Why? Why suffering? Why me?

Fifth Sunday in Ordinary Time (Year B)

Job 7:1-4, 6-7

Job spoke, saying: Is not man’s life on earth a drudgery? Are not his days those of hirelings? He is a slave who longs for the shade, a hireling who waits for his wages. So I have been assigned months of misery, and troubled nights have been allotted to me. If in bed I say, “When shall I arise?” then the night drags on; I am filled with restlessness until the dawn. My days are swifter than a weaver’s shuttle; they come to an end without hope. Remember that my life is like the wind; I shall not see happiness again.

1 Corinthians 9:16-19, 22-23

Brothers and sisters: If I preach the gospel, this is no reason for me to boast, for an obligation has been imposed on me, and woe to me if I do not preach it! If I do so willingly, I have a recompense, but if unwillingly, then I have been entrusted with a stewardship. What then is my recompense? That, when I preach, I offer the gospel free of charge so as not to make full use of my right in the gospel. Although I am free in regard to all, I have made myself a slave to all so as to win over as many as possible. To the weak I became weak, to win over the weak. I have become all things to all, to save at least some. All this I do for the sake of the gospel, so that I too may have a share in it.

Mark 1:29-39

On leaving the synagogue Jesus entered the house of Simon and Andrew with James and John. Simon’s mother-in-law lay sick with a fever. They immediately told him about her. He approached, grasped her hand, and helped her up. Then the fever left her and she waited on them. When it was evening, after sunset, they brought to him all who were ill or possessed by demons. The whole town was gathered at the door. He cured many who were sick with various diseases, and he drove out many demons, not permitting them to speak because they knew him. Rising very early before dawn, he left and went off to a deserted place, where he prayed. Simon and those who were with him pursued him and on finding him said, “Everyone is looking for you.” He told them, “Let us go on to the nearby villages that I may preach there also. For this purpose have I come.” So he went into their synagogues, preaching and driving out demons throughout the whole of Galilee.

Why?

When I was told that there is no theoretical answer to human sufferings and miseries, honestly I was not only disappointed but I started to doubt and query my faith in God. When I read about Pope St. John Paul II’s apostolic letter Salvifici Doloris which addresses this question of suffering from a Christian understanding, then what once seemed senseless suddenly becomes meaningful. In fact, it is because suffering itself is such a mystery that one cannot explain purely by human reasoning. It has to be dealt with spiritually and theologically.

Pope St. John Paul II offered many insights into this mystery by beginning to look at the Book of Job as in today’s First Reading. Though the Book of Job did not explain satisfactorily Job’s unnecessary suffering, it did offer another way of looking at suffering. In ancient times, suffering was understood to be caused by sin and sin deserved punishment, but this was not Job’s case for he was a just and honest man. Despite Job lamented and complained about his misfortunes, he did not give up either on himself or on God. Instead, he maintained a positive way of responding to his adversities: “Naked I came from my mother’s womb and naked shall I return there; the Lord gave and the Lord has taken away; blessed be the name of the Lord” (Job 1:21) “For I know that my Redeemer lives…….then in my flesh I shall see God” (Job 19:25-26). Job taught us endurance and hope in times of trials and tribulations.

All these became clearer when Jesus came and suffered for us. From our human point of view His “substitutive” suffering was illogical if not crazy. During His ministry (and even now), people were bound by the belief of “retributive justice” (cf John 9:2-3, Lk 13:2-4). As in today’s Gospel, people came from all places to be cured by Jesus in order to get rid of their earthly miseries and bodily pains. Like them, we too, would like to avoid suffering as best as we could. Little do we know that by Jesus’ own suffering, He has turned suffering into a tool for redemption and not only this, He has added something new to it——“it has been linked to love” (Salvifici Doloris par.8).

What makes us different from non believers is that each of us can make use of our own sufferings and add value to them by our willingness to share in Christ’s redemptive work. Instead of bitterness, we respond with love. Instead of acquiescence, we respond with hope. Instead of despair, we respond with faith and instead of asking why me, we respond: why not.

Other Sunday Reflections

Spiritual Talk – Fifth Sunday of Ordinary Time (Year B) 何庭耀神父

This Sunday is the Fifth Sunday of Ordinary Time (Year B) and Fr. Anthony Ho explains to us the reading in St Paul’s First Letter to the Corinthians.






Continue Reading >

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)

為什麼? 為什麼會有痛苦? 為什麼是我?

