“. . . among those born of women there has not risen a greater than John the Baptist”

Second Sunday of Advent

Isaiah 40:1-5, 9-11

Comfort, give comfort to my people, says your God. Speak tenderly to Jerusalem, and proclaim to her that her service is at an end, her guilt is expiated; indeed, she has received from the hand of the LORD double for all her sins. A voice cries out: In the desert prepare the way of the LORD! Make straight in the wasteland a highway for our God! Every valley shall be filled in, every mountain and hill shall be made low; the rugged land shall be made a plain, the rough country, a broad valley. Then the glory of the LORD shall be revealed, and all people shall see it together; for the mouth of the LORD has spoken. Go up on to a high mountain, Zion, herald of glad tidings; cry out at the top of your voice, Jerusalem, herald of good news! Fear not to cry out and say to the cities of Judah: Here is your God! Here comes with power the Lord GOD, who rules by his strong arm; here is his reward with him, his recompense before him. Like a shepherd he feeds his flock; in his arms he gathers the lambs, carrying them in his bosom, and leading the ewes with care.

2 Peter 3:8-14

Do not ignore this one fact, beloved, that with the Lord one day is like a thousand years and a thousand years like one day. The Lord does not delay his promise, as some regard "delay," but he is patient with you, not wishing that any should perish but that all should come to repentance. But the day of the Lord will come like a thief, and then the heavens will pass away with a mighty roar and the elements will be dissolved by fire, and the earth and everything done on it will be found out. Since everything is to be dissolved in this way, what sort of persons ought you to be, conducting yourselves in holiness and devotion, waiting for and hastening the coming of the day of God, because of which the heavens will be dissolved in flames and the elements melted by fire. But according to his promise we await new heavens and a new earth in which righteousness dwells. Therefore, beloved, since you await these things, be eager to be found without spot or blemish before him, at peace.

Mark 1:1-8

The beginning of the gospel of Jesus Christ the Son of God. As it is written in Isaiah the prophet: Behold, I am sending my messenger ahead of you; he will prepare your way. A voice of one crying out in the desert: "Prepare the way of the Lord, make straight his paths." John the Baptist appeared in the desert proclaiming a baptism of repentance for the forgiveness of sins. People of the whole Judean countryside and all the inhabitants of Jerusalem were going out to him and were being baptized by him in the Jordan River as they acknowledged their sins. John was clothed in camel's hair, with a leather belt around his waist. He fed on locusts and wild honey. And this is what he proclaimed: "One mightier than I is coming after me. I am not worthy to stoop and loosen the thongs of his sandals. I have baptized you with water; he will baptize you with the Holy Spirit."

The greatness of John the Baptist is foretold by an angel (before his birth rf Lk 1:14-17) and his father Zachary (after his birth rf Lk 1:75-77). Both Mark and John choose to begin their gospels by introducing Jesus through him. Besides being the precursor of Christ, many acknowledge John’s significance as the last prophet of the Old Testament whose arrival ended the nearly four hundred years of prophetic silence (between the time of Malachi and the coming of the Messiah) in the history of Israel. As the hinge joining the Old and the New Testament, many see that he is also the pivotal figure in the history of salvation. Standing astride the old and the new eras, John is truly unique. His message embraces both the Law and the Prophets (the “wrath of God” and His coming judgment rf Lk 3:7-9,17; Mt 7-12) as well as the New Covenant (the need of repentance and baptism as the new way for the forgiveness of sins rf Lk 3:3; Mt 3:1-4; Mk 1:4-5). But I would like to point out what makes Jesus say about John (rf Lk 7:28, Mt 11:11) is not because of his honourable status (rf Lk 1:5-6) nor his relation to Jesus (rf Lk 1:36) nor his designated role as the forerunner of the Messiah (rf Lk 1:76-77), but the manner in which he fulfills his office (rf Lk 7:24-26; Mt 11:9-13).

