Worry not, “The Lord is near” (Philippians 4:5)

Third Sunday of Advent

Zephaniah 3:14-18A

Shout for joy, O daughter Zion! Sing joyfully, O Israel! Be glad and exult with all your heart, O daughter Jerusalem! The LORD has removed the judgment against you he has turned away your enemies; the King of Israel, the LORD, is in your midst, you have no further misfortune to fear. On that day, it shall be said to Jerusalem: Fear not, O Zion, be not discouraged! The LORD, your God, is in your midst, a mighty savior; he will rejoice over you with gladness, and renew you in his love, he will sing joyfully because of you, as one sings at festivals.

Philippians 4:4-7

Brothers and sisters: Rejoice in the Lord always. I shall say it again: rejoice! Your kindness should be known to all. The Lord is near. Have no anxiety at all, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, make your requests known to God. Then the peace of God that surpasses all understanding will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.

Luke 3:10-18

The crowds asked John the Baptist, “What should we do?” He said to them in reply, “Whoever has two cloaks should share with the person who has none. And whoever has food should do likewise.” Even tax collectors came to be baptized and they said to him, “Teacher, what should we do?” He answered them, “Stop collecting more than what is prescribed.” Soldiers also asked him, “And what is it that we should do?” He told them, “Do not practice extortion, do not falsely accuse anyone, and be satisfied with your wages.” Now the people were filled with expectation, and all were asking in their hearts whether John might be the Christ. John answered them all, saying, “I am baptizing you with water, but one mightier than I is coming. I am not worthy to loosen the thongs of his sandals. He will baptize you with the Holy Spirit and fire. His winnowing fan is in his hand to clear his threshing floor and to gather the wheat into his barn, but the chaff he will burn with unquenchable fire.” Exhorting them in many other ways, he preached good news to the people.

Advent is often described as a time of joyful and hopeful waiting; a time of quiet introspection, In this third Sunday of Advent, we continue to await the joyful commemoration of the First Coming of God’s only Begotten Son, Jesus Christ, at Christmas. More so, we are awaiting the second coming of our Lord in glory. When will this be? Only God the Father knows (Ref. Mk 13:32).

It, therefore, appears a little bewildering that St. Paul in the second reading would proclaim that “The Lord is near” when Christ himself assures us that not even the Son knows when he would come again (Philippians 4:5, Ref. Mk 13:32). St. Paul was probably referring to Christ’s near presence at all times, his Eucharistic presence and our ready access to him through prayer, promised in his parting words, “And behold, I am with you always, until the end of the age” (Mt 28:20, Ref. Ignatius Catholic Study Bible NT P. 60, 361).

St. Paul urges us not to worry about our problems; the doubts and disturbance that worry brings would invariably weaken our confidence in God’s fatherly care. He insists that if we pray about our problems, God would protect us from the torment of worrying; the Peace of God – the tranquility of heart and soul that comes from Christ – would prevail in us. (Ref. Philippians 4:7, ICSB NT P. 60, 361). When we share in God’s saving love, we understand that every need can become the object of petition. Christ, who assumed all things in order to redeem all things, is glorified by what we ask the Father in his name. With this confidence, the Church encourages us to pray at all times to seek Christ’s help and consolation (Ref. CCC 2633).

Not only are we not to worry about anything, St. Paul said that we must “Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, Rejoice” (Philippians 4:4). He uses “Rejoice” twice to express emphasis on his advice. Though he was writing from prison, in the tone of his letter, is a spirit of gladness that radiates through the lines. He is a fine example for us that joy could flourish despite trying circumstances. Even those who are hated by the world because of their commitment to the righteousness of the Gospel, should remain joyful for they will be rewarded, “Blessed are you when they … persecute you …because of me, Rejoice and be glad, for your reward will be great in heaven” Jesus said (Mt 5:11-12, Ref. ICSB NT P15, 361).

In the Gospel reading, we hear John the Baptist’s advice on the question “What should we do?” so that those who heard and believed in the good news would be saved (Lk 3:10). His call for us is one of spiritual renewal, a return to social justice, honesty and generosity (Ref. ICSB NT P112). “What should we do?” is still a key question for us to ponder in the perspective of our unique circumstances in life so that when the time comes, we too, will be worthy of eternal joy in heaven.

Posted: December 12, 2021

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

What is true peace?
Jesus has peace because He possesses the source of peace. Jesus can give peace because He is the Prince of Peace Continue Reading >
“Just as I have loved you, you also should love one another” (Jn 13:34)
The love that Jesus refers to is the divine love for one another that is modeled on his own acts of charity and generosity on the Cross (Ref ICSB P191) Continue Reading >
Beyond Loneliness
Were you ever lonely as a child? If so, do you remember how often? A while back, I saw some students at our school waiting to be picked up by… Continue Reading >

不要憂心,「主快來了」(斐 4:5)

將臨期第三主日

索福尼亞先知書 3:14-18

熙雍女子,你應歡樂!以色列,你應歡呼!耶路撒冷女子,你應滿心高興喜樂!上主已撤銷了對你的定案,掃除了你的仇敵。以色列的君王——上主,在你中間,你再不會遇見災禍!在那一天,人必對耶路撒冷說:「熙雍,你不用害怕,不要雙手低垂!上主你的天主,在你中間;他是一位施救的勇士。他必為你喜不自勝;對你重溫他的愛情;且因你而歡躍喜樂,有如在慶節之日。」我必消滅打擊你的人,使你不再受羞辱。

