Get Up and Eat

Nineteenth Sunday in Ordinary Time

1 Kings 19:4-8

Elijah went a day’s journey into the desert, until he came to a broom tree and sat beneath it. He prayed for death saying: “This is enough, O LORD! Take my life, for I am no better than my fathers.” He lay down and fell asleep under the broom tree, but then an angel touched him and ordered him to get up and eat. Elijah looked and there at his head was a hearth cake and a jug of water. After he ate and drank, he lay down again, but the angel of the LORD came back a second time, touched him, and ordered, “Get up and eat, else the journey will be too long for you!” He got up, ate, and drank; then strengthened by that food, he walked forty days and forty nights to the mountain of God, Horeb.

Ephesians 4:30 - 5:2

Brothers and sisters: Do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, with which you were sealed for the day of redemption. All bitterness, fury, anger, shouting, and reviling must be removed from you, along with all malice. And be kind to one another, compassionate, forgiving one another as God has forgiven you in Christ. So be imitators of God, as beloved children, and live in love, as Christ loved us and handed himself over for us as a sacrificial offering to God for a fragrant aroma.

John 6:41 - 51

The Jews murmured about Jesus because he said, “I am the bread that came down from heaven, ” and they said, “Is this not Jesus, the son of Joseph? Do we not know his father and mother? Then how can he say, ‘I have come down from heaven’?” Jesus answered and said to them, “Stop murmuring among yourselves. No one can come to me unless the Father who sent me draw him, and I will raise him on the last day. It is written in the prophets: They shall all be taught by God. Everyone who listens to my Father and learns from him comes to me. Not that anyone has seen the Father except the one who is from God; he has seen the Father. Amen, amen, I say to you, whoever believes has eternal life. I am the bread of life. Your ancestors ate the manna in the desert, but they died; this is the bread that comes down from heaven so that one may eat it and not die. I am the living bread that came down from heaven; whoever eats this bread will live forever; and the bread that I will give is my flesh for the life of the world.”

If a person wants to get in shape, they have to eat well and exercise—which of the two, according to most trainers, is more important? Eating well. There are lots of people who go to the gym but they don’t eat sensibly, and that’s why they can’t build muscle and lose weight.

The same principle works spiritually: If a person wants to become more mature and holier, they have to eat well spiritually, and exercise, which means exercising virtue.

A big reason why many people can’t stop swearing, struggle with pornography, are slothful, and lose their temper so easily, even though they’re trying, is because of lack of nourishment: they read spiritually empty books and don’t receive the Eucharist often enough.

May I be more specific? I don’t want to hurt anyone, but I do want to challenge. If people in your life don’t admire you, or, for the men, the women in your life don’t find you attractive, because you lack courage, you’re shy or indecisive, and you can’t take charge, try to improve what you take in spiritually. The same goes for men and women who are impatient, weak in faith, or always struggling with the same problems. If you were to read God’s Word, receive the Eucharist more often, and practice virtue, you would change.

I’ve entitled this homily Get Up and Eat, taken from the words of the angel in the First Reading. The Church chose this First Reading, about Elijah’s need for physical food, to match the Gospel, about our need for spiritual food, the Eucharist. The Church is teaching us today the principle that your spiritual life is like your physical life. The soul needs food, exercise, and rest, just like the body. For example, cardiovascular fitness is essential to all fitness, just as the most important virtue is love (the heart). The way to get spiritually stronger is by increasing intensity: just as when we add weight to exercise equipment. Similarly, just as there’s physical pain when we exercise, so there’s spiritual pain when we grow in holiness and mission; and those who push past the pain grow!

The First Reading begins: “Elijah went a day’s journey into the wilderness, and came and sat down under a solitary broom tree. He asked that he might die: ‘It is enough; now, O Lord, take away my life, for I am no better than my ancestors’” (1 Kg 19:4). Elijah had just overcome the false prophets of Baal, and now Queen Jezebel wants him dead. He flees into the desert and is so overwhelmed that he wants to die.

“Then Elijah lay down under the broom tree and fell asleep. Suddenly an Angel touched him and said to him, ‘Get up and eat.’ He looked, and there at his head was a cake baked on hot stones, and a jar of water. He ate and drank, and lay down again” (19:5-6). Just recognize this truth: The angel has to prod him to eat. There are times when we may not feel like eating because we feel down or we’re sick, but we need to.

