True love for God is expressed through obedience to His will.

Sixth Sunday of Easter

Acts 15:1-2, 22-29

Some who had come down from Judea were instructing the brothers, “Unless you are circumcised according to the Mosaic practice, you cannot be saved.” Because there arose no little dissension and debate by Paul and Barnabas with them, it was decided that Paul, Barnabas, and some of the others should go up to Jerusalem to the apostles and elders about this question. The apostles and elders, in agreement with the whole church, decided to choose representatives and to send them to Antioch with Paul and Barnabas. The ones chosen were Judas, who was called Barsabbas, and Silas, leaders among the brothers. This is the letter delivered by them: “The apostles and the elders, your brothers, to the brothers in Antioch, Syria, and Cilicia of Gentile origin: greetings. Since we have heard that some of our number who went out without any mandate from us have upset you with their teachings and disturbed your peace of mind, we have with one accord decided to choose representatives and to send them to you along with our beloved Barnabas and Paul, who have dedicated their lives to the name of our Lord Jesus Christ. So we are sending Judas and Silas who will also convey this same message by word of mouth: ‘It is the decision of the Holy Spirit and of us not to place on you any burden beyond these necessities, namely, to abstain from meat sacrificed to idols, from blood, from meats of strangled animals, and from unlawful marriage. If you keep free of these, you will be doing what is right. Farewell.’”

Revelation 21:10-14, 22-23

The angel took me in spirit to a great, high mountain and showed me the holy city Jerusalem coming down out of heaven from God. It gleamed with the splendor of God. Its radiance was like that of a precious stone, like jasper, clear as crystal. It had a massive, high wall, with twelve gates where twelve angels were stationed and on which names were inscribed, the names of the twelve tribes of the Israelites. There were three gates facing east, three north, three south, and three west. The wall of the city had twelve courses of stones as its foundation, on which were inscribed the twelve names of the twelve apostles of the Lamb. I saw no temple in the city for its temple is the Lord God almighty and the Lamb. The city had no need of sun or moon to shine on it, for the glory of God gave it light, and its lamp was the Lamb.

John 14:23-29

Jesus said to his disciples: “Whoever loves me will keep my word, and my Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our dwelling with him. Whoever does not love me does not keep my words; yet the word you hear is not mine but that of the Father who sent me. “I have told you this while I am with you. The Advocate, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you everything and remind you of all that I told you. Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give it to you. Do not let your hearts be troubled or afraid. You heard me tell you, ‘I am going away and I will come back to you.’ If you loved me, you would rejoice that I am going to the Father; for the Father is greater than I. And now I have told you this before it happens, so that when it happens you may believe.”

Today’s Gospel Reading is part of Jesus’ Last Discourse (Chapter 14 to 17). Earlier Jesus has given His disciples a farewell gift: a new commandment of brotherly love (Jn 13:34). From this brotherly love, not only the world will see and know Jesus, but those who keep His commandment will receive further gifts from Him, gifts that in the Old Testament time only God could give.

The love of the Father

In the Old Testament, the gauge of love is the love of God (Dt 6:5). Love of God is not about emotional or spiritual feeling but “to keep the commandments of the Lord and His statutes” (Dt 10:12-13) and He will love and watch over those who love Him (Prv 8:7, Ps 145:20). Jesus now connects the love of God to the love of one’s neighbor (Mt 22:36-40, Mk 12:28-31). He Himself is the yardstick in loving others. In keeping Jesus’ word, we keep God’s word (Jn 14:24; 16:15). The unity of the Father and the Son manifests itself in the Father’s love for those who now love the Son and God will not only watch over them but will make His home with them (Jn 14:21,23; Rv 21:3).

The divine indwelling

In the Old Testament, God dwelt among His chosen people in the tabernacle/temple (1 Kgs 8:27, Ez 37:27, Zec 2:10-13). Jesus now connects God’s presence to Himself (Mt 12:6, Jn 2:19; 14:7,9-10). After His departure from the world, through the coming of the Holy Spirit, He continues to live among those who love Him and are faithful to His word (Jn 14:16-17, 23-26). Today His abiding presence is in the Eucharist, in the Holy Scriptures and in the teachings of the Church. In baptism, Christians received not only sanctifying grace but also the divine indwelling of the Holy Trinity——God the Father (1 Jn 4:15-16), God the Son (Acts 17:28, Mt 28:20) and God the Holy Spirit (1 Cor 3:16, 6:19; 2 Cor 6:16).

