Renewing Our Hearts

Fifth Sunday of Lent

Jeremiah 31:31-34

The days are coming, says the LORD, when I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel and the house of Judah. It will not be like the covenant I made with their fathers the day I took them by the hand to lead them forth from the land of Egypt; for they broke my covenant, and I had to show myself their master, says the LORD. But this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel after those days, says the LORD. I will place my law within them and write it upon their hearts; I will be their God, and they shall be my people. No longer will they have need to teach their friends and relatives how to know the LORD. All, from least to greatest, shall know me, says the LORD, for I will forgive their evildoing and remember their sin no more.

Hebrews 5:7-9

In the days when Christ Jesus was in the flesh, he offered prayers and supplications with loud cries and tears to the one who was able to save him from death, and he was heard because of his reverence. Son though he was, he learned obedience from what he suffered; and when he was made perfect, he became the source of eternal salvation for all who obey him.

John 12:20-33

Some Greeks who had come to worship at the Passover Feast came to Philip, who was from Bethsaida in Galilee, and asked him, "Sir, we would like to see Jesus." Philip went and told Andrew; then Andrew and Philip went and told Jesus. Jesus answered them, "The hour has come for the Son of Man to be glorified. Amen, amen, I say to you, unless a grain of wheat falls to the ground and dies, it remains just a grain of wheat; but if it dies, it produces much fruit. Whoever loves his life loses it, and whoever hates his life in this world will preserve it for eternal life. Whoever serves me must follow me, and where I am, there also will my servant be. The Father will honor whoever serves me. "I am troubled now. Yet what should I say? 'Father, save me from this hour'? But it was for this purpose that I came to this hour. Father, glorify your name." Then a voice came from heaven, "I have glorified it and will glorify it again." The crowd there heard it and said it was thunder; but others said, "An angel has spoken to him." Jesus answered and said, "This voice did not come for my sake but for yours. Now is the time of judgment on this world; now the ruler of this world will be driven out. And when I am lifted up from the earth, I will draw everyone to myself." He said this indicating the kind of death he would die.

[Watch Fr. Justin’s homily delivery here.]
https://youtu.be/yGfXEDd_Kag

Today, we’re talking about renewing our hearts, and two stories stand out in my mind as opposite starting points. One time, I was having a deep, late-night conversation with a friend, and I don’t remember how we got onto the topic, but he caught me off guard when he said, “I wish I weren’t having sex with my girlfriend.” Most people do want to have sex, but he was expressing a deeper desire. I never forgot his words because they came from his heart.

In contrast to this, another time a father came to me saying that his teenage son had been caught in a sexual act at school. He explained the most devastating part: “You know, he was crying, and all that, but I don’t know if he’s sorry because it was wrong or because he got caught.” In this case, there was something wrong with this young man’s heart, because he never showed that he had a clear sense of right and wrong.

Most of us want a pure heart, where we’re no longer tempted to commit these sins. God today talks about writing His law in our hearts—that’s something I want. And I’m not just talking about sexual sins, although St. John Paul II says sexuality “concerns ‘the innermost being of the human person’” (Christopher West, Good News about Sex & Marriage, 42). I’m talking about the desire to stop being slothful, to stop condemning people in our hearts, to stop lying, to stop being envious of other people’s lives, to stop swearing, etc.

Today we’re back in the Lenten wilderness, and God’s putting these desires in our hearts. While this may be sobering, it’s also very beautiful.

Here is the historical context for the First Reading. In the time of Moses, around 1400 B.C., God made a covenant with the Hebrew people, and a covenant is like marriage and adoption; He was making the people part of His family! Part of the covenant was the Ten Commandments, the guide for how to live. But the people kept breaking these commandments.

For the next 900 years until the prophet Jeremiah, God kept trying to rebuild His relationship with His people, until we get to today’s Reading: “The days are surely coming… when I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel and the house of Judah [This means God’s rebuilding His family. Israel was the northern tribe and Judah the southern, and they used to be one people, but had been separated for hundreds of years]. It will not be like the covenant that I made with their fathers when I took them… out of the land of Egypt—a covenant that they broke, though I was their husband [This is the clearest teaching that God is married to His people, and so His law isn’t something imposed by a distant god, but the law within a marriage]” (Jer 31:31-32).

