“Two roads diverged in a wood, and I— / I took the one less traveled by, / And that has made all the difference.” (Robert Frost, “The Road Not Taken”)

Fifth Sunday of Lent

Jeremiah 31:31-34

The days are coming, says the LORD, when I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel and the house of Judah. It will not be like the covenant I made with their fathers the day I took them by the hand to lead them forth from the land of Egypt; for they broke my covenant, and I had to show myself their master, says the LORD. But this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel after those days, says the LORD. I will place my law within them and write it upon their hearts; I will be their God, and they shall be my people. No longer will they have need to teach their friends and relatives how to know the LORD. All, from least to greatest, shall know me, says the LORD, for I will forgive their evildoing and remember their sin no more.

Hebrews 5:7-9

In the days when Christ Jesus was in the flesh, he offered prayers and supplications with loud cries and tears to the one who was able to save him from death, and he was heard because of his reverence. Son though he was, he learned obedience from what he suffered; and when he was made perfect, he became the source of eternal salvation for all who obey him.

John 12:20-33

Some Greeks who had come to worship at the Passover Feast came to Philip, who was from Bethsaida in Galilee, and asked him, "Sir, we would like to see Jesus." Philip went and told Andrew; then Andrew and Philip went and told Jesus. Jesus answered them, "The hour has come for the Son of Man to be glorified. Amen, amen, I say to you, unless a grain of wheat falls to the ground and dies, it remains just a grain of wheat; but if it dies, it produces much fruit. Whoever loves his life loses it, and whoever hates his life in this world will preserve it for eternal life. Whoever serves me must follow me, and where I am, there also will my servant be. The Father will honor whoever serves me. "I am troubled now. Yet what should I say? 'Father, save me from this hour'? But it was for this purpose that I came to this hour. Father, glorify your name." Then a voice came from heaven, "I have glorified it and will glorify it again." The crowd there heard it and said it was thunder; but others said, "An angel has spoken to him." Jesus answered and said, "This voice did not come for my sake but for yours. Now is the time of judgment on this world; now the ruler of this world will be driven out. And when I am lifted up from the earth, I will draw everyone to myself." He said this indicating the kind of death he would die.

During the season of Lent, we are invited to dig deeper into some fundamental questions about our existence: life and death, identity, belonging, choices, and so on. Some of these issues are just too difficult and painful to contemplate but are unavoidable nonetheless. This week’s Gospel reading from John invites us to confront the meaning of life and death, not in a threatening way but gently, peeling off layers of fear and brokenness to reveal the light and hope hidden in one of the darkest moments in our life.

This week’s readings reveal the mission of Jesus; He comes among us not to gain praises or power for himself but to glorify His Father. He fully understands and freely accepts the difficult path that He must tread to fulfill His Father’s will: “‘I am troubled now. Yet what should I say? ‘Father, save me from this hour?’” (Jn 12:27). He willingly bears the entire weight of the anxiety and uneasiness in anticipation of “the kind of death he would die” (Jn 12:33). Jesus’ humanity may have weighed Him down but His divinity uplifts Him to acknowledge that, “But it was for this purpose that I came to this hour. Father, glorify your name” (Jn 12:27). Just as the American poet, Robert Frost, reflects in “The Road Not Taken”, Jesus sees two paths diverge ahead of Him on the eve of the Passover Feast. Not without struggle, He braves the one less travelled by and “that has made all the difference” (Frost).

What does this less travelled path look like for Jesus? For each one of us? For Jesus, this path is full of heartbreaks, danger, and pain. His friends betray and eventually abandon Him; heavily armed soldiers arrest Him and bring Him before the Sanhedrin to be trialed; He is tortured and finally nailed on the cross, suffering a slow and painful death. Yet, He sticks to this narrow road, “he learned obedience from what he suffered” (Heb 5:8). Jesus explains the necessity of His sacrifice for our salvation, “unless a grain of wheat falls to the ground and dies, it remains just a grain of wheat; but if it dies, it produces much fruit” (Jn 12:24). How shall we even begin to respond to such great love and sacrifice? Jesus shows us the way, “Whoever loves his life loses it, and whoever hates his life in this world will preserve it for eternal life. Whoever serves me must follow me, and where I am, there also will my servant be. The Father will honor whoever serves me” (Jn 12:25-26).

Therefore, the road less travelled for each one of us is the way of Christ. We must humbly ask God to “create a clean heart … a steadfast spirit renew within [us]” that we may know and love God “with all [our] heart, and with all [our] soul, and with all [our] might” (Ps 51: 10,12; Dt 6:5). With God’s Spirit dwelling in us, we are empowered to face difficult choices and all the hills and valleys along life’s journey. Though the path is narrow and full of obstacles, we tread with a confidence that comes from knowing God and trusting in His promise: “I will place my law within them, and write it upon their hearts; I will be their God, and they shall be my people” (Jer 31:33). Just as the Son of God chooses to fulfill His Father’s will, we, too, pray that we will have the faith and courage to follow Jesus’ footsteps. Indeed, God has our back! He said, “do not fear, for I am with you, do not be afraid, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my victorious right hand” (Is 41:10).

