Mercy Without Border

Twentieth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Isaiah 56:1, 6-7

Thus says the LORD: Observe what is right, do what is just; for my salvation is about to come, my justice, about to be revealed. The foreigners who join themselves to the LORD, ministering to him, loving the name of the LORD, and becoming his servants— all who keep the sabbath free from profanation and hold to my covenant, them I will bring to my holy mountain and make joyful in my house of prayer; their burnt offerings and sacrifices will be acceptable on my altar, for my house shall be called a house of prayer for all peoples.

Romans 11:13-15, 29-32

Brothers and sisters: I am speaking to you Gentiles. Inasmuch as I am the apostle to the Gentiles, I glory in my ministry in order to make my race jealous and thus save some of them. For if their rejection is the reconciliation of the world, what will their acceptance be but life from the dead? For the gifts and the call of God are irrevocable. Just as you once disobeyed God but have now received mercy because of their disobedience, so they have now disobeyed in order that, by virtue of the mercy shown to you, they too may now receive mercy. For God delivered all to disobedience, that he might have mercy upon all.

Matthew 15:21-28

At that time, Jesus withdrew to the region of Tyre and Sidon. And behold, a Canaanite woman of that district came and called out, "Have pity on me, Lord, Son of David! My daughter is tormented by a demon." But Jesus did not say a word in answer to her. Jesus' disciples came and asked him, "Send her away, for she keeps calling out after us." He said in reply, "I was sent only to the lost sheep of the house of Israel." But the woman came and did Jesus homage, saying, "Lord, help me." He said in reply, "It is not right to take the food of the children and throw it to the dogs." She said, "Please, Lord, for even the dogs eat the scraps that fall from the table of their masters." Then Jesus said to her in reply, "O woman, great is your faith! Let it be done for you as you wish." And the woman's daughter was healed from that hour.

In recent years, the talks of building walls, travel bans, Brexit, isolation of refugees in camps, such as Calais “the jungle” (France’s notorious refugee camp that was eventually dismantled) and the off-shore refugee camps in Australia, or renewed threats of nuclear arms race have been reverberating on air and on line. One can’t help but feel a little claustrophobic as some of the most powerful nations on earth decide to raise walls and wars rather than reconciliation and peace.

In this week’s Gospel reading, Matthew offers a glimpse of the possibility of healing divisions in our world. In a stunning image of faith meeting mercy, the encounter between the Canaanite woman and Jesus reveals that God’s mercy is indeed restorative and transformative to the human heart and soul. It is crucial to note that many boundaries have been broken in this encounter. The Canaanite woman, an outsider and outcast in the eyes of the Jews, dares to approach Jesus, a Jewish man, to beg for the healing of her daughter. Her action is unconventional and counter-cultural, to say the least. In addition, as the woman cries, “Have mercy on me”, she understands that Jesus is “sent only to the lost sheep of the House of Israel”; however, she persists that “even the dogs eat the crumbs that fall from their masters’ table” (Mt 15:24, 27). “The Canaanite woman signifies repentant souls … [who] lean wholly on God’s mercy. […] Only the humble and faith-filled are rewarded with spiritual healing” (Ignatius Catholic Study Bible, Notes). Her herculean faith not only empowers her to traverse beyond her fear of rejection and shame but also allows her to risk everything she has to reach out to Jesus with complete trust. When Jesus exclaims, “Woman, great is your faith! Let it be done for you as you wish”, her daughter is instantly freed from a demon’s torment and restored (Mt 15:28). Her faith literally moves mountains! Indeed, Jesus teaches that one only needs faith the size of a mustard seed to be able to “say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there’, and it will move; and nothing will be impossible for you” (Mt 17:20).

On the other hand, Jesus has also taken a huge risk in reaching out to a Canaanite. Jesus’ action not only shocks His Apostles but also transcends their understanding, and ours, of His mission on earth: “to bring good news to the poor”; “to proclaim release to the captives and recovery of sight to the blind”; “to let the oppressed go free, to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favour” (Lk 4:18-19). Jesus is not only sent to save the “House of Israel” but all those who is in need of God’s mercy; namely those who are walled in by discrimination, oppression, poverty, segregation, or illnesses. Throughout the Gospel of Matthew, ample examples of Jesus traversing cultural and other artificial boundaries demonstrate the depth and breadth of God’s mercy. For instance, the Israelites during Jesus’ time believed that illnesses and any birth abnormalities, such as leprosy or blindness, were signs of God’s punishment for sins. Despite these beliefs, Jesus heals the leper (Mt 8:1-4), the paralytic (Mt 9:1-7), the woman suffering from haemorrhages (Mt 9:20-22), and the two blind men (Mt 9:27-29). Jesus chooses to stand with the outcasts in order to challenge the Israelites’ understanding of the Mosaic laws. Certainly, his intention is not “to abolish the law or the prophets” but “to fulfil” (Mt 5:17). His action transcends the borders set by these traditions and demonstrates that “the gifts and the calling of God are irrevocable. Just as [the Israelites] were once disobedient to God but have now received mercy because of their disobedience, so [the Gentiles] have now been disobedient in order that, by the mercy shown to [them] they too may now receive mercy” (Rm 11:29-32).

