Where’s Your Best Place to Pray?

Twentieth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Isaiah 56:1, 6-7

Thus says the LORD: Observe what is right, do what is just; for my salvation is about to come, my justice, about to be revealed. The foreigners who join themselves to the LORD, ministering to him, loving the name of the LORD, and becoming his servants— all who keep the sabbath free from profanation and hold to my covenant, them I will bring to my holy mountain and make joyful in my house of prayer; their burnt offerings and sacrifices will be acceptable on my altar, for my house shall be called a house of prayer for all peoples.

Romans 11:13-15, 29-32

Brothers and sisters: I am speaking to you Gentiles. Inasmuch as I am the apostle to the Gentiles, I glory in my ministry in order to make my race jealous and thus save some of them. For if their rejection is the reconciliation of the world, what will their acceptance be but life from the dead? For the gifts and the call of God are irrevocable. Just as you once disobeyed God but have now received mercy because of their disobedience, so they have now disobeyed in order that, by virtue of the mercy shown to you, they too may now receive mercy. For God delivered all to disobedience, that he might have mercy upon all.

Matthew 15:21-28

At that time, Jesus withdrew to the region of Tyre and Sidon. And behold, a Canaanite woman of that district came and called out, "Have pity on me, Lord, Son of David! My daughter is tormented by a demon." But Jesus did not say a word in answer to her. Jesus' disciples came and asked him, "Send her away, for she keeps calling out after us." He said in reply, "I was sent only to the lost sheep of the house of Israel." But the woman came and did Jesus homage, saying, "Lord, help me." He said in reply, "It is not right to take the food of the children and throw it to the dogs." She said, "Please, Lord, for even the dogs eat the scraps that fall from the table of their masters." Then Jesus said to her in reply, "O woman, great is your faith! Let it be done for you as you wish." And the woman's daughter was healed from that hour.

[Watch Fr. Justin’s homily delivery here.]
https://youtu.be/y2dzRVrYfPE

Would you spend 30 days here at this retreat centre in South Dakota (https://broom-tree.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/09/RetreatCenterFeaturedImage.jpg) or in Assisi, Italy (https://www.planetware.com/wpimages/2018/11/italy-assisi-attractions-town-overview-sunny-day.jpg)? This is a question for me in the future, when I make a 30-day retreat in silence and prayer. The decisive factor is not which would I like more, but which would help me pray better.

The question for us today is: Do we know where the best place is for us to pray? Is it this church, another one, our chapel, or at home?

Where we pray can help or hurt our prayer. Some places are noisy and distracting; others make us aware of God’s presence and speak to our souls because of their comfort, beauty, or because of the Eucharist. There are certain sacred places where we encounter Jesus in a real way.

Today’s entrance antiphon is from Psalm 84: “One day within your courts is better than a thousand elsewhere” (v. 11). The context of this psalm is a pilgrimage of people going to the one Temple in Jerusalem. Here’s a picture of it and you can see the courts to which the psalm is referring(https://www.jw.org/en/library/bible/nwt/appendix-b/king-solomons-temple/). Upon arriving there, the pilgrims were enthusiastic and realized that a short time there was better for them than anywhere else! And what dwelt in these courts? The presence of God!

St. Jerome, commenting on this psalm, says, “I long, O Lord, for your eternal dwelling places; my soul yearns and pines for the courts of the Lord; I long for some place to dwell, a nest for my soul and my body” (Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture, Psalms 51-150, 151). During this Sabbath Summer, God is reminding us of our need for earthly rest for the ‘soul’ and ‘body’ but, more importantly, of our need for ‘eternal dwelling places.’

How do we find the best place? There are two criteria to consider: What is subjectively best for us? What is objectively best?

1) When we say subjectively best, we mean what helps us encounter God in a way that’s suited to us. The retreat center in South Dakota is a better place for me than Assisi. Though I enjoyed every time I went to Assisi and there are so many holy places where St. Francis lived and served, South Dakota is where I enter into focused time with Jesus, in the multiple chapels, and in the outdoors which are peaceful for meditative walks. Just to be clear: I don’t always have good feelings when I pray there, but the environment helps me be aware of God and focus on Him.

