To go through life’s nadir at the foot of the mountain

Second Sunday of Lent

Genesis 22:1-2, 9A, 10-13, 15-18

God put Abraham to the test. He called to him, "Abraham!" "Here I am!" he replied. Then God said: "Take your son Isaac, your only one, whom you love, and go to the land of Moriah. There you shall offer him up as a holocaust on a height that I will point out to you." When they came to the place of which God had told him, Abraham built an altar there and arranged the wood on it. Then he reached out and took the knife to slaughter his son. But the LORD's messenger called to him from heaven, "Abraham, Abraham!" "Here I am!" he answered. "Do not lay your hand on the boy," said the messenger. "Do not do the least thing to him. I know now how devoted you are to God, since you did not withhold from me your own beloved son." As Abraham looked about, he spied a ram caught by its horns in the thicket. So he went and took the ram and offered it up as a holocaust in place of his son. Again the LORD's messenger called to Abraham from heaven and said: "I swear by myself, declares the LORD, that because you acted as you did in not withholding from me your beloved son, I will bless you abundantly and make your descendants as countless as the stars of the sky and the sands of the seashore; your descendants shall take possession of the gates of their enemies, and in your descendants all the nations of the earth shall find blessing— all this because you obeyed my command."

Romans 8:31B-34

Brothers and sisters: If God is for us, who can be against us? He who did not spare his own Son but handed him over for us all, how will he not also give us everything else along with him? Who will bring a charge against God's chosen ones? It is God who acquits us, who will condemn? Christ Jesus it is who died—or, rather, was raised— who also is at the right hand of God, who indeed intercedes for us.

Mark 9:2-10

Jesus took Peter, James, and John and led them up a high mountain apart by themselves. And he was transfigured before them, and his clothes became dazzling white, such as no fuller on earth could bleach them. Then Elijah appeared to them along with Moses, and they were conversing with Jesus. Then Peter said to Jesus in reply, "Rabbi, it is good that we are here! Let us make three tents: one for you, one for Moses, and one for Elijah." He hardly knew what to say, they were so terrified. Then a cloud came, casting a shadow over them; from the cloud came a voice, "This is my beloved Son. Listen to him." Suddenly, looking around, they no longer saw anyone but Jesus alone with them. As they were coming down from the mountain, he charged them not to relate what they had seen to anyone, except when the Son of Man had risen from the dead. So they kept the matter to themselves, questioning what rising from the dead meant.

As we move toward the Holy Week, the figure looming larger and larger is that of the crucified Jesus on the cross. On this second Sunday of Lent, however, we celebrate a different figure of Jesus. Here He undergoes a metamorphosis, a revelation, a theophany. It is the Feast of the Transfiguration – a unique miracle among other miracles because it happens to Jesus Himself.

The long and difficult journey to Jerusalem is livened up by this wonderful experience on the mountaintop. Surrounded by heavenly splendor and conversing with Moses and Elijah who represent the Law and the Prophets, Jesus’ glory is magnified by a solemn witness, that of God Himself, “This is my Son, my beloved. Listen to Him” (Mk 9:7). Inasmuch as Peter wants to capture that radiant moment, the moment is evanescent. In fact, any enlightenment that the three disciples received on the mountain seems dulled by the conversation they have with Jesus on the way down, “they continued to discuss what ‘to rise from the dead’ meant” (Mk 9: 9-10).

The transfiguration is a reminder that Jesus’ suffering and glorification are intertwined; that it is necessary for the Messiah to suffer and thus, enter into his glory (rf Lk 24:26). At the transfiguration, Peter’s impulsive response to keep Jesus, Moses and Elijah is understandable. The disciples are bewildered to behold the glorious face of Jesus. His is “the splendor before which every other light pales, and the infinite beauty which alone can fully satisfy the human heart” (St. John Paul II Vita Consecrata 1996 P.16). Indeed the beauty of Christ is forever joined to His sorrow. St. John Paul II explains later, “It is precisely on the Cross that the One who in death appears to human eyes as disfigured and without beauty, so much so that the bystanders cover their faces (cf Is 53:2-3), fully reveals the beauty of God’s love” (VC, P.24).

