Fullness of Life in Community

Third Sunday of Easter

Acts 3:13-15, 17-19

Peter said to the people: "The God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob, the God of our fathers, has glorified his servant Jesus, whom you handed over and denied in Pilate's presence when he had decided to release him. You denied the Holy and Righteous One and asked that a murderer be released to you. The author of life you put to death, but God raised him from the dead; of this we are witnesses. Now I know, brothers, that you acted out of ignorance, just as your leaders did; but God has thus brought to fulfillment what he had announced beforehand through the mouth of all the prophets, that his Christ would suffer. Repent, therefore, and be converted, that your sins may be wiped away."

1 John 2:1-5A

My children, I am writing this to you so that you may not commit sin. But if anyone does sin, we have an Advocate with the Father, Jesus Christ the righteous one. He is expiation for our sins, and not for our sins only but for those of the whole world. The way we may be sure that we know him is to keep his commandments. Those who say, "I know him," but do not keep his commandments are liars, and the truth is not in them. But whoever keeps his word, the love of God is truly perfected in him.

Luke 24:35-48

The two disciples recounted what had taken place on the way, and how Jesus was made known to them in the breaking of bread. While they were still speaking about this, he stood in their midst and said to them, "Peace be with you." But they were startled and terrified and thought that they were seeing a ghost. Then he said to them, "Why are you troubled? And why do questions arise in your hearts? Look at my hands and my feet, that it is I myself. Touch me and see, because a ghost does not have flesh and bones as you can see I have." And as he said this, he showed them his hands and his feet. While they were still incredulous for joy and were amazed, he asked them, "Have you anything here to eat?" They gave him a piece of baked fish; he took it and ate it in front of them. He said to them, "These are my words that I spoke to you while I was still with you, that everything written about me in the law of Moses and in the prophets and psalms must be fulfilled." Then he opened their minds to understand the Scriptures. And he said to them, "Thus it is written that the Christ would suffer and rise from the dead on the third day and that repentance, for the forgiveness of sins, would be preached in his name to all the nations, beginning from Jerusalem. You are witnesses of these things."

I want to tell you about a deep desire, a dream, I have: I wish you had a fuller life, that had Jesus’ joy and strength.  If I were to go to your homes, I would see peace, not people arguing before online Mass starts, but people smiling, reading, helping each other.

[Watch Fr. Justin’s homily delivery here.]

  • I wish all of you had a group of Christian friends who could encourage, challenge and pray with you, meeting weekly online or in a park. I wish that everyone who walked up our steps would be greeted by someone who would love them, talk to them and direct them to where to go next if they had more questions.  I wish that everywhere we went, we’d be so happy and care about people so much that we’d share Jesus with them, and tell them that our church has something to offer them.

This dream of mine coincides with suggestions that many of you have made about growing our church, and most come back to the idea of community.

If we look at the Gospel, we see the early Church living both elements: the fullness of life in community!

1) “The two disciples told the eleven and their companions what had happened on the road to Emmaus, and how Jesus had been made known to them in the breaking of the bread.  While they were talking about this, Jesus himself stood among them” (Lk 24:35-36).  Notice that Jesus appears when the disciples are sharing their experience of Him on the road to Emmaus.  They were so excited that they tell the other disciples, and that’s when Jesus enters.

  • One scripture scholar says, “Luke is telling us something by connecting the actions of sharing one’s faith experience with the manifestation of the Risen Lord… When we share our stories of faith it helps build the faith of others” (Daniel Mueggenborg, Come Follow Me, Year B, 87).
  • Whenever we have a testimony at Mass, registration for Alpha and Faith Studies doubles! I’ve started to realize that much of our parish growth has happened in small groups: Faith Studies and Alpha in particular, or when people go to Confession, are prayed over, or when people talk about their experience with Jesus in the chapel.  I think small groups and accompaniment have been the secret sauce in our parish’s growth.

2) Jesus says, “Everything written about me in the Law of Moses, the Prophets, and the Psalms must be fulfilled…  Thus it is written, that the Christ is to suffer and to rise from the dead on the third day” (Lk 24:44-45).  Jesus is saying that everything in the Old Testament referred to Him, and specifically to His suffering and Resurrection.