There are three characteristics of the new covenant: “[1] I will put my law within them, and I will write it on their hearts; and I will be their God, and they shall be my people. [2] No longer shall they teach one another, or say to each other, ‘Know the Lord,’ for they shall all know me, from the least of them to the greatest… [3] for I will forgive their iniquity, and remember their sin no more” (Jer 31:33-34. See John Bergsma & Brant Pitre, A Catholic Introduction to the Bible, 797-800).

First, the Ten Commandments were written on two stone tablets, but now God says His law will be written on our hearts. The theologian, Christopher West, says that no one complains about the fifth commandment, “Thou shalt not kill,” because in our society it’s already written on our hearts that murder is wrong. We don’t need to be told this. But we need the eighth commandment that tells us not to lie, because it’s not yet written on our hearts.

This is the heart of the matter today, pun intended. Deep down, we want to love God and neighbour, but we keep sinning. My friend didn’t want to have sex with his girlfriend because God’s law was in his heart. He was breaking it, but it was still there.

In the movie The Mission, about a slave trader who becomes a priest in 18th century South America, there’s a scene where the native people are hunting an animal. Once they capture it, this young boy tugs at Mendoza to kill the animal, but he refuses. He shakes his head because he doesn’t want to kill anymore. Most of his life he had killed, and now, in his heart, he doesn’t want that anymore.

The key to renewing our hearts is desire. It’s not so much that we’re afraid of God’s punishments, it’s that we don’t want to commit these sins anymore. I don’t want to look at women that way anymore. I’m sick of pornography, lying to my family, making excuses, or fighting with my family.

The second characteristic of the new covenant is that people will have an experiential knowledge of God. ‘They shall all know me.’ Everyone knows about the queen of England, but not everyone knows her personally. That’s the same with God. In the new covenant, rather than just being taught about Him, people will encounter Him. For many of us, we’ve experienced Jesus’ love for us, and that’s why we talk about Jesus as if He’s real to us, because He is.

Think about all the people in your life you’ve met. Does Jesus fit into this category? Do you remember the first time you met someone, what you talked about, how they treated you? Can you do the same with Jesus? If you know what I’m talking about, then you’ve probably met Jesus. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, then you probably haven’t.

But, if you want to, open your hearts. Jesus wants to meet you. That’s why our church is open almost all the time, why Alpha and Faith Studies are offered all the time, because we experience Jesus personally in these events.

The third characteristic of the new covenant is that ‘I will forgive their iniquity, and remember their sin no more.’ Jesus forgives us through Baptism, Confession, and the Eucharist. This means we should never give in to discouragement about repeatedly falling into the same sins.

Now, here are four ways God renews our hearts.

1) Desire. The desire to change our hearts is already a purification of the heart, and is pleasing to God. Go back to that young teenage boy I told you about—what disappointed his father the most was not his son’s sin, but the fact that he didn’t know if his son knew what he did was wrong.

The students in our school all sin, but when I visit the classes, some visibly care about what’s right and wrong, some don’t. That’s the scariest part of all, that some don’t care. But, for the students who do care, I can work with that, God can work with that.

Fr. Jacques Philippe writes, “What does God demand of us, if not this goodwill? What more could He demand of us, He who is a good and compassionate Father, than to see His child desiring to love above all?” (Searching for and Maintaining Peace, 18). If we desire to grow, that’s pleasing to God. If we fight against our sins, even though we fall, that repeated effort is pleasing to Him.

If today you desire to have a new heart, you’ve come a long way, and God is with you! But let’s take that desire and fulfill it with what follows.

2) The Sacraments. The most powerful truth about the sacraments is that it’s Jesus Who is doing the work. What’s more powerful: If we purify our hearts or Jesus does? When you pray at night, you’re the one praying. When you participate in Mass, Jesus is the One praying and you’re joining in it. When you ask God the Father for forgiveness for venial sins, it’s your action in Jesus. When you go to Confession, it’s His direct action.

