Have Mercy on Yourself, Because God Does

Fourth Sunday of Lent

2 Chronicles 36:14-16, 19-23

In those days, all the princes of Judah, the priests, and the people added infidelity to infidelity, practicing all the abominations of the nations and polluting the LORD’s temple which he had consecrated in Jerusalem. Early and often did the LORD, the God of their fathers, send his messengers to them, for he had compassion on his people and his dwelling place. But they mocked the messengers of God, despised his warnings, and scoffed at his prophets, until the anger of the LORD against his people was so inflamed that there was no remedy. Their enemies burnt the house of God, tore down the walls of Jerusalem, set all its palaces afire, and destroyed all its precious objects. Those who escaped the sword were carried captive to Babylon, where they became servants of the king of the Chaldeans and his sons until the kingdom of the Persians came to power. All this was to fulfill the word of the LORD spoken by Jeremiah: “Until the land has retrieved its lost sabbaths, during all the time it lies waste it shall have rest while seventy years are fulfilled.” In the first year of Cyrus, king of Persia, in order to fulfill the word of the LORD spoken by Jeremiah, the LORD inspired King Cyrus of Persia to issue this proclamation throughout his kingdom, both by word of mouth and in writing: “Thus says Cyrus, king of Persia: All the kingdoms of the earth the LORD, the God of heaven, has given to me, and he has also charged me to build him a house in Jerusalem, which is in Judah. Whoever, therefore, among you belongs to any part of his people, let him go up, and may his God be with him!”

Ephesians 2:4-10

Brothers and sisters: God, who is rich in mercy, because of the great love he had for us, even when we were dead in our transgressions, brought us to life with Christ — by grace you have been saved —, raised us up with him, and seated us with him in the heavens in Christ Jesus, that in the ages to come He might show the immeasurable riches of his grace in his kindness to us in Christ Jesus. For by grace you have been saved through faith, and this is not from you; it is the gift of God; it is not from works, so no one may boast. For we are his handiwork, created in Christ Jesus for the good works that God has prepared in advance, that we should live in them.

John 3:14-21

Jesus said to Nicodemus: “Just as Moses lifted up the serpent in the desert, so must the Son of Man be lifted up, so that everyone who believes in him may have eternal life.” For God so loved the world that he gave his only Son, so that everyone who believes in him might not perish but might have eternal life. For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but that the world might be saved through him. Whoever believes in him will not be condemned, but whoever does not believe has already been condemned, because he has not believed in the name of the only Son of God. And this is the verdict, that the light came into the world, but people preferred darkness to light, because their works were evil. For everyone who does wicked things hates the light and does not come toward the light, so that his works might not be exposed. But whoever lives the truth comes to the light, so that his works may be clearly seen as done in God.

Our theme today is: Have mercy on yourself, because God does. For the past three weeks, He’s challenged us to overcome our sloth, to take more responsibility in our prayer, and to root out poor language. If we’ve been with Jesus in the wilderness and facing our demons, we shouldn’t be exhausted, but should be tired. So, God wants you to rest.

St. Francis De Sales wrote, “It is sometimes necessary for us to relax both mind and body by some kind of recreation” (Introduction to the Devout Life, 31), and then tells a famous story about St. John the Apostle, who one day was seen by a hunter holding a bird and stroking it. The hunter was shocked that such a holy man was wasting his time on a useless activity. So, St. John asked, “Why don’t you always carry your bow taut?” The hunter replied, “If it were always bent… it would lose its spring.” The saint said, “Don’t be surprised then if I sometimes relax my close application and attention of mind a bit and enjoy a little recreation so that I may afterwards apply myself fervently to contemplation.”

Today, the Church is half way through her Lenten journey, almost at the Resurrection, and it’s a moment of joy. The fourth Sunday of Lent is called ‘Laetare’ Sunday, Latin for ‘Rejoice,’ because the first words of the Entrance Antiphon are: “Rejoice, Jerusalem, and all who love her.” Rose vestments are used because they’re a lighter, more joyful version of violet.

Here are four truths to receive from today’s Second Reading.

