Begin Again: More Blessings Are Coming

Fourth Sunday of Advent

2 Samuel 7:1-5, 8B-12, 14A, 16

When King David was settled in his palace, and the LORD had given him rest from his enemies on every side, he said to Nathan the prophet, "Here I am living in a house of cedar, while the ark of God dwells in a tent!" Nathan answered the king, "Go, do whatever you have in mind, for the LORD is with you." But that night the LORD spoke to Nathan and said: "Go, tell my servant David, 'Thus says the LORD: Should you build me a house to dwell in?' "It was I who took you from the pasture and from the care of the flock to be commander of my people Israel. I have been with you wherever you went, and I have destroyed all your enemies before you. And I will make you famous like the great ones of the earth. I will fix a place for my people Israel; I will plant them so that they may dwell in their place without further disturbance. Neither shall the wicked continue to afflict them as they did of old, since the time I first appointed judges over my people Israel. I will give you rest from all your enemies. The LORD also reveals to you that he will establish a house for you. And when your time comes and you rest with your ancestors, I will raise up your heir after you, sprung from your loins, and I will make his kingdom firm. I will be a father to him, and he shall be a son to me. Your house and your kingdom shall endure forever before me; your throne shall stand firm forever."

Rome 16:25-27

Brothers and sisters: To him who can strengthen you, according to my gospel and the proclamation of Jesus Christ, according to the revelation of the mystery kept secret for long ages but now manifested through the prophetic writings and, according to the command of the eternal God, made known to all nations to bring about the obedience of faith, to the only wise God, through Jesus Christ be glory forever and ever. Amen.

Luke 1:26-38

The angel Gabriel was sent from God to a town of Galilee called Nazareth, to a virgin betrothed to a man named Joseph, of the house of David, and the virgin's name was Mary. And coming to her, he said, "Hail, full of grace! The Lord is with you." But she was greatly troubled at what was said and pondered what sort of greeting this might be. Then the angel said to her, "Do not be afraid, Mary, for you have found favor with God. "Behold, you will conceive in your womb and bear a son, and you shall name him Jesus. He will be great and will be called Son of the Most High, and the Lord God will give him the throne of David his father, and he will rule over the house of Jacob forever, and of his kingdom there will be no end." But Mary said to the angel, "How can this be, since I have no relations with a man?" And the angel said to her in reply, "The Holy Spirit will come upon you, and the power of the Most High will overshadow you. Therefore the child to be born will be called holy, the Son of God. And behold, Elizabeth, your relative, has also conceived a son in her old age, and this is the sixth month for her who was called barren; for nothing will be impossible for God." Mary said, "Behold, I am the handmaid of the Lord. May it be done to me according to your word." Then the angel departed from her.

There are two things you can do to see God’s blessings in your life:

1) Perspective. Our life is probably better than we think. One time, the wife of author Michael Hyatt asked, “How was your day?” “Man, it was terrible.” “Really, what was so bad about it?” When he finished telling her, she said, “It sounds to me like you had a really bad 20 minutes, not a bad day.” He said, “That’s pretty much right, because the rest of the day was pretty great” (https://michaelhyatt.com/grateful-a-look-back-at-our-story/?transcript).

2) Hearing stories of God’s blessings in other people’s lives. Whenever someone is discouraged, I try to share a story of God’s blessings in someone else’s life. Hearing this, their faces cheer up a bit and they start seeing blessings in their own lives.

There’s a very simple story of God’s blessings in the First Reading: “Now when David, the king, was settled in his house, and the Lord had given him rest from all his enemies around him, the king said to the prophet Nathan, ‘See now, I am living in a house of cedar, but the ark of God stays in a tent’” (2 Sam 7:1-2). For just over 400 years, since the time of their leader Joshua, the Jewish people had almost no rest from their enemies (John Bergsma & Brant Pitre, A Catholic Introduction to the Bible, 364). We can imagine David sitting in his house, breathing in deeply, and fully realizing what a blessing God has just given him. He’s so grateful that he wants to do something special for God in return: He realizes that he’s living in a fixed house, but the ark, which for the Jewish people was the sign of God’s presence and their most sacred object, was located in a temporary fixture. This is a replica of the tabernacle which housed the ark: the structure is fixed and somewhat elaborate (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tabernacle#/media/File:Stiftshuette_Modell_Timnapark.jpg). The general consensus, however, is that when David brought the ark to Jerusalem, the ark was housed in a much simpler tent.