Last Holy Thursday, I told you that, when you receive the sacraments, all you have to do is desire to receive grace and you will (http://thejustmeasure.ca/2020/04/09/restoring-relationships/). This is because of the nature of free will. Some people, when they go to Communion, are casual about it, so they receive Jesus, but no grace, because He won’t force them. But others, when they receive Jesus, they receive supernatural power to grow, because they want it. It all depends on our desire.

3) The Rosary. For a thousand years, saints have sworn by this, because the Rosary requires humility, and brings us to contemplation of Jesus’ life. Contemplation changes our hearts, because contemplation means a deep thinking, reflecting, and being in contact with Jesus’ life. Everyone who prays the Rosary grows. It doesn’t have to be all five decades every day. Just one decade prayed well is better than five done poorly.

4) Signs of sincerity. Sometimes, when a rod is bent too far in one direction, in order to straighten it, we have to bend back the other way. So, some people, to renew their hearts, take extra steps that aren’t absolutely necessary, but are signs of sincerity; they’re not just doing the minimum, but the maximum. For example, some get Covenant Eyes for their devices, some give up alcohol except on certain occasions, some practice silence to control their words. I remember a young man who, before he married his future wife, wouldn’t go into her house alone, not because it was wrong, but as a sign that he was serious about having a pure relationship with her. I didn’t understand this at the time, but now I do.

I end now with a story about Brian Walch, whose life encompasses three of these ways God renews our hearts. Born in Michigan, Brian was talented, captain of the high-school basketball team, and popular. But he lived a double life: a good Catholic in front of his parents and the priest, he got drunk on the weekends, swore profusely, and was having sex.

After high school, he stunned everyone by entering the seminary. The other seminarians couldn’t figure out how he got past the psychological exams. Whereas most guys had simple rooms, Brian brought in carpeting, an air conditioner, and had parties there. No one thought he would last.

At the end of first year, the seminarians had a ten-day silent retreat. On the last day, the retreat master invited the students to pray out loud, and Brian said, “Lord I want to tell You that I’m really sorry, that I realize I’ve wasted my talents, I’ve wasted the gifts you’ve given me, I’ve abused the trust my parents have put in me, I’ve not been the person they thought I was. I’ve been a great sinner and I want to change my life and turn my life over to You.” No one took him seriously.

The next year, Brian came back and had changed: He sold his car, given the money to the poor, got rid of his stylish clothing, and stopped swearing and drinking. “He still had the same smile, same popularity, same sense of humour. But he was a different person; he spent a lot of time in the chapel praying” (https://uareloved-blog.tumblr.com/post/2800054817/the-story-of-brian-walch). One day, after sitting on the floor in front of the tabernacle, he said to the organist, “Tim, have you ever thought how wonderful it is that Jesus always remains with us in the Most Blessed Sacrament?”

He loved serving the poor so much that he eventually left the seminary to go to Cambodia, to help Mother Teresa’s sisters as a lay volunteer. In 1975, when the Cambodian genocide started, and people were being evacuated, he wrote to his former seminarian friends, “This time if I am asked to leave, I will stay, because I feel called to mix my blood with the Blood of Christ for the salvation of these people’s souls.” He stayed there encouraging people, teaching catechism, and going to daily Mass secretly, all the while, evading capture by the Communists. One day, however, he was caught at Mass, brought outside the church, and executed, at the age of 23. A year later, when a seminarian friend met St. Mother Teresa, she said, “Ah, you are very fortunate, because you are the classmate of a saint.”

So there’s hope for all of us! We may struggle with our sins, but with desire, the sacraments, the Rosary, and signs of sincerity, God can renew our hearts and we can become saints!

