A Shelter Fit for a King

Fourth Sunday of Advent

2 Samuel 7:1-5, 8B-12, 14A, 16

When King David was settled in his palace, and the LORD had given him rest from his enemies on every side, he said to Nathan the prophet, "Here I am living in a house of cedar, while the ark of God dwells in a tent!" Nathan answered the king, "Go, do whatever you have in mind, for the LORD is with you." But that night the LORD spoke to Nathan and said: "Go, tell my servant David, 'Thus says the LORD: Should you build me a house to dwell in?' "It was I who took you from the pasture and from the care of the flock to be commander of my people Israel. I have been with you wherever you went, and I have destroyed all your enemies before you. And I will make you famous like the great ones of the earth. I will fix a place for my people Israel; I will plant them so that they may dwell in their place without further disturbance. Neither shall the wicked continue to afflict them as they did of old, since the time I first appointed judges over my people Israel. I will give you rest from all your enemies. The LORD also reveals to you that he will establish a house for you. And when your time comes and you rest with your ancestors, I will raise up your heir after you, sprung from your loins, and I will make his kingdom firm. I will be a father to him, and he shall be a son to me. Your house and your kingdom shall endure forever before me; your throne shall stand firm forever."

Rome 16:25-27

Brothers and sisters: To him who can strengthen you, according to my gospel and the proclamation of Jesus Christ, according to the revelation of the mystery kept secret for long ages but now manifested through the prophetic writings and, according to the command of the eternal God, made known to all nations to bring about the obedience of faith, to the only wise God, through Jesus Christ be glory forever and ever. Amen.

Luke 1:26-38

The angel Gabriel was sent from God to a town of Galilee called Nazareth, to a virgin betrothed to a man named Joseph, of the house of David, and the virgin's name was Mary. And coming to her, he said, "Hail, full of grace! The Lord is with you." But she was greatly troubled at what was said and pondered what sort of greeting this might be. Then the angel said to her, "Do not be afraid, Mary, for you have found favor with God. "Behold, you will conceive in your womb and bear a son, and you shall name him Jesus. He will be great and will be called Son of the Most High, and the Lord God will give him the throne of David his father, and he will rule over the house of Jacob forever, and of his kingdom there will be no end." But Mary said to the angel, "How can this be, since I have no relations with a man?" And the angel said to her in reply, "The Holy Spirit will come upon you, and the power of the Most High will overshadow you. Therefore the child to be born will be called holy, the Son of God. And behold, Elizabeth, your relative, has also conceived a son in her old age, and this is the sixth month for her who was called barren; for nothing will be impossible for God." Mary said, "Behold, I am the handmaid of the Lord. May it be done to me according to your word." Then the angel departed from her.

On this Fourth Sunday of Advent, the last stop before the celebration of the birth of Christ – the ultimate miracle and expression of God’s love – the image of a shelter permeates the wonderful scenes presented in this week’s readings. When we think of a shelter, a few images may come to mind: a tent, a gazebo, a log cabin, a humble cottage, a soup kitchen, a palace, a grand mustard tree, a parent’s or grandparent’s open arms, or perhaps a manger. The image of a shelter evokes strength, confidence, warmth, and most of all, safety. Hikers seek refuge under the green foliage of trees against the pouring rain or burning sun; travellers seek a restful evening at an inn or hotel; refugees desire for a safe haven against persecutions; pilgrims on earth long to rest in the immense love and peace of God. As we journey through Advent, all we can do is to put one foot in front of another, until we reach the ultimate shelter, a lowly manger sheltering a humble family of three. All our darkness, hardships, longing and waiting, culminate in the immense light, comfort, joy, love, and glory of the newborn King.

What is a fitting shelter for our Lord and God; King of kings, and Lord of lords? King David, who may feel a little embarrassed that he, a mere servant of God, lives in luxury while God is relegated to a humble tent, wants to build a proper dwelling for God, “Here I am living in a house of cedar, while the ark of God dwells in a tent” (2 Sam 7:2). While David wants to build a physical dwelling for God, God wants to build something far greater with David.

[God] will establish a house for you […] I will raise up your heir after you, sprung from your loins, and I will make his kingdom firm. I will be a father to him, and he shall be a son to me. Your house and your kingdom shall endure forever before me; your throne shall stand firm forever.’
(2 Sam 7:11-16)

It turns out that God is a far more superior architect than David! At the same time, how wonderful and mysterious that God chooses to include David in His salvific plan; from David’s house springs forth the eternal King, Prophet, and High Priest (Son of God), and the Kingdom of God will reign over its citizens’ hearts. In truth, our loving God does not need a “cedar house”; rather, we need to dwell in God and at the same time, humbly allowing God to dwell in us.

Just like the story of “The Three Little Pigs”, if we rely on our own assumptions and wits, our house will only be as feeble as straw or sticks that do not stand a chance against the Big Bad Wolf. St. Paul reminds us that God is our true strength, “… who can strengthen you” (Rm 16:25). When we allow God to be the architect of our lives; finally, a house built with solid bricks.