乙年 常年期第五主日

約伯傳 7:1-4,6-7

約伯說:人生在世,豈不像服兵役?人的歲月,豈不像傭工的時日?有如奴工切望陰涼,傭工期待工資;這樣,我也只有承受失意的歲月,及為我注定的苦痛長夜。 我臥下時說:「幾時天亮?」我起來時又說:「黑夜何時到?」我整夜輾轉反側,直到天亮。 我的歲月流逝,速如織梭,也因無望而中斷。請你記住:我的生命不過是一口氣;我的眼睛再也見不到幸福。

聖保祿宗徒致格林多人前書 9:16-19,22-23

弟兄姊妹們: 我若傳福音,並沒有什麼可誇耀的,因為這是我不得已的事;我若不傳福音,我就有禍了。 如果我自願做這事,便有報酬;若不自願,可是責任已委託給我。這樣看來,我的報酬是什麼呢?就是傳布福音時,白白地去傳,不享用我在傳福音上,所有的權利。 我原是自由的,不屬於任何人;但我卻使自己成了眾人的奴僕,為贏得更多的人。對軟弱的人,我就成為軟弱的,為贏得那軟弱的人;對一切人,我就成為一切,為的是總要救些人。我所行的一切,都是為了福音,為能與人共沾福音的恩許。

聖馬爾谷福音 1:29-39

那時候,耶穌離開葛法翁的會堂,就同雅各伯和若望,來到了西滿和安德肋的家。那時,西滿的岳母正躺著發燒;有人就向耶穌提及她。耶穌上前,握住伯多祿岳母的手,扶起她,熱症立即離開了她;她就伺候他們。 到了晚上,日落之後,人把所有患病的,及附魔的,都帶到耶穌面前。全城的人都聚在門前。耶穌治好了許多患各種病症的人,驅逐了許多魔鬼,並且不許魔鬼說話,因為魔鬼認識他。 第二天早晨,天還很黑,耶穌就起身出去,到荒野的地方,在那裡祈禱。西滿和同他一起的人,都去尋找耶穌,找到了,就向耶穌說:「眾人都在找你呢!」 耶穌對他們說:「讓我們到其他地方去,到鄰近的村鎮去吧!好叫我也在那裡宣講,因為我正是為此而來的。」他於是到加里肋亞各地,在他們的會堂裡宣講,並驅逐魔鬼。

為什麼?

當有人告訴我說,沒有任何理論可以解釋人的苦難和痛苦時,老實說,我不僅感到失望,並開始質疑自己對天主的信仰。但當我讀了敎宗聖若望保禄二世的宗座牧函「論得救恩的痛苦」Salvifici Doloris,用基督徒的理解去探討痛苦,那曾經似乎是毫無意義的問題就變得有意義了。事實上,痛苦本身是一個不能單純用人類理性來解釋的奧秘,而是要在靈性和神學中探索。

教宗聖若望保祿二世從今日讀經一的約伯傳,提供了他對這奧秘的見解。雖然約伯傳並沒有圓滿地解釋約伯所受的不必要的痛苦,但它以另一種方式去看待痛苦。 在古時,苦難被理解為由罪孽造成,而罪孽應受懲罰,但這不是約伯的情況,他是一個正義和誠實的人。儘管約伯哀嘆和抱怨他的不幸,他並沒有放棄自己或上主。反而,他保持著正面的態度去面對自己的逆境:「我赤身脫離母胎,也要赤身離去;上主賜的,上主收回,願上主的名受到讚美!」(約1:21)「我確實知道為我伸冤者還活者……. 但我仍要看見天主」(約19:25-26)。約伯教導我們在考驗和磨難中,保持忍耐和希望。

當耶穌來臨並為我們承受苦難時,一切便開始變得清晰了。從人的觀點來看,耶穌的「替代別人承受苦難」行為,即使不是瘋狂,也是不合邏輯的。在衪公開講道時(甚至現在),人都被「因果報應」這觀念所規範 (cf 若9:2-3,路13:2-4)。就如在這主日的福音裡,人們來自各地找耶穌治療,為了擺脫他們的塵世苦難和身體上的痛苦。和他們一樣,我們慣常也盡量避免痛苦。我們不知道,原來耶穌將自己的苦難,成為救贖的工具。不但如此,衪還為苦難增加了新的意義,就是將苦難與愛相連。(「論得救恩的痛苦」第八部份)

我們與非信徒不同的是,我們願意分擔基督的救贖工程,我們每個人都可以讓自己的痛苦變得更有價值。我們的回應是愛,而不是苦澀。我們的回應是希望,而不是無奈的承受。我們的回應是信靠,而不是绝望。我們不問: 為什麼是我,而是:為什麼不是我。

其他主日反省

乙年(馬爾谷) 常年期第五主日:注視耶穌本人 吳智勳神父

這個星期的福音讀經與上星期的讀經在時空上自成一個單元,敘述耶穌在安息日於會堂驅魔之後,便來到西滿和安德肋的家,以「拉手」這個簡單的動作,治愈了西滿的岳母,她甚至可以起來伺候這群訪客。






繼續閱讀 >
主日的聖言與反省 : 乙年常年期第五主日 – 神修話語 何庭耀神父

乙年常年期第五主日,何庭耀神父給我們講解聖保祿宗徒致格林多人前書的讀經。我們作為平信徒的使命之一是傳揚基督的福音,分享和活出我們的信仰。何神父給我們解釋平信徒與神職人員怎樣在教會內扮演不同的角色,一起合作為天主的王國而努力。






繼續閱讀 >
主日教理 天主教香港教區
教理中心及教理委員會
罪惡的問題
繼續閱讀 >

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)