Source: The JustMeasure – Renewing Our Hearts http://thejustmeasure.ca/2021/03/21/renewing-our-hearts/)

Posted: March 21, 2021

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


Other Sunday Reflections

Cut it off! A difficult message from Jesus
In this Sunday's Gospel, Jesus speaks with incredible bluntness about cutting off one’s own hand, cutting off one’s own foot, and plucking out one’s own eye. These are hard, stark,… Continue Reading >
Honesty With God About Our Envy
Sometime in the past year, I actually felt envious of Fr. Richard Conlin. I can’t remember exactly why, but it was either because people were leaving St. Anthony’s to go… Continue Reading >
“They had argued with one another who was the greatest (9:34).
Jesus said to the twelve, “Whoever wants to be the first must be last of all and servant of all” (9:35). Continue Reading >

更新我們的心靈

四旬期第五主日

耶肋米亞先知書 31:31-34

看,日子將到——上主的斷語——我必要與以色列家和猶大家,訂立新約;不像昔日,我握住他們的手,引他們出離埃及時,與他們的祖先,所訂立的盟約。雖然,我是他們的夫君,但他們已自行破壞了我這盟約——上主的斷語。在那些日子之後,我願與以色列家訂立盟約——上主的斷語——就是:我要將我的法律,放在他們的肺腑裡,寫在他們的心頭上;我要作他們的天主,他們要作我的人民。那時,誰也不再教訓自己的近人或兄弟,說:「你們該認識上主,」因為不論大小,人人都必認識我——上主的斷語——因為我要寬恕他們的過犯,不再記憶他們的罪惡。

希伯來書 5:7-9

當基督還在血肉之身時,以大聲哀號和眼淚,向那能救他脫離死亡的天主,獻上了祈禱和懇求;就因他的虔敬,而獲得了俯允。他雖然是天主子,卻由所受的苦難,學習了服從,且在達到完成之後,為一切服從他的人,成了永遠救恩的根源。

若望福音 12:20-33

那時候,在那些上來過節、崇拜天主的人當中,有些希臘人。他們來到加里肋亞貝特賽達人斐理伯前,請求他說:「先生!我們想拜見耶穌。」斐理伯就去告訴安德肋,然後,安德肋和斐理伯便來告訴耶穌。耶穌開口向他們說:「人子要受光榮的時辰到了。我實實在在告訴你們:一粒麥子,如果不落在地裡死了,仍只是一粒;如果死了,才結出許多子粒來。愛惜自己性命的,必要喪失性命;在現世憎恨自己性命的,必要保存性命,進入永生。誰若事奉我,就當跟隨我;這樣,我在那裡,我的僕人也要在那裡;誰若事奉我,我父必要尊重他。「現在我心神煩亂,我可說什麼呢?我說:父啊!救我脫離這時辰吧?但我正是為此,才到了這時辰。父啊!光榮你的名吧!」當時有聲音來自天上:「我已光榮了我的名字,我還要再光榮它。」在場聽見的群眾,便說:「這是打雷。」另有人說:「是天使同他說話。」耶穌回答說:「這聲音不是為我而來,而是為你們。現在,就是這世界應受審判的時候,現在這世界的元首,就要被趕出去;至於我,當我從地上被舉起來時,便要吸引眾人來歸向我。」他說這話,是表明他要以怎樣的死而死。

(本篇譯稿為黃謙善神父主日講道,若內容有不一致的情況,一概以英文原稿 http://thejustmeasure.ca/2021/03/21/renewing-our-hearts/ 為準。)

[黃神父主日講道視頻 (英語)]
https://youtu.be/yGfXEDd_Kag

今天我們談的是心靈更新,有兩個故事在我腦海裡是截然相反的起點。有一次,我和一位朋友在深夜進行了一次深入的交談,我不記得我們是如何談到這個話題的,但他說:「我希望我沒有和我的女朋友發生關係。」大多數人確實想有性行為,但他表達的是更深層次的渴望。我從未忘記他的話,因為這些話都是發自內心的。

