Jesus, our Saviour and beacon of hope

Fourth Sunday of Lent

2 Chronicles 36:14-16, 19-23

In those days, all the princes of Judah, the priests, and the people added infidelity to infidelity, practicing all the abominations of the nations and polluting the LORD’s temple which he had consecrated in Jerusalem. Early and often did the LORD, the God of their fathers, send his messengers to them, for he had compassion on his people and his dwelling place. But they mocked the messengers of God, despised his warnings, and scoffed at his prophets, until the anger of the LORD against his people was so inflamed that there was no remedy. Their enemies burnt the house of God, tore down the walls of Jerusalem, set all its palaces afire, and destroyed all its precious objects. Those who escaped the sword were carried captive to Babylon, where they became servants of the king of the Chaldeans and his sons until the kingdom of the Persians came to power. All this was to fulfill the word of the LORD spoken by Jeremiah: “Until the land has retrieved its lost sabbaths, during all the time it lies waste it shall have rest while seventy years are fulfilled.” In the first year of Cyrus, king of Persia, in order to fulfill the word of the LORD spoken by Jeremiah, the LORD inspired King Cyrus of Persia to issue this proclamation throughout his kingdom, both by word of mouth and in writing: “Thus says Cyrus, king of Persia: All the kingdoms of the earth the LORD, the God of heaven, has given to me, and he has also charged me to build him a house in Jerusalem, which is in Judah. Whoever, therefore, among you belongs to any part of his people, let him go up, and may his God be with him!”

Ephesians 2:4-10

Brothers and sisters: God, who is rich in mercy, because of the great love he had for us, even when we were dead in our transgressions, brought us to life with Christ — by grace you have been saved —, raised us up with him, and seated us with him in the heavens in Christ Jesus, that in the ages to come He might show the immeasurable riches of his grace in his kindness to us in Christ Jesus. For by grace you have been saved through faith, and this is not from you; it is the gift of God; it is not from works, so no one may boast. For we are his handiwork, created in Christ Jesus for the good works that God has prepared in advance, that we should live in them.

John 3:14-21

Jesus said to Nicodemus: “Just as Moses lifted up the serpent in the desert, so must the Son of Man be lifted up, so that everyone who believes in him may have eternal life.” For God so loved the world that he gave his only Son, so that everyone who believes in him might not perish but might have eternal life. For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but that the world might be saved through him. Whoever believes in him will not be condemned, but whoever does not believe has already been condemned, because he has not believed in the name of the only Son of God. And this is the verdict, that the light came into the world, but people preferred darkness to light, because their works were evil. For everyone who does wicked things hates the light and does not come toward the light, so that his works might not be exposed. But whoever lives the truth comes to the light, so that his works may be clearly seen as done in God.

This is the second year of the pandemic, the second Lent in the pandemic that has plagued the world since early 2020. We seem to have done all we can; we follow government instructions to stay safe, to stay home, we have begun a new way of life and work and do things virtually. Yet we have not been able to put the threat of the virus behind us. Now that we have the vaccines, new strains of the virus have also appeared. It seems that the collective effort of the world’s brightest scientific minds cannot say for sure whether the pandemic can be defeated in the near future. Humanity is also experiencing crises in other areas as well, political tension, unrests and persecution; some countries are at the brink of war. Political differences are creating divides among the fellow citizens in communities, in the work place and even in families. People, including some of us, may feel restless and frustrated, and look for healing.

Look no further! This Sunday’s Mass readings provide the healing, solace and peace we long for. The gospel reading begins with the imagery of the bronze serpent that Moses lifts up in the wilderness, whoever have been bitten by the fiery serpents because of their sins will live if they look to the bronze serpent in search of God’s mercy (Ref. Num 21:4-9; Ignatius Bible Study P166). Jesus sees the bronze serpent as an image of his own Crucifixion on the Cross and the healing it will bring to a world darkened by sin and evilness. By His death on the Cross, Jesus brings us eternal life; not only we will live, but we will never die if we are steadfast in our faith in Him. He said, “Just as Moses lifted up the serpent in the wilderness so must the Son of Man be lifted up, that whoever believes in him may have eternal life” (Jn 3:14-15; Ref. IBS P166). God is doing this out of His love and infinite mercy for each one of us, “For God so loved the world that he gave his only begotten Son”; “[He] did not sent the Son into the world to condemn the world, but in order that the world might be saved through him” (Jn 3:16-17).

Our redemption requires us to believe in Jesus. About this gift of faith, St. Paul explains in the second reading, it is “by grace [we] have been saved through faith, and this is not [our] own doing; it is the gift of God. This is not the results of works, so that no one may boast”, but “we are what he has made us, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand to be our way of life” (Ephesians 2:8-10). For those blessed with the gift of faith, our path in this world is quite clear, doing good works is our way of life because that is what we are “created in Christ Jesus for” (Ephesians 2:10).