Indeed, God’s mercy can never be defined by human-made boundaries. God’s mercy heals and transforms the ugliness of human divisions of “us” versus “them” – Jews versus Gentiles; citizens versus migrants; rich versus poor; men versus women; white versus black; Christians versus Muslims; and so on – into genuine solidarity. It is evident that God’s mercy is more powerful than any human-made borders. Those who “maintain justice, and do what is right” shall rejoice in God’s house: “And the foreigners who join themselves to the Lord, […] and to be his servants, […] I will […] make them joyful in my house of prayer; […] for my house shall be called a house of prayer for all peoples” (Is 56:1, 6-7).

Therefore, let us pray for courage to move beyond the chasm of “us” versus “them” and walk with Jesus in our collective mission of healing human division – releasing the captives, giving sight to the blind, and freeing the oppressed – so that God’s name may be glorified. “May God be gracious to us and bless us and make his face to shine upon us, that your way may be known upon earth, your saving power among all nations”, Amen (Ps 67:1-2).

Posted: August 20, 2017

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


Other Sunday Reflections

To go through life's nadir at the foot of the mountain
Glimpses and tastes of glory that once exhilarated the disciples can also exhilarate us. Continue Reading >
Lent is a Time of Grace
At the heart of Lent is an invitation to dig deeper: to reflect, review, and renew; it is, indeed, a springboard for radical transformation of our heart and mind. Continue Reading >
Defeating Spiritual Laziness
Here’s a list of the seven deadly sins: pride, avarice, lust, envy, gluttony, anger, and sloth. We basically understand most of them, except perhaps for sloth, which is more than… Continue Reading >

沒有界限的慈悲

常年期第二十主日

依撒意亞先知書 56:1, 6-7

上主這樣說:「你們應當持守公道,履行正義,因為我的救恩,就要來到,我的正義,就要出現。「至於那些皈依上主,事奉上主,愛慕上主的名,做他的僕人,又都遵守安息日,不予以褻瀆,並固守我盟約的異邦人,我要引領他們,登上我的聖山,使他們在我的祈禱之殿,滿心歡樂。他們的全燔祭和犧牲,在我的祭壇上,要蒙受悅納,因為,我的殿宇,將稱為萬民的祈禱之所。」

羅馬書 11:13-15, 29-32

弟兄姊妹們:我對你們外邦人說:我既然是外邦人的宗徒,我必要光榮我的職務。這樣,或許可以激勵我的同胞發憤,好能拯救他們幾個人。如果因為他們的被遺棄,世界與天主和好了,那麼,如果他們被接納,豈不是死而復生嗎?天主的恩賜和召選,是決不會撤回的。就如你們以前,背叛了天主,現在,卻因為我同胞的背叛,而蒙受憐憫。同樣,他們現今雖然仍在背叛中,但這是為叫他們,將來也因為你們所受的憐憫,而得到憐憫。因為,天主把眾人都禁錮在背叛之中,是為要憐憫眾人。

瑪竇福音 15:21-28

那時候,耶穌退往提洛,及漆冬一帶。看,有一個客納罕婦人,從那地方出來,大聲呼喊,說:「主,達味之子,可憐我吧!我的女兒,被魔鬼糾纏得好苦啊!」耶穌卻一句話也不回答她。耶穌的門徒就上前求耶穌,說:「打發她走吧!因為她在我們後面,不停地喊叫。」耶穌回答說:「我被派遣,只是為了以色列家迷失的羊。」那婦人卻前來叩拜耶穌,說:「主,幫助我吧!」耶穌回答說:「拿兒女的餅,扔給小狗,是不對的。」但那婦人說:「是啊!主,可是小狗也吃到主人桌子上掉下來的碎屑。」耶穌回答她說:「啊!婦人,你的信德真大!就成全你的願望吧!」從那時刻起,她的女兒就痊瘉了。

近年來的話題, 例如築圍牆、旅遊禁令、 英國脫歐、隔離難民營 — 例如法國加來市的「森林」(那惡名遠播 最終被拆掉的法國難民營) 澳洲的離岸難民營 以及再次引起恐慌的核子軍備競賽等等 都在電視 電台以及網上引起很大的迴響。 而某些世界强國竟決定以築牆及戰爭來代替諒解與和平 令我們不免有點幽閉恐懼的感覺。