How do we feel about the people in our life who prod us to do what’s good? Who in your life prods you spiritually? Sometimes we resent or get irritated by them. But they’re actually angels.

“The Angel of the Lord came a second time, touched him, and said, ‘Get up and eat, otherwise the journey will be too much for you.’ Elijah got up, and ate and drank; then he went in the strength of that food forty days and forty nights to Horeb the mountain of God” (19:7-8). ‘Get up and eat, otherwise the journey will be too much for you’—this is what Jesus is saying to us today. Eat the Eucharist, otherwise the journey towards eternal life will be too much for you. To reach perfection, to reach the seventh mansion of the interior life, we need the Eucharist.

Jesus says in the Gospel, “This is the bread that comes down from heaven, so that one may eat of it and not die… And the bread that I will give for the life of the world is my flesh” (Jn 6:50-51). As Catholics, following the words of Jesus, the New Testament, and 2,000 years of what the saints have taught, we believe the Eucharist is really, truly, and substantially the Body of Jesus. It’s not chemically changed at all, but, using philosophical categories, we recognize that its substance or identity has changed. I’ve given lots of explanations on this point.

But the question is: How does eating the Eucharist help us grow morally and spiritually? It’s by giving us building blocks. If we work out, but don’t eat enough protein, then our muscles don’t have the building blocks to grow. It’s like going to a construction site, giving the blueprint to the workers, but not giving them any materials with which to build. To grow spiritually, love is the building block, so you need to receive more love in order to practice virtue, and the Eucharist is love itself.

When we try to do what’s morally right, our wills are trying to choose what’s good. For example, let’s say you’re late for Mass(!), through your own fault. When you meet me, you’re tempted to say, “Sorry I was late, Fr. Justin, but traffic was so bad.” In your head, you want to tell the truth, but you’re afraid I’ll get angry with you; the truth will be embarrassing; however, you know that if you lie to me, our relationship will be damaged. So your will is struggling which to choose.

But, for someone who has been receiving the Eucharist daily, their will is accustomed to coming into contact with love, and so they have the building blocks to choose what is loving. They say to themselves, “I made a mistake. I’ll confess it. I’m going to work on it. I’m not afraid of what Fr. Justin will think. And I’m not going to lie. I’m going to take responsibility for my actions.”

So, here are seven truths to consider:

1) Don’t delay Confession unnecessarily. I think we’ve reached the point where we have so much respect for the Eucharist that we won’t receive Jesus unless we’re truly ready—that is amazing! That is a sign of beautiful hearts and God’s grace! However, if we ever delay receiving Communion because we’re putting off Confession through our own choice, then we need to take respect for Jesus to the next level: not simply abstain from Communion, but get to Confession.

2) If we can’t receive the Eucharist, perhaps because we’re not Catholic or we have some situations in our life that we need to work on, then read the Bible daily. Jesus tells us, “Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceeds from the mouth of God” (Mt 4:4). God’s Word also gives us building blocks to grow spiritually.

3) The Eucharist is a superfood, because it’s Jesus Himself. Following the truth can lead to extremely virtuous people (think of Jordan Peterson, the great Canadian psychologist, for example, who tries to act according to the truth), and faithfully praying with God’s Word can produce martyrs (the Anglican martyrs of Uganda, who died for Jesus between 1885-87), but ordinarily God feeds us through the Eucharist. Few people in history have reached the moral and spiritual perfection and purity of heart of St. Mother Teresa, who ate this superfood daily for decades.

4) The Eucharist doesn’t have an automatic effect on virtue. Some people have said to me, “Father, my mom goes to Mass every day, but she’s so critical.” That’s because her spiritual exercise is terrible. She eats well, but doesn’t work out well.

5) Give the Eucharist time. Does eating well for one month transform your body? Getting in shape takes at least three months of daily consistency to see results, and long-term spiritual results come from staying on a spiritual diet every day for at least a year. Give the Eucharist time.

6) The gift of the Eucharist is one reason why I wish everyone would come to know and love Jesus, and would choose to become Catholic. It’s the fulfillment of their hopes and dreams to be with God. It’s the nourishment He wants to give them, if they would but choose to receive Him!

