“The holy Spirit … will teach you everything and remind you of all that [I] told you” (Jn 14:26)

Sixth Sunday of Easter

ACTS 8:5-8, 14-17

Philip went down to the city of Samaria and proclaimed the Christ to them. With one accord, the crowds paid attention to what was said by Philip when they heard it and saw the signs he was doing. For unclean spirits, crying out in a loud voice, came out of many possessed people, and many paralyzed or crippled people were cured. There was great joy in that city. Now when the apostles in Jerusalem heard that Samaria had accepted the word of God, they sent them Peter and John, who went down and prayed for them, that they might receive the Holy Spirit, for it had not yet fallen upon any of them; they had only been baptized in the name of the Lord Jesus. Then they laid hands on them and they received the Holy Spirit.

1 Peter 3:15-18

Beloved: Sanctify Christ as Lord in your hearts. Always be ready to give an explanation to anyone who asks you for a reason for your hope, but do it with gentleness and reverence, keeping your conscience clear, so that, when you are maligned, those who defame your good conduct in Christ may themselves be put to shame. For it is better to suffer for doing good, if that be the will of God, than for doing evil. For Christ also suffered for sins once, the righteous for the sake of the unrighteous, that he might lead you to God. Put to death in the flesh, he was brought to life in the Spirit.

John 14:15-21

Jesus said to his disciples: "If you love me, you will keep my commandments. And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Advocate to be with you always, the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot accept, because it neither sees nor knows him. But you know him, because he remains with you, and will be in you. I will not leave you orphans; I will come to you. In a little while the world will no longer see me, but you will see me, because I live and you will live. On that day you will realize that I am in my Father and you are in me and I in you. Whoever has my commandments and observes them is the one who loves me. And whoever loves me will be loved by my Father, and I will love him and reveal myself to him."

Recently a group of high school friends who have scattered throughout the world and re-connected in the last few years by social media started a discussion about the pandemic. The discussion became heated, turned ugly, people began to accuse each other for being stubborn, judgmental and for spreading fake information. Then some people, myself included, tried to calm the group with messages of faith and solidarity; that we should entrust the pandemic to God, do our best to be on the lookout for each other, to lend a hand to those who need help and to observe guidelines of staying home, keeping a social distance to protect ourselves and others and so forth. We believe with faith that God will do the rest. This message did not go down too well and they, many of them Catholics, indeed “demand[ed] from [us] an accounting for the hope that is in [us]”; (1 Peter 3:16). To have to explain to a group the reason of my hope is a novel experience and of course I was not quite “ready to make my defense”, all I managed was to do it with “gentleness and reverence” as St. Peter teaches us (1 Peter 3:15).

To account for the hope we have in God, we can find reassurance in this Sunday’s Gospel reading. It is Jesus’ last discourse before his Passion when he said to his disciples: “If you love me, you will keep my commandments. And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Advocate, to be with you forever” (John 14:14-15). “The Advocate, the holy Spirit that the Father will send in my name – he will teach you everything and remind you of all that [I] told you” (Jn 14:26).

Jesus our teacher is thoughtful. He knows our weaknesses and we need help to reinforce our faith on our earthly journey. He has given us the Holy Spirit but are we listening? I still remember the homily I heard during a retreat many years ago. We have two ears, we must not use both to listen to the world, we must reserve one for listening to the Holy Spirit whose voice may become clearer if we pray with a faithful heart.

The Holy Spirit will help us remember Jesus’ words and deeds – the source of our faith and courage to entrust all to God and be able to make our everyday decisions in life according to his teaching. We will be able to live out Jesus’ commandment of love, “This is my commandment: love one another as I love you” (Jn 15:12).

In these difficult times, let us rise to the challenge to become witnesses of the Resurrected Christ, pray with reverence and faith, and to look out for each other in gentleness and love.

Posted: May 17, 2020

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

This is Justice, This is Mercy
Mr. Perry, our school principal, once shared a story about when he was young, he and his family took the ferry to Salt Spring Island. He had a friend who… Continue Reading >
“You do not know what you are asking” (Mk 10:38)
By this time in his ministry, Jesus has foretold three times his own Death and Resurrection to the apostles. The last prediction is the most detailed, specifying that his death… Continue Reading >
Too hard a demand from Jesus?
This Sunday's Gospel reading is one of the many hard sayings of Jesus. It is about renunciation - first, of material possessions and second, of relations (rf Mk 10:23, 29).… Continue Reading >

「 ⋯聖神,必要教訓你們一切,也要使你們想起,我對你們所說的一切」 (若14:26)

復活期第六主日

宗徒大事錄 8:5-8,14-17

那時候,斐理伯下到撒瑪黎雅城,給眾人宣講基督。群眾留意斐理伯所講的話,都同心合意地聽教,並看見他所行的奇蹟:有許多附了邪魔的人,邪魔從他們身上,大聲喊叫著離開了,又有許多癱瘓的人和跛子,也被醫好了;為此,城裡的人皆大歡喜。 在耶路撒冷的宗徒,聽說撒瑪黎雅接受了天主的聖道,便打發伯多祿和若望去他們那裡。伯多祿和若望一到,就為他們祈禱,使他們領受聖神,因為聖神還沒有降臨在任何人身上;他們只是因主耶穌的名受過洗。那時,宗徒便給他們覆手,他們就領受了聖神。