與此形成鮮明對比的是,有一次,一位父親來找我說,他青少年的兒子在學校裡涉及性行為被抓到了。他解釋了最具破壞性的部分:「你知道,他哭了,諸如此類,但我不知道他是因為這是錯的還是因為被抓到而感到歉疚。」在這種情況下,這個年輕人的心出了問題,因為他從來沒有表現出明確的是非意識。

我們大多數人都想要一顆純潔的心,在那裡我們不再受誘惑去犯這些罪。今天,天主說要把祂的律法寫在我們心中–這是我想要的。我說的不僅僅是性犯罪,儘管聖若望•保祿二世說性行為「關乎人的內心深處」(Christopher West, Good News about Sex & Marriage, 42)。我說的是不再懶散,不再在心裡譴責別人,不再撒謊,不再嫉妒別人的生活,不再以髒話罵人等等。

今天我們回到了四旬期的曠野,天主把這些願望放在了我們的心裡。雖然這可能是發人深省的,但也是非常美麗的。

以下是第一篇讀經的歷史背景。大約在公元前1400年梅瑟時代,天主與希伯來人立了盟約,盟約就像婚姻和領養一樣,祂使希伯來人成為祂家庭的一部分!盟約的一部分是十誡,也就是如何生活的指南。但是人們不斷地違反這些戒律。

在接下來的900年裡,直到先知耶肋米亞,天主一直試圖重建祂與祂的子民的關係,直到我們讀到今天的經文:「時日將到…。我必要與以色列家和猶大家訂立新約,(這就是天主重建祂的家。以色列是北方的部落,猶大是南方的部落,他們曾經是一個民族,但已經分離了幾百年。)不像我昔日…與他們的祖先訂立的盟約;我是他們的夫君[這是最清楚的教訓,天主與祂的子民結了婚,所以他的律法不是遠方的神強加的,乃是婚內的律法](耶31:31-32)。

新盟約有三個特點:「我要將我的法律放在他們的肺腑裡,寫在他們心頭上;我要作他們的天主,他們要作我的人民。[2]那時誰也不再教訓自己的近人或兄弟說:『你們認識上主』,因為不論大小,人人都必認識我…。[3]因為我要寬恕他們的過犯,不再記憶他們的罪惡」(Jer 31: 33-34. See John Bergsma & Brant Pitre, A Catholic Introduction to the Bible, 797-800)。

首先,十誡寫在兩塊石碑上,但現在天主說祂的律法要寫在我們心裡。神學家克里斯托弗•韋斯特(Christopher West)說:「沒有人會抱怨第五條誡,『你不可殺人』,因為在我們的社會裡,謀殺是錯誤的,這一點已經銘刻在我們的心中。我們不需要人告知這些。但是我們需要第八誡,它告訴我們不要撒謊,因為它還沒有寫在我們的心裡。

這就是現今問題的核心,雙關語。在內心深處,我們想愛天主和鄰人,但我們一直在犯罪。我的朋友不想和他的女朋友發生性行為,因為天主的法律在他心裡。他雖違規打破戒律,但它仍然在那裡。

在電影《使命The Mission》中,講述了18世紀南美洲一個奴隸販子門多薩,後來成為神父的故事,其中有一個場景是當地人在獵殺一隻動物。一旦他們抓住了它,有個小男孩拉著門多薩Mendoza要他殺了它,但他拒絕了。他搖搖頭,因為他不想再殺人了。他一生的大部分時間都是在殺人中度過的,現在,在他心裡,他不想再這樣了。

更新我們心靈的關鍵是慾望。與其說我們害怕天主的懲罰,不如說我們不想再犯這些罪了。我不想再那樣看女人了。我厭倦了色情刋物,厭倦了對家人撒謊,厭倦了找藉口,厭倦了和家人吵架。

新盟約的第二個特點是,人們將對天主有一個經驗性的認識。 「他們都會認識我的。」每個人都知道英國女王,但並不是每個人都認識她本人。天主也是如此。在新盟約中,人們不僅會被教導有關他的事情,還會遇到祂。對我們中的許多人來說,我們體驗了耶穌對我們的愛,這就是為什麼我們談論耶穌時,就好像祂對我們來說是真實的,因為祂是真實的。