In fervour and zeal, John’s appearance and bold character resemble that of Elijah, the great prophet of the Old Testament (rf Mk 1:6, 6:18; 1 Kgs 18:18; 2 Kgs 1:8). Taken heavenward without dying and prophesied by Malachi, Jewish tradition literally interprets the future return of Elijah as the harbinger of the Lord’s coming (rf 2 Kgs 2:11; Mal 4:5). Jesus Himself affirms that the prophecy of Malachi is fulfilled in the person of John in the spiritual sense (rf Mt 11:13-14, 17:10-13; Mk 9:12-13). When John speaks, clothed with authority as the returning Elijah, people come and listen. They respect him and even the Jewish authorities are aware of his reputation and fear him (rf Mk 1:5, 6:14-15, 20, 11:27-32; Mt 3:5-10, 21:23-26; Lk 3:7-14, 20:1-6). He fearlessly attacks the powerful Pharisees and Sadducees and even confronts Herod the king which eventually leads him to his martyrdom (rf Mk 6:14-29; Mt 14:1-5, 10; Lk 3:19-20).

In humility, John accepts and fully understands his mission. Even though he is renowned and his disciples are growing in numbers, he repeatedly denies that he is the Messiah (rf Mt 3:11,13-14, Mk 1:7-8; Lk 3:15-16; Jn 1:19-20, 26-31). He subordinates himself as only the witness to the Light and the friend of the Bridegroom (rf Jn 1:6-9, 3:27-30), even forfeiting his leadership and invites his disciples to follow Jesus (rf Jn 1:35-39). Spending his entire life preparing for the coming of the Messiah, he humbly recedes into the background when the true Messiah appears (rf Jn 3:25-30).

In poverty and chastity, John leads a life of austerity and asceticism in the wilderness, practising self-denial and renunciation of the world with the single focus of preparing the way for God’s Messiah (rf Mk 1:6-7, 2:18). His own virtue of chastity makes him courageously denounce Herod’s sins of sensuality that finally ends his life. Though John’s life is short and he performs no miracle (rf Jn 10:41), yet his ministry inaugurates a spiritual movement that has great influence long after his death (rf Mk 2:18, Mt 9:14, Lk 5:33). His surviving disciples continue to spread throughout the Mediterranean world, sowing the seed for the New Kingdom (rf Act 18:24-25, 19:1-7).

Being the last in the long line of prophets who predicted Christ (rf Mi 5:2; Deut 18:15-19; Lk 2:30-32; Zech 9:9, 11:12-13, 12:10; Is 9:1-2, 6-7, 7:14, 11:1, 35:5-6, 40:3-5, 52:13-53:12; Jer 31:15, 31 Hosea 11:1; Mal 3:1; Ps 22, 69, 118), John is the only one who has the privilege of seeing Christ in the flesh. John’s words of recognizing Jesus as the Messiah, “Behold, the Lamb of God who takes away the sin of the world” (Jn 1:29), echo in every liturgical celebration throughout the ages. Let us remind ourselves that John the Baptist, the only one whose birth and death are celebrated by the Church besides Jesus and Mary, is not just some crazy man with absurd attire and strange diet, who runs wild in the wilderness shouting out loud, but truly is a great man ever born of women (cf Mt 11:11; Lk 7:28).

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

Third Sunday of Advent
‘“Make straight the way of the Lord”’ (Jn 1:23)
Is there a part we can play to make straight the way of the Lord? Continue Reading >
Second Sunday of Advent
“. . . among those born of women there has not risen a greater than John the Baptist”
Is it because of His status? His relation to Jesus? His role? Continue Reading >
Second Sunday of Advent
The Jitters of the Last Day
Fear Not! Wherever the Head goes, His Body follows. Continue Reading >