1) St. Paul writes, “God, who is rich in mercy, out of the great love with which he loved us even when we were dead through our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ” (Eph 2:4-5). St. John Paul II wrote an encyclical on God’s being ‘rich in mercy’ and said that Jesus is mercy itself (Dives in Misericordia, 2,2). Thus, if we want to understand mercy, look at Jesus’ actions. At the beginning of His ministry, He loved people who were suffering: He healed the blind, forgave sinners, reached out to the poor, etc.

That’s what mercy is: it’s the kind of love that meets suffering. For example, when a man and a woman fall in love, is that mercy? No. When I affirm someone, is that mercy? No. Why? Because there’s no suffering there. But when I cheer someone up, that’s mercy, because someone’s feeling down. Mercy is when love encounters suffering.

The Church expects that today we’ll be tired from our Lenten penances, and so offers us mercy. In the spiritual life there has to be a balance between giving and receiving. Lent has this balance: Sundays during Lent are not days of penance; they are days to relax the bow, so to speak, and receive mercy. But the other days during the week are days to face our demons. Six days for six weeks plus the four days starting on Ash Wednesday, and that gives us 40 days in the wilderness (Illustration). Thus, every Sunday, we’re supposed to rest! But that means on the other six days, work!

To be more specific, we should work for five and a half days, because Catholics follow the Jewish tradition of starting Sunday the night before with what’s called First Vespers.

http://thejustmeasure.ca/wp-content/uploads/2021/03/Lent-Calendar-Five-and-a-half-768×478.png

So, we should start having mercy on ourselves Saturday night. That’s why Sunday Mass is on Saturday night, and Christmas starts on Christmas Eve.

The whole liturgical calendar has this rhythm of giving and receiving. It has four levels of celebration: Ferial (meaning daily), memorial (remembering a saint), feast, and solemnity (meaning it’s solemn). Whenever there’s a solemnity during Lent, the Church asks us to rest and celebrate. This Friday is the solemnity of St. Joseph, so we can eat meat. March 25 is the solemnity of the Annunciation, so you should receive mercy those days. However, we can only appreciate these celebrations if we’re eager in our Lenten penances. If we’re slothful, these celebrations will mean nothing to us. So, the adage of rest hard, play hard applies in the spiritual life.

By the way, if some of you are thinking, “I gave up complaining or gossiping for Lent, so now I can do it again on Sundays,” no you can’t! Giving up a sin is a good action, but not a Lenten penance. We’re supposed to give up sin all the time.

2) St. Paul says, ‘God… out of the great love with which he loved us even when we were dead through our trespasses, made us alive.’ What kind of death and life are we talking about here? Spiritual life. God loves us even when we’re spiritually dead. Perhaps we’ve committed mortal sins and haven’t been to Confession in a while, and the temptation is just to avoid Confession; we get used to being in a state of mortal sin. Today’s a reminder not to get complacent. God wants to bring us back to life—let’s receive this with soft hearts.

Now let’s say we’re in a state of grace, are we living the fullness of life? Because sometimes we who love Jesus don’t take care of ourselves. Jesus came to give life in abundance, so here are a few questions: Do we take care of our body? Do we sleep enough? How joyful are we? When we suffer, do we suffer well? Sometimes we suffer poorly, precisely because we’re not doing God’s will and renewing ourselves. Do we make time for true friendships, where there’s joy and virtue? Have mercy on yourself, because God does.

3) In the Reading, St. Paul uses the word grace three times: “For it is by grace you have been saved… So that in the ages to come God might show the immeasurable riches of his grace in kindness toward us in Christ Jesus. For by grace you have been saved through faith, and this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God” (5-8). The last part is the key: ‘This is not your own doing; it is the gift of God.’ Grace just means a free spiritual gift. Theologians usually distinguish between two types (https://www.newadvent.org/cathen/06689a.htm).

First, sanctifying grace is what we just talked about: We’re in a state of grace, we’re in friendship with God, and His life is living within us—we don’t earn this, but it comes through our Baptism. We lose it when we commit mortal sins, that is, when we freely choose to do something gravely wrong, and we know it’s wrong. We regain sanctifying grace in Confession, and increase it through Holy Communion.