Posted: March 21, 2021

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


Other Sunday Reflections

“You do not know what you are asking” (Mk 10:38)
By this time in his ministry, Jesus has foretold three times his own Death and Resurrection to the apostles. The last prediction is the most detailed, specifying that his death… Continue Reading >
Too hard a demand from Jesus?
This Sunday's Gospel reading is one of the many hard sayings of Jesus. It is about renunciation - first, of material possessions and second, of relations (rf Mk 10:23, 29).… Continue Reading >
Our Bodies Are Good
A few weeks ago, some students in our school asked me if Catholics should support the LGBTQ movement—it’s wonderful that they spoke about what was really on their minds. I… Continue Reading >

【主日聖言與反省】「在一個樹林裏,路分支為二,而我 / 我踏上了那較少人走的路 / 而這選擇的分別可大了。」(Robert Frost, “The Road Not Taken”)

四旬期第五主日

耶肋米亞先知書 31:31-34

看,日子將到——上主的斷語——我必要與以色列家和猶大家,訂立新約;不像昔日,我握住他們的手,引他們出離埃及時,與他們的祖先,所訂立的盟約。雖然,我是他們的夫君,但他們已自行破壞了我這盟約——上主的斷語。在那些日子之後,我願與以色列家訂立盟約——上主的斷語——就是:我要將我的法律,放在他們的肺腑裡,寫在他們的心頭上;我要作他們的天主,他們要作我的人民。那時,誰也不再教訓自己的近人或兄弟,說:「你們該認識上主,」因為不論大小,人人都必認識我——上主的斷語——因為我要寬恕他們的過犯,不再記憶他們的罪惡。

希伯來書 5:7-9

當基督還在血肉之身時,以大聲哀號和眼淚,向那能救他脫離死亡的天主,獻上了祈禱和懇求;就因他的虔敬,而獲得了俯允。他雖然是天主子,卻由所受的苦難,學習了服從,且在達到完成之後,為一切服從他的人,成了永遠救恩的根源。

若望福音 12:20-33

那時候,在那些上來過節、崇拜天主的人當中,有些希臘人。他們來到加里肋亞貝特賽達人斐理伯前,請求他說:「先生!我們想拜見耶穌。」斐理伯就去告訴安德肋,然後,安德肋和斐理伯便來告訴耶穌。耶穌開口向他們說:「人子要受光榮的時辰到了。我實實在在告訴你們:一粒麥子,如果不落在地裡死了,仍只是一粒;如果死了,才結出許多子粒來。愛惜自己性命的,必要喪失性命;在現世憎恨自己性命的,必要保存性命,進入永生。誰若事奉我,就當跟隨我;這樣,我在那裡,我的僕人也要在那裡;誰若事奉我,我父必要尊重他。「現在我心神煩亂,我可說什麼呢?我說:父啊!救我脫離這時辰吧?但我正是為此,才到了這時辰。父啊!光榮你的名吧!」當時有聲音來自天上:「我已光榮了我的名字,我還要再光榮它。」在場聽見的群眾,便說:「這是打雷。」另有人說:「是天使同他說話。」耶穌回答說:「這聲音不是為我而來,而是為你們。現在,就是這世界應受審判的時候,現在這世界的元首,就要被趕出去;至於我,當我從地上被舉起來時,便要吸引眾人來歸向我。」他說這話,是表明他要以怎樣的死而死。

在四旬期,我們被邀請深入一點思考有關自己的存在的一些基本問題:生與死、身份、歸屬和選擇等等。要去思考其中這些問題,實在太困難、太痛苦,但也是不能避免的。本週的《若望福音》讀經請我們去面對生與死的意義,不是從一個恐嚇的角度去面對,而是輕輕地,將層層的恐懼和破碎揭開,展示出來的,是隱藏在我們生命其中一個最黑暗的時刻裏面的光明與希望。

本週的讀經,揭示了耶穌的使命;祂來到我們中間,不是為祂自己獲得讚美和權力,而是為光榮聖父。祂完全明白,並以自由意志,接受了祂必須走的困厄之路,為完成聖父的旨意:「現在我心神煩亂,我可說什麼呢?我說:『父啊!救我脫離這時辰罷?』」(若 12:27)。祂願意背負焦慮和不安的重擔,期待着預知的「祂要以怎樣的死而死 」(若 12:33)。重壓着耶穌的,可能是祂的人性,但高舉祂的,卻是祂的天主性,使祂承認「正是為此,我纔到了這時辰。父啊!光榮你的名罷!」(若 12:27)。就像美國詩人 Robert Frost 在《沒有人走的路》中的反思,耶穌在逾越節前夕,看見祂的前路分支為二。耶穌不是沒有掙扎的,但祂勇敢地踏上一條比較少人走的路,而這選擇「的分別可大了」(Frost)。