伯多祿前書 3:15-18

親愛的諸位: 你們要在心裡尊崇基督為主;如果有人詢問你們心中所懷希望的理由,你們要時常準備答覆,且要以溫和、以敬畏之心答覆。要保持純潔的良心,好使那些誣告你們在基督內有良好品行的人,在他們誹謗你們的事上,感到羞愧。如果天主的旨意,要你們因行善而受苦,這總比因作惡而受苦更好,因為基督也曾一次為罪而死,且是義人代替不義的人,為將我們領到天主面前;就肉身來說,他固然被處死了;但就神魂來說,他卻復活了。

若望福音 14:15-21

那時候,耶穌對門徒說:「如果你們愛我,就要遵守我的命令;我也要求父,他必會賜給你們另一位護慰者,使他永遠與你們同在。他是世界所不能領受的真理之神,因為世界看不見他,也不認識他;你們卻認識他,因為他與你們同在,並在你們內。 「我決不留下你們做孤兒;我要回到你們這裡來。不久以後,世界就再看不見我,你們卻要看見我,因為我生活,你們也要生活。到那一天,你們便知道我在我父內,你們在我內,我也在你們內。接受我的命令而遵守的,便是愛我的人;誰愛我,我父也必愛他,我也要愛他,並將我自己顯示給他。」

我有一群散居世界各地,近年藉着社交媒體才重新聯繫的中學同學,大家就新冠肺炎疫症而展開討論。討論變得激烈,甚至醜陋,互相指責,批評別人固執,莽下判斷或散播假資料。另有一些人,包括我自己在內,則以信仰及團結的訊息,企圖使大家冷靜下來:我們應當把疫症交托給天主,自己則做好本份,互相關懷守望扶持,幫助有需要的人,遵循指引,留在家中,保持社交距離以保護自己和家人等等。我們懷著信德,相信天主會照料一切。他們當中有好些天主教徒卻不大接受,並「詢問【我們】心中所懷希望的理由」(伯前 3:16)。要向這小組解釋我懷有希望的理由,是個嶄新的經驗。當然,我沒有做好「時常準備答覆」,勉強做到的只是「以溫和、以敬畏的心 」去回應,如聖伯多祿對我們的教導(伯前 3:15)。

要解釋我們對天主懷有希望的理由,我們可以在本主日的福音讀經找到保證。耶穌在受難之前對門徒們的最後講話中說:「如果你們愛我,就要遵守我的命令;我也要求父,他必會賜給你們另一位護慰者,使他永遠與你們同在」(若14:14-15)。「那護慰者,就是父因我的名所要派遣來的聖神,他必要教訓你們一切,也要使你們想起,我對你們所說的一切」 (若 14:26)。

我們的老師 — 耶穌,對我們很細心。祂知道我們的弱點,知道我們在人生的旅途上需要援手,以鞏固我們的信德。祂給了我們聖神,但我們有聆聽嗎?我依然記得多年前在一個避靜聽到的道理;我們有兩隻耳朵,但兩耳不是用來聽世上的聲音的,而要留一隻耳朵聆聽聖神的聲音。我們要懷著充滿信德的心來祈禱,聖神的聲音才會變得清晰。

聖神幫助我們記着耶穌的言行 — 我們信德和勇氣的泉源,把一切交托天主並以祂的教導來作出日常生活的一切決定。這樣,我們便可以活出耶穌愛的誡命—「這是我的命令:你們該彼此相愛,如同我愛了你們一樣」(若 15:12)。

在這困難的時期,讓我們迎難而上,為復活的基督作見證,以虔敬和信德的心祈禱,在關懷互愛下互相扶持。

Posted: May 17, 2020

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 復活期第六主日:愛使人經驗聖神 吳智勳神父

福音中有一句令人費解的話:「他是世界所不能領受的真理之神,因為世界看不見他,也不認識他;你們卻認識他,因為他與你們同在。」(若 14:17)這句話能產生一連串的問題:為甚麼只有基督徒才認識聖神?這是否對別人不公平?的確,耶穌的門徒猶達斯(非出賣主的那個)曾問:「主,究竟為了甚麼你要將自己顯示給我們,而不顯示給世界呢?」(若 14:22)

繼續閱讀 >
克服對傳福音的恐懼 Fr. Jusin Huang

布雷特•鮑威爾(Brett Powell) 是北美的一位天主教領袖,也是我非常尊敬的人,他最近寫道:「在擔任全職傳教28年後,當我與他人分享信仰時,我仍然會感到緊張。我的肝臟在顫抖,我很想保持沉默,或者乾脆讓這一刻溜走。當我讀到這一點時,我想起我對傳福音,向人們宣揚講耶穌時仍有多少恐懼。

繼續閱讀 >