  • Everything in our lives also has to be referred back to Christ’s ‘paschal mystery,’ which is a technical term we should all know referring to the events of Holy Thursday, Good Friday, and Easter Sunday, that is to say, the institution of the Eucharist, Jesus’ Passion, death, and Resurrection.
    • When we’re suffering, one of the greatest gifts our spiritual friends can give us is to refer our lives back to Jesus’ death and Resurrection, because that’s God’s plan.
  • This is a screen shot (https://wchurch.churchcenter.com/groups/community-groups?group_type=79586&archived=&display_mode=cards&name=&enrollment_status=open&page=1&tags%5B%5D=653357) of Westside Church in downtown Vancouver where my friend, Matt Menzel, is the Lead Pastor. Here we see 13 community groups that anyone can join.  If you click on any of the groups, there’s a description of who they are.  One group’s description says, “We… encourage the group to hang out together or check-in with each other throughout the week.  And most of all… we encourage everyone to disciple one another, serve and pray for one another, point one another to Jesus.”  There are 45 of these groups in their church.  Why can’t we do the same here?  We are going to aim for this!

3) Jesus says, “Repentance and forgiveness of sins is to be proclaimed in his name to all nations…  You are witnesses of these things” (Lk 24:47-48).  Jesus has given us a mission to evangelize, to bring Him to everyone, because He wants everyone to come home to the Father.  But our parish doesn’t have much for non-Catholics.  Coming to Mass is too foreign for most people and Faith Studies is too intense for someone who has no background in Christianity.  We have Alpha, which is a welcoming and winsome forum designed to help people understand the essence of the faith, but we need more.

I mentioned two weeks ago about our focus on the family, and now I want to explain just a bit more about the three initiatives we’re starting.  They all have to do with having a fuller life in community.

1) The Consecration to Jesus through St. Joseph is starting on May 8, Mother’s Day weekend.  It’s six-weeks long, two pages a day with reflection questions, and then we’ll meet every Thursday online with a guest speaker.  The gift of this book is that it emphasizes the spiritual and the human.  It’s common that Catholics are strong in faith, but weak in their humanity.  They have, for instance, anger problems, communication difficulties, wounds from their family, or lack of confidence!  But this book fosters self-awareness, making us aware of where Jesus is trying to heal us.

  • My hope is that all disciples will sign up for this. If we experience at least a little growth and healing, then we can build better families.  If one person in a family grows at least 10%, that automatically means a better family; if one spouse improves, that makes for a better marriage.  You can sign up at the link on our website.

2) If we do this consecration well, we’ll see a huge opportunity for creating a community for our youth.  In this past year, I’ve seen the good and the bad.  The good is that I’ve seen tremendous spiritual growth in our youth; growth in maturity, openness, as leaders, and taking responsibility.  In March, I had my best class visit ever, which showed how parents were passing on the love of Jesus to them!  The bad is that our young people are tempted in ways that many of us weren’t, and that it’s harder now to be a disciple of Jesus.

  • NET Ministries wants to send a team here for a year, and this is our opportunity to provide community for our youth! It’s so simple!  All I’m asking is that, in June, our parents take one minute to fill out a form on our website where they commit to supporting this ministry with their time and money.  It doesn’t work when we just expect our Catholic schools to do all the spiritual work.  What works is when parents share their faith with their children, talk about it at home, and lead by example in terms of practices like Confession.  I’m not asking for a lot of money.  The money is only a sign that you’re invested in what this NET team will do.

3) If the consecration goes well, and there’s more grace in our lives, we’ll be able to help people outside our community.  Our greatest tool right now is Alpha!  The tool that we’ll be adding is The Marriage Course, starting in the fall.  Here’s a one-minute video explaining it (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pQHM8hFQdfw).