對耶穌來說,這條比較少人走的路是怎樣的呢?為我們每一個人來說,又是怎樣的?對耶穌來說,是滿途心碎、危險和痛苦的路。祂的朋友出賣祂、最後放棄他;全副武裝的士兵逮捕了祂,帶到公議會受審;祂遭受酷刑,最後被釘在十字架上,忍受一個漫長而痛苦的死亡。然而,祂堅持走這窄路,從「所受的苦難,學習了服從」(希 5:8)。耶穌解釋,為救贖我們,祂必要犧牲,「一粒麥子如果不落在地裡死了,仍只是一粒;如果死了,纔結出許多子粒來」(若 12:24)。我們要怎樣才算得上是開始了回應這偉大的愛情和犧牲?耶穌給我們指出回應的道路,「愛惜自己性命的,必要喪失性命;在現世憎恨自己性命的,必要保存性命入於永生,誰若事奉我,就當跟隨我;如此,我在那裡,我的僕人也要在那裡;誰若事奉我,我父必要尊重他」(若 12:25-26)。

所以,對我們每一個人來說,較少人走的,就是基督的道路。我們一定要謙遜地求天主「給我再造一顆純潔的心 ⋯ 重獲堅固的精神」讓我們可以認識天主和「全心、全靈、全力,愛上主[我們]的天主」(詠 51: 10,12; 申 6:5)。當天主聖神居於我們內,我們的能力會被增強,好面對困難的選擇和在人生旅途上所遇到的高山陰谷。路途雖狹窄,障礙重重,但我們向前邁進的信心,來自認識天主和信靠祂的承諾:「我要將我的法律放在他們的肺腑裡,寫在他們的心頭上;我要作他們的天主,他們要作我的人民」(耶 31:33)。就像天主聖子選擇滿全聖父的旨意,我們也祈求信德和勇氣去跟隨耶穌的足跡。真的,天主是我們的後盾!祂說,「你不要害怕,因為我與你在一起;你不要驚惶,因為我是你的天主;我必堅固你,協助你,用我勝利的右手扶持你」(依 41:10)。

Posted: March 21, 2021

Susanna Mak

 
Susanna深信,信仰需要在日常生活中顯露出來,尤其是當與別人相處時,需要分擔對方所面對的困境、抉擇和挑戰。她有着很多不同的身份:女兒、姐姐、朋友、姨姨、妻子、老師、校牧、終身學習者和偶爾替《生命恩泉》寫作的作者。在每一個身份當中, 她努力為天主的愛和希望作見証。 她在多倫多擔任高中教師近二十年,擁有英語、學生讀寫能力、青年領袖活動、校牧組等經驗。 她是多倫多大學商業和英語學士,教育學士,亞省Athabasca大學綜合研究碩士,以及擁有多倫多大學Regis學院神學研究碩士證書。她對於成為《生命恩泉》寫作團隊的一份子, 深感榮幸。 Susanna has a deep conviction that faith needs to be manifested in daily life, particularly, in one’s encounters with others as well as amidst dilemmas, choices, and challenges. She strives to be a living sign of God’s love and hope as a daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, teacher, chaplain, life-long learner, and occasional writer for FLL. She has been a high school teacher in Toronto for almost 20 years, with experiences in English and literacy, youth leadership initiatives, the Chaplaincy Team, to mention a few. She has a B. Comm, B.A. in English, and a B. Education from University of Toronto, an M.A. in Integrated Studies from Athabasca University, and a Graduate Certificate of Theological Studies from Regis College, U of T. She is humbled by the opportunity to be part of the FLL Writing Team.


其他主日反省

乙年(馬爾谷) 四旬期第五主日:耶穌的吸引力 吳智勳神父

今日的福音講述一些希臘人要見耶穌,他們可能是歸化猶太教的外邦人,或喜歡追求智慧的希臘人。耶穌必然有一特定的吸引力,促使他們求見。我就以「吸引」作主題去看看耶穌的吸引力:

繼續閱讀 >
更新我們的心靈 Fr. Justin Huang

今天我們談的是心靈更新,有兩個故事在我腦海裡是截然相反的起點。有一次,我和一位朋友在深夜進行了一次深入的交談,我不記得我們是如何談到這個話題的,但他說:「我希望我沒有和我的女朋友發生關係。」大多數人確實想有性行為,但他表達的是更深層次的渴望。我從未忘記他的話,因為這些話都是發自內心的。

繼續閱讀 >