Some of us find God in His creation. Fr. Pierre, for example, needs at times to pray outside. He brings his deluxe camping chair to the river or under a tree, and then starts reading and praying. St. Luke tells us that Jesus would go to the Mount of Olives “as was his custom” (Lk 22:39)(Should I show a picture of this?).

There’s something very powerful about this. Scott Hahn points out that the Bible looks at creation as a huge temple dedicated to God, where He dwells and where man offers sacrifice (A Father Who Keeps His Promises, 51). Believe it or not, Genesis describes creation as a temple, with images like a foundation, roof, doors, windows, etc. So, creation is a macro-Temple. And what’s the Temple in Jerusalem? It’s a microcosm of creation!

How good would it be if we, who find God in nature, deliberately spent more time in prayer outside? How renewed would we be if we scheduled vacations around beautiful places and made sure we prayed there daily?

2) But some places are objectively holier than others. The First Reading says, “And the foreigners… I will bring to my holy mountain [which is Jerusalem], and make them joyful in my house of prayer [The Temple]… for my house shall be called a house of prayer for all peoples” (Is 56:5-6). Because we’re humans, have bodies, and have a need for physical intimacy, we need physical closeness to God! We need houses of prayer.

That’s why Jesus gave Himself to us in the Eucharist. He is not physically present everywhere—is that clear? Nature reflects His goodness and beauty, and He sustains everything in existence, but He’s not physically there. But He is physically present in the Eucharist and in churches, which is why every saint who loved the outdoors, like St. John Paul II and Bl. Pier Giorgio Frassati, also spent hours in front of the tabernacle.

Some places are objectively holier than others. That’s why billions of Christians have gone to the Holy Land where Jesus was born, lived, died, and rose again. It’s sacred to be where His body was, where He walked on those paths and drank from those waters. Lourdes, Fatima, Guadalupe, for example, are places where Mary appeared and because of that, many miracles still happen today. And in the Church’s older blessings of homes, we ask that angels watch over those who dwell there (Roman Ritual, p. 257 https://d03fe30f-fff9-424f-b66f-01063bd12972.filesusr.com/ugd/c6f7dd_4ff0f5d827d24264a448bf986de11f7a.pdf).

It’s not a question of either-or, but of both-and. God wants us to encounter Him everywhere. Sometimes He wants us to ponder His dwelling in our souls. Other times He wants us to ponder His grandeur. One time, at a youth retreat (), we set up adoration on a dock next to the retreat center where we were staying, where we could adore Jesus in the background of what He created, and Sr. Gabriella pointed out that when we contemplate beauty in creation we should be led to the Creator.

Even many Catholics will say they don’t need to go to churches because they find God in nature, but they haven’t reflected enough on Who made it.

Solomon every week goes for a run, and runs uphill to Sts. Peter and Paul church, then collapses on the ground and prays what’s called Evening Prayer of the Liturgy of the Hours outside the church door—that’s the best of both worlds!

Again, the question for us today is: Do we know where the best place is for us to pray?

I’d like to make you a proposal that I think would help you to become more sensitive to environments and will also help you to pray at home: Would you think about creating what’s called an oratory in your home? Oratory literally means a place of prayer. Here are some examples of what people in our parish family have done in their homes, changing patios and walk-in closets into little chapels (Djauharis, Lobos). This is the famous example of Miss Clara’s prayer closet (https://www.projectinspired.com/wp-content/uploads/synopsis_photo.jpg) in the movie The War Room, where she fights in prayer for people and puts up all the intentions and prayer strategies on the wall. I was inspired to change a room in my rectory to match something like this (https://photos.wikimapia.org/p/00/00/88/14/49_big.jpg) or this (https://english.bethleem.org/images/monasteres/paris_11.jpg). The simplest way to do this is to set up a table or a prayer corner.