Now, here’s the amazing part: Even though God’s already blessed David, He wants to bless him even more! The Reading continues: “That same night the word of the Lord came to Nathan: ‘Go and tell my servant David: “Thus says the Lord: Are you the one to build me a house to live in? I took you from… following the sheep to be prince over my people Israel; and I have been with you wherever you went… And I will appoint a place for my people Israel… so that they may live in their own place, and be disturbed no more… The Lord declares to you, David, that the Lord will make you a house… I will raise up your offspring after you… and I will establish his kingdom. I will be a father to him, and he shall be a son to me”’” (2 Sam 7:4-5, 8-11). There’s a play on words here: David says he’ll build a house for the ark, meaning a physical temple, but God says He’ll build a house for David, meaning a dynasty, as in the English House of Windsor. And God promises to give David an heir who will be a son of God, which is the first time in the Old Testament that an individual is referred to as a son of God. And that son is, of course, Jesus, one thousand years later.
Here’s the message for today: God’s already blessing us and wants to bless us more. If we have the mindset to see this, then we’ll see it. Of course, this doesn’t mean there’s no suffering in our lives because suffering is designed to help us mature. Even when David had rest from his enemies, there were still hardships in his life. But he was still grateful. And God wanted to give him even more!
I’m going to share a story about prayer that some of you have asked me to share, for two reasons: because hearing stories of blessings makes all of us more grateful, and because sharing experiences of prayer will make it more normal for us to talk about such experiences.

Perhaps the biggest grace during my sabbatical is that God asked me to love Him by receiving more of His love. Ever since I encountered Jesus’ love for me when I was 16, I always felt like I wanted to do more for Him to love Him in return. When I went to the seminary, I learned that the way to grow in love is to increase the intensity of love, by increasing focus, intentionality, or sacrifice. Just like we grow in strength by either increasing the weight or repetitions, so we grow in love by giving more of ourselves or with greater intensity. So, my whole life since then, I’ve always wanted to love God more and would always try to do more for Him.

About seven years ago, however, I felt God was inviting me to deeper levels of prayer, because all spiritual theologians write that, when we go deeper in prayer, our prayer moves from the head to the heart, and God becomes more active while we become more passive. When we’re young, we learn to pray by reciting set prayers because they give us the framework for talking and listening to God. But, as we grow, we use our head and heart more. As it grows further, it becomes mostly heart. And then God starts taking over, and we become more passive.

And so, during my 30-day retreat, I could feel the Holy Spirit wanting me to rest in His love and do nothing else; don’t make acts of love or meditate on Scripture passages, just receive His love, just sit there for an hour and receive, and not at the level of emotions or the mind, but at the level of the soul. So I went to my spiritual director, Trudy, and told her, “I’m not meditating on the Scripture passages you gave me. My heart is just locked in on God and I feel so loved, so peaceful. Is that right?” She said, “Yes, that’s where you’re supposed to go. That’s how I spent my 30-day retreat in the 1980s.”

This is what blew me away: My whole life, I’ve wanted to love God more and now He’s telling me just to receive His love. Of course, there are still times to sacrifice my life for Him, but, in prayer, He now wants me to love Him by letting Him love me. And I pray: “I can’t believe it. I thought this was my time to love You. You’ve already given me everything, and You still want to give me more.”

When I explained this to a friend, I said, “I feel so loved and satisfied. He’s so good. I wish everyone could experience this.”
God the Father is already blessing us and wants to bless us more! This year, we praise Him that six adults asked to enter His family through baptism and become Catholic. When we asked, “For what are you most grateful in the time before, during, or after your baptism” this is what they said:

Chrissy was most grateful for community, fellowship, a sense of security and purpose. “During the process (of becoming Catholic) my relationship with God deepened and became more personal. Now I feel in direct relationship with God, and as a result, I feel an increased comfort in the world and a deeper connection to everything.”