Peace

In the Old Testament, Shalom (Hebrew for peace) is not just an absence of disturbances. It includes wholeness, harmony and prosperity. God alone is understood to be the source of peace (Jgs 6:24) and God’s peace is a gift (Lv 26:6, Jn 14:27). It will only be given to those who live in righteousness (Ps 85:8-10) and those who maintain a right relationship with Him (Is 26:3; 48:22; 57:20). Jesus is the Prince of Peace (Is 9:6, Eph 2:14) and He will give this gift of peace to those who love Him. It is not an alleviation of temporal want or stress (Jn 14:27) but an inner peace of calmness and strength which comforts the troubled hearts and gives courage in the midst of fear (Jn 16:33, 2 Thes 3:16, Rom 5:1, Phil 4:7).

These gifts reveal the intimate union of Jesus with His Father and His true nature as the Son of God. We are called to demonstrate our love for Him through faithfulness in keeping His word. Jesus is the one who truly loves God by perfectly obeying His will. In keeping Jesus’ word, we reflect Him not only in obedience but also in our love for God.

Posted: May 1, 2016

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

The Catholic Church and Catholicity
When the Catholic Church opens her arms to welcome all peoples, she does so not only because of charity, important as it is in Jesus’ teaching, it’s also because of… Continue Reading >
“Abide in me as I abide in you.”
From Jesus the Vine comes the natural outflow of life Continue Reading >
What our eyes cannot see, our heart perceives and understands
The Spirit in us; the same Spirit promised by Jesus and given to us through the sacrament of confirmation, sharpens all our senses, and most importantly our heart, to “taste… Continue Reading >

真正愛天主就是聽從祂的旨意

復活期第六主日

宗徒大事錄 15:1-2,22-29

那時候,有從猶太下來的幾個人,教訓眾弟兄說:「如果你們不按梅瑟的慣例,接受割損,不能得救。」保祿和巴爾納伯,於是同他們發生不少爭執和辯論。大家就指定保祿和巴爾納伯,與他們中的幾個人,上耶路撒冷,去見宗徒和長老,討論這問題。當時,宗徒和長老同全教會決定,從他們當中選幾個人,派他們同保祿和巴爾納伯,去安提約基雅。所派的,有號稱巴爾撒巴的猶達和息拉,是弟兄中的領導人物。他們帶去的信如下:「宗徒和眾長老弟兄,問候在安提約基雅、敘利亞和基里基雅,由外邦歸化的眾弟兄。我們聽說,有幾個從我們這裡去的,而並非我們所派去的人,講話擾亂你們,混亂了你們的心。我們取得同意後,決定揀選幾個人,派他們同我們可愛的巴爾納伯和保祿,到你們那裡去。他們兩人,為了我們主耶穌基督的名,已付出了自己的性命。我們派猶達和息拉去,他們要親口報告同樣的事。因為聖神和我們決定,不再加給你們什麼重擔,除了這幾項重要的事:即不要吃祭過邪神的食物、血和窒死的牲畜,並戒避姦淫。如果你們戒絕了這一切,那就好了。祝你們安好!」

默示錄 21:10-14,22-23

天使使我神魂超拔,把我帶到一座又大又高的山上,將那從天上,由天主那裡降下的聖城耶路撒冷,指給我看。這聖城具有天主的光榮;城的光輝,好似極貴重的寶石,又像水晶那麼明亮的蒼玉。城牆高而且大,有十二座門;守門的有十二位天使。門上寫著以色列子民十二支派的名字。東面三門,北面三門,南面三門,西面三門。城牆有十二座基石,上面刻著羔羊的十二位宗徒的十二個名字。在城內,我沒有看見聖殿,因為上主全能的天主和羔羊,就是她的聖殿。那城也不需要太陽和月亮的光照,因為有天主的光榮照耀她;羔羊就是她的明燈。