  • Many people are interested in discussing faith, so Alpha’s is a great place for them. But some aren’t.  So we can say to them, “We’re running this marriage course at our church.  It’s based on Christian principles, but it’s designed for all couples, with or without a church background.”  If people got a taste of the wisdom of Jesus, they would be open to hearing more.  And if they aren’t, we’ll still be helping them.
  • A healthy church always invites others, because it has something to offer. We’re starting Alpha on Apr. 28, 29, and May 1.  This is for the people we love.  Invite them!

The early Christians had so little in terms of material goods, but they had more than we: They had Jesus, and had the most loving community ever.

  • Focus right now on inviting people to Alpha, and joining the Consecration program. That’s how we will grow in community and experience a fuller life.
Posted: April 18, 2021

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

The Joy of Knowing How to Read the Bible
This Sunday’s readings give us a good glimpse into Typology - an amazing biblical interpretation technique that enables us to see the unity of the Old and New Testaments. Continue Reading >
This is Justice, This is Mercy
Mr. Perry, our school principal, once shared a story about when he was young, he and his family took the ferry to Salt Spring Island. He had a friend who… Continue Reading >
“You do not know what you are asking” (Mk 10:38)
By this time in his ministry, Jesus has foretold three times his own Death and Resurrection to the apostles. The last prediction is the most detailed, specifying that his death… Continue Reading >

充實的團體生活

復活期第三主日

宗徒大事錄 3:13-15,17-19

那時候,伯多祿對群眾說:「亞巴郎、依撒格和雅各伯的天主,我們祖先的天主,光榮了自己的僕人耶穌;他就是你們所解送,並在比拉多前所否認的。雖然比拉多原判定要釋放他,你們卻否認了那聖潔而且正義的人,竟要求把殺人犯賜給你們,反而殺害了『生命之原』;天主卻從死者中復活了他。我們就是這事的見證人。「弟兄們!我知道你們所做的,是出於無知;你們的首領也是如此。但天主藉著眾先知的口,預言他的默西亞必要受難的事,也就這樣應驗了。你們悔改,並回心轉意吧!好消除你們的罪過。」

若望一書 2:1-5

我的孩子們,我給你們寫這些事,是為叫你們不要犯罪;但是,誰若犯了罪,我們在父那裡,有正義的耶穌基督作護慰者。他自己就是贖罪祭,贖我們的罪過,不但贖我們的,而且也贖全世界的罪過。如果我們遵守他的命令,由此便知道我們認識他。那說「我認識他」,而不遵守他命令的,是撒謊的人,在他內沒有真理。但是,誰若遵守他的話,天主的愛在他內,才得以圓滿;由此我們也知道,我們是在他內。

路加福音 24:33,35-48

那時候,往厄瑪烏的兩位門徒,回到耶路撒冷,遇見那十一位門徒,及同門徒一起的人,就把在路上的事,及在分餅時,他們怎樣認出了耶穌,述說了一遍。他們正談論這些事的時候,耶穌站在他們中間,向他們說:「願你們平安!」眾人都害怕起來,想是見了鬼。耶穌向他們說:「你們為什麼害怕?為什麼心裡疑惑?你們看看我的手、我的腳,分明是我。你們摸摸我,應該知道:鬼是沒有肉軀和骨頭的。你們看:我是有的。」說了這話,就把手和腳伸給他們看。他們由於歡喜,還是不敢信,只是驚訝。耶穌向他們說:「你們這裡有什麼可以吃的?」他們便給了耶穌一片烤魚。耶穌就接過來,當他們面前吃了。耶穌對他們說:「我以前還同你們在一起的時候,就對你們說過這話:凡是梅瑟法律、先知及聖詠,指著我所記載的話,都必須應驗。」耶穌於是開啟他們的明悟,叫他們理解經書。耶穌又向他們說:「經上曾這樣記載:默西亞必須受苦,第三天要從死者中復活;並且必須從耶路撒冷開始,因他的名,向萬邦宣講悔改,以得罪之赦。你們就是這些事的見證人。」

(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿為準。)

我想告訴你我所擁有的一個深切的願望,一個夢想:我希望你有一個更充實的生活,有耶穌的喜樂和力量。如果哪天我去你們家,我希望看到平安,沒有人在網上彌撒開始前爭吵,而是大家微笑著、在閱讀和互相幫著忙。