How would you describe Mary, the handmaid of God, as a house? Though she appears to be fragile and vulnerable, this house sits on the strongest foundation. She is terrified and filled with apprehension when the angel Gabriel tells her that not only will she bear a son, “who will be called Son of the Most High”, but this child will also become king (Lk 1:32). Yet, here she stands, fully vulnerable but fully open to God’s plan, accepting God’s invitation out of the sheer strength of her faith, “Behold, I am the handmaid of the Lord. May it be done to me according to your word” (Lk 1:38).

So, ultimately, what is a fitting shelter for God? According to God’s vision, a simple and humble manger seems to be just fine. The simplicity of its structure does not compete with its content but willingly allows light to shine through it. The cracked, scarred, and weathered logs are not ashamed of their appearance but are dignified by what’s inside, and are filled with gratitude for their ability to provide shelter even through their own brokenness. As we journey through this last stretch of Advent, we walk with hope and joy, confident that we will find refuge in the humble manger and the Son of God will find dwelling in our heart.

Posted: December 20, 2020

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


Other Sunday Reflections

To go through life's nadir at the foot of the mountain
Glimpses and tastes of glory that once exhilarated the disciples can also exhilarate us. Continue Reading >
Seeing Into the Future
Over the years, I’ve reminded you how God takes care of us in suffering, but today I’m challenging you to make it your own by doing a spiritual exercise. Continue Reading >
Lent is a Time of Grace
At the heart of Lent is an invitation to dig deeper: to reflect, review, and renew; it is, indeed, a springboard for radical transformation of our heart and mind. Continue Reading >

一個適合君王的藏身之所

將臨期第四主日

撒慕爾紀下 7:1-5,8-12,14,16

那時候,達味王住在宮殿裡,上主賜他安享太平,不為四周仇敵所侵擾。君王於是對納堂先知說:「請看,我住在香柏木的宮殿裡,而天主的約櫃卻在帳幕內。」納堂回答君王說:「你心裡打算的,你全可照辦!因為上主與你同在。」但是,當夜就有上主的話傳於納堂說:「你去告訴我的僕人達味,上主這樣說:你要建築一座殿宇,給我居住嗎?「是我揀選你離開牧場,離開放羊的工作,作我民以色列的領袖。你不論到那裡去,我總是偕同你,由你面前消滅你的一切仇敵;我要使你成名,像世上出名的大人物。我要把我民以色列,安置在一個地方,栽培他們,在那裡久住,再也不受驚恐;再也不像先前受惡人的欺壓,有如自從我為我民以色列,立了民長以來一樣。「我要賜他們安寧,不受仇敵的騷擾。「上主也告訴你:他要為你建立家室。當你的日子期滿,與你祖先長眠時,我必在你以後,興起一個後裔,即你所生的兒子;我必鞏固他的王權。我要作他的父親,他要作我的兒子。「你的家室和王權,在我面前永遠存在;你的王位也永遠堅定不移。」

羅馬書 16:25-27

弟兄姊妹們:願光榮歸於天主,他有能力堅固你們,使你們合乎我所傳報的福音,和所宣講的耶穌基督,並合乎所啟示的奧秘。這奧秘從永遠以來,就是秘而不宣的,現今卻彰顯了,且按照永恆天主的命令,藉著先知的經書,曉諭萬民,使他們服從信德。願光榮賴耶穌基督,歸於唯一全智的天主,至於無窮之世。阿們。

路加福音 1:26-38

那時候,天使加俾額爾奉天主差遣,往加里肋亞一座名叫納匝肋的城去,到一位童貞女那裡;她已與達味家族中,一個名叫若瑟的男子訂了婚;童貞女的名字叫瑪利亞。天使進去向瑪利亞說:「萬福!充滿恩寵者,上主與你同在!」 【在女人中你是蒙祝福的。】瑪利亞卻因這話驚惶不安,便思慮這樣的請安,有什麼意思。天使對她說:「瑪利亞,不要害怕,因為你在天主前,獲得了寵幸。看,你將懷孕生子,並要給他起名叫耶穌。他將是偉大的,並被稱為至高者的兒子;上主天主要把他祖先達味的御座賜給他。他要為王,統治雅各伯家,直到永遠;他的王權沒有終結。」瑪利亞便向天使說:「這事怎能成就?因為我不認識男人。」天使答覆她說:「聖神要臨於你,至高者的能力要庇蔭你,因此,那要誕生的聖者,將稱為天主的兒子。且看,你的親戚依撒伯爾,她雖在老年,仍懷了男胎,本月已六個月了;她原是素稱不生育的。因為,在天主前,是沒有不能的事。」瑪利亞說:「看!上主的婢女,願照你的話,成就於我吧!」天使便離開她去了。