Christy is thankful for the person who, before her baptism, told her that God had a plan for her life (Jer 29:11) because she felt lost. After baptism she was thankful for living in Christ and seeking his words in everything she does.

Michelle wrote: “I have waited for this moment for so long. At first, I thought I cannot know Him enough to be baptized. Now I know God loves me so much that He wants to accept me into His family.”

Jing: “After receiving baptism, I have never felt so clean! At the moment when the water touched my forehead, I felt so loved and wanted to love everyone like Jesus. After learning about Him, I believe God loves me so much that He wants to be so close to me.”

Janice: “I’m grateful for how far I’ve come in my spiritual journey and to have found a church that I feel at home at.”

Anky thanked God for the strength and guidance He’s given her especially in these past difficult years.

For what are you thankful?

The theme of our Advent and Christmas is Begin Again! Here are three ways to begin again:
1) Start with gratitude. Remember how I’ve reminded you never to begin your prayers by asking for things (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2017/10/22/praising-god-others/)? We should start with praising God for Who He is. But now I’d ask you to add gratitude at the beginning of your prayer.

2) Gratitude always leads to a renewal of worship. When David had his period of rest from war, he desired to build a temple for the ark, so that his people could worship in Jerusalem.

It’s human nature that we all grow lazy in prayer. So, here are a few questions: Ask yourself how the Holy Spirit wants you to improve your prayer. Are you faithful to what is good for you? Could you come to the church for adoration? You have to decide on your physical safety, but, let’s also admit that sometimes we get lazy in the things that are good for us.

On Dec. 31, we’re going to do something very beautiful: We’re going to have a holy hour of adoration from 11 p.m. to midnight and then bless people online to start the new year. So, let’s say you’re at your family’s New Year’s Eve party: You’re having a beautiful celebration, then either at 11 p.m. you can pull out to pray, or you could pull out at 11:55 p.m. and join us for five minutes, and start the new year with Jesus’ Eucharistic blessing.

What better way could we start 2021 than with Jesus? And let’s be honest: The countdown isn’t that great. Everyone chants, “Three… Two… One…” nothing’s changed! But, if we receive Jesus’ blessing at midnight, then two things are changed: we’ve consciously decided to receive His love and we’ve decided to put Him at the centre of 2021 (Parish Vision). This leads to the third suggestion.

3) People might ask, “What are you doing?” You could answer, “My church has this theme of Begin Again and is giving a blessing to start 2021. I’ll join you for champagne at 12:01 a.m. And, if you want to join me, it’s only going to be five minutes!” This witness would be powerful and would be a great conversation starter about faith. And, usually, when people have something to drink, they open up and the discussion gets really good! It could be that someone there is suffering from loneliness, some other struggle, or an existential crisis (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2020/12/13/begin-again-go-out-of-yourself/ and needs that blessing.

We’ve been given so much, and it’s natural to share it! It’s our joy and mission. Don’t keep the greatest treasure for yourself. You’re the channel of God’s love.

If you’ve started your 11:02 prayer, keep it up! People are being blessed by it. If you haven’t, it’s not too late. Whom do you love that needs God? Please write down those names and pray for them daily at 11:02 a.m. or p.m. If you want those names placed underneath the altar, fill out the form on our website—36 people have already done so. I hope everyone else is just doing it privately, because people need your prayers now. Think and pray boldly about whom the Holy Spirit is asking you to pray for.

And look for opportunities to invite them to Alpha on Jan. 6, 7, 9: Wednesday nights and Saturday mornings in English, and Thursday nights in Chinese.

On Dec. 7, a Gallop poll in the U.S. showed that the only group whose numbers went up in terms of reporting their mental health as excellent were… guess? Those who attend church services weekly. In 2019, 42% of weekly church goers said their mental health was excellent, and in 2020, this number went up to 46%. Amazing. We have to be genuinely grateful, because it’s a gift.

Realizing that God has blessed us abundantly, it’s time to reform our worship and time to help others. Mental health is worsening, and likely spiritual/moral health, too. Jesus is the answer, and we’re called to proclaim Him in every circumstance. Let’s begin again by recognizing that God has already blessed us, and wants to bless us even more.

