What is God’s will? Why is it so hard to follow God’s will?

Twenty-third Sunday in Ordinary Time

Wisdom 9:13-18B

Who can know God’s counsel, or who can conceive what the LORD intends? For the deliberations of mortals are timid, and unsure are our plans. For the corruptible body burdens the soul and the earthen shelter weighs down the mind that has many concerns. And scarce do we guess the things on earth, and what is within our grasp we find with difficulty; but when things are in heaven, who can search them out? Or who ever knew your counsel, except you had given wisdom and sent your holy spirit from on high? And thus were the paths of those on earth made straight.

Philemon 9-10, 12-17

I, Paul, an old man, and now also a prisoner for Christ Jesus, urge you on behalf of my child Onesimus, whose father I have become in my imprisonment; I am sending him, that is, my own heart, back to you. I should have liked to retain him for myself, so that he might serve me on your behalf in my imprisonment for the gospel, but I did not want to do anything without your consent, so that the good you do might not be forced but voluntary. Perhaps this is why he was away from you for a while, that you might have him back forever, no longer as a slave but more than a slave, a brother, beloved especially to me, but even more so to you, as a man and in the Lord. So if you regard me as a partner, welcome him as you would me.

Luke 14:25-33

Great crowds were traveling with Jesus, and he turned and addressed them, “If anyone comes to me without hating his father and mother, wife and children, brothers and sisters, and even his own life, he cannot be my disciple. Whoever does not carry his own cross and come after me cannot be my disciple. Which of you wishing to construct a tower does not first sit down and calculate the cost to see if there is enough for its completion? Otherwise, after laying the foundation and finding himself unable to finish the work the onlookers should laugh at him and say, ‘This one began to build but did not have the resources to finish.’ Or what king marching into battle would not first sit down and decide whether with ten thousand troops he can successfully oppose another king advancing upon him with twenty thousand troops? But if not, while he is still far away, he will send a delegation to ask for peace terms. In the same way, anyone of you who does not renounce all his possessions cannot be my disciple.”

“Our Father, who art in heaven … thy will be done …”

How many times have we prayed “The Lord’s Prayer”? Often, we may be so used to it that we hardly slow down and reflect on its significance. We know it’s a prayer given to the disciples, and us, by Jesus and it teaches us how to pray (ref. Mt 6:7-13). Jesus cautions his followers against “empty phrases”; saying things to God or asking for trivial things such that we are only filled with our own desires and become deaf to God’s voice (Mt 6:7). When we pray, we often focus on asking God; presenting God with our wish list, while keeping our fingers crossed behind our back! The truth is, God knows us so deeply that He has already given us the best; if only we can turn down the volume of our own voice to hear God’s.

This week’s readings poignantly examine our struggles to know and follow God’s will. “For who can learn the counsel of God? Or who can discern what the Lord wills” (Wis 9:13)? What is God’s will? Why is it so difficult for us to follow God’s will? It could simply be our ego – our belief that we can control everything in our life. We demand assurance and certainties; meanwhile we know full well that this is impossible. In the first reading, Solomon’s Prayer for Wisdom, “Solomon reflects that no human knows God’s counsel because our understanding is feeble. We are subject to physical weakness. With difficulty we understand what is on earth let alone what is in heaven. Unless God gives Wisdom, we will not know God’s counsel, as history shows” (New Jerome Biblical Commentary 517). Indeed, God will send the “holy spirit from on high” to reveal to us what is God’s will and guide us towards it. It is only with God’s Spirit that we may be able to clear out our inner clutter to make room for God’s will.

What are some of the things that clutter our heart-space? Wealth? Fame? Social media? House? Cars? Family? Jobs? Where is God among all these? How should we prioritize? I don’t think God is telling us to neglect all our earthly obligations; however, this week’s Gospel provides us with a blueprint of discipleship, teaching us how to prioritize. In the Gospel, Luke outlines the conditions of discipleship: “hate their life itself”; “carry their cross”; “give up all their possessions” (Lk 14:26,27,33). Jesus demands a whole-hearted commitment from us. The good news is that we know we can relinquish our whole self into God’s hand with confidence because God has already taken care of everything else: Jesus explains, “and indeed your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things. But strive first for the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well” (Mt 6:32-33).

Let us pray, this time slower and more reflectively, “The Lord’s Prayer” with the conviction that God will provide everything for us and the only thing we need to say to our Heavenly Father is “thy will be done”!

Posted: September 8, 2019

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


Other Sunday Reflections

Christ The King – Is it a Divine Joke?
What is the meaning of a true King? It all begins with a joke. Continue Reading >
“A time of waiting and watching” (CCC 672)
Let us join the psalmist to sing praises to the Lord, who on a day unbeknownst to us, “will judge the world with righteousness, and the peoples with equity.” (Psalm… Continue Reading >
A Call to Service
You know how we all say we’re busy? Can we be honest and admit that, despite our busy schedules, we still waste time? One survey found that seven in ten… Continue Reading >

天主的旨意是甚麼?為何跟隨主旨是如此困難?