Glimpses and tastes of glory that once exhilarated the disciples can also exhilarate us. While it is human nature to desire comfort and embrace happiness, just as Peter says, “how good it is for us to be here!”, staying on the mountain is not the purpose of Jesus’ transfiguration (Mk 9:5). In order to attain eternal glory, Jesus and His disciples have to come down from the mountain and face the awaiting trial. As Christians, we, too, should not linger on the mountaintop but dare to go through life and meet its nadir at the foot of the mountain. We have to move on with Jesus, follow behind Him and listen to Him like the disciples did. Only then will we be able to share the glory that once shone and captivated the apostles on the mountain, on the day Jesus was transfigured.

Posted: February 28, 2021

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


Other Sunday Reflections

Jesus said, “You are witnesses of these things.” (Lk 24:48)
“That the Christ is to suffer and to rise from the dead on the third day.” (Lk 24:46) Continue Reading >
Will We Still Eat and Drink on Resurrection?
Does this mean our risen bodies will continue to live biologically? So many unanswered questions! Continue Reading >
How Jesus Deals with Our Failures
Jesus is the Lord of life, therefore, let’s look at how He resurrects life from our failures. Everyone knows that, when we fail, God forgives us and begins again, but… Continue Reading >

要勇於在山腳下,經歷人生的最低谷

四旬期第二主日

創世紀 22:1-2,9,10-13,15-18

那時候,天主試探亞巴郎,說:「亞巴郎!」亞巴郎回答說:「我在這裡。」天主說:「帶你心愛的獨生子依撒格,到摩黎雅地方去,在我要指給你的一座山上,將他獻為全燔祭。」當他們到了天主指給亞巴郎的地方,亞巴郎便在那裡,築起一座祭壇,擺好木柴,將兒子依撒格捆好,放在祭壇的木柴上。亞巴郎正伸手舉刀,要宰獻自己的兒子時,上主的使者從天上,對亞巴郎大聲說:「亞巴郎!亞巴郎!」亞巴郎回答說:「我在這裡。」使者說:「不可在這孩子身上下手,不要傷害他!我現在知道你實在敬畏天主,因為你為了我,竟然連自己的獨生子,也不顧惜。」亞巴郎舉目一望,見有一隻公綿羊,兩角纏在灌木中,於是前去取了那隻公綿羊,代替自己的兒子,獻為全燔祭。上主的使者由天上,又呼喚亞巴郎說:「我指著自己起誓——上主的斷語——因為你做了這事,沒有顧惜你的獨生子,我必多多降福你,使你的後裔繁多,如同天上的星辰,如同海邊的沙粒。你的後裔,必佔領他們仇敵的城門;地上萬民,都要因你的後裔,而蒙受祝福,因為你聽從了我的話。」

羅馬書 8:31-34

弟兄姊妹們:如果天主偕同我們,誰能反對我們呢?天主既然沒有憐惜自己的兒子,反而為我們眾人,把他交出來,豈不也把一切,與他一同賜給我們嗎?誰能控告天主所揀選的人呢?是使人成義的天主嗎?誰能定他們的罪?是那已死,或更好說已復活,現今在天主右邊,代我們轉求的基督耶穌嗎?