Source : The JustMeasure: Begin Again: More Blessings Are Coming (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2020/12/20/begin-again-more-blessings-are-coming/)

Posted: December 20, 2020

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

A New Fixed Star Is coming – An Apocalypse message from Jesus
Happy New Year! Today, the first Sunday of Advent, is the beginning of a new liturgical year. What an extraordinary commencement we have with the readings for today. We are… Continue Reading >
Celebrating the Greatest Decision
Today’s homily is about three great reversals, where Jesus flips our expectations. Let’s start with a video of today’s Gospel, and see if you can spot these reversals. Continue Reading >
Jesus — “The King of Kings and Lord of Lords” (Revelation 19:16)
This year, the celebration of the solemnity of our Lord Jesus Christ, King of the Universe is highlighted by a reading from Daniel 7, a chapter that contains arguably some… Continue Reading >

重新開始 : 更多的祝福正在來臨

將臨期第四主日

撒慕爾紀下 7:1-5,8-12,14,16

那時候,達味王住在宮殿裡,上主賜他安享太平,不為四周仇敵所侵擾。君王於是對納堂先知說:「請看,我住在香柏木的宮殿裡,而天主的約櫃卻在帳幕內。」納堂回答君王說:「你心裡打算的,你全可照辦!因為上主與你同在。」但是,當夜就有上主的話傳於納堂說:「你去告訴我的僕人達味,上主這樣說:你要建築一座殿宇,給我居住嗎?「是我揀選你離開牧場,離開放羊的工作,作我民以色列的領袖。你不論到那裡去,我總是偕同你,由你面前消滅你的一切仇敵;我要使你成名,像世上出名的大人物。我要把我民以色列,安置在一個地方,栽培他們,在那裡久住,再也不受驚恐;再也不像先前受惡人的欺壓,有如自從我為我民以色列,立了民長以來一樣。「我要賜他們安寧,不受仇敵的騷擾。「上主也告訴你:他要為你建立家室。當你的日子期滿,與你祖先長眠時,我必在你以後,興起一個後裔,即你所生的兒子;我必鞏固他的王權。我要作他的父親,他要作我的兒子。「你的家室和王權,在我面前永遠存在;你的王位也永遠堅定不移。」

羅馬書 16:25-27

弟兄姊妹們:願光榮歸於天主,他有能力堅固你們,使你們合乎我所傳報的福音,和所宣講的耶穌基督,並合乎所啟示的奧秘。這奧秘從永遠以來,就是秘而不宣的,現今卻彰顯了,且按照永恆天主的命令,藉著先知的經書,曉諭萬民,使他們服從信德。願光榮賴耶穌基督,歸於唯一全智的天主,至於無窮之世。阿們。

路加福音 1:26-38

那時候,天使加俾額爾奉天主差遣,往加里肋亞一座名叫納匝肋的城去,到一位童貞女那裡;她已與達味家族中,一個名叫若瑟的男子訂了婚;童貞女的名字叫瑪利亞。天使進去向瑪利亞說:「萬福!充滿恩寵者,上主與你同在!」 【在女人中你是蒙祝福的。】瑪利亞卻因這話驚惶不安,便思慮這樣的請安,有什麼意思。天使對她說:「瑪利亞,不要害怕,因為你在天主前,獲得了寵幸。看,你將懷孕生子,並要給他起名叫耶穌。他將是偉大的,並被稱為至高者的兒子;上主天主要把他祖先達味的御座賜給他。他要為王,統治雅各伯家,直到永遠;他的王權沒有終結。」瑪利亞便向天使說:「這事怎能成就?因為我不認識男人。」天使答覆她說:「聖神要臨於你,至高者的能力要庇蔭你,因此,那要誕生的聖者,將稱為天主的兒子。且看,你的親戚依撒伯爾,她雖在老年,仍懷了男胎,本月已六個月了;她原是素稱不生育的。因為,在天主前,是沒有不能的事。」瑪利亞說:「看!上主的婢女,願照你的話,成就於我吧!」天使便離開她去了。