Second, actual grace is a “supernatural encouragement” (https://www.catholic.com/tract/grace-what-it-is-and-what-it-does). Archbishop Exner gave the best explanation I ever heard: Actual grace is the temptation to do the good. Everyone knows what temptation is like. So, sometimes we feel an urge to pray, read, apologize, rest, fast, reach out to someone, etc. These are all temptations, so to speak, to do what’s good.

Do we feel any actual graces today? Ask the question we posed on January 1: What’s on your heart? What’s the greatest good we could do today? Where do we desire to grow? How do we want to heal? Once we sense an impulse, receive the gift!

4) St. Paul writes, “For we are what he has made us, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand to be our way of life” (8-10). We are ‘created… for good works.’ This is the criterion for a good Sunday: Does it help us to love and perform good works?

In my first year of priesthood, I never watched TV, but one time I was so tired that I sat on the couch and vegged for 30 minutes. You know what happened afterwards? I felt like praying again! That was good recreation and what St. John the Apostle was talking about. If our Sundays and solemnities are truly days of mercy, we’ll be more spiritually generous the next day. For example, if we take a nap, read a book, or play board games with people, and afterwards, are tempted to love our family more, that’s good!

Watching YouTube, checking social media, and relaxing can be all good, but if we don’t feel more encouraged to resume our Lenten penances the next day, then we have to adjust the amount or the content, or eliminate it all together, at least for a time.

If our children are doing all these things and not growing in virtue and holiness, then cut it out.

You know a tree by its fruit. On January 3, I used the example of touching our hands behind our back as a measure of our physical flexibility, but most people forgot what was the measure of our spiritual health. It’s this: Evangelization (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2021/01/03/evangelization-helps-us-begin-again/). When I receive His mercy on Sundays, then I’m excited about evangelization, I want to tell the whole world about Jesus! If you’re having authentic mercy on yourself, you’ll be passionate about evangelization!

We end with a favourite quote from Pope Benedict XVI: “[Man] cannot always give, he must also receive. Anyone who wishes to give love must… receive love as a gift… As the Lord tells us, one can become a source from which rivers of living water flow… Yet to become such a source, one must constantly drink anew from the original source, which is Jesus Christ…” (Deus Caritas Est, 7,2)(http://thejustmeasure.ca/2019/07/07/we-become-what-we-celebrate/).

Source: The JustMeasure – Have Mercy on Yourself, Because God Does (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2021/03/14/have-mercy-on-yourself-because-god-does/)

Posted: March 14, 2021

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

“You do not know what you are asking” (Mk 10:38)
By this time in his ministry, Jesus has foretold three times his own Death and Resurrection to the apostles. The last prediction is the most detailed, specifying that his death… Continue Reading >
Too hard a demand from Jesus?
This Sunday's Gospel reading is one of the many hard sayings of Jesus. It is about renunciation - first, of material possessions and second, of relations (rf Mk 10:23, 29).… Continue Reading >
Our Bodies Are Good
A few weeks ago, some students in our school asked me if Catholics should support the LGBTQ movement—it’s wonderful that they spoke about what was really on their minds. I… Continue Reading >

憐愛自己,因為天主是這樣做的

四旬期第四主日

編年紀下 36:14-16,19-23

那時候,所有的司祭、首長和百姓,都罪上加罪,仿效了異族所做的一切醜惡之事,污辱了上主在耶路撒冷祝聖的聖殿。上主、他們祖先的天主,由於愛惜自己的百姓和自己的居所,時常不斷派遣使者警戒他們。無奈,他們都嘲笑了天主的使者,輕視了天主的勸言,譏笑了天主的先知,致使上主的怒火,發洩在他的百姓身上,直到無法救治。敵人焚毀了上主的殿宇,拆毀了耶路撒冷的城牆,燒了城中所有的宮殿,毀壞了城內一切珍貴的器皿;凡沒有死於刀下的人,都被擄到巴比倫去,作巴比倫王及他子孫的奴僕,直到波斯帝國興起。這樣,就應驗了上主藉耶肋米亞的口,所說的話:「為填補沒有遵守的安息年,這塊土地要一直荒涼七十年。」波斯王居魯士元年,為應驗上主藉耶肋米亞的口,所說的話,上主感動了波斯王居魯士的心,叫他出一道號令,通告全國,說:「波斯王居魯士這樣說:上天的神:『上主』,將地上萬國交給了我,囑咐我在猶大的耶路撒冷,為他建築一座殿宇;你們中間凡做他子民的,都可以上去耶路撒冷;願他的神與他同在!」