常年期第二十三主日

智慧篇 9:13-18

有誰能知道天主的計劃,有誰能想像上主的意願?必死的人的思想,常是不定的;我們人的計謀,常是無常的;因為,這必腐朽的肉身,重壓著靈魂;這屬於塵土的寓所,迫使精神多慮。世上的事,我們還難以測度;目前的事,我們還得費力追求;那麼,天上的事,誰還能探究?你如果不賜下智慧,從高天派遣你的聖神,誰能知道你的旨意?這樣,世人的道路,才得修正;眾人才可學習你所喜悅的事,並藉著智慧,獲得救援。

費肋孟書 9-10, 12-17

親愛的弟兄:我這年老的保祿,現在為了基督耶穌,做囚犯的,寧願因著愛德求你,就是為我在鎖鏈中,所生的兒子敖乃息摩,來求你。我現在打發他,回去你那裡,【你收下他,】他是我的心肝。我本來願意將他留在我這裡,叫他替你服事我、這為福音而被囚的人,可是,沒有你的同意,我什麼也不願意做,好叫你的善行,不是出於勉強,而是出於甘心。也許他暫時離開你,是為叫你永遠收下他,不再當一個奴隸,而是超過奴隸,作可愛的弟兄;他為我特別可愛,但為你,不論是肉身方面,或是主方面,更加可愛。所以,如果你以我為同志,就收留他,當作收留我吧!

路加福音 14:25-33

那時候,有一大夥人與耶穌同行,耶穌轉身向他們說:「如果誰來跟隨我,而不惱恨自己的父親、母親、妻子、兒女、兄弟、姊妹,甚至自己的性命,不能做我的門徒。「不論誰,如果不背起自己的十字架,跟隨我,不能做我的門徒。「你們當中,誰願意建造一座塔,而不先坐下,籌算費用,看是否有力完成呢?免得他奠基以後,竟不能完工,所有看見的人,都要譏笑他,說:這個人開始建造,但不能完工。「或者一個國王,要去同別的國王交戰,那有不先坐下,運籌一下,看能否以一萬人,去抵抗對方的兩萬人呢?如果不能,就得趁那國王,離得尚遠的時候,派遣使節,去求和。「同樣,你們中不論是誰,如果不捨棄他的一切所有,不能做我的門徒。」

「我們的天父… 願祢的旨意奉行在人間…」

《天主經》我們可唸過多少次?由於非常熟習禱文,我們往往不會慢慢地唸以反思其意義。我們都知道這是耶穌教導門徒及我們如何祈禱的經文 (參照瑪 6:7-13)。耶穌警戒祂的跟隨者不可流於「空洞的言詞」;向天主說無心的話或作瑣碎的祈求,只顧及自己的願望,對天主的聲音充耳不聞 (瑪 6:7)。我們祈禱時,常著重向天主祈求;呈上我們的願望, 暗暗冀望天主的滿全!但事實上,天主如此深知我們,祂早已把最好的給了我們;但願我們能夠調低自己的聲音,好去聆聽天主。

本週的讀經尖銳地分析我們對認知及遵循天主旨意的掙扎。「有誰能知道天主的計劃,有誰能想像上主的意願」(智 9:13)?甚麽是天主的旨意?為何跟隨天主的旨意如此困難?可能只是我們的自負—一心相信自己能掌控生命的一切。我們要求保證及把握,但同時我們又深知這是絕無可能。在讀經一,撒羅滿祈求智慧,「撒羅滿想及無人能知悉天主的計劃,是由於我們的理解力很薄弱。我們受制於軟弱的肉體。對世事我們已難以理解,又可況是天上的事。正如歷史所顯示,除非天主賦予智慧,我們不能知道天主的計劃」(熱羅尼莫聖經詮釋 517)。的而且確,天主會從「天上差遣聖神」給我們啟示祂的旨意,並引領我們走向它。唯有依靠天主的神,我們才能清除內心的雜亂無章,騰出空間容納天主的旨意。

令我們心靈雜亂無章的究竟是甚麼?財富?名譽?社交媒體?房屋?汽車?家庭?工作?在這一切當中,天主在那裏?我們該如何分清次序?我不認為天主要我們忽視自己在世的義務和責任;然而,本週的福音給我們提供了一個作門徒的藍圖,教導我們如何分清次序。在福音中,路加概述了作門徒的條件:「惱恨自己的性命」;「背著自己的十字架」;「捨棄他的一切所有」(路 14:27,27,33)。耶穌要求我們全心的承諾。幸好我們知道,可以滿懷信心地把自己全交在天主手中,因為其他的事,天主早已照顧好了:耶穌解釋道,「你們的天父原曉得你們需要這一切。你們先該尋求天主的國和它的義德,這一切自會加給你們」(瑪 6:32-33)。

讓我們祈禱,這一次,慢慢地唸《天主經》並多做反思,堅信天主會供給我們一切,我們只需向天父說:「願祢的旨意奉行」便夠了!

Posted: September 8, 2019

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


其他主日反省

丙常年期第廿三主日:貫徹始終的門徒 吳智勳神父

今日的福音發生在耶穌講完一連串有關天國的言論後,走向耶路撒冷的途中,祂再重複說明作祂門徒的代價,並以兩個比喻,提醒門徒必須考慮清楚,而且要貫徹始終。

繼續閱讀 >