將臨期第四主日,是慶祝耶穌降生 — 這表達天主仁愛的偉大奇蹟 — 之前的最後一站;一個容身之處的景象,貫串着主日讀經中的美妙情景。想起容身之處,我們的腦海中會浮現不同的形象:帳幕、涼亭、木屋、簡樸的鄉居、無家者的食堂、皇宮、樹影婆娑的芥子樹、父母或祖父母張開的雙臂、又或者是一個馬槽。容身之處的形象讓人想起力量、信心、溫暖、而最重要的是,安全。在大雨中或猛烈的太陽下,遠足者會躲避在綠蔭樹下;旅行者會尋找一間小客棧或酒店渡過平靜的一晚;難民渴望一個不會遭受迫害的安全港;在世的朝聖者希望在天主的愛與和平內歇息。在將臨期,我們能做到的就是一步一步向前走,直至我們抵達那終極的容身之處,簡陋的馬槽,就是那謙卑的三人小家庭棲身的地方。我們所有的黑暗、困難、渴望和等待的高峰是新生君王的耀眼光芒、安慰、喜樂、仁愛和光榮。

對於我們的主和天主;萬王之王和萬主之主,什麼才是一個適合的藏身之處?達味王可能有些尷尬,因為他只是天主的一個僕人,卻生活奢華,而天主則住在一個簡樸的帳幕內,他想為天主建一個正式的居所:「請看,我住在香柏木的宮殿裏,而天主的約櫃卻在帳幕內」(撒下 7:2)。當達味希望為天主興建一個實在的居所時,天主卻要為達味建造比居所更偉大的。

「【天主】要為你建立家室【⋯】我必在你以後興起一個後裔,即你所生的兒子,我必鞏固他的王權。【⋯】我要作他的父親,他要作我的兒子。【⋯】你的家室和王權,在我面前永遠存在,你的王位也永遠堅定不移」(撒下 7:11-16)。

原來天主是比達味卓越得多的建築師!同時,這是如此奧妙莫測,天主會選擇把達味納入祂的救世計劃內;一位永恆的君王、先知和司祭長(天主子)會出自達味家族,而天主的國度會在萬民心中,統治他們。事實上,我們仁愛的天主不需要一間「香柏木的宮殿」;我們需要的是居於天主內,而同時亦謙遜地讓天主住在我們內。

就像「三小豬」的故事,如果我們太依賴自己的假設和智慧,我們的屋子只會像乾稻草和木條一樣脆弱,難逃過被壞蛋大豺狼摧毁。聖保祿提醒我們,天主是我們真正的力量,「⋯ 他有能力堅固你們」 (羅 16:25)。當我們讓天主做我們人生的建築師;終於,一間堅實的磚屋建成了。

你會以一間怎樣的屋子來形容瑪利亞,天主的婢女?雖然她看來柔弱,容易受傷,那屋子卻建於最強的根基上。當天使加俾額爾告訴瑪利亞,她不但會有兒子,這「被稱為至高者的兒子」更會成為君王,她非常害怕,驚惶不安 (路 1:32)。然而,極易受到攻擊和傷害的她,站在這裏,卻對天主的計劃完全開放自己,懷着堅定的信德,她接受了天主的邀請:「看!上主的婢女,願照你的話成就於我罷」(路 1:38)。

那麼,最終怎樣的居所才適合天主呢?以天主的目光,一個簡單樸素的馬槽已經足夠。馬槽結構簡單,不會和裏面的人物和東西競爭,反而樂意讓光線透進馬槽內。那些裂了,被風吹雨打留下痕跡的木頭,並沒有因為外貌而感覺羞愧,反而藉着處身馬槽內的人而顯出其價值,木頭雖然破舊,卻慶幸有能力為人提供藏身之所。當我們在將臨期,走到最後這段路的時候,我們懷着希望和喜樂,向前邁進,我們滿有信心,會在謙卑的馬槽內找到庇蔭,而天主之子亦會在我們心中找到居處。

Posted: December 20, 2020

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


其他主日反省

乙年(馬爾谷) 將臨期第四主日:聖母瑪利亞──結約之櫃 吳智勳神父

「聖母領報」是一個大瞻禮,教會傳統正確地看出領報在救恩史中的地位,故把它列為十五個奧跡之首,現在就讓我們在聖母身上作反省。

繼續閱讀 >
重新開始 : 更多的祝福正在來臨 Fr. Justin Huang

有兩件可行之事讓你在生活中看到天主的祝福:1)對事情的觀點。我們的生活可能比我們想像的要好。有一次,作家邁克爾•凱亞特Michael Hyatt 的妻子問他道:「你今天過得怎麼樣?」「唏,太糟糕了。」「真的,什麼這麼糟?」當邁克跟她講完,妻子說:「在我看來,你不過度過了糟糕的20分鐘,而不是糟糕的一整天。」他說:「這倒是真的,因為今天餘下的時間都很棒。」

繼續閱讀 >