想想你生活中遇到的所有人。耶穌屬於這一類嗎?你還記得你第一次見到某人時,你們談了些什麼,他們是如何對待你的呢?你能對耶穌做同樣的事嗎?如果你知道我在說什麼,那麼你可能見過耶穌。如果你不知道我在說什麼,那你可能還沒遇見祂。

但是,如果你想的話,敞開你們的心扉。耶穌想見你。這就是為什麼我們的教堂幾乎每時每刻都是開放的,為什麼一直提供「啟發」( Alpha)和信仰研究( Faith Study)課程,因為我們在這些活動中親身體驗耶穌。

新盟約的第三個特點是,「我要寬恕他們的過犯,不再記憶他們的罪惡。」耶穌通過聖洗、告解和聖體聖事赦免我們。這意味著我們永遠不應該因為反复犯同樣的罪而氣餒。

現在,這裡有四種天主更新我們心靈的方式。

1)慾望( Desire)。改變我們心靈的願望已經是一種心靈的淨化,是天主所喜悅的。回到我告訴你的那個青少年–他父親最失望的不是他兒子的罪過,而是他不知道兒子是否知道他做了錯誤的事。

我們學校的學生都有犯罪,但當我去上課時,一些人明顯地關心什麼是對,什麼是錯,他們是非分明。有些人不關心。這是最可怕的部分,一些人不在乎。但是,對於那些真正關心的學生,我可以引導他們,天主也可以做到這一點。

雅克•菲利普神父(Jacques Philippe)寫道:「天主對我們還有什麼要求?不是這種善意嗎?這位慈悲的好父親還有什麼要求,不就是想看到祂的孩子對愛的渴望高於一切嗎?」(Searching for and Maintaining Peace, 18) 如果我們渴望成長,那是主所喜悅的。如果我們與我們的罪作鬥爭,即使我們跌倒了,反复的努力也會讓祂高興。

如果今天你渴望擁有一顆新的心,你已經走了很長的一段路,天主與你同在!但是,讓我們懷有這個願望,並用下面的事情來實現它。

2)聖事。關於聖體聖事最有說服力的事實是,是耶穌在做這件事。哪個更強大:是靠自己淨化我們的心靈,還是讓耶穌淨化我們的心靈?當你在晚上祈禱的時候,你是那個祈禱的人。當你參與彌撒時,耶穌就是那個祈禱的人,你參與了彌撒。當你祈求天父寬恕你的罪過時,這是你在耶穌內祈求。當你辦告解時,這是祂的直接行動。

去年的聖週四,我告訴你,當你領受聖事時,你所要做的就是渴望接受恩典,你就會得到(http://thejustmeasure.ca/2020/04/09/restoring-relationships/) .。這是因為自由意志的本質。有些人去領聖體時,很隨意,所以他們雖然領受耶穌,但沒有恩典,因為祂不會強迫他們接受恩典。但是有些人,當他們領受耶穌的時候,他們會得到有助予成長的超性力量,因為他們想要這樣的力量。這完全取決於我們的願望。

3)玫瑰經。一千年來,聖人們一直信奉這一點,因為玫瑰經要求謙卑,並帶我們去沉思耶穌的一生。默想改變了我們的心,因為默想意味著對耶穌生活的深刻思考、反思和接觸。每一個唸玫瑰經的人都會成長。不一定每天都要唸五端。只好好祈禱一端,總比匆忙地唸五端要好。

4)誠意的表現。有時,當一根桿子過於向一個方向彎曲時,為了拉直它,我們不得不向另一個方向彎曲。因此,有些人,為了更新他們的心,採取額外的措施,這些措施並不是絕對必要的,但卻是誠意的標誌;他們不僅做了最少的,而且做了最大的。例如,一些人裝備上「Covenant Eyes」 軟件,一些人戒酒,除了在某些場合,一些人練習沉默來控制他們的言辭。我記得有一個年輕人,在和他未來的妻子結婚之前,他不會獨自走進她的房子,不是因為這樣做不對的,而是為了表明他是認真的要與她建立一種純潔的關係。當時我不明白這一點,但現在我明白了。