馬爾谷福音 9:2-10

那時候,耶穌帶著伯多祿、雅各伯和若望,單獨帶領他們上了一座高山,在他們面前變了容貌:耶穌的衣服發光,那樣潔白,世上沒有一個漂布的,能漂得那樣白。厄里亞和梅瑟,也顯現給他們,正在同耶穌談論。伯多祿於是開口對耶穌說:「師父,我們在這裡真好!讓我們搭三個帳棚:一個為你,一個為梅瑟,一個為厄里亞。」伯多祿原來不知道該說什麼,因為他們都嚇呆了。當時,有一團雲彩,遮蔽了他們,從雲中有聲音說:「這是我的愛子,你們要聽從他!」他們忽然向四周一看,見不到任何人,只有耶穌同他們在一起。他們從山上下來的時候,耶穌囑咐他們,非等人子從死者中復活後,不要將他們所見的,告訴任何人。他們遵守了這話,卻彼此討論:從死者中復活是什麼意思。

當我們漸漸接近聖週時,那變得越來越大的是耶穌被釘在十字架上的形像。 但在這四旬期的第二主日,我們慶祝的是耶穌的另外一個形像。 祂的容貌經歷了改變, 是啟示, 是神的顯現。 這是主顯節, 是個獨一無二的神跡,因為這神跡發生在耶穌自己身上。

山頂上的奇妙經歷,使前往耶路撒冷這漫長而艱難的旅程,變得有生氣和活潑起來。 在天上榮光的環繞下,耶穌與代表律法的梅瑟和代表衆先知的厄里亞交談。耶穌的榮耀,藉着天主那神聖莊嚴的見證,顯得更加奪目耀眼:「這是我的愛子,你們要聽從祂」(谷 9:7)。 那怕伯多祿想留住的絢燦,卻一刻便消逝了。 事實上,這三個門徒若是在山上得到任何啟發,都在下山時與耶穌的對話中顯得暗晦了,「他們彼此討論從死者中復活是什麼意思」(谷 9:9-10)。

耶穌顯聖容提醒了我們祂的苦難和光榮是互相交織著的;默西亞必須受這些苦難,才能進入祂的光榮(參 路 24:26)。 耶穌顯聖容時,伯多祿衝動的反應,想留住耶穌、梅瑟和厄里亞,是可以理解的。 門徒們被耶穌聖容的光輝震攝住了。 「在祂之前,所有的光茫都變得蒼白,而只有祂無窮的美麗才能完全充滿人類的心靈」(聖若望保祿二世《奉献生活》勸諭 1996 第 16 段)。確實,基督的華美永遠與祂的悲傷交纏在一起。 聖若望保祿二世稍後解釋說:「釘在十字架上的這一位,在人前顯得容貌受損,又無俊美,以致人們掩面不顧 (參 依 53:2-3),正是祂在那裡,展現天主之愛的美妙與德能」(《奉獻生活》勸諭 第 24 段)。

那驚鴻一瞥的光榮曾使門徒們雀躍,也同樣地能使我們雀躍。人的本性是渴求安逸,追求快樂,正如伯多祿說:「我們在這裏真好!」,但耶穌顯聖容的目的並不是為了留在山上(谷 9:5)。 要獲得永恆的光輝,耶穌和祂的門徒們必須從山上下來,面對將要來臨的考驗。 作為基督徒,我們不應留戀在山頂上,要勇於在山腳下,經歷人生的最低谷。 我們必須與耶穌一起前進,跟在耶穌身後,像門徒一樣,聆聽順從祂。 只有這樣,我們才能分享耶穌在山上顯聖容時,那令宗徒們着迷的光榮。

Posted: February 28, 2021

May Tam

 
May Tam, Bachelor of Social Science (University of Hong Kong), Master of Theological Studies (University of Toronto)


其他主日反省

乙年(馬爾谷) 四旬期第二主日:愛的代價 吳智勳神父

本主日的三篇讀經有一共同的主題:愛的代價。用今日的術語來說,就是愛不能是便宜的。第一篇讀經有關亞巴郎獻子的故事是長期爭議的題目。倘若你今天問我:天主在夢中叫你把兒子殺了獻給祂,你可以不可以做?我會立刻回答:不可以,因為現代人的良心顯示這是不道德的。

繼續閱讀 >