(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿 (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2020/12/20/begin-again-more-blessings-are-coming/) 為準。)

有兩件可行之事讓你在生活中看到天主的祝福:

1)對事情的觀點。我們的生活可能比我們想像的要好。有一次,作家邁克爾•凱亞特Michael Hyatt 的妻子問他道:「你今天過得怎麼樣?」「唏,太糟糕了。」「真的,什麼這麼糟?」當邁克跟她講完,妻子說:「在我看來,你不過度過了糟糕的20分鐘,而不是糟糕的一整天。」他說:「這倒是真的,因為今天餘下的時間都很棒。」(https: //michaelhyatt.com/grateful-a-look-back-at-our-story/?transcript).。

2)聽別人在生活中蒙天主賜福的故事。每當有人氣餒時,我都會試著分享一個關於天主賜福他人生活的故事。聽了這些話,他們的臉上會稍顯喜悅之色,他們始見自己生活中的福樂。

在第一篇讀經中有一個非常簡單的,關於天主賜福的故事:「那時,君王住在宮殿裡,上主賜他安享太平,不為四周仇敵所侵擾,君王遂對納堂先知說:「請看,我住在香柏木的宮殿,而天主的約櫃卻在帳幕內。」(撒下7:1-2)。

400多年後,自他們的領袖若蘇厄時代以來,猶太人為敵人所擾,幾乎從沒享受到過安寧 (John Bergsma & Brant Pitre, A Catholic Introduction to the Bible, 364)。我們可以想像達味坐在他的房子裡,深深地吸了一口氣,充分意識到上主剛剛給了他多麼大的祝福。他非常感激,想為上主做些特別的事作為回報:他意識到自己住在一個牢固的房子裡,但猶太人視為最神聖的約櫃, 是上主存在的標誌,卻被放置在一個臨時的裝置裡。這是一個容納約櫃的帳幕的複製品:結構是固定的,頗為為精緻(https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tabernacle#/media/File:Stiftshuette_Modell_Timnapark.jpg)。然而,普遍的共識是,當達味把約櫃帶到耶路撒冷時,約櫃被安置在一個簡單得多的帳篷裡。

令人驚奇的是:儘管上主已經賜福給達味,但祂還想要更多的祝福他!經文接著說:「但是,當夜就有上主的話傳於納堂說:「你去告訴我的僕人達味,上主這樣說:你要建築一座殿宇給我居住嗎﹖現在,你要對我的僕人達味說:萬軍的上主這樣說:是我揀選你離開牧場,離開放羊的事,作我民以色列的領袖。你不論到那裡去,我總是偕同你,由你面前消滅你的一切仇敵;我要使你成名,像世上出名的大人物;我要把我民以色列安置在一個地方,裁培他們,在那裡久住,再也不受驚恐,再也不像先前受惡人的欺壓,有如自從我為我民以色列立了民長以來一樣;我要賜他們安寧,不受仇敵的騷擾。上主也告訴你:他要為你建立家室。 (撒下7:4- 5,8-11)。這裡有一個文字遊戲:達味說他會為約櫃建造一座房子,意思是一座有形的廟宇,但上主說他會為達味建造一座房子,意思是一個王朝,就像英國的溫莎堡一樣。上主應許給達味一個繼承人,他將是上主的兒子,這是“舊約”中第一次提到上主的兒子。當然,這個兒子就是一千年後的耶穌。

今天的福音是:上主已經在祝福我們了,並且想要更多的祝福我們。如果我們擁有這種心態能夠明白這一點,那麼我們就會看到天主的降福。當然,這並不意味著我們的生活中沒有苦難,因為苦難是為幫助我們成熟而設計的。即使達味從免於與敵人的騷擾,他的生活仍然困難重重。但他仍然心存感激。上主想把更多的福樂賜予他!