How about giving ourselves a year to do this? We talk to our family about what space could be used. The Catechism of the Catholic Church, which for most people is abstract, makes this practical suggestion: “This can be a ‘prayer corner’ with the Sacred Scriptures and icons, in order to be there, in secret, before our Father. In a Christian family, this kind of little oratory fosters prayer in common” (2691). Wouldn’t it be great if it could be a place where everyone could pray together and where we keep silence! This is also very helpful given the pandemic. And it’s a great excuse to clean one room in the house this year, and go shopping for various icons and religious paintings at our three local Catholic bookstores: Marian, St. Andrew’s and Holy Family.

Whether or not we do it, please be aware of where you encounter Jesus best and where you pray best, and then tell someone about it! That’s my question for the online chat today and when I see you after Mass: Where do you pray best?

Get out of your comfort zone and laziness and go to that place often! The Devil will always try to prevent you from going there, with excuses like, “I’m tired. I’m busy,” etc. Don’t give in.

This is Blessed Augusto Czartoryski, born in 1858 to a royal family from Poland and Spain (http://salesianfamily.net/wp-content/uploads/2019/07/BEATO-AUGUSTO-.jpg). He was supposed to live a life of royalty like his parents but felt a call to the priesthood. When he was 20, he wrote to his father, “I confess to you that I am tired [of all the parties]; they are superficial entertainments that cause me anguish and I feel myself ‘forced’ to make acquaintances with others at these banquets” (http://www.vatican.va/news_services/liturgy/saints/ns_lit_doc_20040425_czartoryski_en.html). When he was 34, he was finally ordained a priest and lived only one year afterwards. But that short time was better than all of his previous years. And what did he write on the holy card that commemorated his ordination? “One day within your courts is better than a thousand elsewhere. They are happy, who dwell in your house, forever singing your praise” (http://salesianfamily.net/beato-augusto-czartoryski-1858-1893-2/fsadmin/). This could be your motto for making a change in your prayer life. “One day within your courts is better than a thousand elsewhere.”

Source: The JustMeasure: Where’s Your Best Place to Pray? (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2020/08/16/wheres-your-best-place-to-pray/)

Posted: August 16, 2020

Fr. Jusin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

Religious Life and Social Life Become One in Love
Love is what brings our religious life (love of God) and social life (love of neighbor) into unity. Continue Reading >
“Give therefore to Caesar the things that are Caesar’s, and to God the things that are God’s” (Mt 22:21)
May our earthly commitments be guided by a beacon of light from the divine Continue Reading >
The Bible is in a Nutshell Just God’s Wedding Invitation
The theme of marriage and family runs through the Bible like a thread, weaving its way intricately and skillfully from the first chapter to the last. Continue Reading >

您最好的祈禱地點在哪裡?

by Fr. Justin Huang
2020-08-16
常年期第二十主日

依撒意亞先知書 56:1, 6-7


羅馬書 11:13-15, 29-32


瑪竇福音 15:21-28


(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父 Father Justin Huang的主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿(https://thejustmeasure.ca/2020/08/16/wheres-your-best-place-to-pray/)為準。)

[黃神父主日講道視頻 (英語)]
https://youtu.be/y2dzRVrYfPE

你會在南達科他州South Dakota (https://broom-tree.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/09/RetreatCenterFeaturedImage.jpg)或意大利阿西西的靜修中心靜默祈禱30天嗎? (https://www.planetware.com/wpimages/2018/11/italy-assisi-attractions-town-overview-sunny-day.jpg) 這是我將來要問的問題。決定性的因素不是我更喜歡哪一個,而是哪一個能幫助我更好地祈禱。

今天我們面臨的問題是:我們知道哪裡是最適合我們祈禱的地方嗎? 是這座教堂,是另一座,我們的聖體小堂,還是在家裡?

我們的祈禱場所可以幫助我們祈禱,也可以影響我們祈禱。有些地方嘈雜,令人分心;有些地方讓我們意識到天主的臨在,並與我們的靈魂交談。因為它的舒適、美麗或明供聖體在某些神聖的地方,使得我們真實地與耶穌相遇。

今天的進堂詠來自聖詠84:「在你的宮庭逗留一日,遠勝過在別處逗留千日。”這首聖詠的背景是人們前往耶路撒冷的聖殿朝聖。這是一張它的圖片,你可以看到聖歌中提到的的宮庭(https://www.jw.org/en/library/bible/nwt/appendix-b/king-solomons-temple/ )) 一到那裡,朝聖者們就熱情高漲,意識到短暫的在那裡對他們來說比其他任何地方都要好!是誰住在這些庭院裡呢?天主!