我現在用一個關於布萊恩•沃奇Brian Walch的故事來結束我的講道,他的生活包含了天主更新我們心靈的三種方式。布萊恩出生於密歇根州,才華橫溢,是高中籃球隊的隊長,很受歡迎。但他過著雙重生活:在父母和神父面前 ,他是一名虔誠的天主教徒,但他週末酗酒,說很多髒話,還在亂搞男女關係。

高中畢業後,他進入神學院,讓所有人震驚了。其他神學院學生想不通他是如何通過心理考試的。雖然大多數人的房間都很簡單,但布賴恩帶了地毯和空調,並在那裡搞派對。沒人認為他能堅持下去。

第一年結束時,神學院學生進行了為期十天的靜修。最後一天,避靜導師邀請學生大聲祈禱,布萊恩說:「主啊,我想告訴你,我真的很抱歉,我意識到我浪費了我的才華,我浪費了你給我的禮物,我辜負了父母對我的信任,我不是他們認為的那個人。我是個大罪人,我想改變我的生活,把我的生活交給你。」沒有人把他當回事。

第二年,布萊恩回來了,他變了:他賣掉了自己的車,把錢捐給了窮人,放棄了時髦的衣服,不再咒罵和飲酒。 「他仍然保持著同樣的微笑,同樣的人氣,同樣的幽默感。但他是另一個人,他花了很多時間在聖體小堂祈禱」(https://uareloved-blog.tumblr.com/post/2800054817/the-story-of-brian-walch) 有一天,他坐在聖體龕前的地板上,對風琴手說:「提姆( Tim),你有沒有想過耶穌在聖體裡一直與我們同在是多麼美妙?」

他如此熱愛為窮人服務,最終離開神學院去了柬埔寨,去幫助德肋撒修女的修女們當義工。 1975年,當柬埔寨開始種族滅絕,人們被疏散時,他寫信給他以前在神學院學習的朋友,「這一次,如果我再被要求離開時,我會留下來,因為我覺得有必要把我的血和基督的血混合在一起,拯救這些人的靈魂。」他一直留在那裡鼓勵人們,教授天主教道理,並秘密參加每天的彌撒,以躲避共產黨的抓捕。然而,有一天,他在彌撒中被捕,被帶出教堂,被處決, 當時23歲。一年後,當一位神學院的朋友遇到聖德肋撒修女時,她說:「啊,你很幸運,因為你是聖人的同學。」

所以我們所有人都有希望!我們可能與我們的罪過鬥爭,但有了慾望、聖事、玫瑰經和真誠的心,天主可以更新我們的心,讓我們可以成為聖人!

Posted: March 21, 2021

Fr. Justin Huang

 
Fr. Justin grew up in Richmond, BC, the third of three brothers. Though not raised Catholic, he started going to Mass when he was 13. After a powerful experience of God’s love through the Sacrament of Reconciliation, he felt called to the Holy Priesthood at the age of 16.


其他主日反省

【主日聖言與反省】「在一個樹林裏,路分支為二,而我 / 我踏上了那較少人走的路 / 而這選擇的分別可大了。」(Robert Frost, “The Road Not Taken”) Susanna Mak

對我們每一個人來說,較少人走的,就是基督的道路。我們一定要謙遜地求天主「給我再造一顆純潔的心 ⋯ 重獲堅固的精神」讓我們可以認識天主和「全心、全靈、全力,愛上主[我們]的天主」(詠 51: 10,12; 申 6:5)。

繼續閱讀 >
乙年(馬爾谷) 四旬期第五主日:耶穌的吸引力 吳智勳神父

今日的福音講述一些希臘人要見耶穌,他們可能是歸化猶太教的外邦人,或喜歡追求智慧的希臘人。耶穌必然有一特定的吸引力,促使他們求見。我就以「吸引」作主題去看看耶穌的吸引力:

繼續閱讀 >