為各種原因而不快樂。但第一部分是真的嗎?所有幸福的家庭都是一樣的?所有人都開心?

繼續閱讀 >
乙年(馬爾谷) 復活期第六主日:一字真言-愛 吳智勳神父

今日的書信和福音都以愛作主題。書信中指出「天主是愛」,而福音中耶穌給予愛的命令:「你們要彼此相愛,如同我愛了你們一樣」,這兩句可算是聖經中最偉大的話。「天主是愛」幾乎可以解答我們所有信仰的疑難,而「愛的命令」給了我們行事的力量和動機。

繼續閱讀 >