厄弗所書 2:4-10

弟兄姊妹們:富於慈悲的天主,因著他愛我們的大愛,竟在我們因犯罪而喪亡的時候,使我們同基督一起生活;可見你們的得救,是由於恩寵。天主使我們同基督一起復活,並使我們在基督耶穌內,和他一同坐在天上,為將自己無限豐富的恩寵,即他在基督耶穌內,對我們所懷有的慈惠,顯示給未來的世代。因為你們得救是由於恩寵,藉著信德,所以得救並不是出於你們自己,而是天主的恩惠;不是出於功行,免得有人自誇。原來我們是他的化工,是在基督耶穌內受造的,為行天主所預備的各種善工,叫我們在這些善工中度日。

若望福音 3:14-21

那時候,耶穌向尼苛德摩說:「梅瑟曾在曠野裡高舉了蛇,人子也應照樣,被舉起來,使凡信的人,在他內獲得永生。」天主竟這樣愛了世界,甚至賜下了自己的獨生子,使凡信他的人,不至喪亡,反而獲得永生。因為天主沒有派遣子到世界上來,審判世界,而是為叫世界,藉著他而獲救。那信從他的,不受審判;那不信的,已受到了審判,因為他沒有信從天主獨生子的名字。審判就在於此:光明來到了世界,世人卻愛黑暗甚於光明,因為他們的行為是邪惡的。的確,凡作惡的,都憎惡光明,也不來接近光明,怕自己的行為暴露出來;然而履行真理的,卻來接近光明,為顯示出他的行為,是在天主內完成的。

(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿 http://thejustmeasure.ca/2021/03/14/have-mercy-on-yourself-because-god-does/ 為準。)

[黃神父主日講道視頻 (英語)]
https://youtu.be/VnHgb7YCJoQ

我們今天的主題是:憐愛自己,因為天主是這樣做的。在過去的三周里,祂挑戰我們克服懶惰,在祈禱中承擔更多的責任,根除粗劣的語言。如果我們與耶穌同在曠野,面對魔鬼,我們不應該感到筋疲力盡,而是感到疲憊。所以,天主想讓你們休息。

今天,教會的四旬期之旅已經進行了一半,復活節即將來臨,這是一個歡樂的時刻。四旬期的第四個星期天被稱為「LAETARE」星期天,拉丁語是「喜樂」的意思,因為進堂詠的第一句話是:「耶路撒冷,和所有愛她的人,喜樂。」神父穿上玫瑰色的祭衣,是因為它比紫色的祭衣更輕鬆、更令人有愉悅之感。

我們可以從今天的第二篇讀經中得知四個事實。

1)聖保祿寫道:「然而富於慈悲的天主,因著祂愛我們的大愛,竟在我們因過犯死了的時候,使我們同耶穌一起生活。(厄2:4-5 )。聖若望•保羅二世寫了一封通諭,談到天主的「豐富的仁慈」,並說耶穌本身就是仁慈的。 (Dives in Misericordia, 2,2)。因此,如果我們想要理解什麼是仁慈,看看耶穌的行為。在他開始事工時,他愛那些受苦受難的人:他醫治盲人、寬恕罪人、向窮人伸出援手,等等。

這就是仁慈:這是一種與苦難相遇的愛。例如,當一男一女相愛時,這是仁慈嗎?不是的。當我肯定某人時,這是仁慈嗎?不是的。為什麼?因為那裡頭沒有痛苦。但當我讓某人振作起來時,那就是仁慈,因為有人情緒低落。仁慈是當愛遇到苦難的時候。