We are mere mortals tinted with the darkness of sin. It is too easy to fall into temptation and sin again and again. While blessed with the gift of faith, it is still easy to lose hope with our own failures and sinfulness. At times when our own little world seems to have tumbled with difficulties and tribulations, we may fall into hopelessness. In this pandemic, the elderly, the homeless and the marginalised in society are the most vulnerable. They are more prone to despair and depression when their loneliness and isolation become unbearable.

Jesus Christ is our Saviour and beacon of hope. In this Lenten Sunday, let us pray for each other and for the most vulnerable with this prayer from Station Nine — Jesus falls for the third time — from “The Way of the Cross with Pope Francis”*,

O God, strength of those who hope in you,
You give peace to those who follow your teachings.
Sustain our staggering steps,
raise us when we fall through our unfaithfulness.
Pour the balm of consolation and the wine of hope on our wounds.
Through Christ our Lord. Amen.

*published 2021 by CNEWA Canada (a papal agency for humanitarian and pastoral support)

Posted: March 14, 2021

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


Other Sunday Reflections

“Men of Galilee, why gaze in wonder at the heavens?” (Acts 1:11)
“This Jesus whom you saw ascending into heaven will return as you saw him go” (Acts 1:11) Continue Reading >
Three Characteristics of Happy Families
The classic Russian novel Anna Karenina, by Leo Tolstoy, begins with this famous sentence: “All happy families are alike; each unhappy family is unhappy in its own way.” The second… Continue Reading >
The Catholic Church and Catholicity
When the Catholic Church opens her arms to welcome all peoples, she does so not only because of charity, important as it is in Jesus’ teaching, it’s also because of… Continue Reading >

【主日聖言與反省】耶穌,我們的救主和希望的明燈

四旬期第四主日

編年紀下 36:14-16,19-23

那時候,所有的司祭、首長和百姓,都罪上加罪,仿效了異族所做的一切醜惡之事,污辱了上主在耶路撒冷祝聖的聖殿。上主、他們祖先的天主,由於愛惜自己的百姓和自己的居所,時常不斷派遣使者警戒他們。無奈,他們都嘲笑了天主的使者,輕視了天主的勸言,譏笑了天主的先知,致使上主的怒火,發洩在他的百姓身上,直到無法救治。敵人焚毀了上主的殿宇,拆毀了耶路撒冷的城牆,燒了城中所有的宮殿,毀壞了城內一切珍貴的器皿;凡沒有死於刀下的人,都被擄到巴比倫去,作巴比倫王及他子孫的奴僕,直到波斯帝國興起。這樣,就應驗了上主藉耶肋米亞的口,所說的話:「為填補沒有遵守的安息年,這塊土地要一直荒涼七十年。」波斯王居魯士元年,為應驗上主藉耶肋米亞的口,所說的話,上主感動了波斯王居魯士的心,叫他出一道號令,通告全國,說:「波斯王居魯士這樣說:上天的神:『上主』,將地上萬國交給了我,囑咐我在猶大的耶路撒冷,為他建築一座殿宇;你們中間凡做他子民的,都可以上去耶路撒冷;願他的神與他同在!」

厄弗所書 2:4-10

弟兄姊妹們:富於慈悲的天主,因著他愛我們的大愛,竟在我們因犯罪而喪亡的時候,使我們同基督一起生活;可見你們的得救,是由於恩寵。天主使我們同基督一起復活,並使我們在基督耶穌內,和他一同坐在天上,為將自己無限豐富的恩寵,即他在基督耶穌內,對我們所懷有的慈惠,顯示給未來的世代。因為你們得救是由於恩寵,藉著信德,所以得救並不是出於你們自己,而是天主的恩惠;不是出於功行,免得有人自誇。原來我們是他的化工,是在基督耶穌內受造的,為行天主所預備的各種善工,叫我們在這些善工中度日。

若望福音 3:14-21

那時候,耶穌向尼苛德摩說:「梅瑟曾在曠野裡高舉了蛇,人子也應照樣,被舉起來,使凡信的人,在他內獲得永生。」天主竟這樣愛了世界,甚至賜下了自己的獨生子,使凡信他的人,不至喪亡,反而獲得永生。因為天主沒有派遣子到世界上來,審判世界,而是為叫世界,藉著他而獲救。那信從他的,不受審判;那不信的,已受到了審判,因為他沒有信從天主獨生子的名字。審判就在於此:光明來到了世界,世人卻愛黑暗甚於光明,因為他們的行為是邪惡的。的確,凡作惡的,都憎惡光明,也不來接近光明,怕自己的行為暴露出來;然而履行真理的,卻來接近光明,為顯示出他的行為,是在天主內完成的。