[黃神父主日講道視頻 (英語)]

我希望你們都有一群基督徒朋友,他們可以鼓勵你們,挑戰你們,和你們一起祈禱,每週在網上或公園見一次面。我希望每一個走上我們教堂台階的人都會受到一個喜愛他們的人的歡迎,會和他們交談,如果他們有其他的的問題,就指引他們下一步怎樣做。我希望無論我們走到哪裡,我們都會如此快樂,如此關心人們,以至於我們會與他們分享耶穌,並告訴他們,我們的堂區可以為他們提供一些東西。

我這個夢想與你們中的許多人之前提出的關於發展我們教會的建議不謀而合,而且大多數人都有回到教會團體的想法上。
如果我們看福音,我們會發現早期的教會同時體現了這兩個要素:豐盛的團體生活!

1)「二人就把在路上的事,及在分餅時,他們怎樣識出了耶穌,述說了一遍。他們正談論這些事的時候,耶穌立在他們中間 (路24:35-36)。請注意,當門徒們在去厄馬烏的路上分享他們的經歷時,耶穌出現了。他們非常興奮,於是告訴了其他門徒,就在這時耶穌走了進來。

一位聖經學者說:「路加通過將分享自己的信仰經歷的行為與復活的主…的顯現聯繫起來,告訴我們一些事情。當我們分享我們的信仰故事時,將有助於建立他人的信仰。」(Daniel Mueggenborg,來跟隨我,B年,87)。

每當我們在彌撒中作見證時,「啟發(Alpha)和「信仰研究( Faith Studies)的註冊人數就會倍增!我開始意識到,我們本堂的大部分成長都是在小團體中發生的:特別是「信仰研究」和「啟發」,或者當人們去辦告解的時候,或當人們談論他們在聖體小堂與耶穌的經歷時。我認為小團體和互相陪伴一直是我們本堂成長的秘訣。

2)耶穌說:「梅瑟法律、先知並聖詠上指著我所記載的話,都必須應驗。經上寫著,基督要受苦,第三天從死裡復活。」(路24:44- 45) 耶穌是在說,舊約中提到的關於祂的一切,特別是祂的苦難和復活。

我們生活中的一切也必須追溯到基督的「逾越節奧跡」,這是一個我們都應該知道的術語,指的是聖星期四、耶穌受難日和復活節的事件,也就是說:建立聖體、耶穌受難、死亡和復活。

當我們受苦的時候,我們的屬靈朋友能給我們的最好禮物之一就是通過我們的生命回顧耶穌的死和復活,因為這是天主的計劃。

這是溫哥華市中心西區一個堂區的一張截圖,我的朋友馬特·門澤爾(Fr. Matt Menzel)是那裡的主任司鐸。這裡我們看到了13個任何人都可以加入的堂區團體。如果你點擊任何一個群組,就會有一個關於他們是誰的描述。其中一組人的描述是: 「我們…鼓勵團隊一起出去玩,或者在一周內互相探訪問候。最重要的是…。我們鼓勵每個人彼此作門徒,為彼此服務,為彼此禱告,彼此引導歸向耶穌。」

在他們的教堂裡有45個這樣的團體。為什麼我們不能在這裡做同樣的事呢?我們要以此為目標!

3)耶穌說:「因祂的名向萬邦宣講悔改,以得罪之赦。你們就是這些事的見證人。」(路24:47-48) 耶穌給了我們傳福音的使命,把祂帶給每一個人,因為祂希望每個人都能回家,回到天父那裡。但我們堂區給予非天主教徒的東西太少了。參加彌撒對大多數人來說太陌生了,對一個沒有基督宗教背景的人來說,「信仰研究(Faith Studies)也許太沉重了。我們有「啟發Alpha」,這是一個歡迎人和吸引人的討論集會,旨在幫助人們理解信仰的本質,我們需要更多這類的討論會。