若望福音 14:23-29

那時候,耶穌對門徒說:「誰愛我,必遵守我的話,我父也必愛他,我們要到他那裡去,並要在他那裡,作我們的居所。那不愛我的,就不遵守我的話。你們所聽到的話,並不是我的,而是派遣我來的父的話。「我還與你們在一起的時候,給你們講論了這些事;但那護慰者,就是父因我的名,所要派遣來的聖神,他必要教訓你們一切,也要使你們想起,我對你們所說的一切。「我把平安留給你們,我將我的平安賜給你們;我所賜給你們的,不像世界所賜的一樣。你們心裡不要煩亂,也不要膽怯。你們聽見我給你們說過:我去,但我還要回到你們這裡來。如果你們愛我,就該喜歡我往父那裡去,因為父比我大。現在,在事發生前,我就告訴了你們,為使你們在事發生時,能夠相信。」

今天的福音讀經,是耶穌臨別贈言 (第 14 到 17章) 的一部分。在此之前,耶穌給了衪的門徒們一份告別禮物:如兄弟般彼此相愛的新誡命 (若13:34) 。從這兄弟般的愛,世人看見並認識耶穌,而那些遵守衪誡命的人會獲賜更多禮物,是在舊約時期只有天主才能賜予的禮物。

天父的愛

在舊約中,愛的準則就是對天主的愛 (申6:5)。愛慕天主不是感情上或精神上的感覺,愛慕天主是「遵守天主的誡命和法令」(申10:12-13) ,而天主必愛和保護愛衪的人 (箴8:7,詠145:20) 。現在,耶穌把愛天主連繫到愛自己的近人 (瑪22:36-40,谷12:28-31) 。他自己就是愛人的標準。我們遵守耶穌的話,就是遵守天主的話 (若14:24;16:15) 。聖父愛所有愛聖子的人(若14:21,23;默21:3) ,這正彰顯著聖父與聖子的結合,聖父不但要守護愛聖子的人,更要同他們住在一起。

天主與人同在

在舊約聖經中,上主在祂的選民中設了帳棚和殿宇作住所 (列上8:27,則37:27,匝2:10-13) 。現在,耶穌把天主的臨在與衪自己連繫在一起 (瑪12:6,若2:19;14:7, 9-10) 。在衪離世後,藉著聖神的降臨,耶穌仍然與愛衪和遵守衪的話的人同在 (若14:16-17,23-26) 。今天,衪一直臨在聖體聖事內在聖經內和在教會訓導內。在領受聖洗時,基督徒不僅獲得聖化恩寵,也領受天主聖三的臨在 : 聖父(若一4:15-16) ,聖子(宗17:28,瑪28:20) 及聖神 (格前3:16,6:19;格後6:16)

平安

在舊約中,沙隆Shalom (希伯來文意即平安) 的意思不只是不受干擾。沙隆也包括健康,和諧與繁榮。唯有天主是平安的泉源 (民6:24) ,而天主的平安是一份賜予 (肋26:6,若14:27) 。平安只會賜予那些活出正義 (詠85:8-10) 及與主保持正確關係的人 (依26:3;48:22;57:20) 。耶穌是和平之王 (依9:6,弗2:14) ,衪將平安賜給愛衪的人 。平安不是為緩和暫時的需要或壓力 (若14:27) ,而是內在的平安寧靜和力量, 使煩亂的心獲得安慰,在恐懼中獲得勇氣。(若16:33,得後3:16,羅5:1,斐4:7)

這些賜予的禮物顯示了耶穌與天主聖父的親密結合,以及祂是天主子的本性。我們被召叫以信守衪的話來表明我們對衪的愛:耶穌完全服從天主的旨意,顯示祂真正愛主。我們遵守耶穌的話時,不但仿效祂服從天主,更仿效祂以此顯示對天主的愛。

Posted: May 1, 2016

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

丙年復活期第六主日:分辨與突破 吳智勳神父

今天的第一與第三篇讀經都提到聖神,讓我們以聖神的恩賜來做主題。教會常說聖神七恩,其實聖神的恩典又豈止七個?不過,聖經的數字七,包含圓滿的意義。今天我們反省兩件聖神的恩賜,就是分辨和突破,傳統稱為上智和明達的恩賜。

繼續閱讀 >