你們中有人要求我分享一個我自己的關於祈禱的故事,原因有兩個:因為聽到降福的故事會讓我們所有人都更加心存感激,因為分享祈禱的經歷讓我們更容易談論這樣的經歷。

我休假期間最大的恩典也許是: 上主讓我通過接受祂更多的愛來愛祂。自從我16歲時與耶穌相遇,祂對我的愛,我總是覺得我想為祂做更多的事來回報祂的愛。當我在修院的時候,我了解到愛的成長方法是通過增加愛的強度、增加專注性,意向性或犧牲精神。就像我們通過增加負重或重複運動來增強力量一樣,我們也會通過付出更多或更強烈地去愛。所以,從那時起,我的一生中,也就是從我遇到耶穌開始,我一直想要更愛天主,總想努力地為祂做更多的事情。

然而,大約七年前,我覺得天主在邀請我進行更深層次的祈禱,因為所有靈修神學家都寫道,當我們更深入地祈禱時,我們的祈禱會從頭部轉移到內心,而我們越被動時天主會變得越主動。我們年輕的時候,通過背誦固定的經文來學習祈禱,因為經文給了我們與天主對話和聆聽的框架。隨著我們的成長,我們會更多的使用我們的智力和心靈。當它更成長時,主要就是心靈了。然後天主開始採取主動,我們就變得更加被動。

因此,在我30天的靜修期間,我能感覺到聖神想讓我安息在祂的愛中,什麼都不做;不要做愛的行動,不要默想聖經段落,只去接受祂的愛,只需在那裡坐一個小時去接受,不是在情感或心智的層面,而是在靈魂的層面。所以我去找我的神師特魯迪Trudy,告訴她:「我不是在默想你給我的經文。我的心專注在天主身上,我感到如此被愛,如此安寧。是這樣嗎? 」。她說:「是的,那是你應該去的方向。在80年代,我就是這樣度過30天靜修的。」

深深打動我的是:我的一生,我一直想更愛天主,現在祂告訴我只需要接受祂的愛。當然,仍然有一些時候會為祂犧牲,但在祈禱中,祂現在希望我通過讓祂愛我來愛祂。我祈禱:「我簡直不敢相信。我以為這是我愛你的時候了。你已經給了我一切,你還想給我更多。」

當我向一位朋友解釋這件事時,我說,「我感到如此的被愛和滿足。祂太棒了。我希望每個人都能體驗到。」

天父已經在祝福我們了,並且想要更多地祝福我們!今年,我們讚美祂,有六個成年人要求通過領洗進入祂的家庭,成為天主教徒。當我們問:“在領洗禮前、領洗期間或領洗後,你最感激的是什麼?」他們是這樣回答的:

克麗絲Chrissy最感激的是團體, 友誼、安全感和使命感。 「在(成為天主教徒)的過程中,我與天主的關係加深了,變得更加親切。現在我感覺到與天主有直接的關係,因此,我在這個世界上感覺到更多的安慰,與一切事物的聯繫也更深了。」

克麗絲感謝一個人,那個人在在她領洗前曾告訴她,天主對她的生活是有計劃的( (耶29:11),因為她曾感到迷失。領洗後,她感謝能活在基督內生活,並在她所做的每一件事上尋求祂的話語。

米歇爾Michelle寫道:「我等這一刻等了好久。起初,我以為我對祂的認識不夠,未能領洗。現在我知道天主是多麼的愛我,以至想接納我加入祂的家庭。 “。

靜Jing說:「領洗後,我感覺到從來沒有這麼乾淨!當水碰到我的額頭的那一刻,我感覺到了愛,想要像耶穌一樣愛每一個人。在認識了祂之後,我相信天主是如此這般的愛我,甚至想要與我更親近。」

賈尼斯Janice:「我很感激我在靈性之旅中走了這麼遠,找到了一個讓我有賓至如歸感覺的堂區。」

安琪Anky感謝天主給予她力量和指引,特別是在過去幾年的困難裡。

你感謝什麼?