「. . . 婦女所生者中,沒有興起一位比洗者若翰更大的」

將臨期第二主日

依撒意亞先知書 40:1-5,9-11

「你們安慰,安慰我的百姓吧!」你們的天主說。你們應向耶路撒冷說知心的話,並向她宣告:她的苦役已期滿,她的罪債已清償,因為她為了自己的一切罪過,已由上主手中,承受了雙倍的懲罰。有一個呼聲喊說:「你們要在曠野,預備上主的道路;在荒野,為我們的天主,修平一條大路!一切深谷要填滿;一切山陵要剷平;隆起的要削為平地;崎嶇的要闢成坦途!上主的光榮要顯示出來;凡有血肉的,都會看見——這是上主親口說的。」給熙雍傳喜訊的啊!請登上高山!給耶路撒冷報喜訊的啊!請大聲疾呼!高呼吧!不要畏懼!向猶大各城報告說:你們的天主來了!吾主上主帶著威能來到;他的手臂獲得了勝利。他的勝利品與他同在;他獲得的酬勞在他面前。他必如牧羊人,牧放自己的羊群;以自己的手臂集合小羊,把牠們抱在自己的懷中;溫良地帶領哺乳的母羊。

聖伯多祿宗徒後書 3:8-14

親愛的諸位,唯有這一件事,你們不可忘記:就是在天主前,一日如千年,千年如一日。主決不延遲他的應許,有如某些人所想像的。其實,是他對你們含忍,不願任何人喪亡,只願眾人回心轉意。可是,主的日子必要如盜賊一樣來到;在那一日,天要轟然過去;所有原質,都要因烈火而溶化;大地及其中所有的工程,也都要被焚毀。這一切既然都要這樣消失,那麼,你們便應該度聖潔和虔敬的生活,以等候並催促天主日子的來臨!在這日子,天要為火所焚毀;所有原質,也要因烈火而溶化;可是,我們卻按照他的應許,等候那正義常住在其中的新天新地。為此,親愛的諸位,你們既然等候這一切,就應該勉力,使他見到你們沒有玷污、沒有瑕疵,且安然無懼。

馬爾谷福音 1:1-8

天主子耶穌基督福音的開始,正如依撒意亞先知書上記載的:「看,我派遣我的使者在你面前,預備你的道路。曠野中有呼號者的聲音:你們當預備上主的道路,修直他的途徑。」此時,若翰出現在曠野裡施洗,並宣講悔改的洗禮,以赦免罪過。猶太全地和耶路撒冷的群眾都出來,到他那裡,承認自己的罪過,在約但河受他的洗。若翰穿的是駱駝毛的衣服,腰間束的是皮帶,吃的是蝗蟲與野蜜。他宣告說:「那比我更有力量的,要在我以後來,我連俯身解他的鞋帶,也不配。我以水洗你們,他卻要以聖神洗你們。」

洗者若翰的偉大,天使(出生前 路 1:14-17)和他父親匝加利亞(出生後 路 1:75-77)都已預言了。馬爾谷和若望同樣選擇透過若翰來介紹耶穌作為他們福音的開端。很多人確認若翰除了是基督的先驅之外,作為舊約中的最後一位先知,他是具重要性的。因為在他之前,以色列經歷了近四百年沒有先知預言的時期(從瑪拉基亞時代直至默西亞的來臨),而若翰的到來打破了這段緘默。連接著舊約和新約,許多人都認為他是救恩史上的關鍵人物。若翰跨越新舊約時代,確是獨特的。他的信息既包括律法和先知(天主的忿怒和祂即將到來的審判 路3:7-9,17; 瑪 7-12),也包括了新盟約(必需悔改和洗禮為得罪赦 路 3:3; 瑪 3:1-4; 谷 1:4-5)。但我想指出耶穌對若翰的評語(路 7:28,瑪 11:11),不是因為他尊貴的地位(路 1:5-6),也不是因為他和耶穌的關係(路 1: 36),更不是因為他被指定為默西亞的前驅(路 1:76-77),而是他履行職責時所持的態度(路 7:24-26; 瑪 11:9-13)。