今年是全球疫症流行的第二年,也是自二零二零年,疫情肆虐世界以來的第二個四旬期了! 我們似乎已經竭盡所能:我們遵照政府指示,為了安全,留在家裡,開始了新的生活和工作方式,事情都在網上進行。可是,我們仍然不能解除病毒的威脅。現在雖說有了疫苗,但新的變種病毒卻又冒出來了。似乎全世界最優秀的科學家的共同努力不懈,也不能肯定在不久的將來,可以贏得這場瘟疫戰!在別的領域裏,人類也正在經歷各種危機:政治上的緊張局勢、動盪和迫害;有些國家甚至已在戰爭邊緣,一觸即發。政見的分歧分裂了國民、社區、工作場所、甚至家庭。有些人,甚至我們自己,可能都會感覺不安和沮喪,正在尋求治癒。

不用找了! 這個主日的讀經給了我們所渴望的治癒、安慰和平安。福音讀經以梅瑟在曠野高舉銅蛇的形像為開始,無論誰因為犯了罪,而遭火蛇咬的話,只要仰望這高舉的銅蛇,尋找天主的慈悲,便可以活下去 (戶 21:4-9; Ignatius Bible Study 166 頁)。耶穌把這銅蛇看作祂自己被釘在十字架上的影像,為罪過與邪惡的黑暗世界帶來治癒。耶穌在十字架上的死亡,帶給了我們永生;只要我們對祂的信德,堅定不移,我們不但可以活下去,更可以永遠不死。祂說「正如梅瑟曾在曠野裡高舉了蛇,人子也應照樣被舉起來,凡使信的人,在他内得永生」(若3:14-15; IBS 166 頁) 。天主這樣做,是出於祂對我們每一個人的仁愛與無限慈悲, 「天主竟這樣愛了世界,甚至賜下了自已的獨生子」;「【祂】沒有派遣子來審判世界,而是為叫世界藉著祂而獲救」(若 3:16-17) 。

要得救,我們必須相信耶穌。聖保祿在《讀經二》解釋這信德的恩寵,他說:
「【我們】得救是由於恩寵,藉著信德,所以得救並不是出於【我們】自己,而是天主的恩惠;不是出於功行,免得有人自誇」,而「我們是祂的化工,是在基督耶穌內受造的,為行天主所預備的各種善工,叫我們在這些善工中度日」(弗2:8-10)。為獲得信德恩寵的人,我們在世的路,頗為清晰,我們的生活,是為行天主所準備的各種善行,因為,我們是為此而「在基督耶穌內受造的」(弗 2:10)。

我們只是生命有限、會死的人,被黑暗的罪惡所玷污,我們很容易陷於誘惑而再三犯罪。雖然獲賜信德,我們也容易因為自己的挫敗和罪惡而失去希望。當自己的小世界因為困厄和考驗而像要塌下來的時候,我們也可能會掉進失望的深淵。在這疫症期間,長者、無家可歸者和社會上的邊緣人,是最脆弱和最容易受到傷害的。當他們不能承受孤單和與人隔離的時候,他們很容易會掉進失望和抑鬱中。

耶穌基督是我們的救世主和希望的明燈。在這四旬期的主日,讓我們用以下的經文互相代禱,也為最容易受傷的人祈禱,經文出自《與教宗方濟各拜苦路》* 第九處 耶穌第三次跌倒:

天主,對祢懷着希望的人,祢是他們的力量
祢賜平安給跟隨祢教導的人,
支撐我們蹣跚的步伐,
當我們因為自己的不信實而跌倒的時候,祢扶起我們
把安慰的香油和希望的酒,倒在我們的傷口上
藉着基督我們的主,亞孟。

* CNEWA Canada (一個支持人道主義和牧民工作的宗座機構) 2021 出版

Posted: March 14, 2021

Shiu Lan

 
Shiu Lan is your Catholic neighbour with a simple faith and likes praying the Rosary. With a B.Sc from the University of Hong Kong, she worked in Information Technology and Project Management before working with joy at home.


其他主日反省

乙年(馬爾谷) 四旬期第四主日:天主的慈愛 吳智勳神父

舊約作 者 反 省 自 已 民 族 的 歷 史 時,往 往 將 每 一 件 不 幸 的 事 歸 究 為 天 主 對 以 民 犯 罪 的 懲 罰 。…雖 然 舊 約 亦 常 提 到 天 主 對 以 民 的 慈 愛 ( 聖 詠「上 主 是 我 的 牧 者」便 極 其 優 美), 但 以 民 對 痛 苦 的 日 子 總 不 易 忘 懷 …

繼續閱讀 >
憐愛自己,因為天主是這樣做的 Fr. Justin Huang

我們今天的主題是:憐愛自己,因為天主是這樣做的。在過去的三周里,祂挑戰我們克服懶惰,在祈禱中承擔更多的責任,根除粗劣的語言。如果我們與耶穌同在曠野,面對魔鬼,我們不應該感到筋疲力盡,而是感到疲憊。所以,天主想讓你們休息。

繼續閱讀 >