我在兩週前提到過要把重點放在「家庭」上,現在我想再多解釋一下我們正在啟動的三項倡議。它們都與使在堂區中的我們擁有更充實的生活有關。

1)「通過聖若瑟奉獻給耶穌」The Consecration to Jesus through St. Joseph。從5月8日母親節週末開始。這個項目長達六週,你只需每天讀兩頁書,回答反思的問題,然後我們每週四在網上與一位特邀演講者會面。這本書的精華在於它強調靈修和人性。一般來說天主教徒的信仰很強,但他們的人性很弱,這是很常見的。例如,他們有憤怒的問題、溝通困難、來自家庭的創傷,或者缺乏信心等!這本書培養我們的自我意識,讓我們意識到耶穌試圖治愈我們。

我希望所有的教友都能報名參加。如果我們經歷至少一點成長和治愈,我們就可以建立更好的家庭。如果家庭中的一個人增長了10%,那自然意味著將有一個更好的家庭;如果配偶中的一個人進步了,那就意味著將有更好的婚姻。你可以通過我們網站上的鏈接報名。

2)如果我們把這個「奉獻」做好,我們將看到為我們的年輕人創造一個團體的巨大機會。在過去的一年裡,我看到了好的和不好的。好的一面是,我看到我們的年輕人在靈修上有了巨大的成長,他們在成熟、開放、作為領導者和勇於承擔責任的過程中成長。三月,我訪問了有史以來最好的班級,這顯示了父母是如何將耶穌的愛傳遞給他們的孩子的!不好的是,我們的年輕人受到了我們許多人所沒有過的誘惑,現在更難成為耶穌的門徒了。

NET希望派遣一個團隊來我們堂區,為期一年,這是我們為年輕人提供團體的機會!太簡單了!我所要求的是,在六月,我們的父母用一分鐘的時間在我們的網站上填寫一張表格,承諾以時間和金錢來支持這個事工。我們單靠寄望我們的天主教學校做所有的靈修工作是行不通的。重要的是父母與他們的孩子分享他們的信仰,在家裡談論這件事,並在修和聖事等方面以身作則。我不是要求你投入很多錢。這筆錢只是一個像徵,表明你對NET這個團隊將要做的事情進行了投資。

3)如果「通過聖若瑟奉獻給耶穌」進行順利,我們的生活中有更多的恩典,我們就能幫助團體以外的人。我們現在最好的工具是「啟發(Alpha)」!從秋季開始, 我們將增加的工具是「婚姻課程」。這是一段一分鐘解釋此課程的視頻,(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pQHM8hFQdfw)。
很多人都對討論信仰感興趣,所以「啟發」對他們來說是一個好去處。但對有些人卻不然,所以我們可以對他們說,「我們的堂區在開設這門婚姻課程。它是以基督宗教原則為基礎的,是為所有夫婦設計的,無論他們有沒有教會背景。 」

如果人們嚐到了耶穌智慧的滋味,他們就會敞開心扉去聆聽更多。若不,我們仍然會幫助他們。

一個健康的教會總是邀請其他人,因為它能提供一些東西。我們將於4月28日、29日和5月1日推出「啟發(Alpha)」。這是為我們所愛的人準備的。邀請他們吧!

早期基督徒在物質方面很缺乏,但他們比我們擁有更多:他們有耶穌,及有前所未有最有愛心的團體。

現在把重點放在邀請人們加入「啟發(Alpha)」,並加入「通過聖若瑟奉獻予耶穌」項目。這就是我們如何在團體中成長,體驗更充實的生活。

Posted: April 18, 2021

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

乙年(馬爾谷) 復活期第三主日:我信聖神,我信從宗徒傳下來的教會 吳智勳神父

復活主日我們講論過信經中「我期待死人的復活及來世的生命」,今天讓我們反省另外兩句:「我信聖神,祂是主及賦予生命者」及「我信從宗徒傳下來的教會」。

繼續閱讀 >
耶穌說,「你們就是這些事的見證人。」(路 24:48) Shiu Lan

「默西亞必須受苦,第三天要從死者中復活。」(路 24:46)

繼續閱讀 >