教會預料到今天我們會厭倦四旬期的懺悔,補贖,所以給予我們仁慈。在神修生活中,必須在給予和接受之間取得平衡。四旬期有這樣的平衡:四旬期間的星期天不是補贖的日子;可以說是放鬆弓箭,接受仁慈的日子。但是一周中的其他幾天都是要面對我們的惡魔的日子。六個星期的六天,加上從聖灰禮儀開始的四天,這就是我們在荒野中的40天(插圖)。

http://thejustmeasure.ca/wp-content/uploads/2021/03/Lent-Calendar-Five-and-a-half-768×478.png

因此,每個星期天,我們都應該休息!但那意味著在另外的六天裡,工作!

更具體地說,我們應該工作五天半,

因為天主教徒遵循猶太人的傳統,從周六晚上開始,這就是所謂的(First Vespers)。所以,我們應該從周六晚上開始給予自己憐憫。這就是為什麼星期天的彌撒在周六晚上,聖誕節從平安夜開始。

整個禮儀日曆都有施捨和接受的節奏。它有四個級別的慶祝:平日Ferial (意味著每天),紀念memorial (紀念聖人),慶日feast和曕禮solemnity (意味著它是莊嚴的)。四旬期間,每當有曕禮solemnity,教會都會要求我們休息和慶祝。這個星期五是聖約瑟的曕禮,所以我們可以吃肉了。 3月25日是聖母領報曕禮,所以那幾天你應該得到寬免。然而,只有我們熱衷於四旬期的懺悔與補贖,我們才能欣賞這些慶祝活動。如果我們懶散,這些慶祝活動對我們來說毫無意義。所以,「好好休息,好好玩耍」這句格言也可應用於神修生活中。

順便說一句,如果你們中的一些人在想,「我為了補贖不為了守齋而抱怨或搬弄是非,所以現在我可以在星期天放鬆了。」不,你們不能這樣!不再犯罪是一種好的行為,但不是四旬期的補贖。我們應該每時每刻都放棄罪惡。

2)聖保祿說,「天主…。因著祂愛我們的大愛,竟在我們因過犯死了的時候,使我們同耶穌一起生活。我們在這裡談論的是什麼樣的死亡和生命?神修生活。即使我們在靈性上死了,天主也愛我們。也許我們犯了大罪,已經有一段時間沒有辦告解了,而你的誘惑只是為了避免辦告解;我們習慣於處於大罪狀態。今天提醒大家不要自滿。天主想要讓我們復活–讓我們懷著柔軟的心去接受。

現在讓我們假設我們處於一種恩寵的狀態,我們是否生活在完滿的生活中?因為有時候我們愛耶穌的人卻不把自己照顧好。耶穌降臨是為了給我們豐盛的生命,所以這裡有幾個問題:我們照顧好自己的身體了嗎?我們睡得夠嗎?我們有多快樂?當我們受苦的時候,好好地接受?有時我們有時我們倍感煎熬,正是因為我們沒有遵行天主的旨意,沒有更新自己。我們是否為了有快樂和美德的真友誼騰出時間嗎?憐愛你自己吧,因為天主是這樣做的。

3)在讀經中,聖保祿三次使用恩寵這個詞:「可見你們得救,是由於恩寵…為將自己無限豐富的恩寵,即祂在耶穌內,對我們所懷有的慈惠,顯示給未來的世代。因為你們得救是由於恩寵,藉著信德,所以得救並不是出於你們自己。而是天主的恩惠。 」(5-8)。最後一部分是關鍵:「這不是出於你自己」;這是天主的恩惠。 「恩寵」是天主白白給予的神性禮物。

神學家通常區分兩種類型的(https://www.newadvent.org/cathen/06689a.htm)。

首先,「寵愛sanctifying grace」就是我們剛才所說的:我們處於恩寵的狀態,我們與天主是朋友的關係,祂的生命生活在我們裡面–這不是我們能賺得的,但它是通過我們的受洗來實現的。當我們犯下大罪時,也就是說,當我們自由地選擇做一些嚴重錯誤的事情,並且明佑知故犯的時候,我們就會失去它。我們告解聖事中重獲寵愛,並通過聖體得以增加。