7) Have realistic expectations of the Eucharist. Most of the time, we feel nothing when we receive It. Don’t expect consolation when you receive the Eucharist. Jesus told us to pray, “Give us this day our daily bread,” not our daily steak. When we eat healthy food, it doesn’t always taste good, and it doesn’t make exercise easy. So don’t expect that it’s going to be easy to love your family after coming home from Mass. You’ve got the building blocks, but you still have to work.

I love fitness, but I love spiritual fitness more. That’s why my time in prayer is always at least double my time exercising.

“This is the bread that comes down from heaven, so that one may eat of it and not [spiritually] die… And the bread that I will give… is my flesh.” All people who follow these words of Jesus, and practice His commandment of love, overcome their spiritual problems! Get up and eat!

Source: Get Up and Eat

Posted: August 8, 2021

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

“You do not know what you are asking” (Mk 10:38)
By this time in his ministry, Jesus has foretold three times his own Death and Resurrection to the apostles. The last prediction is the most detailed, specifying that his death… Continue Reading >
Too hard a demand from Jesus?
This Sunday's Gospel reading is one of the many hard sayings of Jesus. It is about renunciation - first, of material possessions and second, of relations (rf Mk 10:23, 29).… Continue Reading >
Our Bodies Are Good
A few weeks ago, some students in our school asked me if Catholics should support the LGBTQ movement—it’s wonderful that they spoke about what was really on their minds. I… Continue Reading >

起來吃吧

常年期第十九主日

列王紀上 19:4-8

那時候,先知厄里亞進入曠野,走了一天的路,來到一棵杜松樹下,坐下求死,說:「上主啊!現在已經夠了!收去我的性命吧!因為我並不如我的祖先好。」以後,他就躺在那棵杜松樹下,睡著了。忽然,有位天使拍醒厄里亞,對他說:「起來,吃吧!」他看了看,見在他頭的旁邊,有一塊用炭火烤熟的餅,和一罐水;他吃了喝了,又躺下睡了。上主的使者第二次又來,拍醒厄里亞說:「起來,吃吧!因為你還有一段很遠的路。」他就起來,吃了,喝了。厄里亞靠那食物的力量,走了四十天四十夜,一直到了天主的山曷勒布。

厄弗所書 4:30-5:2

弟兄姊妹們: 你們不要叫天主的聖神憂鬱,因為你們是在聖神內,受了印證,以等待那得救的日子。要從你們當中,除掉一切毒辣、怨恨、憤怒、爭吵、毀謗,以及一切邪惡;彼此要以良善、仁慈相待,且要互相寬恕,如同天主在基督內,寬恕了你們一樣。所以,你們應該效法天主,如同蒙受寵愛的兒女一樣;又應該在愛德中生活,就如基督愛了我們,且為我們把自己交出,獻於天主,作為馨香的供物和祭品。

若望福音 6:41-51

那時候,耶穌說:「我是從天上降下來的食糧。」猶太人便對耶穌竊竊私議,說:「這人不是若瑟的兒子耶穌嗎?他的父親和母親,不是我們都認識嗎?怎麼他竟然說:我是從天上降下來的呢?」耶穌回答說:「你們不要彼此竊竊私議!凡不是派遣我的父所吸引的人,誰也不能到我這裡來;到我這裡來的,我在末日要叫他復活。先知書上記載:『眾人都要蒙受天主的訓誨。』凡接受父的教導而學習的,必到我這裡來。這不是說有人看見過父,只有那從天主來的,才看見過父。我實實在在告訴你們:信從的人,必得永生。「我是生命的食糧。你們的祖先在曠野,吃過『瑪納』,卻死了。這是從天上降下來的食糧,誰吃了,就不死。「我是從天上降下的、生活的食糧;誰若吃了這食糧,必要生活,直到永遠。我所要賜給的食糧,就是我的肉,為使世界獲得生命。」