斐理伯書 4:4-7

弟兄姊妹們:你們在主內應當常常喜樂;我再說:你們應當喜樂!你們的寬仁,應當叫眾人知道:主快來了。你們什麼也不要掛慮,只在一切事上,以懇求和祈禱,懷著感謝之心,向天主呈上你們的請求;這樣,天主那超乎各種意想的平安,必要在基督耶穌內,固守你們的心思念慮。

路加福音 3:10-18

那時候,群眾問若翰說:「那麼,我們該做什麼呢?」若翰答覆他們說:「有兩件內衣的,要分給那沒有的;有食物的,也應照樣做。」稅吏也來受洗,並問若翰說:「師父,我們該做什麼呢?」若翰向他們說:「除了規定給你們的,不要多收!」軍人也問若翰說:「我們該做什麼呢?」若翰向他們說:「不要勒索人,也不要敲詐;對你們的糧餉,應當知足!」那時,百姓都在期待【默西亞】,為此,人人心中推想:或許若翰就是默西亞。若翰便向眾人說:「我固然以水洗你們,但是,比我強的那一位,要來;就是解他的鞋帶,我也不配。他要以聖神和火洗你們。木 已放在他手中,他要揚淨自己的禾場,把麥粒收在倉內;至於糠秕,卻要用不滅的火燒掉。」若翰還講了許多其他勸言,給百姓傳報喜訊。

今天是《將臨期》第三主日,我們繼續期待聖誕節 — 我們歡欣紀念天主的獨生子,耶穌,第一次來臨的日子。我們當然更在等候主的二次光榮再來。究竟會是那時?只有天父才知道 (參 谷 13:32)。
當耶穌肯定地說,甚至祂自己也不知道何時再來的時候,聖保祿在《讀經二》的宣佈 「主快來了」可能會有點令人迷惘 (斐 4:5, 參 谷13:32)。聖保祿的意思可能是指基督的臨在,和我們很接近,祂在聖體聖事內,而我們隨時可以向祂祈禱,找到祂,正如祂在臨别之言,所答允我們的,「看,我同你們天天在一起 ,直到今世的終結」(瑪 28:20 參 Ignatius Catholic Study Bible NT. P.60, 361)。
聖保祿敦促我們不用擔憂自己的問題;憂心帶來的疑慮和干擾,肯定會削弱對天主慈父關愛我們的信心。他强調,只要我們為自己的問題祈禱,天主會保護我們,免受憂慮的折磨;讓我們得享天主的平安 — 從基督而來的心靈上的寧靜 (參 斐 4:7, ICSB NT P60, 361)。在分享天主的救恩之愛時,我們明白自己的各種需要,都可以成為祈求的意向。承擔一切,以救贖一切的基督,能因我們以祂的聖名向天父呈上的祈求受到光榮。懷着這信念,教會鼓勵我們恆常祈禱,尋求基督的幫助和安慰 (參 天主教教理 2633) 。
我們不但不要為任何事情憂慮,聖保祿說:「你們在主內應當常常喜樂;我再說:你們應當喜樂!」 (斐 4:4)。他兩次使用了「喜樂」一詞來強調他的忠告。書信雖說是他在獄中所寫,語氣和字裏行間散發出來的,卻是喜樂的精神。他為我們示範了,在痛苦和受到考驗的情況下,喜樂都可以豐盛蓬勃。甚至堅守福音的正義而被世人仇視的人,也應當保持喜樂,因為他們會得到賞報,耶穌說,「幾時人為了我而 ⋯ 迫害你們 ⋯ 你們歡喜踴躍罷!因為你們在天上的賞報是豐厚的」(瑪 5:11-12, 參 ICSB NT P15, 361)。
在福音讀經,我們聽到洗者若翰為「我們該做什麼呢?」這問題,對我們的勸勉,讓聽到福音而相信了的人可以得救 (路 3:10)。他勸導我們要在靈性上更新自己、重拾社會公義、要誠實和慷慨 (參 ICSB NT P112)。在我們獨特的人生和生活環境中,「我們該做什麼呢?」也是我們應該思考的關鍵性問題,好讓時期一到,我們也可堪當天國永恆的福樂。

Posted: December 12, 2021

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

停止為你自己著想和你的神枯,開始思考天主吧! Fr. Justin Huang

多年來,當我聽告解時,我有時會給這樣的補贖:「我要你感謝耶穌在你的生命中所做的三件好事,…。你必須帶著微笑去做這件事。」。這個人通常會笑。
為什麼?因為當我們微笑的時候會有濟於事;有時我們不得不選擇這樣做來讓我們振作起來;而這個補贖表明了一個小小的行動是如何起到幫助作用的,對嗎?

繼續閱讀 >
丙年(路加) 將臨期第三主日: 我們該做甚麼? 吳智勳神父

路加福音是一部很重視社會問題的福音,特別關心貧窮的人,常常透露天主不會捨棄他們。今天問問題的三批人,都是邊緣人物,他們沒有社會地位,甚至受人鄙視,但福音就偏偏把他們記了下來。至於其他重要人物問了甚麼,福音倒沒有興趣記載。

繼續閱讀 >