第二,「寵佑actual grace」是一種「超性的鼓勵」(https://www.catholic.com/tract/grace-what-it-is-and-what-it-does).。前總主教Archbishop Exner給出了我聽過的最好的解釋:「寵佑actual grace」是做好事的「誘惑」。每個人都知道什麼是誘惑。所以,有時候我們會有一種強烈的慾望去祈禱、閱讀、道歉、休息、守齋、與某人聯繫等等。可以說,這些都是去做好事的「誘惑」。

今天我們有沒有感受到什麼寵佑嗎?問一下我們在1月1日提出的問題:你心裡在想什麼?我們今天能做的最大的好事是什麼?我們希望在哪方面成長?我們想要怎麼治愈?一旦我們感覺到衝動,就接受這恩賜吧!

4)聖保祿寫道:「的確,天主豐厚地把這恩寵傾注在我們身上,賜予我們各種恩寵,是在基督耶穌裡創造的,是全照祂在愛子內所定的計劃。因為我們是由那位按照自己旨意的計劃施行萬事者,早預定了的預先預備好的」(8-10)。這是一個好的主日的標準:它是否有助於我們實行愛德和善工呢?

在我當神父的第一年,我決定不看電視,但有一次我實在太累了,索性癱坐在沙發上30分鐘(看電視)。你知道後來怎樣嗎?我想再祈禱!那才是好的娛樂,也就是聖若望宗徒所說的。如果我們的主日和曕禮日真的是慈愛的日子,那麼第二天我們就會在精靈性上更加慷慨。例如,小睡片刻、看書,或者和別人玩棋盤遊戲,然後想要更愛我們的家人,那就太好了!

看視頻(YouTube)、查看社交媒體、放鬆一下也都不錯,但如果我們第二天沒有更多的動力來恢復四旬期的補贖,那麼我們就必須調整數量或內容,或者至少暫時把它們全部刪除。

如果我們的孩子這樣做,卻沒有在美德和聖潔上成長,那就把習慣攺掉。

憑果實就能認出一棵樹。 1月3日,我舉了一個例子,用我們的雙手放在背後,看雙手能否互相碰到,以衡量我們身體的靈活性,但大多數人都忘記了這衡量對我們靈性健康的意義是什麼。是這樣的:福傳(http://thejustmeasure.ca/2021/01/03/evangelization-helps-us-begin-again/)。當我在主日得到祂的憐愛時,我會對傳福音感到興奮,會想告訴全世界關於耶穌的事!如果你對自己有真正的憐愛,你就會對傳福音充滿熱情!

我們最後引用教宗本篤十六世最喜歡的一句話:「[人]不能總是給予,他也必須接受。任何想要獻出愛的人都必須…。接受愛的恩賜…。正如天主告訴我們那樣,一個人可以成為活水河流的泉源…。然而,要成為這樣的泉源,就必須不斷地從原始源頭重新汲飲,那就是耶穌基督…。(Deus Caritas Est,7,2)(http ://thejustmeasure.ca/2019/07/07/we-become-what-we-celebrate/).

Posted: March 14, 2021

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

【主日聖言與反省】耶穌,我們的救主和希望的明燈 Shiu Lan

「凡信的人,在祂內得永生」 (若 3:15)

繼續閱讀 >
乙年(馬爾谷) 四旬期第四主日:天主的慈愛 吳智勳神父

舊約作 者 反 省 自 已 民 族 的 歷 史 時,往 往 將 每 一 件 不 幸 的 事 歸 究 為 天 主 對 以 民 犯 罪 的 懲 罰 。…雖 然 舊 約 亦 常 提 到 天 主 對 以 民 的 慈 愛 ( 聖 詠「上 主 是 我 的 牧 者」便 極 其 優 美), 但 以 民 對 痛 苦 的 日 子 總 不 易 忘 懷 …

繼續閱讀 >