我們將臨期和聖誕節的主題是「重新開始Begin Again!」這裡有三種重新開始的方法:

1)從感恩開始。還記得我提醒過你永遠不要以祈求東西開始你的祈禱嗎? (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2017/10/22/praising-god-others/)?我們應該從讚美天主開始。但現在我想請你們在開始時祈禱時加上感激之情。

2)感恩總是會帶來崇拜的更新。達味休戰期間,想要為約櫃建造一座聖殿,使他的子民可以在耶路撒冷敬拜天主。

我們都會懶於祈禱,這是人類的本性。所以,這裡有幾個問題:問問你自己,聖神希望你如何改進你的祈禱。你忠於對你有益的東西嗎?你能來教堂朝拜嗎?在疫情期間你必須小心注意安全,但是,我們也要承認,有時候我們在對我們有好處的事情上變得懶惰。

12月31日,我們要做一件非常美好的事情:從晚上11點開始,我們將朝拜聖體一小時一直到午夜,然後在網上祝福大家開始新的一年。那麼,假如你正在參加家人的除夕夜聚會, 一個快樂的慶祝活動,你可以晚上11點,甚至晚上11點55分都可以抽身五分鐘加入我們的朝拜,我們將以聖體降福來開始新的一年。

還有比與耶穌一起開始2021年更好的方式嗎?讓我們坦率地說:倒計時並不是那麼好。每個人都在高呼「Three…Two …。One…
, 但什麼都沒變!如果我們在午夜收到耶穌的降福,那麼有兩件事就改變了:我們有意識地決定接受祂的愛,我們決定把祂放在2021年的中心(堂區願景Parish Vision)。這就引出了第三個建議。

3)有人可能會問:「你在做什麼?」你可以這樣回答: 「我的堂區的主題是重新開始,並祝福2021年開始。我會在凌晨12點01分和你們一起喝香檳。而且,如果你想和我一起去,只需要五分鐘!」。這個見證會很有影響力,會是一個關於信仰的很好的開場白。通常,當人們有喝的東西時,他們會敞開心扉,討論得更好!這可能是因為那裡某個人正感到孤獨、各樣的掙扎或存在的危機(http://thejustmeasure.ca/2020/12/13/begin-again-go-out-of-yourself/)的折磨,需要這樣的祝福。

我們得到了這麼多,與人分享是很自然的!這是我們的喜悅和使命。不要把最寶貴的財富據為己有。你是天主愛的通道。

如果你已經開始了11:02的祈禱,那就堅持下去!人們正領受它的祝福。如果你還沒有,現在還不算太晚。那些你所愛的人需要天主嗎?請寫下這些名字,每天上午或晚上11點02分為他們祈禱。如果你想把這些名字放在祭台下面,請在我們網站上的表格填寫—已經有36人這樣做了。我希望其他人私下也這樣做,因為人們現在需要你的祈禱。大膽地想一想,聖神要你為誰祈禱。

找機會邀請他們在1月6日、7日、9日參加「啟發Alpha」:週三晚上和周六早上是以英語舉行的 ,週四晚上是中文的。

12月7日,蓋洛普Gallop poll在美國進行的一項民意調查顯示,在報告自己的精神健康狀況方面,唯一一個人數上升的群體是…。猜猜?每週參加教堂禮拜的人。 2019年,每週去教堂的人中有42%的人表示自己的心理健康狀況很好,2020年,這個數字上升到46%。令人驚異。我們必須由衷地感激,因為這是一份恩賜。

意識到天主賜予了我們豐盛的祝福,是時候改革我們的崇拜和幫助他人了。心理健康正在惡化,精神/道德健康可能也是如此。耶穌就是答案,我們在任何情況下都要宣揚祂。讓我們重新開始,認識到天主已經祝福了我們,並且想要更多的祝福我們

Posted: December 20, 2020

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

一個適合君王的藏身之所 Susanna Mak

事實上,愛我們的天主不需要一間「香柏木的宮殿」; 我們需要的是居於天主內,而同時,亦謙遜地讓天主住在我們內。

繼續閱讀 >
乙年(馬爾谷) 將臨期第四主日:聖母瑪利亞──結約之櫃 吳智勳神父

「聖母領報」是一個大瞻禮,教會傳統正確地看出領報在救恩史中的地位,故把它列為十五個奧跡之首,現在就讓我們在聖母身上作反省。

繼續閱讀 >
【神修話語】將臨期的第四主日 – 何庭耀神父

這個周末,教會慶祝將臨期的第四主日,福音來自路加福音一章二十六至三十八節。聖母領報之前,加俾額爾天神在聖殿進行 […]

在線聆聽 >