(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿為準。)
如果一個人想要保持體形,他必須吃得好、鍛煉得好–根據大多數教練的說法,這兩者中哪一個更重要?吃得好。有很多人去健身房,但他們膳食不夠合理,這就是為什麼他們不能鍛煉肌肉和減肥。
這一原則在靈性上也是適用的:如果一個人想變得更成熟、更有聖德,他們必須在精神上吃得好,並進行鍛煉,這意味著要踐行美德。
為什麼很多人無法停止罵髒話、與色情作鬥爭、懶散,即使努力克制也很容易發脾氣?一個很大的原因是因為缺乏營養:他們讀的是靈性上的空書,而且沒有勤領聖體。
我可以說得更具體一些嗎?我不想傷害任何人,但我確實想挑戰。如果你生活中的人不欽佩你,或者,對於男人來說,你生活中的女人不覺得你有吸引力,因為你缺乏勇氣,你害羞或優柔寡斷,你不能主宰一切,試著改善你的精神境界。同樣的道理也適用於那些不耐煩、信仰薄弱或總是與同樣的問題作鬥爭的男人和女人。如果你多閱讀天主的聖言,多領聖體,踐行美德,你就會改變。
我把這篇講道命題為「起來吃吧」,摘自天使在第一篇讀經中的話。教會選擇了這篇讀經,關於厄里亞( Elijah )對物質食物的需要,以對應福音中關於我們對精神食物的需要—聖體。教會今天教導我們的道理是:你的靈性生活就像你的物質生活。靈魂需要食物、鍛煉和休息,就像身體一樣。例如,心肺適能運動對所有健康都是必不可少的,就像最重要的美德是愛(心)一樣。靈性上變得更強的方法是通過增加強度:就像我們在鍛煉器材上增加重量一樣。同樣地,就像我們鍛煉時會有身體上的痛苦一樣,當我們在聖潔和使命中成長時,也會有靈性上的痛苦;那些超越了痛苦的人都會成長!
讀經一開始:「厄里亞在曠野走了一天的路,來到一棵杜松樹下,坐下來求死說:上主啊現在已經夠了,收去我的我的性命吧!因為我並不比我的祖先好。」(列上19:4)。厄里亞剛剛戰勝了巴力的假先知,現在王后耶洗別想要他死。他逃到沙漠裡,不知所措,想死。
於是厄里亞躺在杜松樹下睡著了。突然,一位天使拍醒他,對他說:「起來吃吧。」他看了看,見頭旁有一塊用炭火烤熟的餅和一罐水;他吃了又喝,又躺下睡了。 」(列上19:5-6)。只要認識到這個事實:天使必須督促他吃東西。有些時候,我們可能因為情緒低落或生病而不想吃東西,但我們是需要吃東西的。
我們對生活中那些鼓勵我們做好事的人有何感想?在你的生命中,是誰在靈性上鞭策著你?有時我們會對他們感到怨恨或惱火。但他們實際上是天使。
「上主的使者第二次又來拍醒他說:『起來吃吧!因為你還有一段很遠的路。』他就起來,吃了喝了,賴那食物的力量,走了四十天四十夜,一直到了天主的山曷勒布。」(19:7-8)。 「起來吃東西吧,不然旅途會讓你吃不消的。」—這就是耶穌今天對我們說的話。吃聖體吧,否則通往永生的旅程對你來說太艱難了。為了達到完美,達到內心生活的「第七座樓台」,我們需要聖體。
耶穌在福音中說:“「是從天上降下來的食糧,誰吃了就不死…。我所要賜給的食糧,就是我的肉。」(若6:50-51)。作為天主教徒,遵循耶穌的話、新約,以及宗徒2000年的教導,我們相信聖體是真正地,真實地、且實體是耶穌的身體(really, truly, and substantially)。它根本沒有化學變化,但是,使用哲學範疇,我們認識到它的實體或身份已經改變了。關於這一點我已經給了很多解釋了,(http://thejustmeasure.ca/2020/06/14/how-real-is-the-real-presence/)。
但問題是:領聖體如何幫助我們在道德和精神上成長?是通過給了我們建築的基石。如果我們鍛煉,但沒有攝入足夠的蛋白質,那麼我們的肌肉就沒有營養基礎。這就像去了一個建築工地,把藍圖給了工人,卻沒有給他們任何建造的材料。要想在靈性上成長,「愛」是基礎,所以你需要接受更多的愛來修行美德,而聖體就是愛本身。