在本週的福音讀經 宗徒瑪竇給我們這分裂的世界 一線癒合的希望。 從客納罕女子和耶穌的偶遇 我們看到信德結合了慈悲那令人讚嘆的影像; 顯示出天主的仁慈的確能夠恢復並且改變人的心靈 關鍵是在這次的相遇 他們打破了很多藩籬。 這個在猶太人眼中不單是外邦人而且更是遭人鄙棄的客納罕女子 竟敢走近耶穌 一個猶太人的身旁 求祂醫治她女兒。 最低限度 她的行為是既違反傳統又違反禮教的。 這婦人還高聲大叫「可憐我吧! 」。 她明知耶穌被派遣只是「為了以色列家族的亡羊」 但仍堅持說出她的觀點「可是小狗也可以吃到主人枱下掉下來的碎屑」(瑪 15:24, 27) 「這客納罕女子象徵悔悟的靈魂 全心全意依賴天主的慈悲 只有謙虛而充滿信德的人 才能獲得靈性上的痊癒」《依納爵天主教研習聖經—備註》她以龐大的信德 克服了可能遭受拒絕的恐懼和羞辱 不顧一切 向耶穌表示完全的信任。當耶穌讚嘆:「婦人你的信德真大就成全你的願望吧」她的女兒就在那刻脫離魔鬼的纏繞而痊癒了 (瑪 15:28)。 她的信德絕對能夠移山! 的確 耶穌教導說人只要有像芥子那麼大的信德便可以「向這座山說『從這邊移到那邊去』它必會移過去的為你們沒有不可能的事」 (瑪17:20) 。

另一方面 耶穌給客納罕女子伸出同情之手 也冒了極大的險。 祂的行為不單震撼了宗徒們 也令他們及我們能超越自己的理解能力 明白祂在世的使命: 「向貧窮人傳報喜訊」 「向俘虜宣告釋放向盲者宣告復明」 , 「使受壓迫者獲得自由宣布上主恩慈之年」 (路 4: 18 -19)。 耶穌被派遣到世上, 不單為拯救「以色列家族」 而是為所有需要天主慈悲的人: 就是那些遭歧視的、被壓逼的、貧窮的、受隔離的和抱病的。在瑪竇福音中 處處都可看到耶穌如何跨越文化以及其他人為的藩籬去展示天主既廣且深的慈悲。 譬如: 在耶穌時代 以色列人相信 疾病以及天生的缺陷 例如痳瘋或盲目 都是天主給罪人的懲罰。 雖然他們這樣相信但耶穌治好了癩病人(瑪 8:1-4)癱子(瑪 9:1-7)患血漏的婦人(瑪 9:20-22), 使兩個瞎子復明(瑪 9:27-29) 。耶穌選擇支持被遺棄的人是為挑戰以色列人對梅瑟法律的認識。 當然祂的目的不是「廢除法律或先知」而是為「成全」 (瑪 5:17) 。祂這樣做跨越了傳統慣例所建立的界限指出「天主的恩賜和召選是決不會收回的。正如 以色列入從前不服從天主現在卻因着他們的不服從而蒙受憐憫同樣外邦人現在雖不服從但卻因 (他們)蒙受憐憫而將蒙受憐憫」 (羅 11:29-32) 。

當然天主的慈悲不容人為的界限所設定。天主的慈悲會治癒和改變醜陋的人與人之間的分歧「我們」與「他們」對立 – 猶太人與外邦人; 居民與移民; 富與貧; 男與女;黑人與白人 ;基督教徒與回教徒 – 從種種對立中建立真正的團結。顯然天主的慈悲比任何人做的邊界強大。那些「秉持公道履行正義」的人會在天主的殿宇裡歡欣喜樂: 「那些外邦人如果他們皈依了上主 (…) 做祂的僕人(…) 我要 (…) 使他們在我的祈禱之所滿心歡樂; (…) 因為我的殿宇將稱為萬民祈禱之所」(依 56:1, 6-7)。

讓我們祈求勇氣跨過「我們」和「他們」之間的鴻溝與耶穌同行邁向我們的共同目標修好人與人之間的分歧 – 讓被俘虜的人獲得釋放瞎子復明被壓迫的人得到自由 – 讓天主的名受顯揚。「願天主憐憫我們降福我們願祂的容光照耀我們讓世人認識他的道路使萬民得知他的救恩」亞孟 (詠 67:1-2) 。

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, and so on. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


其他主日反省

甲年(瑪竇) 常年期第二十主日:母親的信德 吳智勳神父

福音記載耶穌治好客納罕婦人附魔的女兒,但明顯地重心並不在驅魔的奇蹟上,因為魔鬼及附魔者都沒有在故事中出現過。耶穌和那客納罕婦人才是故事的主角,特別是耶穌稱讚那婦人的信德。 故事的上文是耶穌就潔與不潔的風俗問題與經師及法利塞人爭辯。這些風俗已成為以色列人的行為準則,不要與不潔的東西接觸,否則自己也沾染不潔,例如:不要接觸外邦人,免受玷污。今日福音的事件,也能為這潔淨問題提供一個答案。

繼續閱讀 >