若翰的投入和熱忱,他的外貌和勇敢無懼的性格,跟舊約中的偉大先知厄里亞很相似(谷 1:6, 6:18; 列王上 18:18; 列王下 1:8)。厄里亞沒有經過死亡而升天,瑪拉基亞預言厄里亞再來,猶太傳統上解讀為上主降臨的先兆(列王下 2:11; 拉 4:5)。而耶穌自己亦肯定了瑪拉基亞的預言在屬靈意義上由若翰兌現了(瑪 11:13-14, 17:10-13; 谷 9:12-13)。當若翰說話的時候,別具權威,就像再來的先知厄里亞,人們都來聆聽他。他們尊重他,甚至猶太掌權者也知道他的名聲和敬畏他(谷 1:5, 6:14-15, 20, 11:27-32; 瑪 3:5-10, 21:23-26; 路 3:7-14, 20:1-6)。他無畏無懼地攻擊勢力強大的法利塞人和撒杜塞人,甚至挑戰黑落德王,而最終導致他的殉道(谷 6:14-29; 瑪14:1-5, 10; 路 3:19-20)。

若翰謙卑地接受並完全理解自己的使命。儘管他那時已經享有盛譽,跟隨他的人一直在增加,但他一再否認他是默西亞(瑪 3:11, 13-14; 谷 1:7-8; 路 3:15-16; 若 1:19 -20, 26-31)。他謙卑自下,只認為自己是給光作證和是新郎的朋友(若 1:6-9,3:27-30),他甚至放棄領導地位,並請自己的門徒去跟隨耶穌(若 1:35-39)。他畢生為默西亞的降臨作準備,而當真正的默西亞出現時,他就謙恭地退下來(若 3:25-30)。

若翰貧窮,嚴守貞潔,在曠野過著極度樸素和苦修的生活。他克己、棄絕世物,一心一意為天主救世主預備道路(谷 1:6-7, 2:18)。他的貞潔美德驅使他能勇敢地譴責黑落德的淫蕩之罪,而最終導致自己性命不保。儘管若翰的生命短促,亦沒有行過奇蹟(若 10:41),但他的事工開啓了一個屬靈運動。即使在他死後很長的一段時間,仍然極具影響力(谷 2:18,瑪 9:14,路 5:33)。 他倖存的門徒繼續在地中海一帶為新的王國播下種子(參考宗18:24-25,19:1-7)。

作為最後一位預言基督到來的先知(米 5:2; 申18:15-19; 路 2:30-32; 匝 9:9, 11:12-13, 12:10; 依9 :1-2, 6-7, 7:14, 11:1, 35:5-6, 40:3-5, 52:13, 53:12; 耶 31:15, 31; 歐 11:1; 拉 3 :1; 詠 22, 69, 118),若翰是唯一可以親眼見到基督的先知。若翰在宣認耶穌是默西亞時所説的話「看,天主的羔羊,除免世罪者」(若 1:29),在歷代每台彌撒聖祭中迴響。除了耶穌和聖母外,洗者若翰是唯一獲得聖教會紀念他誕辰和離世的人。我們可提醒自己,他不是一個穿奇裝異服,飲食怪異,在荒野中奔跑和呼號的狂人,而他確實是婦女中所生的一位偉大人物 (參考瑪 11:11; 路 7:28)。

Posted: December 10, 2017

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

乙年將臨期第二主日 – 不願意人喪亡的天主 吳智勳神父

將臨的意思是期待主的來臨。今日三篇讀經都提到這問題,但每篇的意義卻不同。首先,依撒意亞先知書提到的將臨,發生於公元前六世紀,當時以色列人正處於流亡期間,先知給他們說:「你們的天主來了」,一切痛苦會成為過去。但事實上,這喜訊只應驗了一半。

繼續閱讀 >