聖熱羅尼莫St. Jerome在評論這首聖詠時說,「主啊,我渴望你永恆的居所;我的靈魂嚮往主和嚮往主的院落;我渴望有一個地方居住,給我的靈魂和身體一個巢 (Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture, Psalms 51-150, 151) 在這個安息日的夏天,天主提醒我們: 我們的「靈魂」和「身體」需要安息,但更重要的是,我們需要「永恆的居所」。

我們怎樣才能找到最好的地方呢?有兩個標準需要考慮:主觀上什麼是對我們最好的?客觀上,又是什麼?

1) 當我們說主觀上最好的時候,我們指的是幫助我們以一種適合我們的方式與天主相遇的地方。對我來說,南達科他州的靜修中心比阿西西更適合我。雖然我每次去阿西西都很享受,聖方濟各居住和服務的聖地如此之多,但南達科他州是我能更專注於耶穌的地方,在多個小教堂裡,在平靜的戶外進行默想,散步。我說清楚:我個人不常是感覺在那裡祈禱多好,但是那環境確實幫助我意識到天主,專注於祂。

有些人在天主的創造物中找到了天主。例如皮埃爾神父Fr. Pierre有時需要在外面祈禱。他把他的野營椅帶到河邊或樹下,然後開始閱讀和祈禱。聖路加告訴我們,耶穌會「… 照常往橄欖山上去」(路22:39)

這裡面有一些強而有力的東西。斯科特哈恩Scott Hahn 指出,「聖經」將創世視為一座供奉天主的巨大聖殿,祂在那里居住,人類在那裡獻祭 (A Father Who Keeps His Promises, 51)。信不信由你,「創世紀」實際上把創世描述為一座神殿,有地基、屋頂、門、窗等。所以,創世是一座宏大的聖殿。耶路撒冷的聖殿是什麼?這是一個創造的縮影!

如果我們在自然界中找到天主,故意花更多時間在戶外祈禱,那多好?如果我們安排在美麗的地方度假,並確保我們每天都在那裡祈禱,我們會有多大的活力嗎?

2)但是有一些地方客觀上比其他地方更神聖。第一篇聖詠是這樣說的,「至於那些異邦人…我要領他們到我的聖山(就是耶路撒冷),使他們在我祈禱的殿裡歡樂。…。因為我的殿宇將稱為萬民的祈禱所」(依56:5-6)。因為我們是人,有身體,需要身體上的親密!

這就是耶穌在聖體中把自己交給我們的原因。他並不是身體上無處不在--明白了嗎?自然界反映了祂的善良和美麗,祂支撐著一切存在的東西,但祂的身體並不在那裡。祂親臨在聖體內和教堂裡,這就是為什麼每個熱愛戶外活動的聖人,比如,若望保祿二世和真福傅喬治 (Pier Giorgio Frassati) 都會在帳篷前呆上幾個小時。

有些地方客觀上比其他地方更神聖。這就是為什麼數十億基督徒去耶穌出生、生活、死亡和復活的聖地朝聖。在祂的身體所在的地方,在祂走過的那些小路上,和祂喝水的地方都是神聖的。例如,露德、花地瑪、瓜達露佩等聖母顯現的地方至今仍有許多奇蹟發生。在教會古老的住處, 傳統上都請求天使守護著住在那裡的人。 (Roman Ritual, p. 257 https://d03fe30f-fff9-424f-b66f-01063bd12972.filesusr.com/ugd/c6f7dd_4ff0f5d827d24264a448bf986de11f7a.pdf )