當我們試圖做道德上正確的事情時,我們的意志在試圖選擇什麼是好的。例如,假設由於你自己的過錯,你參與彌撒遲到了(!)。當你見到我的時候,你會忍不住說,「對不起,我遲到了,Justin神父。但是交通太糟糕了。」。在你心裡,你想說實話,但你怕我生你的氣;真相會讓你難堪;但你知道,如果你對我撒謊,我們的關係就會受到損害。所以你的意志在掙扎著選擇哪一個。
但是,對於每天領聖體的人來說,他們的意志習慣於接觸到愛,所以他們有足夠的基礎來選擇什麼是愛。他們對自己說,「我犯了一個錯誤。我會坦白。我要在這方面努力。我不怕Justin神父對我有什麼想法。我不撒謊。我要為我的行為負責。」
所以,這裡有七個事實需要考慮:
1)不要無故拖延辦告解聖事。我想我們已經到了這樣一個階段,我們如此尊重聖體,除非我們真的準備好了,否則我們不會領受耶穌—這太令人驚訝了!這是美麗心靈和天主恩典的象徵!然而,如果我們曾經因為通過自己的選擇延遲認罪而推遲領受聖體,那麼我們需要將對耶穌的尊重提升到一個新的層次:不是簡單地不領受聖體,而是去辦告解。
2)如果我們不能領受聖體,也許是因為我們不是天主教徒,或者我們的生活中有一些情況需要我們去努力,那就每天讀聖經。耶穌告訴我們,「人活著不能單靠麵包,還要靠天主口中的每一句話」(瑪4:4)。天主的話也給了我們在靈性上成長的基石。
3)聖體是一種超級食物,因為它就是耶穌本人。遵循真理可以造就非常高尚的人(例如,加拿大偉大的心理學家喬丹·彼得森(Jordan Peterson),他試圖按照真理行事),虔誠地用天主的話祈禱可以產生殉道者(烏干達的聖公會烈士,他在1885-87年為耶穌而死),但通常天主通過聖體來餵養我們。歷史上很少有人達到聖德蘭修女St. Mother Teresa的道德和靈性上的完美以及心靈的純潔,她幾十年來每天都吃這種超級食品。
4)聖餐不會自動影響美德。有人對我說:「神父,我媽媽每天都去參與彌撒,但她對人對事太挑剔了。」那是因為她的修行還未到家。她吃得很好,但鍛煉得不好。
5)給聖體時間。一個月吃得好會改變你的身體嗎?塑造身材至少需要每天堅持三個月才能看到效果,而長期的精神效果來自於至少一年內每天堅持靈性飲食。給聖體時間。
6) 我希望每個人都能認識耶穌、愛耶穌,並選擇成為天主教徒的原因之一是讓他們接受聖體的恩賜。這是他們與天主同在的希望和夢想的實現。這是祂想給他們的養料,只要他們願意接受!
7)對聖體有現實的期望。大多數時候,當我們領受時,我們什麼也感覺不到。當你領聖體時,不要指望得到安慰。耶穌告訴我們要祈禱,「賞給我們日用的食糧,」而不是給我們每天的牛排。當我們吃健康食品時,它並不總是好吃的,它也不會讓鍛煉變得容易。所以,別指望參與彌撒回家後很容易就能愛你的家人。你已經有了基礎,但你還得實踐。
我喜歡健身,但我更喜歡靈性健身。這就是為什麼我祈禱的時間總是至少是健身時間的兩倍。
「這是從天上降下來的食糧,誰吃了就不死…。我所要賜給是我的肉體。」凡是遵行耶穌的這些話,踐行祂的愛的誡命的人,都要克服他們的靈性上問題!起來吃吧!
資料來源:Get Up and Eat

Posted: August 8, 2021

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

乙年(馬爾谷) 常年期第十九主日:我相信耶穌是自天而降的生命食糧嗎? 吳智勳神父

承接上兩星期的福音,今天的福音同樣是出自若望生命食糧的言論,就讓我們從人的抉擇上作反省。 耶穌要求人以祂作生命的保障,祂自己是自天而降的食糧,誰吃了,就不會死,必會活到永遠,但人面對這個說法時,要選擇是否相信這個人,是否接受這個說法。 

繼續閱讀 >
天主是我們所需的供給者 May Tam

今天主日的《讀經一》講述先知厄里亞在曠野的旅程,令人想起以色列人在沙漠旅居的四十年。 像他之前的梅瑟,厄里亞覺得他無法勝任作以色列民的宗教領袖 (參見 户 11:11-15)。 一方面,他經歷失敗(加爾默耳山事件並沒有帶來以色列的皈依 參見 列上 18:20-40); 另一方面,

繼續閱讀 >
主日教理 天主教香港教區
教理中心及教理委員會
教理主題:耶穌聖體是祭獻和聖事
繼續閱讀 >