這不是非此即彼的問題,而是兩者兼而有之的問題。天主希望我們在任何地方都能遇到祂。有時祂要我們思考祂在我們靈魂中的居所,有時祂要我們思考祂的宏偉。有一次,在青年退省中,我們在我們下榻的靜修中心旁邊的碼頭上設祭台進行朝拜,在那裡我們可以在耶穌創造的背景下朝拜耶穌,加布里埃拉修女Sr. Gabriella指出: 當我們思考美麗的創造工程時,我們會被引導到造物主那裡。

很多非天主教徒會說他們不需要去教堂,因為他們在自然界中找到了天主,但他們沒有充分反思是誰創造了它。

Solomon每週都會去跑步,然後跑上山去聖伯多祿和保祿堂Sts. Peter and Paul church,累得倒在地上,在教堂門外作晚禱---這對雙方都是最好的!

今天我們要問的問題是:我們知道最好的祈禱地點是哪裡嗎?

我想給你一個建議,我認為它會幫助你變得對環境更敏感,也會幫助你在家裡祈禱:你會考慮在你的家裡設立一個所謂的祈禱所oratory嗎?字面意思是祈禱的地方。我們堂區有一些教友就是在家裡這麼做,把露台和大衣櫃改裝成了小教堂(Djauharis, Lobos)。這是電影「作戰室The War Room」中克拉小姐Miss Clara的「祈禱衣櫃」(https://www.projectinspired.com/wp-content/uploads/synopsis_photo.jpg) 的著名例子,她在祈禱中為人們而打靈戰,並將所有的意願和祈禱策略掛在牆上。我得到啟發,在我的神父居所攺成一個房間,以便成為這間(https://photos.wikimapia.org/p/00/00/88/14/49_big.jpg)或像這間(https: //english.bethleem.org/images/monasteres/paris_11.jpg) 簡單的方法是放一張桌子或出劃出一個特定的角落。

我們給自己一年時間做這件事怎麼樣?我們和家人討論哪些地方是可以利用的空間。天主教教理對大多數人來說是抽象的,它提出了這樣一個實際的建議:「祈禱的地方可以是安放聖經和聖相的「祈禱角落」,好能在那裡「暗中」與我們的父會晤。在基督徒家庭中,這一類祈禱之所有助於公共的祈禱」(2691)。如果它能成為一個每個人都可以一起祈禱和保持靜默的地方,那不是很棒嗎?現在疫症正在肆虐,這也是非常有幫助的。我們今年也趁機打掃房子來騰出一個房間。到本地三間聖物店選購一些聖像、聖畫之類的東西。

不管我們做不做,都務必覺察哪裡是你與耶穌相遇的最好地方,在哪裡祈禱最好,然後與別人分享!這就是我今天在線的聊天問題,彌撒結束後請分享:你祈禱的好地方。

我們得走出我們的舒適區和滌除懶惰的惡習,經常去那個地方!讓我告訴你:魔鬼總是會用諸如「我累了,我很忙」這樣的藉口來阻止你去那裡。不要屈服於它的誘惑。

這位是真福的奧古斯托查托里斯基Blessed Augusto Czartoryski,1858年出生於波蘭和西班牙的一個王室(https://salesianfamily.net/wp-content/uploads/2019/07/BEATO-AUGUSTO -.jpg)。他本應像他父母過皇室生活,但他感覺有聖召當神父。 20歲時,他給父親寫了一封信,「我向你告白,我厭倦了(所有的聚會);這些都是讓我痛苦的膚淺的娛樂活動,我覺得自己「被迫」在這些宴會上結識其他人。(https://www.vatican.va/news_services/liturgy/saints/ns_lit_doc_20040425_czartoryski_en.html)

34歲時,他終於領受神品,其後只活了一年。但這段短暫的時間比他前幾年都要好。他在晉鐸紀念卡上寫了什麼? 「在你的宮庭逗留一日,遠勝過在別處逗留千日。他們是幸福的,他們住在你的宮庭裡,永遠歌唱著你的讚頌」(https://salesianfamily.net/beato -augusto-czartoryski-1858-1893-2/fsadmin/) 這可能是你改變禱告生活的座右銘:「在你的宮庭逗留一日,遠勝過在別處逗留千日。」

過往的同一聖言反思

其他文章